Donegal GAA thread

Really enjoyed the game yesterday. It was a typical ulster affair both teams played a lot of men behind the ball when they were defending . Antrim we're very well set up and really tested us. Must say the pitch was good although a lot of players were slipping in possession. As for Donegal the plusses were caolan ward who is playing well . Caolan has been there a few years now and he finally seems to be stepping up, one thing about him he never seems to sulk when not playing and is always there, players like that are hard to come by. Mc Cole looked good at full back another lad who's there a while. I think Mc Cole will be our full back if fit come championship. Mc glenehan had a good steady game, he's strong and good on the ball. I felt Antrim won the midfield battle. Jason was quieter than normal but he's only back so the game will stand to him. Caolan is probably a certain starter now and he kicked a great score. Young Shane o donnell had his moments. Mogan was lively as usual although he played a lot deeper than normally. Paddy was on fire seems really on his game and hopefully he'll keep clear of injuries because he's our main scorer. Good to see Jamie and Murphy getting game time both looked sharp and Jamie kicked a good score. All in all it's only Mc kenna cup so it's early days. Hopefully ban and mc Cole are not too badly injured.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2404 - 16/01/2022 11:14:14    2395128

Replying To rorysboys:  "Really enjoyed the game yesterday. It was a typical ulster affair both teams played a lot of men behind the ball when they were defending . Antrim we're very well set up and really tested us. Must say the pitch was good although a lot of players were slipping in possession. As for Donegal the plusses were caolan ward who is playing well . Caolan has been there a few years now and he finally seems to be stepping up, one thing about him he never seems to sulk when not playing and is always there, players like that are hard to come by. Mc Cole looked good at full back another lad who's there a while. I think Mc Cole will be our full back if fit come championship. Mc glenehan had a good steady game, he's strong and good on the ball. I felt Antrim won the midfield battle. Jason was quieter than normal but he's only back so the game will stand to him. Caolan is probably a certain starter now and he kicked a great score. Young Shane o donnell had his moments. Mogan was lively as usual although he played a lot deeper than normally. Paddy was on fire seems really on his game and hopefully he'll keep clear of injuries because he's our main scorer. Good to see Jamie and Murphy getting game time both looked sharp and Jamie kicked a good score. All in all it's only Mc kenna cup so it's early days. Hopefully ban and mc Cole are not too badly injured."
Thanks for post. You don't really get this perspective from the radio commentary which was only middling enough. A big too much chat and not enough commentary of the match.

Hopefully ban and mccole are more precautionary. Ward had a very good club championship as well and I'm sure took confidence from that. And agree he doesn't sulk, looks to have a great attitude and is currently giving management no option but to play him.

I would think that that deeper sweeping role is the role mogan will player for donegal going forward. He played it underage and his fitness, speed and energy levels are great for covering the ground.

You do though get a sense that come serious football later in the year the starting 15 will be along the overall lines of the last few years. Maybe mccleneghan will push through and maybe some of the o'donnells off the bench but the main men still look to be the main men.

Ulsterchamps_32 (Donegal) - Posts: 692 - 16/01/2022 14:04:06    2395152

Replying To Ulsterchamps_32:  "Thanks for post. You don't really get this perspective from the radio commentary which was only middling enough. A big too much chat and not enough commentary of the match.

Hopefully ban and mccole are more precautionary. Ward had a very good club championship as well and I'm sure took confidence from that. And agree he doesn't sulk, looks to have a great attitude and is currently giving management no option but to play him.

I would think that that deeper sweeping role is the role mogan will player for donegal going forward. He played it underage and his fitness, speed and energy levels are great for covering the ground.

You do though get a sense that come serious football later in the year the starting 15 will be along the overall lines of the last few years. Maybe mccleneghan will push through and maybe some of the o'donnells off the bench but the main men still look to be the main men."
Yea it's going to be hard to dislodge the main lads. A lot of the younger lads doing well but nobody really putting up there hand so far. Mc. Glenahan definitely if he keeps it up. Ethan o donnell will be an option but probably from the bench. Farah must be injured a pity because he has everything going for him. Daire o baoill not to be seen it but from reports he's in the squad. Aaron Doherty another prospect came on yesterday but play on the periphery. Hope he gets a run Tuesday night. In my mind I think Jeac Mc kelvey could make it .

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2404 - 16/01/2022 14:40:14    2395157

Is Daire O'Baoill in the panel this year.

gunman (Donegal) - Posts: 1057 - 16/01/2022 14:49:02    2395158

Replying To Ulsterchamps_32:  "Thanks for update on match. I'd much rather read this than posts that want to focus on changing management after first match of the season.
It's great to see work going on at lyit on football, it's a great bridging competition. Even for say non intercounty footballers it's a great opportunity to have an outlet beyond their club. The freshers probably even more so in that regard. Pity about the last minute goal conceded by them in their match.

Mogan also stood out in the sigerson match a few years ago against carlow. He's real pace and covers some amount of ground, though think sometimes curtailed a little by being very left sided. I wonder does conor o'donnell need a little time to adapt. It's a big jump from junior club to both sigerson and intercounty.

I also wonder sometimes do posters here watch the senior club football in donegal. It can be pretty depressing stuff at the the high end of senior championship. It's very defensive and safety first, over and back holding on to the ball, little risk taking with precious very little man on man marking. Bonner certainly moved donegal away from that and it's a much better watch.

You could easily make an argument that for donegal to be more successful they need to play more of the defensive game. Players are much more used to it from club games and will adapt quicker to it. It also won't expose the lack of man marking defenders. I don't want to go back to that but if club football doesn't want to be a bit more positive then I fear donegal will have to revert to this. I really hope st eunans as county champions will push on this year to play more positive as they'll set the benchmark but I'm not sure."
Ya I read that the freshers were unlucky. I also read that Luke Barrett is in with them which is good from a familiarity point of view for the county set ups. But ya your right alot of Donegal football can be dour enough or complete mismatches. I would fear for LYIT next week if I am honest with Clifford in the UL ranks. The systematic approach will only go so far especially against a player like him.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2782 - 16/01/2022 18:09:30    2395185

Shout out to the posters on the feedback from yesterday's game. I listened to the game on the radio and the commentary gave the impression Donegal played within themselves finding a gear whenever required. By all accounts Caolan Ward has started the season by hitting the ground running. Its hard to workout why he was seemingly out of favour. I think sometimes he has been a victim of his own versatility by playing in the full back line when more of a half back. He was excellent in that game against Kerry in Croke Park when when coming off the bench but largely a bit part player since. Hopefully he can continue his decent form as he is a very talented athletic lad with plenty to offer. Plus he is strong and quick which is important in the modern game. I would like to see maybe a little more controlled aggression from him with similar sentiments towards McCole. Question for you but what are peoples thoughts on Mogan as a possible corner back?

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2782 - 16/01/2022 18:21:32    2395187

Replying To panamasam:  "Shout out to the posters on the feedback from yesterday's game. I listened to the game on the radio and the commentary gave the impression Donegal played within themselves finding a gear whenever required. By all accounts Caolan Ward has started the season by hitting the ground running. Its hard to workout why he was seemingly out of favour. I think sometimes he has been a victim of his own versatility by playing in the full back line when more of a half back. He was excellent in that game against Kerry in Croke Park when when coming off the bench but largely a bit part player since. Hopefully he can continue his decent form as he is a very talented athletic lad with plenty to offer. Plus he is strong and quick which is important in the modern game. I would like to see maybe a little more controlled aggression from him with similar sentiments towards McCole. Question for you but what are peoples thoughts on Mogan as a possible corner back?"
I must correct you panama on you saying that caolan ward was excellent coming off the bench against Kerry. If my memory serves me right caolan started at corner back that day, and had a very difficult day on Paul geaney who scored who scored 1.3 or 1.4. I have the utmost respect for caolan ward I feel his best position is probably wing half back but with our lack of corner backs I fully understand why he's being used there. As for peadar mogan being used as a corner back not a hope. It's not his game peadar strengths are getting on the ball and attacking.. I'm not saying I'm right but it's just my opinion.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2404 - 16/01/2022 21:28:16    2395219

anyone know if the Mayo game is on TV or GAA GO , Oisin Mullen staying in Mayo makes it a bigger game now.

jacktheboy (Donegal) - Posts: 405 - 16/01/2022 21:42:48    2395221

Kildare v Kerry, St Conleth's Park, Newbridge, 13:45
Mayo v Donegal, Markievicz Park, Sligo, 13:45
Tyrone v Monaghan, O'Neills Healy Park, Omagh, 15:45

I notice that Tyrone/Monaghan game has been pushed back to a later throw in time - presumably to have a double header on TG4 that afternoon.

Question is will the Donegal/Mayo game or Kildare/Kerry be part of that double header?

You would imagine Donegal/Mayo would draw a larger audience but there is also the Jack O'Connor return to Kildare back story to consider.

peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 801 - 17/01/2022 09:14:11    2395230

Replying To peiledoir20:  "Kildare v Kerry, St Conleth's Park, Newbridge, 13:45

I notice that Tyrone/Monaghan game has been pushed back to a later throw in time - presumably to have a double header on TG4 that afternoon.

Question is will the Donegal/Mayo game or Kildare/Kerry be part of that double header?

You would imagine Donegal/Mayo would draw a larger audience but there is also the Jack O'Connor return to Kildare back story to consider."
If I were tg4 I'd be all over the jack O'Connor angle and show that match, it's a good angle and it should add extra spice.

Ulsterchamps_32 (Donegal) - Posts: 692 - 17/01/2022 10:01:23    2395235

Replying To panamasam:  "Shout out to the posters on the feedback from yesterday's game. I listened to the game on the radio and the commentary gave the impression Donegal played within themselves finding a gear whenever required. By all accounts Caolan Ward has started the season by hitting the ground running. Its hard to workout why he was seemingly out of favour. I think sometimes he has been a victim of his own versatility by playing in the full back line when more of a half back. He was excellent in that game against Kerry in Croke Park when when coming off the bench but largely a bit part player since. Hopefully he can continue his decent form as he is a very talented athletic lad with plenty to offer. Plus he is strong and quick which is important in the modern game. I would like to see maybe a little more controlled aggression from him with similar sentiments towards McCole. Question for you but what are peoples thoughts on Mogan as a possible corner back?"
No chance of Peadar Mogan being an effective corner back, also neither him nor Ryan McHugh should be playing as wing-backs in most games, too light and leaving our full backs exposed a lot of the time. I think they should be played as wing forwards who drop deep.

Tony McClenaghan would be a better corner back, he has physicality and aggression required to earn a place in back six, but wing back is probably his key position for now, maybe center half back eventually. However while he has been solid in McKenna Cup so far, really we need to see him in the National League and maybe Championship to know where he is really at in the grand scheme of things.

Caolan Ward is a valuable player, the problem is getting him assigned a specific role, like he never seems to nail down a solid position. He got a good run in 2018 and 2019, but he maybe got exposed a few times like against Kerry in the Super 8 match and unfortunately he just hasn't been able to nail down a spot. This year he is on fire though and is now in line for a run in the team.

Daire O'Baoill has got a lot of game time in the last 3 years, but hasn't really demonstrated form to demand a starting place.

Brendan McCole is athletic and pacey, but always seem to lack aggression of a full back or corner back, maybe I got too used to the McGee's and Paddy McGrath, but full backs def need to be in your face.

I'm hoping that Shane O'Donnell and a few others put their hands up for places too.

Commodore (Donegal) - Posts: 1115 - 17/01/2022 11:31:03    2395252

Anyone know the story with Gallen & McMenamin? Neither have featured so far. Maybe they're returning from injury. If both are injury free & fit, I think they're almost automatic starters.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9136 - 17/01/2022 13:11:16    2395286

Was up at Portglenone on Saturday, jez we made hard work of it. All right according to the locals the home team are very fit ATM and have put in a huge effort but our fellas made them look great especially in the 2nd half. Too me mc Cole just doesn't cut tbh he needs to get ugly and I don't think it's in him for that. Tony played most of the 1st half at right corner forward and wud bust a gut to get back when we were turned over. Ward covered acres of ground without any real push coming off him, paddy was like a dog the last day roaring for everything. Tomo was quiet to his standards, j mcgee made a lot of runs but no end product I wud of taught he'd really want to show when he'd the chance with no langan on. Mcgonagle was his usual workhouse and I'd never fault him for effort, none of the rest really stood out tbh. Shaun made a silly mistake for there goal which really gave them a lifeline, of the new men id say Tony should be pushing for a place and mckelvey looks the part the wee while he got on.
MM is rusty yet.
The most frustrating part is this lateral over n back at the half back line your forwards are running their socks off making angles and our fellas were constantly turning back to goal with it when in the last 10 minutes I really wud off expected our lads to cut loose, remember at that stage I'd say we were only possibly four players off our championship side. O mc ff was very guilty off this, he has pace to burn and I don't know if its instructions or are the players believing they can control the game from there in the last quarter. We were only 2 points up n a kick of the ball there ahead, the better teams down the road will destroy us in the last 10 if this persists.

Tyrion (Donegal) - Posts: 160 - 17/01/2022 13:55:56    2395300

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Anyone know the story with Gallen & McMenamin? Neither have featured so far. Maybe they're returning from injury. If both are injury free & fit, I think they're almost automatic starters."
From listening to some of media it looks like they are injured. Unfortunately for both they seem to be injured quite a bit.

Ulsterchamps_32 (Donegal) - Posts: 692 - 17/01/2022 13:56:15    2395301

Replying To totalrecall:  "Yet again Shane Ward proves his credentials as a top class coach getting derrygonnelly to the ulster club final..... admittedly not matching the stellar achievements of those who shafted him from the minor set up!"
He may stay where he is after contributing to that pathetic performance by derrygonnelly in the ulster club final.

crnm (Donegal) - Posts: 100 - 17/01/2022 15:16:32    2395321

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Anyone know the story with Gallen & McMenamin? Neither have featured so far. Maybe they're returning from injury. If both are injury free & fit, I think they're almost automatic starters."
I'm not 100% sure on their current status, Oisin Gallen has had shoulder problems, but I hadn't heard any news to suggest he will be out long-term or anything, so hopefully back for the league and ramping up for Championship.

I heard Stephen McMenamin has been carrying a few knocks and injuries since Summer 2020 and he wasn't at full fitness last year at all, but still was a better option that what we had in the squad. He should hopefully be fully fit by Championship if all goes well.

Commodore (Donegal) - Posts: 1115 - 17/01/2022 15:31:44    2395328

Conor Morrison should be back in 2022, although its a long recovery road at this point, but he will be one of the 3 in our full back line if fully fit.

Stephen McMenamin is another guaranteed starter if fully fit.

Caolan Ward is fighting for a place

Tony McClenaghan is fighting for a place.

Odhran McFadden Ferry will hopefully regain his 2019 pace and fitness.

Eoghan Ban Gallagher is outstanding at wing-back, maybe even CHB.

Paul Brennan is energetic and physical, sometimes his discipline lets him down, but great player.

Brendan McCole has all the attributes to be a full back, but most people agree that he lacks the gritty side needed for the full back line.

Hugh McFadden is a midfielder or center half forward really, had done a job in the half back line at times, but doesn't seem his best there.

Commodore (Donegal) - Posts: 1115 - 17/01/2022 15:42:39    2395332

Replying To peiledoir20:  "Kildare v Kerry, St Conleth's Park, Newbridge, 13:45

You would imagine Donegal/Mayo would draw a larger audience but there is also the Jack O'Connor return to Kildare back story to consider."
Following on from my post this morning, the games have had their time changed indicating that they may be shown on TG4 on Sunday afternoons:

20/02: Kerry V Donegal
13/03: Donegal V Monaghan
20/03: Dublin V Donegal

TG4 generally release their schedule around this time of year should that should really clarify it.

peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 801 - 17/01/2022 16:18:42    2395339

Anyone at the game last night?

Sounds as though Caolan McGonigle continued his good form. He deserves great credit for the way he has nailed down his starting place. I think it's fair to say he wasn't a glamorous name & maybe was underrated by a lot of people. But fair play to him. He has worked hard & as I said previously on this thread has been one of our better players the last few years.

Good to get another win & another game this weekend. Obviously there is more important silverware to aim for, but it'd be nice to win it at the same time.

Any word on Brennan & McClenaghan injuries? Hopefully just precautionary.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9136 - 19/01/2022 11:35:58    2395567

Replying To rorysboys:  "I must correct you panama on you saying that caolan ward was excellent coming off the bench against Kerry. If my memory serves me right caolan started at corner back that day, and had a very difficult day on Paul geaney who scored who scored 1.3 or 1.4. I have the utmost respect for caolan ward I feel his best position is probably wing half back but with our lack of corner backs I fully understand why he's being used there. As for peadar mogan being used as a corner back not a hope. It's not his game peadar strengths are getting on the ball and attacking.. I'm not saying I'm right but it's just my opinion."
Thanks for correcting me. I could have sworn he came on and went to right half back I must've been dreaming even though I was stood on the Hill that day. I am actually going to disagree on Mogan who is an absolute top player. I think he could play corner back in that he is strong and tenacious plus like alot of modern corner backs likes to get forward and take a score. However he can be as important up the field playing that roaming role very much like McGeary for Tyrone.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2782 - 19/01/2022 11:54:32    2395574