Limerick GAA thread

Great Post and your contributions are always very precise and uplifting. Thank you.
To further your information on the 1918 and 21 All Ireland winning teams I observed that Bob McConkey was from Kilaloe ( abit like the Caseys today being from Meelick) . Also Paddy McInerney was from O Callaghans Mills in Clare. I do k now that many fine hurlers from Kilaloe played with Ahane but did McConkey move into Limerick and play with Young Irelands.

bloodyban (Limerick) - Posts: 1710 - 15/08/2022 12:16:52    2437484

Replying To foreveryoung:  "I take a great interest in Limerick hurling, as most of you should know. Limerick is where my people come from. However, this time of unprecedented Limerick success has caused me to go back through the years and to reflect on other Limerick teams from different times. I have found certain issues that I don't know the answers to. And when don't have the answers, that bothers me. My post may seem like one of those meandering funny stories that Billy Connolly tells, but there is an actual punch-line. Please bear with me...

It's about Bob McConkey, the first man to lift the Liam McCarthy Cup in 1921.

I don't expect anyone to answer my few questions, expect possibly Old Tour Man. Bob McConkey seems to have lined out for Limerick at no. 12, in goals, at no. 2 and at no. 7 during his hurling career with Limerick (at least 1918 to 1934).

First question:
• Was the numbering different back then?
• Second, was there any commemoration held in Limerick to commemorate the centenaries of those 1918 and 1921 AI winning teams?

AI successes, where Hough, McConkey, Ryan, Humphreys, Lanigan, Keane and McGrath seem to have been men who shouldered Limerick to two of their 11 AI victories should be acknowledged even 100 years later, and especially 100 years later.

I don't think that any county should never not commemorate their AI success(s)... over time.

Anyway, here is a brief run-down of Bob McConkey's inter-county hurling career with Limerick.
He seems to have been no. 12 in the 1918 Munster final victory.

1918 - Final: Limerick 11-3 Clare 1-2 (A massacre by any measure; in case Dalo and his podcast are reading.)
LIMERICK: Willie Hough (Captain), Paddy Kennedy, Dick Ryan, Mick Rochford, Dan Troy, Tom McGrath, Dinny Lanigan, Paddy Mclnerney, Willie Gleeson, Jack Keane, Paddy Barry, Bob McConkey, Willie Ryan, Jimmy Humphries, Mick Murphy#
Sub: W.McCarthy.

He seems to have been in goals in the AI final:
1918 (15-a-side): B. McConkey, P. Barry, W. Hough, J. Humphreys, J. Keane, R. Lanigan, P. Kennedy, J. Gleeson, M. Rochford, T. McGrath, M. Murphy, W. Ryan, P. McInerney, R. Ryan, D. Troy

And in goals again (in the Munster and AI campaigns) in 1921 when he was the first man to raise that famous cup.
1921 - Final: Limerick 5-2 Cork 1-2: (A fair old hiding, too; in case Donal Og et al are reading).

LIMERICK: Bob McConkey (Captain), Michael Murphy, Willie Gleeson, Jimmy Humphries, Dinny Lanigan, Dave Murnane, Willie Hough, Jack Keane, Willie Ryan, Garrett Howard, Paddy McInerney, Ter Mangan, Mick Mullane, Chris Ryan, Tom McGrath

1921: B. McConkey, M. Murphy, D. Murnane, J. Humphreys, D. Lanigan, W. Gleeson, J. Keane, T. Mangan, M. Mullane, G. Howard, W. Hough, W. Ryan, P. McInerney, C. Ryan, T. McGrath

Incidentally, this seems to be Garrett Howard's first appearance on the scene. And even this great younger brigade of present day Limerick hurlers don't' have as many AI medals as Howard has.

In the Munster final 1923, it seems that McConkey donned no. 7 jersey in quietening Tipperary.
Final: Limerick 2-3 Tipperary 1-0 (Kept Tipp to one score…Jaysus,"the home of hurling" kept to one ball!).
LIMERICK: Paddy McInerney (Captain), Jack Hanley (Goal), Dinny Lanigan, Dave Murnane, Willie Hough, Jimmy Humphries, Bob McConkey, Micky Fitzgibbon, Tom McGrath, JJ Kinnane, Jack Keane, Micky Cross, Mick Neville, Willie Gleeson, Joe O'Grady.
Subs: P Shinny, Johnny O'Shea.

It seems that McConkey wasn't involved in the Munster campaigns of 1933 and 1934. But he was there in 1934 again for the drawn AI game, as a corner-back, but not for the replay.

1933 - Final: Limerick 3-7 Waterford 1-2
LIMERICK: Micky Fitzgibbon (Captain), Paddy Scanlan, Micky Cross, Garrett Howard, Christy O'Brien, Paddy Clohessy, Dave Clohessy, Tom McCarthy, Timmy Ryan, John Mackey, Mick Mackey, Ned Cregan, Mick Ryan, Pat Ryan, Jim Roche.

1934 - Final: Limerick 4-8 Waterford 2-5
LIMERICK: Timmy Ryan (Captain), Paddy Scanlan, John Mackey, Mick Mackey, Jim Close, Paddy Clohessy, Dave Clohessy, Tom McCarthy, Ned Cregan, Mick Kennedy, Micky Cross, Mick Ryan, Jim Roche, Jackie O'Connell, Garrett Howard.

1934 (draw): P. Scanlon, B. McConkey, E. Cregan, T. McCarthy, M. Cross, M. Kennedy, G. Howard, P. Clohessy, M. Ryan, J. Mackey, T. Ryan, J. Roche, J. Close, D. Clohessy, M. Mackey. Sub: M. Condon

1934 (replay): T. Shinny, E. Cregan, T. McCarthy, M. Cross, M. Kennedy, G. Howard, P. Clohessy, M. Ryan, J. Mackey, T. Ryan, J. O'Connell, J. Roche, J. Close, D. Clohessy, M. Mackey

And just for interest…(always great to hammer Tipp).
1935 - Final: Limerick 5-5 Tipperary 1-4
LIMERICK: Paddy Scanlan, Ned Cregan, Tom McCarthy, Mick Kennedy, Micky Cross, Garrett Howard, Jackie Power, Timmy Ryan (Captain), Mick Ryan, John Mackey, Mick Mackey, Jim Roche, Dave Clohessy, Paddy McMahon, Jim Close.

1936 - Final: Limerick 8-5 Tipperary 4-6
LIMERICK: Paddy Scanlan, Paddy Carroll, Tom McCarthy, Mick Kennedy, Micky Cross, Paddy Clohessy, Garrett Howard, Timmy Ryan, Mick Ryan, John Mackey, Mick Mackey (Captain), Jim Roche, Dave Clohessy, Paddy McMahon, Jim Close."
If look at '33 and before it is clear teams are not listed one to fifteen, but all the players from any one club are listed together.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4321 - 17/08/2022 07:40:56    2437743

Replying To Oldtourman:  "If look at '33 and before it is clear teams are not listed one to fifteen, but all the players from any one club are listed together."
True, and it seems that the captain is named first. I wouldn't be 100% sure, but I was on the phone to a very old South Limerick man yesterday, and he said that Bob McConkey played outfield and not as goalie, and that is why he appeared first in the team list, because back then for many years the team captain was named first.

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1914 - 17/08/2022 16:59:14    2437793

Thanks very much billy lee for all you have done for limerick football..you brought respectability back when it had been at a very low ebb..you were extremely honest and straight talking and it was a breath of fresh air not listening to sound bites and bulls...,best of luck with whatever you do and hopefully you'll be back involved at some stage..

CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2219 - 23/08/2022 11:07:30    2438357

Replying To CTGAA10:  "Thanks very much billy lee for all you have done for limerick football..you brought respectability back when it had been at a very low ebb..you were extremely honest and straight talking and it was a breath of fresh air not listening to sound bites and bulls...,best of luck with whatever you do and hopefully you'll be back involved at some stage.."
Would echo this 100%. Billy Lee took on Limerick football at a time when no one else wanted it and brought a team ranked 30 in the country into the top 12 and back to a Munster final for the first time in 12 years.

Football is always up against it to make progress in a hurling dominated county, but he was making serious strides the last 3 years and its a pity he won't get to oversee them play the likes of Dublin and Cork next year as he deserved that.
He would have no doubt taken them all on further and whoever gets the job will have a tough act to follow.

county man (Limerick) - Posts: 1102 - 23/08/2022 21:50:50    2438493

Totally agree with county man and CTGAA10. Credit where it is due. One of the things I admired about Billy was early in his tenure he called out the fact that about seventy of the best footballers in Limerick were not playing for the county and that needed to be addressed. He got players togging out for us and results followed. It was hard watching him in the Munster Final this year as we were outclassed but to be fair that was to the ultimate champions. With a small bit more composure we should have taken Cork. It was very disappointing to lose that one as Cork senior teams are not exactly world beaters these days.

Big shoes to fill now. There will be pressure to stay up in division 2 and while it is hard to see anyone beat Kerry in Munster, Limerick should be capable of beating all of the others. Billy has left Limerick in a far healthier state than when he took over.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 24/08/2022 09:35:10    2438504

limerick won both u15 and 16 arrabawn all irelands yesterday and beat in the final of the 14s.......the conveyor keeps rolling.

munsterchamps (Limerick) - Posts: 1098 - 28/08/2022 15:07:04    2438911

Replying To munsterchamps:  "limerick won both u15 and 16 arrabawn all irelands yesterday and beat in the final of the 14s.......the conveyor keeps rolling."
That 16s team could be a serious outfit next year and for a couple more years after

daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1128 - 28/08/2022 17:22:15    2438922

Replying To daveboy:  "That 16s team could be a serious outfit next year and for a couple more years after"
Where could I get results of these tournaments, always have an interest
Also any idea of club representation as always good to see a good spread of clubs
Thanks

higgins (Limerick) - Posts: 246 - 29/08/2022 11:54:31    2438997

Replying To munsterchamps:  "limerick won both u15 and 16 arrabawn all irelands yesterday and beat in the final of the 14s.......the conveyor keeps rolling."
Fair play for posting this. Great to hear about players who could be realistic panel members 3-4 years from now.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 29/08/2022 16:37:46    2439068

Replying To higgins:  "Where could I get results of these tournaments, always have an interest
Also any idea of club representation as always good to see a good spread of clubs
Thanks"
Did a quick search & live95 have a piece here which has a twitter link, that should provide more details:

https://www.live95fm.ie/news/sport/landmark-day-for-limerick-underage-hurling/

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 29/08/2022 16:43:39    2439070

Replying To higgins:  "Where could I get results of these tournaments, always have an interest
Thanks"
They are really hard to get the results of. Also most counties had at least 2 teams out in each of u16, u15 and u14 in the same weekend playing games in different tournaments in Tipp, Wexford and Waterford if not more locations. So at least 6 teams. I'm not sure how counties split their development squads for each age group. Whether there was a definite A team better than the B team or 2 teams of similar ability. I was only able to get some results from the different clubs tweets congratulating their various members in the 6 or more squads/teams.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11877 - 29/08/2022 17:39:25    2439081

Saw high lights on tg4 of the arrabawn final v Galway..some of the players looked more like 18/19 year olds physically..looked to be some decent players involved..however don't judge players on teams they played with,heard an interview with seanie finn and gillane,they mentioned playing on the b team at 14..players develop differently as they move on..also I think there was matches played in limerick in some competition and a limerick team were based in Dublin..

CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2219 - 29/08/2022 21:45:33    2439104

Thanks for help lads, as ye say very hard to get details. Hopefully local papers might have more details at the weekend

higgins (Limerick) - Posts: 246 - 30/08/2022 09:14:34    2439112

Thanks"
Also interested in teams and results if anyone has a link. Seems theres very little info online. From what I can see Limerick were not in the u14/TF competition at all but that doesnt seem right. I think Tipp won both U14 A & B competitions but not sure about that or who they played in the final.
Anyone have any info, please let us know!

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 30/08/2022 11:36:12    2439134

Replying To tiobraid:  "Also interested in teams and results if anyone has a link. Seems theres very little info online. From what I can see Limerick were not in the u14/TF competition at all but that doesnt seem right. I think Tipp won both U14 A & B competitions but not sure about that or who they played in the final.
Anyone have any info, please let us know!"
google the tournament and you will find on waterford gaa website a programme with the squads for allthe competing side.s
Limerick didnt compete at all.

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3510 - 30/08/2022 12:11:43    2439140

Replying To tiobraid:  "Also interested in teams and results if anyone has a link. Seems theres very little info online. From what I can see Limerick were not in the u14/TF competition at all but that doesnt seem right. I think Tipp won both U14 A & B competitions but not sure about that or who they played in the final.
Anyone have any info, please let us know!"
The following has Tony Forristal/Sonny Walsh results of tournament in Waterford https://www.facebook.com/TonyForristalAndSonnyWalshTournaments
There was also a tournament in Abbotstown & here are some of teams (not all as I cut & pasted this piece from Galway Gaa): Galway Maroon are against Dublin 1, Galway White challenge Limerick 2, and Galway Tribes challenge Clare. The other game sees Limerick 1 vs Dublin 2. I'm not sure who else took park

higgins (Limerick) - Posts: 246 - 30/08/2022 12:26:17    2439143

Limerick Underage Hurling twitter account had a good few tweets updating over weekend.
There was a A & B squad , about 40 between the 2 teams at all 3 ages under 14/15/16 who played in various tournaments. squads were up but not clubs. Limerick did very well in these competitions.

OpenStand (Limerick) - Posts: 673 - 30/08/2022 12:52:53    2439147

It's good that the under age squads seem to be competing..when these fellas get to 18/29 they are more than capable of holding their own at adult level..get 2/3 new players every year and the senior panel will keep updating..on another point,do others find it strange that matches at senior and other levels are being played at 6.15 and 6 0 clock on Thursday and Friday evenings??was there much thought given to players having to take time off work or possibly half days if they need to travel??myself I think it's a lot to ask of club players but then that's only my opinion..

CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2219 - 30/08/2022 14:01:05    2439163

https://www.limerickleader.ie/news/limerick-sport/898765/limerick-underage-hurling-academy-ends-10-year-wait-with-all-ireland-u15-title-victory.html

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 30/08/2022 21:12:00    2439204