Sligo GAA thread

Replying To eoinog:  "Some posters thought I was arrogant when I totally dismissed New Yorks chances against us today. Well you got your answer ."
That was a huge upset. And New York have a mighty pick....

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7324 - 22/04/2023 17:39:41    2472451

Just shows how bad Leitrim must be….!

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1888 - 22/04/2023 17:50:03    2472455

I didn't want to post until after the NY match. What a performance from our u20s. It's not often you see a sligo team come out on top in tight games like that. I don't know what words you could use to describe it. The crowd, atmosphere, performance, quality of football everything was amazing. Massive credit to them. It's an even better achievement when you see we had 3 games 3 weeks in a row against the 3 best teams in Connacht all away from home and only got our Summerhill and St. Attracta's lads back very close to championship. Over the last 3 years Sligo football has had a good feeling and these lads are the reason. Fair play to them.
As for the NY game the Sligo team did a professional job. They did what they had to do. The game was over after the goal at the start. Looking forward to a Connacht Final and an All-Ireland series.
Sligeach Abú!

Sligobuck21 (Sligo) - Posts: 114 - 23/04/2023 12:11:35    2472682

After been in Tuam U20 and M Park Seniors its clear to see the quality the U20s have compared to some of their senior counterparts, Skills, team work and courage, really hope we can bring most of these lads on, we need them if we want to get out of D3 and compete in D2 in the longterm.

MrUnderhill (Sligo) - Posts: 50 - 23/04/2023 14:12:58    2472730

Replying To ForeverBlue2:  "Just shows how bad Leitrim must be….!"
We'd see how Cavan would get on against them in NY

somewouldargue (Leitrim) - Posts: 52 - 23/04/2023 16:59:27    2472799

Galway it is, presume the match will be in Salthill so?

letsgosligo (Sligo) - Posts: 98 - 23/04/2023 17:41:28    2472809

Replying To letsgosligo:  "Galway it is, presume the match will be in Salthill so?"
Match is in Castlebar.

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1645 - 23/04/2023 18:16:37    2472844

Final is in castlebar

SuperSligo (Sligo) - Posts: 51 - 23/04/2023 18:18:06    2472848

Replying To MrUnderhill:  "After been in Tuam U20 and M Park Seniors its clear to see the quality the U20s have compared to some of their senior counterparts, Skills, team work and courage, really hope we can bring most of these lads on, we need them if we want to get out of D3 and compete in D2 in the longterm."
That's a ridiculous statement.

BreakingBall123 (Sligo) - Posts: 23 - 24/04/2023 12:14:47    2473193

Replying To BreakingBall123:  "That's a ridiculous statement."
Absolutely ridiculous surely, not sure what agenda this serves.

republican (Sligo) - Posts: 325 - 24/04/2023 13:09:05    2473234

Replying To somewouldargue:  "We'd see how Cavan would get on against them in NY"
Leitrim should have won the game but too many players took the wrong options and NY rode their luck… a freak result.. The way we performed over the weekend would not fill a person with confidence if we had to play them over there either… but it's something we will probably never know…..!

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1888 - 24/04/2023 14:09:22    2473267

Replying To somewouldargue:  "You might be revisiting this post. Youse barely scraped by us. Who's to say NY won't whip you too. Wouldn't be so dismissive."
Have you anything to say now?

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1645 - 24/04/2023 17:01:04    2473383

Replying To ForeverBlue2:  "Leitrim should have won the game but too many players took the wrong options and NY rode their luck… a freak result.. The way we performed over the weekend would not fill a person with confidence if we had to play them over there either… but it's something we will probably never know…..!"
well said. several goal chances not taken, one would have been enough to get us over the line.
Then again I question some of Leitrim's preparation and conditioning, NY looked fitter even if it was played on their own patch etc. NY knew to hold Keith Beirne and they had a chance, trap was set and we fell into it.
Good luck In Tailteann Cup

gaelsboy (Leitrim) - Posts: 455 - 24/04/2023 18:25:04    2473426

Replying To eoinog:  "Have you anything to say now?"
Don't mind him.Unfortunately we have too many immature silly and sometimes trouble causing contributors on the Leitrim site.
Leitrim supporters applaud the progress of Sligo.

joeman123 (Leitrim) - Posts: 463 - 24/04/2023 19:46:36    2473456

Our U.20 team will be playing Kerry in the All Ireland Semi final. Ennis would be a grand venue and suitable for both teams but I think it gets fixed for a neutral province so we will have to head cross country to Laois or Offaly, miles out both counties way. However we will take it, great to be there.

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1645 - 24/04/2023 23:05:02    2473520

Surely we should be looking for home Connacht final as I'm sure Markievicz Park is well suitable for crowd this year.
It has to be an advantage we should be looking for. The big dogs get to play at home when it is their turn. Savage atmosphere at home

thedreamer (Sligo) - Posts: 52 - 25/04/2023 08:11:15    2473535

Replying To thedreamer:  "Surely we should be looking for home Connacht final as I'm sure Markievicz Park is well suitable for crowd this year.
It has to be an advantage we should be looking for. The big dogs get to play at home when it is their turn. Savage atmosphere at home"
Your user name appears to be very apt for you.Connacht final is long over.

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1645 - 25/04/2023 08:46:52    2473544

Replying To thedreamer:  "Surely we should be looking for home Connacht final as I'm sure Markievicz Park is well suitable for crowd this year.
It has to be an advantage we should be looking for. The big dogs get to play at home when it is their turn. Savage atmosphere at home"
I would agree that Sligo would deserve this. Great place for a game.
My recollection was that several years ago a decision was made that all Connacht finals have to be held in Machale Park, Hyde Park or Pearse Stadium. The logic at the time was based on capacity . But I'm not sure if this is valid now.
I think Markievicz Park takes about 18K . This probably wouldn't be enough if Mayo were involved , but I doubt if there will be 18K in Castlebar on Sunday week?

anotheralias (Galway) - Posts: 839 - 25/04/2023 09:32:58    2473564

Home advantage seems to be a delusion.
It's no good to Roscommon

worple (Roscommon) - Posts: 339 - 25/04/2023 10:45:11    2473599

The Connacht Council decided years ago that Senior Finals involving Sligo or Leitrim would be at neutral venues.
Normally the Hyde but we're under a fatwa since 2018.

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1379 - 25/04/2023 11:00:27    2473614