Louth GAA thread

Replying To joej:  "Great win but the attached article doesn't make for good reading.
https://m.independent.ie/regionals/louth/sport/gaa/poor-louth-minors-bear-the-brunt-of-years-of-coaching-and-games-neglect-41465899.html?s=08"
A poisonous article.

Shearer (Louth) - Posts: 827 - 22/03/2022 11:19:33    2406415

Replying To bennypoor:  "Trust a louth man to find a negative when everyone is happy fair play Mickey Harte he has our boys flying Sam Mulroy best forward in the country Clifford wouldn't lace his boots Louth are marching through the divisions like a run away express train"
No doubting Sam Mulroy is a class act.

Let's wait and see can he do it against a Tier 1 team before we say David Clifford wouldn't lace his boots.

It is the 3rd Tier of football after all.

Past hurler (None) - Posts: 718 - 22/03/2022 13:21:50    2406461

Great to hear from Fitzer that Mickey and Gavin are staying until 2025 at least. What a boost for everyone. If Sogger had got that in 1958 we would have more All-Irelands. Anyway it's full steam ahead starting in the Garden-on Sunday. It will be important too to win the division final in case a division 3 or 4 county get to a provincial final. e.g. like Cavan or Tipp in 2020.. We want a go at the other Sam. Sam for Sam.
Last Sunday was a pleasure. Everyone laying in when it mattered. Keep it going men.

19616609 (Louth) - Posts: 1595 - 22/03/2022 14:59:58    2406504

Replying To 19616609:  "Great to hear from Fitzer that Mickey and Gavin are staying until 2025 at least. What a boost for everyone. If Sogger had got that in 1958 we would have more All-Irelands. Anyway it's full steam ahead starting in the Garden-on Sunday. It will be important too to win the division final in case a division 3 or 4 county get to a provincial final. e.g. like Cavan or Tipp in 2020.. We want a go at the other Sam. Sam for Sam.
Last Sunday was a pleasure. Everyone laying in when it mattered. Keep it going men."
Any reason known why Sogger didn't get another term

Shearer (Louth) - Posts: 827 - 22/03/2022 16:47:05    2406549

Replying To bennypoor:  "Trust a louth man to find a negative when everyone is happy fair play Mickey Harte he has our boys flying Sam Mulroy best forward in the country Clifford wouldn't lace his boots Louth are marching through the divisions like a run away express train"
That's exactly the reason I posted it Benny. When the seniors are flying so high, why are our minors so under prepared. A friend of mine who lives in stabannon, said that the Dubs arrived on Friday night to and I quote" set up their dressing room" Tvs, monitors, all their gear left ready etc, food, water brought in on Saturday morning. Some
Louth minors were dropped off the panel mid week and they didn't have enough training tops for the squad. That's basic stuff before we get to the usual BS about money, size of the county pick, sponsorship etc. How do ye pick young lads up after a hammering like that?

joej (Louth) - Posts: 1599 - 23/03/2022 10:47:34    2406627

Replying To Shearer:  "A poisonous article."
Yes it may be poisonous, but it's true!!

joej (Louth) - Posts: 1599 - 23/03/2022 10:49:45    2406628

Replying To joej:  "That's exactly the reason I posted it Benny. When the seniors are flying so high, why are our minors so under prepared. A friend of mine who lives in stabannon, said that the Dubs arrived on Friday night to and I quote" set up their dressing room" Tvs, monitors, all their gear left ready etc, food, water brought in on Saturday morning. Some
Louth minors were dropped off the panel mid week and they didn't have enough training tops for the squad. That's basic stuff before we get to the usual BS about money, size of the county pick, sponsorship etc. How do ye pick young lads up after a hammering like that?"
I doubt if Mickey Harte "sets up dressing room". Good to hear he is now going to be involved with our development squads. Good action by County Board. I hope they bring the under 17s to Aughrim on Sunday. It would give them a lift to experience the atmosphere, see how we play and get a feel for the future. Be positive at this time.

19616609 (Louth) - Posts: 1595 - 24/03/2022 16:56:47    2406908

Replying To Shearer:  "A poisonous article."
Disgusting article by a posh wide boy I don't see what Dublin having a telly in the dressing was going to do they watching the teletubbies to get them going louth have to many if ands buts and maybes at that level maybe a spell in the army do them the world of good to many snowflakes go out and do your county proud like young Mulroy he fights like a beaver

bennypoor (Louth) - Posts: 521 - 24/03/2022 17:23:37    2406915

Replying To Shearer:  "Any reason known why Sogger didn't get another term"
It was a sad story that was probably never fully told. When the team went to New York in 1958 Jim was not included in party. Most people were very disappointed particularly the hosts. Kevin Behan refers to it in an interview in Hogan Stand on 30/11/2007 and talks about Jim's brilliance with the team.
Jim was a gentleman and while he was never a county selector or trainer again he remained a great Louth supporter. He was always seen at games in Croke Park , Navan, Port Laois etc.etc.

19616609 (Louth) - Posts: 1595 - 25/03/2022 15:03:09    2407058

Replying To bennypoor:  "Disgusting article by a posh wide boy I don't see what Dublin having a telly in the dressing was going to do they watching the teletubbies to get them going louth have to many if ands buts and maybes at that level maybe a spell in the army do them the world of good to many snowflakes go out and do your county proud like young Mulroy he fights like a beaver"
'A spell in the army' what century are you living in.

Being tough doesn't make you a good footballer me man.

Sam Mulroy has skill coming out of his ears from non stop practice and is an excellent free taker.

He also takes his strength and conditioning and fitness very very seriously which allows him to play at a huge intensity for 70 plus minutes.

Past hurler (None) - Posts: 718 - 25/03/2022 16:28:48    2407081

I remember hearing ye had an outstanding minor player a few years ago, McFaul his name was as far as I can remember. I don't see him named with yer Senior team. What's his story does anyone know?

Kerry15 (Kerry) - Posts: 958 - 26/03/2022 10:32:17    2407130

Lads well done today, That was a pleasure to watch. Great to see the confidence in the team. The supporters were great too. Such a great crowd for an away game and we definitely had an impact on the team. Thank God for Sam Mulroy, he is some gaelic player. Tommy Durnin was good again, he is now a key player for us. Bevin Duffy is in the perfect location for us now and it was great to see Ciaran Downey putting up a big score, well taken goal too. McConnonl and Jackson really starting to fit. Ciaran Byrne really looks the part, very dangerous player, he is one to watch. McKeever also is do important with his attaching runs, great to watch. Whole team played well. Yet again a team just tan out of ideas against us. If we can just put them away earlier is the next level for us, we'll possible. Overall delighted, It was brilliant to see all the Louth fans and kids out with the team after the final whistle, a special moment.

ninjasmyth (Louth) - Posts: 714 - 27/03/2022 20:24:27    2407538

Replying To ninjasmyth:  "Lads well done today, That was a pleasure to watch. Great to see the confidence in the team. The supporters were great too. Such a great crowd for an away game and we definitely had an impact on the team. Thank God for Sam Mulroy, he is some gaelic player. Tommy Durnin was good again, he is now a key player for us. Bevin Duffy is in the perfect location for us now and it was great to see Ciaran Downey putting up a big score, well taken goal too. McConnonl and Jackson really starting to fit. Ciaran Byrne really looks the part, very dangerous player, he is one to watch. McKeever also is do important with his attaching runs, great to watch. Whole team played well. Yet again a team just tan out of ideas against us. If we can just put them away earlier is the next level for us, we'll possible. Overall delighted, It was brilliant to see all the Louth fans and kids out with the team after the final whistle, a special moment."
Cork vs Louth next year. Biggest county vs littlest county. Repeat of 1957 all Ireland . We're glad to stay up!

Rockies (Cork) - Posts: 947 - 27/03/2022 20:35:43    2407543

Replying To Past hurler:  "'A spell in the army' what century are you living in.

Being tough doesn't make you a good footballer me man.

Sam Mulroy has skill coming out of his ears from non stop practice and is an excellent free taker.

He also takes his strength and conditioning and fitness very very seriously which allows him to play at a huge intensity for 70 plus minutes."
I grown up in the 70's you never know how hard we had it you try getting a pair of bell bottoms to fit you in the Ireland in the dead of winter

Great win today again up to Div2 soon to be dining in Div1 king mickey and his trusty knight Sam the man Mulroy no one will want to play us in the all Ireland bring on Kerry

bennypoor (Louth) - Posts: 521 - 27/03/2022 21:23:34    2407576

Well done to Louth and great to see the team finishing all games strong.

MR2 (Louth) - Posts: 44 - 29/03/2022 09:08:16    2407928

Well done. Good to get a game in Croker before the Leinster semi.

19616609 (Louth) - Posts: 1595 - 30/03/2022 18:35:55    2408489

Congrats to the Louth team on their promotion to Division two. After two matches it looked like that they had a battle on their hands to stay up. The comeback against Limerick was the real turning point in the league. Louth's match in Croke Park on Saturday will be their first time in HQ since losing the Division 3 final to Tipp in 2017.

Ollie2 (Louth) - Posts: 782 - 31/03/2022 14:35:44    2408679

Replying To Ollie2:  "Congrats to the Louth team on their promotion to Division two. After two matches it looked like that they had a battle on their hands to stay up. The comeback against Limerick was the real turning point in the league. Louth's match in Croke Park on Saturday will be their first time in HQ since losing the Division 3 final to Tipp in 2017."
Ollie I think we played Laois in Croker in 2019 NFL when they broke the training rules. We won with Ryan Burns having a stormer. I hope we get a repeat to-morrow. Good luck to all

19616609 (Louth) - Posts: 1595 - 01/04/2022 09:26:02    2408788

Replying To 19616609:  "Ollie I think we played Laois in Croker in 2019 NFL when they broke the training rules. We won with Ryan Burns having a stormer. I hope we get a repeat to-morrow. Good luck to all"
We did indeed. How could I forget about that.

Ollie2 (Louth) - Posts: 782 - 01/04/2022 15:54:07    2408925

Job done some silverware in the bag,That is now 6 wins ina row or 7 undefeated,I think you have to go back to 2000 for a better record,I think they lost 1st lge game and won next 6 and then won semi and final,that's 8 ina row,maybe Ollie or anyone can confirm........

Fkd12 (Louth) - Posts: 147 - 03/04/2022 11:19:43    2409169