Monaghan GAA thread

Replying To benched:  "Likewise Monaghan in 2018 - suppose you both should be happy neither of you facing a heavyweight like Fermanagh this time around ;)"
I think everyone at omagh enjoyed the game last Sunday , except for Tyrone in the last few minutes of the game , Both teams will take plenty of positives from the game and will use what they learned to great effect hopefully In coming games .Both teams gave a great game for the rest of the country to watch, maybe the best we might see for the whole season ahead . I'm sure Tyrone will have many a good day ahead too.. isn't this is what our sports about … enjoyment

stoneygrey (Monaghan) - Posts: 213 - 21/04/2023 10:14:20    2472096

A brilliant result and atmosphere in Omagh, real ulster football match, both teams showing glimpses of what they are all about.

Some of the comment on this group from both Monaghan and outsiders are embarrassing to say the least.
The referee was really poor but he was poor for both teams. He gave us some very handy ones in the first half to keep us in the game I felt.

I'm worried about the sense of achievement from fans, players & management alike, this was a Ulster quarter final against a poor Tyrone team, is this the teams aspersions, we will know more after next wknd but I just hope we haven't played our All Ireland in April. I thought Vinny doing a podcast the next day was very very strange??!!

We were brilliant in the second half as Tyrone were in the first but as Tyrone found out you win nothing in 35mins of football. Let's everyone take a deep breath and remember we have no medals yet.

Blueblood4life (Monaghan) - Posts: 200 - 21/04/2023 14:05:50    2472204

Surprised at the negative tone that has crept in here after a classic encounter. As said before, the ref played his part in some odd decisions, including finding an extra 3 minutes of injury time in the 'at least 6'. It was a strange coincidence that the added time in added time elapsed precisely at the moment Monaghan regained possession from Darren McCurrys last free.
Anyway, on second viewing one thing that stood out in the second half was how Tyrone's dominant midfield pair really ran out of steam after 45 minutes. Kennedy was very laboured for the closing stages and Con Kilpatrick, despite his point from the crossed ball, looked a yard off where he needed to be at all times. The same could be said for Frank Burns and Kieran McGeery. Tyrone management didn't make good use of Oguz off the bench, in fact O'Neill going off affected Tyrone's overall shape.
That area of the field was always likely to be weakest for Monaghan given the absence of Kearns, Woods, Leonard and McAnespie, so Tyrone wilting like they did helped save Monaghan. I don't expect Rogers and Glass to fade like this the next day out. Work to do for VCorey in this area.

Eddie the Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 1058 - 21/04/2023 16:31:59    2472258

Replying To Blueblood4life:  "A brilliant result and atmosphere in Omagh, real ulster football match, both teams showing glimpses of what they are all about.

Some of the comment on this group from both Monaghan and outsiders are embarrassing to say the least.
The referee was really poor but he was poor for both teams. He gave us some very handy ones in the first half to keep us in the game I felt.

I'm worried about the sense of achievement from fans, players & management alike, this was a Ulster quarter final against a poor Tyrone team, is this the teams aspersions, we will know more after next wknd but I just hope we haven't played our All Ireland in April. I thought Vinny doing a podcast the next day was very very strange??!!

We were brilliant in the second half as Tyrone were in the first but as Tyrone found out you win nothing in 35mins of football. Let's everyone take a deep breath and remember we have no medals yet."
Good to see the vinny basher back, been tough going for a few of you boys with the roaring success he's been so far.

Mickod88 (Monaghan) - Posts: 49 - 21/04/2023 16:40:07    2472259

Replying To Blueblood4life:  "A brilliant result and atmosphere in Omagh, real ulster football match, both teams showing glimpses of what they are all about.

We were brilliant in the second half as Tyrone were in the first but as Tyrone found out you win nothing in 35mins of football. Let's everyone take a deep breath and remember we have no medals yet."
Agreed, bigger fish to fry down the line for both teams. Don't agree with the poor Tyrone team bit and fair play to Monaghan who came out on top against them .

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2014 - 21/04/2023 21:43:49    2472292

Replying To Mickod88:  "Good to see the vinny basher back, been tough going for a few of you boys with the roaring success he's been so far."
Not a Vinny basher, just a Manager basher.

Farney (Monaghan) - Posts: 801 - 22/04/2023 09:48:13    2472330

Congratulations to both teams on a great game of football, it was like old times in Omagh on Sunday. It' s a shame that games like this are the exception rather than the rule as most teams nowadays play like programmed robots. Best of luck against Derry.

tireoghainabu (Tyrone) - Posts: 274 - 22/04/2023 11:16:24    2472347

Replying To tireoghainabu:  "Congratulations to both teams on a great game of football, it was like old times in Omagh on Sunday. It' s a shame that games like this are the exception rather than the rule as most teams nowadays play like programmed robots. Best of luck against Derry."
here here

Mickod88 (Monaghan) - Posts: 49 - 22/04/2023 14:06:15    2472385

Any truth in the Ryan McAnespie story? He would be a serious addition this summer if available.

SoNearYetSoFarney (Monaghan) - Posts: 50 - 23/04/2023 16:18:33    2472780

Replying To SoNearYetSoFarney:  "Any truth in the Ryan McAnespie story? He would be a serious addition this summer if available."
Yes Ryan is home

stoneygrey (Monaghan) - Posts: 213 - 23/04/2023 16:52:18    2472796

Replying To stoneygrey:  "Yes Ryan is home"
Yes. Back for good. Was with Emyvale today. Great addition to both Emyvale and Monaghan this year. Would you start him against Derry???

larrymullanjr (Monaghan) - Posts: 74 - 23/04/2023 17:28:04    2472804

Replying To larrymullanjr:  "Yes. Back for good. Was with Emyvale today. Great addition to both Emyvale and Monaghan this year. Would you start him against Derry???"
Bit much to come straight back into team that quick, great addition though with the group games to come will provide opportunities , if only Niall Kieran's would do the same ! I'd put him straight in

TommyBowe (Monaghan) - Posts: 10 - 23/04/2023 19:57:48    2472904

Replying To TommyBowe:  "Bit much to come straight back into team that quick, great addition though with the group games to come will provide opportunities , if only Niall Kieran's would do the same ! I'd put him straight in"
McAnespie and totally different player. Monaghans best player last year.

larrymullanjr (Monaghan) - Posts: 74 - 23/04/2023 20:48:26    2472946

Replying To larrymullanjr:  "Yes. Back for good. Was with Emyvale today. Great addition to both Emyvale and Monaghan this year. Would you start him against Derry???"
He definitely wont be playing next week or even be in the 26 you'd imagine. He will probably go on his own fitness programme for the next 2/3 weeks and then be eyeing a position the next game. Its great to have him back, a timely boost and his presence at training and in the panel will be massive, his commitment over the past 10 years at all grades allows him to walk back into contention. With Ryan, Gary mohan, Conor Leonard all back fit you can only imagine the battle for places on the team and the 26 is high and its great to see.

monaghanmad (Monaghan) - Posts: 378 - 23/04/2023 20:58:51    2472954

Replying To TommyBowe:  "Bit much to come straight back into team that quick, great addition though with the group games to come will provide opportunities , if only Niall Kieran's would do the same ! I'd put him straight in"
I'll pay for NK's ticket myself

Eddie the Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 1058 - 23/04/2023 21:52:19    2472983

Wonder what took him home? So many young lads heading off these day's with the state the country is in and extending their visit. More power to him

Mickod88 (Monaghan) - Posts: 49 - 24/04/2023 09:50:47    2473081

Club scene is in full flow again which is great. Gets us out of the house.

Made it to 2 games this weekend Ballybay and Truagh and Corduff and Clontibret.

Ballybay and Truagh was a tight affair but was easy knowing Truagh got a hammering last week by Donaghmoyne. Truagh took their chances and got over the line on the day. Johnston will be interesting to watch with Ballybay to see what he brings to the table. Truagh have been disappointing this last few years.

Clontibret and Corduff was a firey one. Corduff are well schooled and don't care what they must do or say to try win. Corduff seemed at full force (i think) as they have no county players and seemed a similar team to last years. Clontibret missing their 4 county lads (the goalie was playing). He kicked 3/4 massive frees. Dessie was not there also but I believe he done his shoulder last week. Corduff tried get players black carded the whole game. Jumping and diving and shouting, influenced by certain McEnaeneys on the line. Clontibret weathered the storm and ran out winners. Very young Clontibret team for a change which is promising for them.

Anyone at other games? Throw in your thoughts here.

Looking forward to getting to more league games and seeing what teams are worth watching.

countymonaghan (Monaghan) - Posts: 273 - 24/04/2023 11:44:36    2473166

Any word if Ryan is training with the county panel?

farneygael (Monaghan) - Posts: 277 - 26/04/2023 21:51:05    2474120

Any opinions on team for the weekend ? Much the same, maybe Shane Carey coming in to track runners or Kieran Hughes from the start. it will be good to see how we set up in comparison to last year, If we dont give away goals I can see us being close enough.

monaghanmad (Monaghan) - Posts: 378 - 27/04/2023 11:13:55    2474188

Replying To monaghanmad:  "Any opinions on team for the weekend ? Much the same, maybe Shane Carey coming in to track runners or Kieran Hughes from the start. it will be good to see how we set up in comparison to last year, If we dont give away goals I can see us being close enough."
The big decision will be whether Ward is fit to play. He's an hugely important player and driving force in the group. If he does there will be changes. Mainly what to do with McPhillips. Corey has placed huge faith in McPhillips this season so will he retain him? Dumping after one bad game is a big call. He could well start him- not disrespecting Derry, but Heron is not a patch on Darragh Canavan. McPhillips might get the nod for this one and then and bring in Ward from the bench if not fully fit. Can't see O'Connell being dropped after the big impact he had 2 weeks ago.

Looking at the Monaghan team v Derry last year, there was a distinct lack of pace and running power in the forwards. McCarron did not play well against Derry last year or against Tyrone 2 weeks ago. But as a free taker, he should keep his place. He needs a big performance.

Only other change I see is Mohan being back on the 26. His physicality would be great of the bench. He's had a very injury impacted season and we've not seen the best of him at all.

I could see Mulligan making a decisive impact from the bench. Also I can see Darren Hughes delivering in this game. He didn't have the best of days against Tyrone and you'd imagine that he'd be itching to correct that against Derry

sleater (Monaghan) - Posts: 152 - 27/04/2023 11:44:58    2474198