Donegal GAA thread

Replying To Newman21:  "Agreed. There are clubs in the bottom 4 most years hanging into Senior for what. They made it even worse this year with 9th to 12th getting another bite.

Have two groups of six (seeded from League or previous year's Championship) with top two in each group going into Semi finals. Every club gets minimum 5 championship games and you don't have luck of the draw determining who gets through.

There would be dead rubbers but there is in all formats."
Agreed. I would even go so far as to introduce some mechanism whereby the Intermediate runners-up get a crack at one of the lower ranked senior clubs in a promotion/relegation type playoff. Currently as it stands, it's harder to get out of Intermediate than it is to stay in senior in my opinion.

So the intermediate champions would directly replace the lowest ranked senior club.
And maybe the intermediate runners-up could playoff vs the second loweest ranked senior club.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9359 - 22/11/2023 11:40:35    2514146

The Naomh Conaill game is on RTE2 Sat evening, hope they can do it, be great to see them in an Ulster final, the other Ulster semi final is on TG4 on Sunday.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2897 - 22/11/2023 12:02:44    2514156

Hearing Gary Mc Daid is taking over the Gswilly job. He's doing a few calls to lads that are heading away to Oz to stay. Marley and Mc Ateer I think. Be hard to keep lads that have their mind set to go in the next few weeks esp with the weather we've had this past month.

tickets (Donegal) - Posts: 96 - 22/11/2023 14:09:41    2514172

Replying To tickets:  "Hearing Gary Mc Daid is taking over the Gswilly job. He's doing a few calls to lads that are heading away to Oz to stay. Marley and Mc Ateer I think. Be hard to keep lads that have their mind set to go in the next few weeks esp with the weather we've had this past month."
Might be a bit Kate with Marley - his transfer has already gone through.

peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 902 - 22/11/2023 14:24:18    2514174

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Good appointments if successful. Noone can doubt Damien Diver's drive and determination to do things to the highest possible standards. I also like Sinéad Breen's enthusiasm anytime I've heard her speak. She mentioned fixing the county GAA website as a priority, which is reason enough for her to be appointed if you ask me."
I loved Diver as a player but I'm unfamiliar about his coaching credentials since he finished playing so I'm not sure. If it's a straight shoot between himself and the current coaching officer then it'll be a referendum on what happened with the academy as Ardara were very critical of the Co Board.
Regarding Breen, well, someone who hops around clubs like that would worry me. There's 3, maybe 4, people that need to go and let fresh faces in..

SignTheContract (Donegal) - Posts: 197 - 22/11/2023 14:42:27    2514177

Are our League fixtures available to view yet? suppose Mckenna Cup will be the first thing. Any word on Murphy?

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2897 - 22/11/2023 14:49:46    2514179

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Are our League fixtures available to view yet? suppose Mckenna Cup will be the first thing. Any word on Murphy?"
Yea he got married a few weeks ago. All well I think

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2527 - 22/11/2023 15:13:19    2514181

I would hope that Jim has planted the seed with him, now get some players to text him now and say it's brilliant training, everyone is buying into it, something special is building, come back Michael!

SignTheContract (Donegal) - Posts: 197 - 22/11/2023 16:52:26    2514200

County board could be a calamity next year.

AudiMan (Donegal) - Posts: 656 - 23/11/2023 11:26:27    2514270

Replying To rorysboys:  "Game was not listed as a live game which I told you, yet we have a Fermanagh (Monaghan) man buying it and giving a total one sided opinion of it. You don't fool me lads, my opinion is if you don't go to a game keep your opinions to yourself. Not interested in bluffers."
You should apologise to our neighbour poster who you wrongly accused of lying.

Remember u said u contacted the Ulster council to ask them where they streaming it - why would u do that Just outta curiosity?

Because you wanted to watch the game online even tho you attack the poor souls that can't make it?

OR

You have completely made that up ?

My hard earned 5e is on option 2…

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1614 - 23/11/2023 11:41:02    2514273

Replying To rorysboys:  "God you are so jealous of n Conal."
What would I have to be jealous of ???

We are the most successful club in the county.

I hugely admire glenties/fintown - they are a fantastic club and I've said that repeatedly

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1614 - 23/11/2023 11:42:13    2514274

Replying To Scenicparish:  "I take it you were in your armchair as usual when the match took place. If you were at the match you would have seen that it was a terrble night for football."
Why would I attend a game between 2 clubs I'm not involved in ?

If I'm Going to attend a game as a neutral - I'd b going to try enjoy it and wouldn't be taking in glenties/Fintown as they wouldn't fall under that category.

Effect and successful 100% but very hard viewing..

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1614 - 23/11/2023 11:44:11    2514275

Replying To Scenicparish:  "Its good to see people from outside our great club seeing that. He seems to be obsessed with the way we play and decision making within our club. Well......I suppose he has plenty of time on his hands seeing his clubs season is over early..."
Our season only finished last weekend - a week earlier than yours.

An inclusive all round club catering for the community needs.

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1614 - 23/11/2023 11:45:14    2514276

Replying To peiledoir20:  "Now do you go to every game in the same way you said you rang the Ulster Council?

You made some show of yourself with the one sir.

I'd say they're have a good laugh in Fermanagh/Monaghan as well as Donegal."
+1

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1614 - 23/11/2023 11:45:52    2514277

Replying To tidytownman:  "I won't even bother answering to that as The Keeper has already schooled you on this subject several times. Seriously, I thought after you got knocked out by us in the semi, that you would have gone awol for at least until next year."
Happy to have a debate on any topic you like - that's what a forum generally is.

Schooled on what exactly ??

It seems that ye seem to be ok poking jibes at us over the years for outsiders settling in the town playing games but when ye are called out for the exact same - it seems to offend for some reason….??

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1614 - 23/11/2023 11:47:57    2514278

Replying To ryan:  "No applicants for the Eunans senior job. The players might regret getting rid of Rory Kavanagh."
Few things here.

How do u know there were no applicants ? Unless you're the PRO , you've no idea.

The players didn't get rid of Rory - he walked away and it was time to move on as the last 2 years have been failure and not good enough and ultimately that's down to his regime not been able to break down a system that he's had 2 years trying to do…

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1614 - 23/11/2023 11:50:52    2514279

Replying To beidhmeanseo:  "Championship Format

Does anyone feel the championships need a shake? perhaps even redrawn to even the teams?

For me a 16 team senior championship is over subscribed in our county and should be cut to 12. Intermediate stay with 12 and the Junior and Junior B adjusted accordingly."
I think the format is good.

The problem is with the type / style of football as it's awful to watch and it's systematic and boring.

Every team is trying to copy a template originated in 2005 over in Fintown/Glenties but nobody is as good as it as them - successful as it's been , it's pure muck.

The reality is that it's here to stay for the foreseeable and unless there is a fundamental rule change to eliminate the mass defence and encourage attacking play - we are stuck with it.

And before the offended brigade get upset - I out my own club right up the top of that list too….

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1614 - 23/11/2023 11:55:27    2514281

Replying To Lockjaw:  "I think it will be a tough ask for Naomh Conaill. Glen are a formidable outfit and have a bit of a chip on their shoulder after the fallout from the AI club final last year. Ciaran McFaul is also back in their ranks. I think he is a serious operator who will undoutedly have a big influence on proceedings on Saturday.

But, that's not to say Naomh Conaill don't have any chance. You write them off at your peril. If they were to upset the odds and beat Glen it wouldn't be a massive shock. I just feel though, that in what could be a tight game, Glen have more marquee men who could make the difference.

If I was to make a call on it now I'd give the nod to the Derry men by about 4 points."
We were slated by loosing by a point to this formidable Glen outfit - be interesting to see do glenties/Fintown get the same reaction if lighting strikes again.

Having said that - Glenties/Fintown won't self implode with the same brain fart our keeper had on final score to win it with that kickout…

Best of luck to all in glenties, Fintown, ballybofey, Letterkenny, Dublin, Tyrone, mayo etc for the game this weekend - they deserve to win ulster after their club dominance the last few years…

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1614 - 23/11/2023 11:59:45    2514282

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "The Naomh Conaill game is on RTE2 Sat evening, hope they can do it, be great to see them in an Ulster final, the other Ulster semi final is on TG4 on Sunday."
You'll get attacked now for not going to it - your not a fan if u watch on tv apparently

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1614 - 23/11/2023 12:01:42    2514284

Replying To tickets:  "Hearing Gary Mc Daid is taking over the Gswilly job. He's doing a few calls to lads that are heading away to Oz to stay. Marley and Mc Ateer I think. Be hard to keep lads that have their mind set to go in the next few weeks esp with the weather we've had this past month."
Big statment of intent there - coming in for one thing only…..,

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1614 - 23/11/2023 12:02:54    2514285