Donegal GAA thread

Murphy,Gallen mcbererty full forward line..suppose a man can dream. :)

RoryGall35 (Donegal) - Posts: 181 - 23/11/2023 12:35:11    2514288

Replying To eunans4ever:  "You should apologise to our neighbour poster who you wrongly accused of lying.

Remember u said u contacted the Ulster council to ask them where they streaming it - why would u do that Just outta curiosity?

Because you wanted to watch the game online even tho you attack the poor souls that can't make it?

OR

You have completely made that up ?

My hard earned 5e is on option 2…"
Apologies for what .sure game wasn't streamed live. Our Monaghan Fermanagh friend came on forum with one sided opinion so ignore him. If he came on and gave a true account then I would respect him. But no apologies from me lad.. Roryboys is too long in the tooth to be bluffed..

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2527 - 23/11/2023 13:32:20    2514304

Replying To RoryGall35:  "Murphy,Gallen mcbererty full forward line..suppose a man can dream. :)"
I'm not sure Jim would play all 3 together. McBrearty might be under pressure there. Jim didn't fancy him for some reason as a starter in 2014 and that may have been to do with Paddy making impacts off the bench.

As for the format or our senior championship, well, it currently favours the bigger teams and it'll always come done to the same 2 or 3 names if you give those teams 2 or 3 chances every season. I like that Tyrone have gone 17 years without a team defending it. Imagine that!

SignTheContract (Donegal) - Posts: 197 - 23/11/2023 13:45:29    2514309

Replying To rorysboys:  "Apologies for what .sure game wasn't streamed live. Our Monaghan Fermanagh friend came on forum with one sided opinion so ignore him. If he came on and gave a true account then I would respect him. But no apologies from me lad.. Roryboys is too long in the tooth to be bluffed.."
Nobody mentioned the live streaming only u ……..

On the subject of bluffing , did you

1. Contact ulster council to see if game was streamed to watch it yourself on line.

OR

2. Just make it up

Very simple question, shouldn't be struggling with it ??

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1614 - 23/11/2023 15:01:36    2514317

Replying To SignTheContract:  "I'm not sure Jim would play all 3 together. McBrearty might be under pressure there. Jim didn't fancy him for some reason as a starter in 2014 and that may have been to do with Paddy making impacts off the bench.

As for the format or our senior championship, well, it currently favours the bigger teams and it'll always come done to the same 2 or 3 names if you give those teams 2 or 3 chances every season. I like that Tyrone have gone 17 years without a team defending it. Imagine that!"
Why wouldn't he play all 3?

2012 he played Michael , paddy and Colm and we won it..

Don't think we will see Michael in the shirt - that's wishful thinking at this stage…

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1614 - 23/11/2023 15:02:42    2514318

Replying To eunans4ever:  "Nobody mentioned the live streaming only u ……..

On the subject of bluffing , did you

1. Contact ulster council to see if game was streamed to watch it yourself on line.

OR

2. Just make it up

Very simple question, shouldn't be struggling with it ??"
My answer is why would a Monaghan man watch a recording of a junior match that had no relevance to him. . Game was not live as I said numerous times. .

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2527 - 23/11/2023 17:18:25    2514341

Replying To eunans4ever:  "You'll get attacked now for not going to it - your not a fan if u watch on tv apparently"
That's what fans do, they go to games. Surely everyone knows that

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2527 - 23/11/2023 18:53:42    2514363

Replying To eunans4ever:  "I think the format is good.

The problem is with the type / style of football as it's awful to watch and it's systematic and boring.

Every team is trying to copy a template originated in 2005 over in Fintown/Glenties but nobody is as good as it as them - successful as it's been , it's pure muck.

The reality is that it's here to stay for the foreseeable and unless there is a fundamental rule change to eliminate the mass defence and encourage attacking play - we are stuck with it.

And before the offended brigade get upset - I out my own club right up the top of that list too…."
More jealousy.....
I though this years County Final was a great watch.... puke football?????
As John Gildea said on the DL debate, maybe St Eunans are to blame for the defensive matches between St Eunans and Naomh Conaill.

Scenicparish (Donegal) - Posts: 383 - 23/11/2023 19:14:36    2514366

Replying To eunans4ever:  "Why would I attend a game between 2 clubs I'm not involved in ?

If I'm Going to attend a game as a neutral - I'd b going to try enjoy it and wouldn't be taking in glenties/Fintown as they wouldn't fall under that category.

Effect and successful 100% but very hard viewing.."
Exactly my point. The problem is you commenting on a match you weren't at.

Scenicparish (Donegal) - Posts: 383 - 23/11/2023 19:16:10    2514367

Replying To eunans4ever:  "Few things here.

How do u know there were no applicants ? Unless you're the PRO , you've no idea.

The players didn't get rid of Rory - he walked away and it was time to move on as the last 2 years have been failure and not good enough and ultimately that's down to his regime not been able to break down a system that he's had 2 years trying to do…"
Im sure Rory felt undermined when the Chairman had to go into the dressing room at half time to rally the troops......not the smartest thing to do???

Scenicparish (Donegal) - Posts: 383 - 23/11/2023 19:21:43    2514368

Replying To rorysboys:  "Apologies for what .sure game wasn't streamed live. Our Monaghan Fermanagh friend came on forum with one sided opinion so ignore him. If he came on and gave a true account then I would respect him. But no apologies from me lad.. Roryboys is too long in the tooth to be bluffed.."
I made one comment on the Fermanagh forum telling them how bad their representatives were in Ulster.

I did give a true account .

veterngaa (Monaghan) - Posts: 492 - 23/11/2023 19:25:12    2514370

Replying To rorysboys:  "My answer is why would a Monaghan man watch a recording of a junior match that had no relevance to him. . Game was not live as I said numerous times. ."
Because I love GAA. I'm lucky to live abroad and work here and the biggest part of life I miss is gaa games. I would watch any game due to my love of the game. When I lived in Monaghan I went to club games in all counties. I have GAA Go and use clubber TV.

Last weekend I watched 3 games on GAA go plus Ardee st Mary's v kilmacud on clubber tv. I watched Castleblayney v st eunans on Ulster gaa tv which was a great game of hurling. I also watched arva v skea on Saturday and blackhill v Fintona on Monday as it was not live…

Who do you think you are questioning me?

I watched the game as I read many news reports about the game. There's nothing better than spending an hour watching a game, seeing different players, systems. You my friend have shown everyone here that you dont belong in the association. You hatred to other people here and arrogance that you cant understand why I would watch a game with 2 clubs I dont know ..

veterngaa (Monaghan) - Posts: 492 - 23/11/2023 19:32:09    2514371

Replying To SignTheContract:  "Have the list of nominations been released yet for Convention? Saw that Diver is going for coaching and Breen for PRO but no idea who they are against."
Interesting that club mates Kelly & Coughlan are in for the Chair. I would have liked to see Paul McGonigle go for the position again but he's nominated for treasurer, which in reality is probably as important of a position. Donegal has been way behind some other counties (Kerry & Roscommon come to mind) in fundraising by tapping into the diaspora in US, UK and Aus. Since the "win a house" draw 2-3 years ago there has been very little in terms of fundraising and whether we like it or not money plays an important part in preparing successful teams.

BeardedBorderGael (Donegal) - Posts: 44 - 23/11/2023 19:59:09    2514372

Are Eunans the most decorated club in Donegal? Last I checked it was 15-15 with Gweedore?

And the Leslie affair doesn't count

tickets (Donegal) - Posts: 96 - 23/11/2023 21:55:22    2514377

Replying To rorysboys:  "My answer is why would a Monaghan man watch a recording of a junior match that had no relevance to him. . Game was not live as I said numerous times. ."
Why wouldn't he? The game attracted a lot of press, given the indiscipline involved.

This is one of the things that bugs me most about the GAA. Lads thinking they can go out and do and say whatever they want. When the time for punishment comes, often the attitude is - how can we appeal this and get out of it. This isn't a cut at Na Rossa or Declan Bonner either. It's widespread.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9359 - 24/11/2023 09:15:21    2514385

Replying To veterngaa:  "Because I love GAA. I'm lucky to live abroad and work here and the biggest part of life I miss is gaa games. I would watch any game due to my love of the game. When I lived in Monaghan I went to club games in all counties. I have GAA Go and use clubber TV.

Last weekend I watched 3 games on GAA go plus Ardee st Mary's v kilmacud on clubber tv. I watched Castleblayney v st eunans on Ulster gaa tv which was a great game of hurling. I also watched arva v skea on Saturday and blackhill v Fintona on Monday as it was not live…

Who do you think you are questioning me?

I watched the game as I read many news reports about the game. There's nothing better than spending an hour watching a game, seeing different players, systems. You my friend have shown everyone here that you dont belong in the association. You hatred to other people here and arrogance that you cant understand why I would watch a game with 2 clubs I dont know .."
Pay no heed to declansboy, he has this forum blighted with his comments, mostly in defence of Bonner it seems. In this instance with Na Rossa it does not reflect well on Declan Bonner no matter what happened with the officiating there are lines you do not cross.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2897 - 24/11/2023 10:19:09    2514396

He never said it was live - your the only one focussing on that to try wriggle out of been caught out very very badly.

U never answered me , did you :

1. Contact ulster to find out if game was been streamed so u could watch online

OR

2. Completely make that up ?

It's ok to be caught out bluffing , just hold the hand up , recover , move on and come back stronger…

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1614 - 24/11/2023 10:29:57    2514398

Replying To rorysboys:  "That's what fans do, they go to games. Surely everyone knows that"
So when you finish education , work all your life and end up housebound in your latter years - you won't class yourself as a fan of u watch on the tv ?

Ate the poor souls who had to emigrate to provide for their family not fans watching from abroad?

Families who would give their right arm to go but can't afford it - are they not fans ?

Who gave u the platform to decide who is or isn't a fan.

Some of us are lucky enough to get out and about to games but others aren't …

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1614 - 24/11/2023 10:33:11    2514399

Replying To Scenicparish:  "More jealousy.....
I though this years County Final was a great watch.... puke football?????
As John Gildea said on the DL debate, maybe St Eunans are to blame for the defensive matches between St Eunans and Naomh Conaill."
Wat am I supposed to be jealous of - genuine question if u could help me understand ????

U think this year county final was a great watch ??? That's embarrassing- it was an awful game , horrible to watch , absolute dire stuff from BOTH teams.

The final in 2021 as one sided and all as it was also was horrendous puke stuff.

That's just how it is between these 2 teams at the min - been really honest - I actually blame our lads more for trying to copy and outthink glenties/fintown - nobody gonna do that. We need to cop on and find a better way as we have the players to do it no doubt.

This all originated in 2005 in glenties/Fintown and we are stuck with it until someone goes against the grain and puts Glenties/fintown away for good……

Unfortunately that's not gonna happen anytime soon…

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1614 - 24/11/2023 10:38:21    2514402

Replying To Scenicparish:  "Exactly my point. The problem is you commenting on a match you weren't at."
U believe that if was a glorious sunny day that glenties / Fintown would come out and shoot the lights out ??????

Absolutely no chance - that is completely coached outta ye from early on..

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1614 - 24/11/2023 10:41:32    2514406