Monaghan GAA thread

The full squad is up on the ulster gaa website in the programme. Noticeable absentee is Gary Mohan, he must have picked up an injury. Our bench looks very weak, maybe Carey, Jones, Karl off it to make a big difference. I would expect a change or two to the team before throw in. Maybe Jones for mc manus or Carey for Gallagher, I feel some men need to be sacrificed from the starting team to give us a boost when coming on in the 2nd half and maybe starting Jones and taking on Mansy is best.

monaghanmad (Monaghan) - Posts: 378 - 14/04/2023 13:19:23    2470980

Replying To Mickod88:  "Club loyalty could cost us, boyle and lavelle had poor leagues and boyle was caught out badly quite often in last years championship. Hope I am wrong but there are definitely more dynamic and impactful players on the bench..."
Sorry Mick, I can't agree with this one, I would have no love for Clontibret.. But Boyle carried the game to Armagh in the first game and was involved in our first 4 scores.. He is dynamic and breaks the line and is strong in keeping the ball and not losing it in the tackle. I'm glad to see him back on the team and we missed him in our last game against Tyrone. Lavelle has been returning from injury, so once match fit will be a strong member of the team.

Farney (Monaghan) - Posts: 801 - 15/04/2023 09:13:05    2471039

Replying To Jjoniel79:  "I must say, with all leagues kicking off soon and with plenty of reserve games already played - that the county website is a farce. No sign of any fixtures and a maze of rubbish to get through to find results. Bad enough it's latest news and other sections were always slow to keep up and generally rubbish but at least whoever was running it in years gone by, they had the fixtures up promptly and were well organised. Whoever's in charge of organising fixtures and whoever's in charge of the website need to be chased."
I agree but there is a way to see fixtures. If you are looking for senior league fixtures, find a senior league result or fixture, and click on one of the teams in blue. This will take you to the league table and the full fixture list and results for the league. If you are looking for reserves, it's the same except make sure it a reserve result or fixture you click on. Figured it out by mistake so hope its a help.

FarFrom (Monaghan) - Posts: 6 - 16/04/2023 00:18:54    2471126

Replying To seanie08:  "Don't recall less talk about an ulster championship opener. Strange season ahead we will enter all ireland series at same spot regardless of what happens in ulster. Despite that Sunday is important. I rate Tyrone v highly possibly a dark horse for the all ireland which is mad to call them dark horses considering they won it two years ago. As for ourselves lots of heart experience inexperience and lads missing side in transition but important we give it a right go in omagh win lose or draw as a really bad defeat would be hard to shake ahead of all ireland series. We dont have that bad a record there over the years been wins and losses but its a venue we usually perform in. Think we are capable of making last eight and that is what team should be aiming for."
"Enter the all Ireland series at same spot regardless of what happens in ulster"

Unless we win ulster of course? Or am I'm missing something. And that's very plausible

Looking forward to today. Like every other year I'm going into championship season with blind optimism.
Maybe I'm biased or looking thru the ol rose tinted glasses but, on our day, we can beat Tyrone, derry and the rest.
The league results don't matter and, besides, red cards killed any chance we had (vrs Tyrone) so its a blank canvas for me today and we all know monaghan love an underdog tag.

If its a draw today are we looking at extra time and possible penalties?

MalsBalls (Monaghan) - Posts: 180 - 16/04/2023 06:47:13    2471129

Some big results in the senior league yesterday. Latton got over scotstown and corduff battled past inniskeen. But the eye catching ones are magheracloone only scoring 3 at Clontibret, ballybay pouring it on aughnamullan and Donamoyne stuffing Truagh. Anyone at these games or know how seniors will shape up?

Jjoniel79 (Monaghan) - Posts: 144 - 16/04/2023 10:19:08    2471151

Replying To MalsBalls:  ""Enter the all Ireland series at same spot regardless of what happens in ulster"

Unless we win ulster of course? Or am I'm missing something. And that's very plausible

Looking forward to today. Like every other year I'm going into championship season with blind optimism.
Maybe I'm biased or looking thru the ol rose tinted glasses but, on our day, we can beat Tyrone, derry and the rest.
The league results don't matter and, besides, red cards killed any chance we had (vrs Tyrone) so its a blank canvas for me today and we all know monaghan love an underdog tag.

If its a draw today are we looking at extra time and possible penalties?"
Not looking forward to today, we are travelling more out of duty than expectation. Midfield a worry, and hard to see the scores coming. Need to keep 15 on the pitch for 70+ minutes to stay competitive, so officials will play a big part as Tyrone will rightly push the limits all day.
But anyway, good luck Vinny and team.

Eddie the Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 1058 - 16/04/2023 11:39:36    2471165

Replying To Farney:  "Sorry Mick, I can't agree with this one, I would have no love for Clontibret.. But Boyle carried the game to Armagh in the first game and was involved in our first 4 scores.. He is dynamic and breaks the line and is strong in keeping the ball and not losing it in the tackle. I'm glad to see him back on the team and we missed him in our last game against Tyrone. Lavelle has been returning from injury, so once match fit will be a strong member of the team."
No, we wont fall out over this. I absolutely hope you're right and they have a good performance's today. They're definitely worth their spot on the team and as evidence by results yesterday in the league there's not too many men beating down the door to take their spots. I personally would choose other men slightly ahead of them like Mohan in midfield for his presence and abilities in attack ahead of Lavelle, but then I can see where others might say he makes too many mistakes where Lavelle doesnt take as many risks and therefor is more reliable in possession - which is golden in the county game.
I suppose I'm just playing devils advocate and trying to think differently to Vinny but to be fair to him he's been a roaring success so far and I hope that continues today whoever he has on the field. I think we can both agree on one thing today,
Muineacháin Abú!!

Mickod88 (Monaghan) - Posts: 49 - 16/04/2023 12:00:55    2471168

Replying To FarFrom:  "I agree but there is a way to see fixtures. If you are looking for senior league fixtures, find a senior league result or fixture, and click on one of the teams in blue. This will take you to the league table and the full fixture list and results for the league. If you are looking for reserves, it's the same except make sure it a reserve result or fixture you click on. Figured it out by mistake so hope its a help."
Go raibh maith agat. Gentleman.

Jjoniel79 (Monaghan) - Posts: 144 - 16/04/2023 12:03:07    2471169

Replying To MalsBalls:  ""Enter the all Ireland series at same spot regardless of what happens in ulster"

If its a draw today are we looking at extra time and possible penalties?"
Apart from seeding nearly sure provincial winners go into same group stage as all other sides

seanie08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1799 - 16/04/2023 12:36:02    2471176

Replying To Jjoniel79:  "Some big results in the senior league yesterday. Latton got over scotstown and corduff battled past inniskeen. But the eye catching ones are magheracloone only scoring 3 at Clontibret, ballybay pouring it on aughnamullan and Donamoyne stuffing Truagh. Anyone at these games or know how seniors will shape up?"
Hardly a big result Latton beating scotstown? Scotstown missing 7 county players…

veterngaa (Monaghan) - Posts: 389 - 16/04/2023 13:25:06    2471180

Looking forward to today, I'll be heading to support the team as per usual.

I was able to make u20 and minors this week also. U20s looked lost for ideas and I think the 3 games in 3 weeks caught up with them, Derry cruised through the middle at their leisure. If I'm not mistaken that team made a minor Ulster final? If so, appears the trend of underperforming at 20s is still there unfortunately.

Minor game was a very 1 sided affair, a bit like last week. Unlike a lot of Monaghan teams in the past we appear to be extremely attack minded and have the personnel to back it up. One very evident quality in the side is the athleticism and running power, several times in both games a Monaghan man was able to break through the tackle and leave the opposition for dead, at one stage carolan in the middle had a Fermanagh man hanging onto him and dragged the him up the pitch. Great credit has to go to Dermot and his management team, yet again we are producing quality at this level.

On today, i think we need to be in the game at half time to stage a chance. We ordinarily start well against Tyrone but fade just before half time. It's definitely a hell of a lot closer than most would have you believe.

Blueblood4life (Monaghan) - Posts: 200 - 16/04/2023 13:59:50    2471182

Replying To veterngaa:  "Hardly a big result Latton beating scotstown? Scotstown missing 7 county players…"
Aye fair enough the way I wrote that didn't read as I intended. Scotstown and corduff weren't the big results I was referring to. I was more referring to the other games. I was surprised by Magheracloone only scoring 3 points, and by the score ballybay managed to rack up against Aughnamullan. Also a supposedly good young Truagh getting stuffed by Donamoyne, grim reading for those three teams.

Jjoniel79 (Monaghan) - Posts: 144 - 16/04/2023 14:27:06    2471190

Well done Monaghan great win.

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 16/04/2023 17:56:00    2471226

What an absolute brilliant victory!! Football played off the cuff and players just going for it.. absolutely brilliant to watch. Well done!!

Inatfullforward (Longford) - Posts: 93 - 16/04/2023 18:03:26    2471232

Well done Monaghan, great game and top marks to your lad for going for that goal at the end. Had he missed, he'd have been a villain for not taking an easy equaliser.

points50swiththeargyllsonthewrongfeet (Tyrone) - Posts: 239 - 16/04/2023 18:07:15    2471236

We're thankfully proven time and time again that Vinny was absolutely the only man that should have gotten this job. Great result, great team performance, great brand of football and plenty of new faces contributing heavily to the result along with the old dogs for the hard road who've proven once again how great they truly are in the face of their doubters!!

Mickod88 (Monaghan) - Posts: 49 - 16/04/2023 19:21:58    2471254

Brilliant result today all stood up what a goal at the end and to be standing in that corner was amazing when was the last time we won a championship match at the death ?

prideof85 (Monaghan) - Posts: 851 - 16/04/2023 19:56:53    2471263

Fair play to Monaghan, I thought Tyrone were going to kick on from their late league improvement and win Ulster. Great win to build on yer league survival. All the momentum with ye now.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 784 - 16/04/2023 20:00:55    2471264

well done Monaghan great result i only seen the first half as had to work i was going to get a mass said for ye at half time some turn around

breffnibluewhite (Cavan) - Posts: 454 - 16/04/2023 20:12:09    2471266

Any sign of 'Monaghanfan123'? All that giving out about the management team the whole year and it's blown up in your face. Delighted.

HB245 (Monaghan) - Posts: 206 - 16/04/2023 20:13:09    2471268