Sligo GAA thread

Replying To OhtobeARossie:  "Not from his illness
Hope he makes a full speedy recovery."
Best wishes yo the lad. Hope he makes a full recovery. Some things are more important than football

Anto (Sligo) - Posts: 345 - 04/05/2023 20:52:56    2475795

A huge weekend of Sligo football upcoming. Sligo people should be proud. Days like these don't come around every year.
On Friday night the minors take on Roscommon. A winner takes all game most would say unless there's a shock in the final round.
Saturday is the u20s. The lads will give it everything. They've got what it takes it's just about putting in a performance. It's not often you see an u20 side perform so consistently well so hopefully they can continue that run of form into the weekend. Although they will be without a few lads who played a big part in the Connacht Championship, they have a strong panel and will give it their all.
For the seniors on Sunday it's a shot in the dark. Nobody knows will they shut up shop, play their normal style or play their normal game with a few adjustments. Either way them lads will represent their county with pride. Who knows maybe a shock is on the cards. We will have to wait and see. Either way they will give it their all and we will see where we are at after 70 minutes.
A massive weekend ahead. Great to see Sligo getting days like these. Best of luck to all.
Sligeach Abú!

Sligobuck21 (Sligo) - Posts: 114 - 04/05/2023 20:53:26    2475796

I knew the bookies got it wrong in the Sligo/New York game and the result proved it.

Tomorrow Paddy Power has it wrong.

Galway 1/50 ie Put on 50 to win 1
Sl8go. 14/1. ie Put on 50 to win 700

Hadicap bet.

Give Sligo 13 pts before the start.
If they lose the match by 12 pts or less

Put 50 euro on this to win 50.

Paddy Power are under estimating Sligo.

Good luck

leitrimforsam (Leitrim) - Posts: 85 - 06/05/2023 16:42:19    2476114

Well done Sligo U20s outstanding team effort and will take a top team to beat them in the All Ireland.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3346 - 06/05/2023 18:22:08    2476131

Stunning and well deserved win for Sligo U20s. As solid of defensive showing I've seen from any team this year. Go on and win the All Ireland now lads.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3753 - 06/05/2023 18:24:09    2476132

Brilliant result!!!!!! Good luck in final.

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 06/05/2023 18:30:08    2476136

Fair play to them and thoroughly deserved.

MartinEgan (UK) - Posts: 80 - 06/05/2023 18:39:51    2476137

Well done, Sligo. What a great year for the Yeats County, with more to come, hopefully.

midlands (Westmeath) - Posts: 542 - 06/05/2023 18:47:04    2476142

Well done Sligo, now go and win it!!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8589 - 06/05/2023 18:50:24    2476144

Replying To leitrimforsam:  "I knew the bookies got it wrong in the Sligo/New York game and the result proved it.

Tomorrow Paddy Power has it wrong.

Galway 1/50 ie Put on 50 to win 1
Sl8go. 14/1. ie Put on 50 to win 700

Hadicap bet.

Give Sligo 13 pts before the start.
If they lose the match by 12 pts or less

Put 50 euro on this to win 50.

Paddy Power are under estimating Sligo.

Good luck"
Oyles will only give 8/11 for that

worple (Roscommon) - Posts: 339 - 06/05/2023 19:08:05    2476155

Well done lads brilliant victory , no reason ye can't win it out now ye have a fine team. Best of luck to the Sligo seniors tomorrow also.

JimmyNail (Leitrim) - Posts: 182 - 06/05/2023 19:49:51    2476172

Great result for Sligo tonight. Well done to all concerned. Any day you beat a Kerry team in an All Ireland semi final is worth celebrating. Hopefully you can go the full way now.

letsgetgoing (Roscommon) - Posts: 503 - 06/05/2023 20:25:46    2476177

Mighty Win well Done

giveitlong (Galway) - Posts: 1222 - 06/05/2023 20:35:58    2476179

https://www.rte.ie/sport/football/2023/0506/1381064-sligo-defeat-kerry-to-reach-first-all-ireland-u20-final/

That was some win for the Sligo lads.

Hopefully they can follow up this win over kerry, by winning the All Ireland now.

Congrats on reaching the AI u20 Final.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3727 - 06/05/2023 20:51:32    2476185

Congrats Sligo. Great win. Now go on and win the final.

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1909 - 06/05/2023 21:07:00    2476188

Well done Sligo, best of luck to the seniors tomorrow too.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2746 - 06/05/2023 21:54:43    2476205

Well done Sligo, great to see that you're on the way up and contesting many finals.

MonaghanGlory (Monaghan) - Posts: 738 - 06/05/2023 22:12:27    2476214

Will take a very good team to beat this Sligo team. I love their calmness and their lack of respect for whatever opposition is put up in front of them. Would be massive for this team to bring a first All Ireland to the Yeats County.

facethepuckout (Roscommon) - Posts: 214 - 06/05/2023 22:16:04    2476220

Replying To facethepuckout:  "Will take a very good team to beat this Sligo team. I love their calmness and their lack of respect for whatever opposition is put up in front of them. Would be massive for this team to bring a first All Ireland to the Yeats County."
Second that. Have watched a couple of their games and very impressed by them. Best of luck to them in the final and would be great to see them finish the job on the biggest day and bring an all Ireland to sligo.

Auldleitrimgael (Leitrim) - Posts: 22 - 06/05/2023 23:05:07    2476240

Fantastic result Sligo. Hope ye win the final too and good luck to your senior team today.

ponga (Mayo) - Posts: 649 - 07/05/2023 07:21:21    2476263