Limerick GAA thread

Replying To tiobraid:  "https://www.limerickleader.ie/news/limerick-sport/898765/limerick-underage-hurling-academy-ends-10-year-wait-with-all-ireland-u15-title-victory.html"
Great to see Peter Casey back in full flight again. Just hoping Cian Lynch is soon back to his best and the chase for the four in a row can really take off. Of course a five in a row in Munster would also go down nicely.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4321 - 04/09/2022 18:38:21    2439656

Great to see London follow the example of NY. Success lifts all boats worldwide.

https://www.limerickleader.ie/news/gaa/899599/club-limerick-london-to-host-it-s-inaugural-event-in-support-of-the-gaa-on-shannonside.html

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1917 - 05/09/2022 13:14:35    2439741

What's the story with relegation from senior A and B this year? Is there a playoff?
Adare and Ahane are tied at the bottom of group A.
Blackrock are rock bottom of group B.

theripper (Limerick) - Posts: 122 - 05/09/2022 14:55:12    2439759

Replying To theripper:  "What's the story with relegation from senior A and B this year? Is there a playoff?
Adare and Ahane are tied at the bottom of group A.
Blackrock are rock bottom of group B."
Don't think there is a playoff,will probably go to scoring difference between Adare and Ahane.

cityman73 (Limerick) - Posts: 775 - 05/09/2022 15:44:36    2439768

All Championships are taking shape at this stage.
At this Juncture id go with
Senior Na Piarsaigh,
Premier Inter Bruff,
Inter Na Piarsaigh
Junior A St Kierans

OpenStand (Limerick) - Posts: 673 - 05/09/2022 19:25:06    2439789

Replying To OpenStand:  "All Championships are taking shape at this stage.
At this Juncture id go with
Senior Na Piarsaigh,
Premier Inter Bruff,
Inter Na Piarsaigh
Junior A St Kierans"
I hear that Glenroe is going mighty guns in the Prem Inter. It'd be some craic to have those fellas up senior hurling against the Bouncer and Blackrock (if they can stay up). Is there a final in that between the two top teams, or is it the team that finishes on top that goes up senior B?

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1917 - 06/09/2022 10:09:28    2439824

Replying To foreveryoung:  "I hear that Glenroe is going mighty guns in the Prem Inter. It'd be some craic to have those fellas up senior hurling against the Bouncer and Blackrock (if they can stay up). Is there a final in that between the two top teams, or is it the team that finishes on top that goes up senior B?"
Top four go to semi's. First v fourth, second v third. Premier intermediate seems to be a poor enough standard this year. Any team that goes up will struggle badly.

theripper (Limerick) - Posts: 122 - 07/09/2022 19:40:25    2439971

12 all star nominations is again a good haul and for the most part reflective of the year. I think Dan can feel a little unlucky not to be nominated. I felt he hurled very well on a lot of very good hurlers through the year and never looked in trouble.

I genuinely feel Aaron Gillane deserved a nomination for HOTY. His munster championship performances were at an extremely high level. He got 1-02 from play first day v cork but created havoc in there and was up there for motm. He had a huge performance v Waterford and got motm when lynch went off he really stepped up. He bagged two crucial goals v tipp and was a major factor in getting over clare in the munster final when the ref finally had enough of cleary hanging off him getting 3 vital points from play 2 early in ET

His performance v Galway was incredible getting 6 points from play off burke and voted motm on sky coverage and again in the AI final getting 3 points from play off lawlor (all star full back in waiting) and nailing his frees. His workrate and ability to draw the attention of defenders all year getting double marked many times allows space for his teammates.

I think most including myself will agree Byrnes will be hurler of the year and deservingly so and barry nash was outstanding all year in that free role but if I was an inter County player selecting it would have been between Byrnes and Gillane for me.

daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1128 - 08/09/2022 11:04:44    2440006

Replying To daveboy:  "12 all star nominations is again a good haul and for the most part reflective of the year. I think Dan can feel a little unlucky not to be nominated. I felt he hurled very well on a lot of very good hurlers through the year and never looked in trouble.

I genuinely feel Aaron Gillane deserved a nomination for HOTY. His munster championship performances were at an extremely high level. He got 1-02 from play first day v cork but created havoc in there and was up there for motm. He had a huge performance v Waterford and got motm when lynch went off he really stepped up. He bagged two crucial goals v tipp and was a major factor in getting over clare in the munster final when the ref finally had enough of cleary hanging off him getting 3 vital points from play 2 early in ET

His performance v Galway was incredible getting 6 points from play off burke and voted motm on sky coverage and again in the AI final getting 3 points from play off lawlor (all star full back in waiting) and nailing his frees. His workrate and ability to draw the attention of defenders all year getting double marked many times allows space for his teammates.

I think most including myself will agree Byrnes will be hurler of the year and deservingly so and barry nash was outstanding all year in that free role but if I was an inter County player selecting it would have been between Byrnes and Gillane for me."
I can see where you're coming from Dave. However, in the final Lawlor did win quite a few of the tussles between the two of them. And in saying that, I can still say Gillane had a fine final. However, I'd say that it sounded the death knell on his hopes for HOTY. I certainly wouldn't rule him out at a future stage though.

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1917 - 08/09/2022 12:40:57    2440017

I'm probably in a minority on this one but I hope Barry Nash gets it.. He's been exceptionally good all year. His defending, positional awareness and distribution have been consistently excellent. Even back as far as the Munster league he looked a class apart.

skillet (Limerick) - Posts: 1063 - 08/09/2022 16:28:34    2440057

Congratulations to all the Limerick lads nominated for All-Stars. I think ye could get 7,8, or 9 awards.

However, I'm a bit annoyed that Dan Morrissey wasn't nominated. Dan is the type of fellow who I'd have in my team all day long; a rock, so solid. He's not fancy or spectacular but does exactly what should be done by a player in his position. Last year it was the same, no all-star. Yet, he was Mr. Dependable all 2021 for Limerick at full-back.

And what annoys me more is that there's no standout player for the no. 7 position. The goalie (Quaid) and the other 5 backs (Finn, Lawlor, Nash, Byrnes and Hannon) are nailed on IMO, but no. 7 is well up for grabs. Personally, I'd put Padraig Mannion there, but his teammate Fintan Burke, Damien Reck and even Paddy Deegan are all in with a shout. Any one of those four could be named. But were any of them that much better than Dan Morrissey all year? No, they weren't.

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1917 - 09/09/2022 11:53:30    2440122

Replying To foreveryoung:  "Congratulations to all the Limerick lads nominated for All-Stars. I think ye could get 7,8, or 9 awards.

However, I'm a bit annoyed that Dan Morrissey wasn't nominated. Dan is the type of fellow who I'd have in my team all day long; a rock, so solid. He's not fancy or spectacular but does exactly what should be done by a player in his position. Last year it was the same, no all-star. Yet, he was Mr. Dependable all 2021 for Limerick at full-back.

And what annoys me more is that there's no standout player for the no. 7 position. The goalie (Quaid) and the other 5 backs (Finn, Lawlor, Nash, Byrnes and Hannon) are nailed on IMO, but no. 7 is well up for grabs. Personally, I'd put Padraig Mannion there, but his teammate Fintan Burke, Damien Reck and even Paddy Deegan are all in with a shout. Any one of those four could be named. But were any of them that much better than Dan Morrissey all year? No, they weren't."
Not alone should he be nominated this year, but he was robbed of the full back all star last year. Conor Prunty had a very good year, but was cleaned out in the first half against Tipp. Dan Morrissey did not put a foot wrong all year and he was playing in a new position (he plays centre back or midfield for Ahane) He is an 8 out of 10 or more every day,

stpats1886 (Limerick) - Posts: 39 - 09/09/2022 21:24:26    2440176

Replying To foreveryoung:  "Congratulations to all the Limerick lads nominated for All-Stars. I think ye could get 7,8, or 9 awards.

And what annoys me more is that there's no standout player for the no. 7 position. The goalie (Quaid) and the other 5 backs (Finn, Lawlor, Nash, Byrnes and Hannon) are nailed on IMO, but no. 7 is well up for grabs. Personally, I'd put Padraig Mannion there, but his teammate Fintan Burke, Damien Reck and even Paddy Deegan are all in with a shout. Any one of those four could be named. But were any of them that much better than Dan Morrissey all year? No, they weren't."
Paddy Deegan? Cleaned out by Gearoid...no chance

Shocs07 (Limerick) - Posts: 372 - 10/09/2022 07:59:54    2440181

Replying To Shocs07:  "Paddy Deegan? Cleaned out by Gearoid...no chance"
The form Hegarty was in that day all the demon from hell wouldn't have stopped him. If you cast the final aside, Deegan hurled quite a lot of good games throughout the year. I don't think that he'll get an AS, but he's there to be counted.

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1917 - 10/09/2022 15:14:52    2440238

I couldn't access Martin Breheny's composite team of the Cody's men from 2006-2015 and the current Limerick team, so I picked my own. While I support Limerick more than Kilkenny in hurling, my team has been objectively picked, without sentiment or bias.

This is how I'd line out a mix of the current Limk team and Cody's great Kilkenny from 2006-2015!

1. Nicky Quaid…no question!

2. Sean Finn…both Mick Kavanagh (8 AI medals) and Paul Murphy (4) were class corner-backs, but I have Finn above them.

3. Noel Hickey; 9 AI medals. In the same mold as Mike Casey who might one day dislodge him; small-sized for no. 3 but powerful.

4. Jackie Tyrrell: loved how he hurled but he's the first to admit that Barry Nash has taken the position to new level altogether. Still, Nash's couple of years there can't compare to Tyrrell's overall career.

5. Tommy Walsh…no question, and it's tough on Declan Byrnes, especially if he gets POTY this year. TW is one of thee all time greats.

6. Declan Hannon: great leader, great captain. Brian Hogan was a mighty center-back too, but even he himself on the Dalo podcast put Hannon above him.

7. JJ Delaney…no question. Another all-time great.

8. Mick Fennelly: an enforcer like Will O'Donoghue, but a better hurler. Probably, Cody's favorite player over his 24-year reign.

9. Cian Lynch…no argument, well the only argument is here or no. 11?

10. Gearoid Hegarty…nobody can argue against that.

11. Kyle Hayes: Yes, he's better at no. 7, so I could shift him back there, move JJ to no. 3 and drop Noel Hickey. I won't, as any extra forward who is left out wasn't or isn't better in my opinion than Hickey.

12. Eoin Larkin; HOTY and 8 AI medals; destroyed Limerick in 2007.

13. TJ Reid… another all-time great.

14. King Henry…possibly the greatest of them all.

15. Eddie Brennan, and it's tough on Aaron Gillane, who still has time in his side. Gillane is brilliant but there's something annoyingly missing in his game, like kicking or shooting the ball over the bar from 5 yards in front of goal. The day everything clicks for the man, he might possibly score 6-7 goals. That's how dangerous he is, but for now it's Eddie Brennan.

By including Gillane, I could have switched TJ to center-forward and Hayes to no. 7, and then JJ to full-back and drop Noel Hickey. I would not do that. Aaron Gillane, to date, has not had a better hurling career than Noel Hickey.

16. Cody-Kiely and Kinnerick are savage, but there'll never be another Cody.

So, it's 10 KK to 6 Limerick. Like it or lump it!

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1917 - 11/09/2022 09:27:06    2440284

Replying To foreveryoung:  "I couldn't access Martin Breheny's composite team of the Cody's men from 2006-2015 and the current Limerick team, so I picked my own. While I support Limerick more than Kilkenny in hurling, my team has been objectively picked, without sentiment or bias.

This is how I'd line out a mix of the current Limk team and Cody's great Kilkenny from 2006-2015!

2. Sean Finn…both Mick Kavanagh (8 AI medals) and Paul Murphy (4) were class corner-backs, but I have Finn above them.

3. Noel Hickey; 9 AI medals. In the same mold as Mike Casey who might one day dislodge him; small-sized for no. 3 but powerful.

4. Jackie Tyrrell: loved how he hurled but he's the first to admit that Barry Nash has taken the position to new level altogether. Still, Nash's couple of years there can't compare to Tyrrell's overall career.

5. Tommy Walsh…no question, and it's tough on Declan Byrnes, especially if he gets POTY this year. TW is one of thee all time greats.

6. Declan Hannon: great leader, great captain. Brian Hogan was a mighty center-back too, but even he himself on the Dalo podcast put Hannon above him.

8. Mick Fennelly: an enforcer like Will O'Donoghue, but a better hurler. Probably, Cody's favorite player over his 24-year reign.

11. Kyle Hayes: Yes, he's better at no. 7, so I could shift him back there, move JJ to no. 3 and drop Noel Hickey. I won't, as any extra forward who is left out wasn't or isn't better in my opinion than Hickey.

15. Eddie Brennan, and it's tough on Aaron Gillane, who still has time in his side. Gillane is brilliant but there's something annoyingly missing in his game, like kicking or shooting the ball over the bar from 5 yards in front of goal. The day everything clicks for the man, he might possibly score 6-7 goals. That's how dangerous he is, but for now it's Eddie Brennan.

By including Gillane, I could have switched TJ to center-forward and Hayes to no. 7, and then JJ to full-back and drop Noel Hickey. I would not do that. Aaron Gillane, to date, has not had a better hurling career than Noel Hickey.

So, it's 10 KK to 6 Limerick. Like it or lump it!"
Fair and good assessment for now. Kilkenny were a lot longer at the top than this current Limerick team. If Limerick continue to dominate, your selection would likely be different in a few years time.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2166 - 11/09/2022 10:18:06    2440286

Replying To foreveryoung:  "I couldn't access Martin Breheny's composite team of the Cody's men from 2006-2015 and the current Limerick team, so I picked my own. While I support Limerick more than Kilkenny in hurling, my team has been objectively picked, without sentiment or bias.

So, it's 10 KK to 6 Limerick. Like it or lump it!"
Couldn't argue much with that team at the moment. Legacy is a 10 year journey. This Limerick team are only at the half way mark and I've no doubt when they're finished with the sport there will be quite a few changes to the above. As Christy Ring said the players we have now are the best we have seen and the best are yet to come. Kilkenny revolutionised the game in the 00s and Limerick have built on that. The sport we now enjoy is a far better spectacle than even that of 15 years ago. The physicality, conditioning, skill level, tactical awareness, mental strength and preparation are light years ahead of the 90s and considerably ahead of what we had in the mid 00s.

daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1128 - 11/09/2022 10:35:17    2440288

I learned something quite interesting over the last few days. I was corrected on the phone by a Limerick man when I said that if Kiely keeps persisting with the same 15-20 players that it could be the downfall of this great Limerick.

He retorted that possibly no manager ever has changed their hurling panel as much as Kiely and Kinnerick, and he later sent me links to each Limerick panel since 2018.

Having examined the panels since 2018, I was astounded. Since then, Limerick had 5 new players in 2019, six in 2020, five in 2021, and seven in 2022 (3 other young guys were in training with the 37 man panel). 12 of the 2018 panel are totally gone now.

That's 23 new players since 2018, which amounts to about 60 lads with AI medals (and I'm making allowance that Limerick didn't win it in 2019). If someone had the exact number, I'd appreciate it.

But not only that as my friend explained, Kiely has also put AI medals into parishes in Limerick, like Galbally, Bruff, Kilteely, Na Piarsaigh, Athlacca and Glenroe where they had never been before. He said that's why ever kid (girls and boys) on every street has a hurling in their hand.

This deepening and entrenching of Limerick hurling is going on alright, but very quietly in the background. There seems to be no public glare or unnecessary attention to anything that Kiely does.

I, like an idiot looking in, had only managed to see the 15-20 players at surface level, without even noticing this huge, but quiet revolution that's happening on the ground across the county of Limerick.

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1917 - 11/09/2022 10:46:27    2440291

Do ye follow the club scene at all lads? Gone very quiet here recently.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1727 - 14/09/2022 17:17:08    2440691

New training top released. Proceeds go to the training fund. €150 for the top, beanie hat and a "personalised letter from John Kiely and Declan Hannon".
Its on the expensive side in this current economic situation I think. Greedy even. Will put a lot of parents under pressure to buy a T-shirt and woolly hat for huge money. Half the price would be plenty. They'll probably be available for a very reasonable price in a few weeks I hope.

theripper (Limerick) - Posts: 122 - 14/09/2022 19:32:01    2440701