Sligo GAA thread

Replying To facethepuckout:  "Will take a very good team to beat this Sligo team. I love their calmness and their lack of respect for whatever opposition is put up in front of them. Would be massive for this team to bring a first All Ireland to the Yeats County."
I would have said lack of fear rather than lack of respect. Two different things in my mind.

Bawner (Sligo) - Posts: 39 - 07/05/2023 08:19:20    2476266

Well done Sligo. Best of luck in the final.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 07/05/2023 08:32:28    2476267

Not sure how to describe the victory yesterday. Brilliantly coached, disciplined, talented with buckets of courage. To have Lost Matt Henry, followed by Dillon Walsh since the last game and then lose the heartbeat and captain of the team Canice Mulligan after 9 minutes would break a lot of teams. Up stepped Ross Doherty who was magnificent, Ronan Niland with a peace of a goal, Luke Casserly who had the Kerry dangerous forward Shine in his pocket all day. Then Brian Byrne comes on and nails the first kickout with a mark before adding a point. Seven days to an All Ireland Final. Doesn't it sound good.

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1648 - 07/05/2023 08:34:08    2476268

Started without Matt Henry and Dillon Walsh. Lost their captain and the player of the province Canice Mulligan after less than 10 minutes. And still put in a performance like that. To beat a Kerry team. A Sligo team has never shown such pride and put in a performance for the people of Sligo to be so proud of. They are an absolute credit. Defensively we were outstanding. That Kerry team kicked up massive scorelines against Clare and Cork and hardly got a clear chance yesterday. In midfield we were top class even without Mulligan. Going forward we were also excellent. The movement, patience, intelligence it was all there to see. The lads played with a confidence even after the setbacks.
Absolutely amazing.
Sligeach Abú!

Sligobuck21 (Sligo) - Posts: 114 - 07/05/2023 08:40:32    2476269

Congrats to Sligo U 20 footballers on their great win over Kerry. A good result for the smaller counties who always compete, but can find success elusive. Good luck in the final v Kildare. A big day for Sligo in the Connacht Final today. Best wishes.

thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts: 1735 - 07/05/2023 11:14:40    2476295

Congrats to Silgo on their great win yesterday and best of luck in the final. Enjoy the occasion.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3673 - 07/05/2023 11:56:33    2476316

Congratulations. Well done.
Final not a long journey for your supporters.
I'd say if it was in Mizen Head thousands of ter supporters would go!!
Thousands of ye will go to Cavan Town. BREFFNI PARK Next Saturday 2.45
Good luck.

leitrimforsam (Leitrim) - Posts: 85 - 07/05/2023 13:07:02    2476349

Replying To leitrimforsam:  "I knew the bookies got it wrong in the Sligo/New York game and the result proved it.

Tomorrow Paddy Power has it wrong.

Galway 1/50 ie Put on 50 to win 1
Sl8go. 14/1. ie Put on 50 to win 700

Hadicap bet.

Give Sligo 13 pts before the start.
If they lose the match by 12 pts or less

Put 50 euro on this to win 50.

Paddy Power are under estimating Sligo.

Good luck"
Hope you didn't put too much on it!

Kerry15 (Kerry) - Posts: 957 - 07/05/2023 15:25:27    2476396

A draw.The bookies win.They never give the half point

worple (Roscommon) - Posts: 339 - 07/05/2023 15:33:22    2476401

Replying To Kerry15:  "Hope you didn't put too much on it!"
The bookies always underestimate Roscommon. You can make money backing them everytime ,whether they win or lose

worple (Roscommon) - Posts: 339 - 07/05/2023 15:41:14    2476408

Sligo Played well today for much of this game and have quality. They will be in line for promotion again next year. Clearly the lads are buying into managers plans.

martinjoe (Mayo) - Posts: 499 - 07/05/2023 15:59:27    2476427

Replying To martinjoe:  "Sligo Played well today for much of this game and have quality. They will be in line for promotion again next year. Clearly the lads are buying into managers plans."
Gave away two soft goals and the contest was basically over after that with both playing through the motions. Sligo three games coming whereby they can be judged better.

Markievicz Park really should have hosted that final today with only 11,867 turning up to Castlebar this afternoon

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3742 - 07/05/2023 18:25:25    2476480

Today was an anti climax after the heroics of yesterday. Despite playing 2 championship games we were never tested. Today was a bit like going to the dentist. You would be dreading it all week cos you knew what would happen and now it's a great relief to have it over. I would have no fear of Kildare coming to town in our next match.

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1648 - 07/05/2023 18:56:42    2476495

Replying To martinjoe:  "Sligo Played well today for much of this game and have quality. They will be in line for promotion again next year. Clearly the lads are buying into managers plans."
Go pull the proverbial elsewhere

tentonne (Sligo) - Posts: 69 - 07/05/2023 19:30:32    2476504

Hard luck today. And 3 more games after this for the seniors so definitely a lot more football to be played, it's been a great year for ye and all in Sligo GAA. Very envious of your progress

Could/should the under 20 semi final yesterday not have been played before the senior final today? Was the ladies final before the men's today though and Galway in both of them? Surely lots of Sligo supporters had the trek to salthill yesterday and then to castlebar today for both of them. We're tickets €35 today? €35 for both of them and one trip would have been grand

leitrim4sam (Leitrim) - Posts: 644 - 07/05/2023 21:34:33    2476550

It didn't work out for Sligo today but I'm delighted to see that the hard work at underage is paying off in Sligo with a brilliant win against Kerry in the U20s. An All-Ireland win for ye at this level would be massive and will drive Sligo forward in the years ahead. The very best of luck in the final. Hoping ye can bring the cup west.

togoutlads (Galway) - Posts: 898 - 07/05/2023 21:53:18    2476551

Unbelievable for the county with the Under 20 success, really hoping Paul and the lads can finish the job now on Saturday. I hope everyone who can make the effort gets to Cavan, we should really get behind this team.

Yesterday was a disappointing display, I think its hard to be critical giving the stark difference in quality between div 1 and 4 but it would have been nicer if we didn't concede soft goals.

One negative, what is going on with the minors?

republican (Sligo) - Posts: 325 - 08/05/2023 13:26:43    2476718

Replying To republican:  "Unbelievable for the county with the Under 20 success, really hoping Paul and the lads can finish the job now on Saturday. I hope everyone who can make the effort gets to Cavan, we should really get behind this team.

Yesterday was a disappointing display, I think its hard to be critical giving the stark difference in quality between div 1 and 4 but it would have been nicer if we didn't concede soft goals.

One negative, what is going on with the minors?"
Shambolic display from the minor team. Poorly coached. Disappointed that one of the Mgt team has. Been given a full time job with Sligo as strength and conditioning coach. We need to build on the success of the last few years but it looks like the bad old days resurfacing at the moment.

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1648 - 08/05/2023 13:50:31    2476733

Replying To republican:  "Unbelievable for the county with the Under 20 success, really hoping Paul and the lads can finish the job now on Saturday. I hope everyone who can make the effort gets to Cavan, we should really get behind this team.

One negative, what is going on with the minors?"
I was at both games. Serious atmosphere at the U20 game. It was a truly great day to be a Sligo person. Castlebar brought home the difference in Div 1 and div3/4 teams. Sligo should be proud of their performance yesterday. They gave it what they could. I worry about the conditioning of the "top" teams and can't help wondering about PED's. Some counties seem to be heading the Rugby route.

thedreamer (Sligo) - Posts: 52 - 08/05/2023 13:56:26    2476736

Replying To eoinog:  "Shambolic display from the minor team. Poorly coached. Disappointed that one of the Mgt team has. Been given a full time job with Sligo as strength and conditioning coach. We need to build on the success of the last few years but it looks like the bad old days resurfacing at the moment."
How much of it is down to us not having the players and how much is management? I know the coach you are referring to is connected within the current hierarchy. I don't really want to harp on this one negative but I agree its not good to let the standards drop again, we are worst team in Connacht at U17 level, far from the big dog. Hopefully the board step in and conduct a full investigation on why this occurred, get rid of the rotten eggs and put us in a position to win again next year. I always go back to Ros, they are a division 1 team because they never let their standards drop at underage level.

republican (Sligo) - Posts: 325 - 08/05/2023 15:19:31    2476774