Monaghan GAA thread

Jesus but this thread would really put you off Monaghan!

I used to really like Monaghan supporters but for gods sake you have turned into the worst bunch of whingey yaps.

You do realise you won the match? Talk about bad winners.

I actually thought it was a really good game of football that was played in the right spirt. Most commentators would agree that we probably won't see as good a game for the rest of the year.

Anyway good luck with the rest of the Ulster Championship but please remember to try and remain humble. It wouldn't be the first time that you have got a little bit carried away with one win which in the end didn't amount to any silverware.

Wally (Tyrone) - Posts: 912 - 19/04/2023 16:00:40    2471808

Replying To Wally:  "Jesus but this thread would really put you off Monaghan!

I used to really like Monaghan supporters but for gods sake you have turned into the worst bunch of whingey yaps.

I actually thought it was a really good game of football that was played in the right spirt. Most commentators would agree that we probably won't see as good a game for the rest of the year.

Anyway good luck with the rest of the Ulster Championship but please remember to try and remain humble. It wouldn't be the first time that you have got a little bit carried away with one win which in the end didn't amount to any silverware."
Wallys a suitable name. Best of luck

Jjoniel79 (Monaghan) - Posts: 143 - 19/04/2023 17:04:59    2471825

Was speaking to an Armagh GAA man today who was in Donegal for the weekend, and watched the Omagh game in a Letterkenny pub. He said the joyous roar that went up at O'Toole's goal was something else.
I said I didn't think there would be that many Monaghan supporters in Letterkenny for the day that was in it.
He said there wasn't...

Eddie the Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 1057 - 19/04/2023 17:10:57    2471827

Anyway good luck with the rest of the Ulster Championship but please remember to try and remain humble. It wouldn't be the first time that you have got a little bit carried away with one win which in the end didn't amount to any silverware."
A Tyrone man asking people to be humble. That's one for a comedians to use. Seriously, the referee was a joke. His decision making for both teams was that of an inept referee and definitely not fit for purpose,which will always lead to both sets of supporters feeling they were hard done by.

ORIELMAN85 (Monaghan) - Posts: 111 - 19/04/2023 18:29:48    2471849

Why is it that when Monaghan put it up to tyrone they have to pull a dirty stroke ? Never seen Donegal armagh cavan down doing this when there bet . when tyrone smell defeat they get nasty i think this answers your question a thump to the stomach is red (mcnamee)a kick with the studs on the back of leg is red (hampsey)the rest is meaningless foul wise

prideof85 (Monaghan) - Posts: 851 - 19/04/2023 19:14:41    2471857

Replying To patmouse:  "Delighted to see Tyrone beaten, great display in the second half.

I think O'Hanlon was MOTM, he is without doubt the main man for Monaghan he has destroyed Mayo and Tyrone in the last 2 weeks , with his pace and ball skills the defenders cannot handle him.

Some weird results in the clubs games, i thought Corduff would really stuggle, but its earlier yet. M'cloone to only score 3 points is very poor."
Nice one mouse, not glad to see Monaghan winning just glad to see Tyrone beat. Setting yourselves up for a guaranteed fall.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2010 - 19/04/2023 19:21:43    2471860

Replying To Saynothing:  "You must have been at a different game, Tyrone got no tap overs unlike Canavan who would needed to have been shot to get a free. Monaghan player shoved Tyrone player in the chest after he scores a point, Tyrone player should have went down, I was one of the first on here to congratulate Monaghan but as usual the usual moaners come out to play, good luck Derry."
Dead right fella, how dare those jumped up little Monaghan muppets question one of their own players getting punched in the groin, on their own forum, not like he got spat in the face or anything. Sure the two unbiased TV crews that analysed the match had nothing to say on the matter.
Was it not enough for Monaghan to win Jesus just move on lads we need everyone's support so don't be rattling any cages now. Careful now

mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1044 - 19/04/2023 19:53:06    2471866

The game is scheduled for Omagh. The last time Derry played an Ulster semi final in Omagh Fermanagh beat them in 2008.

PattyONeill (Derry) - Posts: 222 - 19/04/2023 21:00:26    2471874

I don't think anyone on this forum is getting carried away, there is no doubt it's a bigger win for Monaghan then it would have been for Tyrone , Tyrone Will no doubt make the quarter finals and this game will be forgotten .

Derry will rightly be favourites for the semi final and for Monaghan to beat then a lot of improvements are needed , I see game is fixed for Omagh now rather than Armagh ,

TommyBowe (Monaghan) - Posts: 10 - 20/04/2023 08:32:54    2471888

LOL, the irony of Tyrone supporters coming into the dedicated Monaghan thread to complain about Monaghan supporters being "whingey yaps"....

Is it any wonder most of the country root against Tyrone when they play....

patk (Monaghan) - Posts: 936 - 20/04/2023 14:47:18    2471979

Replying To patk:  "LOL, the irony of Tyrone supporters coming into the dedicated Monaghan thread to complain about Monaghan supporters being "whingey yaps"....

Is it any wonder most of the country root against Tyrone when they play...."
I dont think any neutral reading this thread could argue otherwise.

You won a very entertaining and mostly clean game of football but rather than celebrate that, most Monaghan posters appear to be turning into nasty and petty little whiners.

I suppose it is understandable due to Tyrone ending almost all Monaghans recent all Ireland attempts. But still, it is very unbecoming.

Like I said though. Getting carried away with a snatch and grab over Tyrone in the first round of the championship is very dangerous. I doubt Monaghan will lift any silver over the next few years and smugness can very easily backfire.

Try and remain humble and understated until such times that you have actually got something to celebrate.

Wally (Tyrone) - Posts: 912 - 20/04/2023 15:35:32    2471985

Replying To Saynothing:  "You must have been at a different game, Tyrone got no tap overs unlike Canavan who would needed to have been shot to get a free. Monaghan player shoved Tyrone player in the chest after he scores a point, Tyrone player should have went down, I was one of the first on here to congratulate Monaghan but as usual the usual moaners come out to play, good luck Derry."
Yep, even the Dublin lad commentating laughed at one of the frees the ref gave to Monaghan. Ref was from Fermanagh though, so no surprises there lol. Ref leant to Monaghan, but you expect that, most of the country has a spite at Tyrone football (long may it continue), and refs are not immune. (Generally, Dublin fans are about the only ones that are fair-minded about Tyrone football.) Ultimately of course Monaghan deserved their win, especially for that last goal, and for essentially showing more hunger than Tyrone in the second half. R. Brennan badly missed organising that Tyrone defence. Great goal by Monaghan, but the defending was non-existent, you'd see better in a club game. A defence as lazy as that means that that Tyrone team will not be going much further.

points50swiththeargyllsonthewrongfeet (Tyrone) - Posts: 239 - 20/04/2023 15:45:33    2471988

Replying To mhunicean_abu:  "Dead right fella, how dare those jumped up little Monaghan muppets question one of their own players getting punched in the groin, on their own forum, not like he got spat in the face or anything. Sure the two unbiased TV crews that analysed the match had nothing to say on the matter.
Was it not enough for Monaghan to win Jesus just move on lads we need everyone's support so don't be rattling any cages now. Careful now"
Look back and you'll see I congratulated Monaghan on their win and predicted them to beat Derry, then the whinging started from the winning supporters and here we have it. If a Tyrone player did flick somebody in the spuds the two umpires were right beside it, ref was on his ear piece to them so nothing to see here. Yes Tyrone got a couple of frees but not 10 scorning frees. Not one Tyrone supporter blamed the ref, they took their beating, if you could call it a beating, most around me were looking extra time for the craic, so the game couldn't have meant that much to Tyrone. They'll be there when Monaghan are like no gone.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2010 - 20/04/2023 16:26:10    2472000

Replying To points50swiththeargyllsonthewrongfeet:  "Yep, even the Dublin lad commentating laughed at one of the frees the ref gave to Monaghan. Ref was from Fermanagh though, so no surprises there lol. Ref leant to Monaghan, but you expect that, most of the country has a spite at Tyrone football (long may it continue), and refs are not immune. (Generally, Dublin fans are about the only ones that are fair-minded about Tyrone football.) Ultimately of course Monaghan deserved their win, especially for that last goal, and for essentially showing more hunger than Tyrone in the second half. R. Brennan badly missed organising that Tyrone defence. Great goal by Monaghan, but the defending was non-existent, you'd see better in a club game. A defence as lazy as that means that that Tyrone team will not be going much further."
I dont agree that the ref was all monaghan. He blew up o connell for overcarrying in first half when he had 2 players pulling out of him. Tyrone got at least 3 points from poor decisions in first half. In second half he was more lenient to monaghan in fairness.

McGuirk1985@ (Monaghan) - Posts: 71 - 20/04/2023 17:10:31    2472015

Replying To Saynothing:  "Look back and you'll see I congratulated Monaghan on their win and predicted them to beat Derry, then the whinging started from the winning supporters and here we have it. If a Tyrone player did flick somebody in the spuds the two umpires were right beside it, ref was on his ear piece to them so nothing to see here. Yes Tyrone got a couple of frees but not 10 scorning frees. Not one Tyrone supporter blamed the ref, they took their beating, if you could call it a beating, most around me were looking extra time for the craic, so the game couldn't have meant that much to Tyrone. They'll be there when Monaghan are like no gone."
so the game couldn't have meant that much to Tyrone Unbelievable comment ...the ultimate in sour grapes. Defeat does hurt !
Monaghan should have had a penalty when Gallagher was fouled and Tyrone player deserved a red. Play the game back & even you will agree. We won & deservedly so....get over it. Go to your own forum ....if you have one ........and take your frustrations out there. And remember .....be happy !

Shelbourne1 (Monaghan) - Posts: 346 - 20/04/2023 17:45:01    2472025

Replying To Saynothing:  "Look back and you'll see I congratulated Monaghan on their win and predicted them to beat Derry, then the whinging started from the winning supporters and here we have it. If a Tyrone player did flick somebody in the spuds the two umpires were right beside it, ref was on his ear piece to them so nothing to see here. Yes Tyrone got a couple of frees but not 10 scorning frees. Not one Tyrone supporter blamed the ref, they took their beating, if you could call it a beating, most around me were looking extra time for the craic, so the game couldn't have meant that much to Tyrone. They'll be there when Monaghan are like no gone."
Tyrone couldn't handle Monaghans direct running and as a result they fouled. The ref did Monaghan absolutely no favours in that game he just did the bare minimum and gave the frees. Bad enough Tyrone men coming on this thread to be magnanimous and then throw digs but Christ yous could at least have a bit of cop on about it.

Jjoniel79 (Monaghan) - Posts: 143 - 20/04/2023 18:27:04    2472030

Replying To Wally:  "I dont think any neutral reading this thread could argue otherwise.

You won a very entertaining and mostly clean game of football but rather than celebrate that, most Monaghan posters appear to be turning into nasty and petty little whiners.

I suppose it is understandable due to Tyrone ending almost all Monaghans recent all Ireland attempts. But still, it is very unbecoming.

Like I said though. Getting carried away with a snatch and grab over Tyrone in the first round of the championship is very dangerous. I doubt Monaghan will lift any silver over the next few years and smugness can very easily backfire.

Try and remain humble and understated until such times that you have actually got something to celebrate."
Pot and kettle come to mind here.
It was a very entertaining game, yes, and yes, a mostly clean game apart from the usual from yourselves lol.
And come on can a team and there supporters not celebrate a win. Every single win deserves to be celebrated.
If every team were to only celebrate an all ireland win my god it wouldn't be worth following the sport.
Enjoy the rest of your campaign and celebrate every win at least for the sake of your team who put in a lot of effort and deserve every pat on the back they get.

Good luck and best of luck to all the ulster teams

farneygael (Monaghan) - Posts: 277 - 20/04/2023 21:47:10    2472052

Anybody get notified for the Season Ticket yet for the Derry Match?

Farney (Monaghan) - Posts: 801 - 20/04/2023 22:02:38    2472057

Replying To McGuirk1985@:  "I dont agree that the ref was all monaghan. He blew up o connell for overcarrying in first half when he had 2 players pulling out of him. Tyrone got at least 3 points from poor decisions in first half. In second half he was more lenient to monaghan in fairness."
I would argue it was the first half that he kept Monaghan in the game when they were struggling with some sympathy tap over frees. Call for over carrying was laughable though and Tyrone got a few soft ones late on - always the sign of a poor ref when the team under pressure is getting the frees easier, his job shouldn't be to try and keep the game close!

benched (Tyrone) - Posts: 534 - 21/04/2023 09:28:31    2472082

Replying To PattyONeill:  "The game is scheduled for Omagh. The last time Derry played an Ulster semi final in Omagh Fermanagh beat them in 2008."
Likewise Monaghan in 2018 - suppose you both should be happy neither of you facing a heavyweight like Fermanagh this time around ;)

benched (Tyrone) - Posts: 534 - 21/04/2023 09:33:41    2472085