Donegal GAA thread

Replying To Scenicparish:  "Agree, to Retain Dr Maguire we are going to have to do it the hard way. Incredible character in our team. We can play defensive football there is no doubt but when we need to go for the juggler we are not found wanting. Another titanic battle to come next weekend."
No harder then our route ??

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1679 - 03/10/2023 10:44:10    2506759

Replying To AudiMan:  "Hi eunans4ever: Will Eunans go hard after the Naomh Conaill kickouts like they done against Aodh Rua in 2nd half. It changed the game. The rest is history."
We have too - it's a weak spot for them - goal in 2021 final proved that.

This game is near on impossible to call. Apart from us hammering glenties/Fintown in 2 county finals - most games over the years have a point or 2 either way in it..

Glenties/Fintown don't really hammer teams and keep teams in games and we need to be more ruthless with them like we do other teams IMO.

Both camps will obv back their own team and rightly so but there is nothing that makes a team preform more than the wounded animal and if there is any fight/spirit in our lads at all they have to put things right and avenge last year.

Calling it early out - I think we will win by 3 points..

Best of luck to both on the day - winners will come from this half of the draw…

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1679 - 03/10/2023 10:49:32    2506761

Replying To Curlew66:  "Meath and Leitrim senior football finals live on Tg4 next Sunday.. wouldn't mind deferred coverage of St Eunans v Naomh Conaill later on."
See that now.

Sensible call too with the game Saturday not clashing with the rugby…

Looking forward to both games.

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1679 - 03/10/2023 10:50:29    2506762

I don't believe Naomh conail started this defensive football in 05.
Armagh was the first, then came tryone. And both teams had great forwards, but still got men behind the ball and broke at speed.

As regards Sunday, what I hope for is a good tight game and then may the best team win.
I hope we have enough to get through, but our lack of scoring forwards is a worry. I would make Eunans favourite.
If St Eunans do win, I hope they go on to win the final, because of the Eunans stats man. I would love to see him lift the cup along with the captain. As I have known the man for 20 years, and after a tough year, it would be a great gesture.

We can be silly on here at times, myself included, but there is some things more important that football, may the best team win.

The keeper (Donegal) - Posts: 711 - 03/10/2023 12:14:49    2506776

Are St Eunans at full strength now? As in, are the O'Donnells all available or did a few head stateside and stay on a while?

SignTheContract (Donegal) - Posts: 197 - 03/10/2023 12:28:36    2506779

Replying To eunans4ever:  "We have too - it's a weak spot for them - goal in 2021 final proved that.

This game is near on impossible to call. Apart from us hammering glenties/Fintown in 2 county finals - most games over the years have a point or 2 either way in it..

Glenties/Fintown don't really hammer teams and keep teams in games and we need to be more ruthless with them like we do other teams IMO.

Both camps will obv back their own team and rightly so but there is nothing that makes a team preform more than the wounded animal and if there is any fight/spirit in our lads at all they have to put things right and avenge last year.

Calling it early out - I think we will win by 3 points..

Best of luck to both on the day - winners will come from this half of the draw…"
Hi eunans4ever: Thanks for reply. Some would say Rory roadtested things in the first half in Glenties that day and backed off then for 2nd half as he had his answers and was happy. Wounded animals are dangerous. Bookmakers have St Eunans clear favourites outright. Most neutrals feel this is the final.

AudiMan (Donegal) - Posts: 676 - 03/10/2023 16:24:46    2506826

I feel a Glenties win. Tight game until 45th minute and Glenties will get a goal. They'll defend for their life then and win by a pt.

50/50 game on Saturday. The way I see it is if Gweedore can hold Gallen to his 6/7 pts I think they've enough on the other side to out score McCools.

Looking forward to both games and getting a look at the reserve semis as well. No Glenties or Eunans in the semis I'd say for the first time in years.

tickets (Donegal) - Posts: 103 - 03/10/2023 17:52:38    2506839

Replying To The keeper:  "I don't believe Naomh conail started this defensive football in 05.
Armagh was the first, then came tryone. And both teams had great forwards, but still got men behind the ball and broke at speed.

As regards Sunday, what I hope for is a good tight game and then may the best team win.
I hope we have enough to get through, but our lack of scoring forwards is a worry. I would make Eunans favourite.
If St Eunans do win, I hope they go on to win the final, because of the Eunans stats man. I would love to see him lift the cup along with the captain. As I have known the man for 20 years, and after a tough year, it would be a great gesture.

We can be silly on here at times, myself included, but there is some things more important that football, may the best team win."
Tyrone were the first that made headlines with that mass defence system in '03, rem Pat Spillane's puke football comment.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 3060 - 03/10/2023 19:50:43    2506857

Replying To The keeper:  "I don't believe Naomh conail started this defensive football in 05.

We can be silly on here at times, myself included, but there is some things more important that football, may the best team win."
Na I don't agree my friend - Tyrone /Armagh played swarm defence but higher up the field and kept men in attack.

Glenties/Fintown took it to the complete extreme with all 15 men inside their own 45…

I'm not knocking it - you play to your strengths and defence is king over there - ye never have been blessed with marquee prolific forwards over the years and it's given plenty of reward to be fair.

Wasn't aware of the issue with one of the brothers - is it serious ?

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1679 - 04/10/2023 10:08:18    2506892

Replying To SignTheContract:  "Are St Eunans at full strength now? As in, are the O'Donnells all available or did a few head stateside and stay on a while?"
Yes full deck to choose from - Niall O D had a knock and hasn't trained much but looked really sharp/impressive when introduced at HT v the boardroom boys.

No excuses - may the best team win….

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1679 - 04/10/2023 10:09:47    2506893

Replying To AudiMan:  "Hi eunans4ever: Thanks for reply. Some would say Rory roadtested things in the first half in Glenties that day and backed off then for 2nd half as he had his answers and was happy. Wounded animals are dangerous. Bookmakers have St Eunans clear favourites outright. Most neutrals feel this is the final."
Not sure about that - first half we dominated with the breeze and glenties/Fintown kicked back with the breeze second half - disappointed our lads didn't see it out but not many teams leave there with a win..

I'm told our lads have just put in a heavy heavy block of running the last few weeks which ties in with the sluggish first half Saturday and finishing the game off strong completely overrunning the boardroom boys.

I don't see how bookies have is clear favs - glenties/Fintown are defending champions , league champions and have had our number in recent years - IMO they are slightly Fav but I feel we have more firepower and a stronger panel to even things out.

Can't wait now…….

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1679 - 04/10/2023 10:14:25    2506894

Replying To tickets:  "I feel a Glenties win. Tight game until 45th minute and Glenties will get a goal. They'll defend for their life then and win by a pt.

50/50 game on Saturday. The way I see it is if Gweedore can hold Gallen to his 6/7 pts I think they've enough on the other side to out score McCools.

Looking forward to both games and getting a look at the reserve semis as well. No Glenties or Eunans in the semis I'd say for the first time in years."
Don't agree on Gweedore having more st the other end - excluding the Ardara game last day which was a freak game - the scoring return is very very low up top. They don't have the attacking threat Mc Cumhails have.

Isn't it great that both semi finals are really close and extremely difficult to call - compared to one sided affairs….

I've enjoyed the knockout stages of the championship this year for first time in long time.

Bit of a buzz back in the county again mainly driven by the messiah returning………

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1679 - 04/10/2023 10:17:50    2506895

Replying To eunans4ever:  "Don't agree on Gweedore having more st the other end - excluding the Ardara game last day which was a freak game - the scoring return is very very low up top. They don't have the attacking threat Mc Cumhails have.

Isn't it great that both semi finals are really close and extremely difficult to call - compared to one sided affairs….

I've enjoyed the knockout stages of the championship this year for first time in long time.

Bit of a buzz back in the county again mainly driven by the messiah returning………"
Yes it's been a bit more open in general as well, would you agree? Bar Aodh Ruadh who are ultra defensive, I think most teams are now trying to play a bit more. Naomh Conaill also have their very successful system, but in fairness to them they still managed to rattle four goals past Kilcar.

Looking forward to the games at the weekend. Gaoth Dobhair and MacCumhaills is very tough to call. I could only admire the MacCumhaills performance against Glenswilly. They are a young team, found themselves 7 points down, and a man down for a spell too. But they refused to go away and deservedly won. That youthful exuberance and confidence is a dangerous mix. They did lose in Magehragallon in the groups, but they've learned an awful lot since. I would say Gaoth Dobhair will be very wary of this game. Everyone will have them as favorites but they've shown vulnerabilities. I think they'll need Carroll and McGee back, and if they are at full strength, they might just win it by a point or two.

NC v Eunans is the next installment in this great rivalry. They really have been at each others throats coming up to almost 20 years now. Hard to believe. It really is so hard to call. Eunans will feel they have a score to settle after last year, but Naomh Conaill are just so hard to beat. I can see this one ending in a draw. Does anyone know if it's ET or a replay? I would assume it's ET and finish on the day. Both Intermediate semi-finals went to ET, and one of the junior semi finals even went all the way to penalties. If it's the same with this senior semi final, I'll give Eunans the nod to win it by two or three points AET.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9529 - 04/10/2023 11:43:48    2506909

Replying To eunans4ever:  "Don't agree on Gweedore having more st the other end - excluding the Ardara game last day which was a freak game - the scoring return is very very low up top. They don't have the attacking threat Mc Cumhails have.

Bit of a buzz back in the county again mainly driven by the messiah returning………"
I think they've a better defense to stop McCools scoring 1-17. Look that's just my opinion. lol.

Again if Keegan and JBW step up again this saturday then it will be very tight. Watching them v Glenswillt it was like they waited for Farrah to do his run out to the 45 and just handpass him the ball. They'll need to change it up a bit this weekend.

tickets (Donegal) - Posts: 103 - 04/10/2023 12:10:32    2506917

Replying To eunans4ever:  "Na I don't agree my friend - Tyrone /Armagh played swarm defence but higher up the field and kept men in attack.

Glenties/Fintown took it to the complete extreme with all 15 men inside their own 45…

I'm not knocking it - you play to your strengths and defence is king over there - ye never have been blessed with marquee prolific forwards over the years and it's given plenty of reward to be fair.

Wasn't aware of the issue with one of the brothers - is it serious ?"
As regards our forwards, we have no one to bang over 5-6 points in a game, but we have several that chip in with 1-2 points per game. We have been unlucky this past few years in regards to mcgettigan, was flying at start of season and scoring freely only to damage knee again.

Two ways this is going to go, either Eunan completely overrun Naomi conail, younger team. Or it's a completely cagey affair and goes down to the wire.

Naomh conail don't beat teams out the gate, because we tend to not score that much, kilcar game was unusual as kilcar completely collapsed after a terrible mistake for first goal

So in that sense I would put Eunans favourite and am going more in hope than anything else, but I was the same last year. But our players owe us nothing as some of them have been playing senior since 2005.

As yes it's as serious as you get in regards to your clubman, that's why I wouldn't begrudge Eunans winning the county title.

The keeper (Donegal) - Posts: 711 - 04/10/2023 12:33:42    2506921

Replying To eunans4ever:  "Not sure about that - first half we dominated with the breeze and glenties/Fintown kicked back with the breeze second half - disappointed our lads didn't see it out but not many teams leave there with a win..

I'm told our lads have just put in a heavy heavy block of running the last few weeks which ties in with the sluggish first half Saturday and finishing the game off strong completely overrunning the boardroom boys.

I don't see how bookies have is clear favs - glenties/Fintown are defending champions , league champions and have had our number in recent years - IMO they are slightly Fav but I feel we have more firepower and a stronger panel to even things out.

Can't wait now……."
The bookies not only have Eunans big favourites to win this match, they are odds on to win the Dr Maguire also.

I would have it slightly closer than that but Eunans are rightly favourites. Can see Sunday coming down to goals, whoever scores the 1st goal will get a massive lift.

FootballGuy (Donegal) - Posts: 260 - 04/10/2023 12:54:45    2506925

Weather forecast is very good for the week end so it should make for a very pleasant week end.

Curlew66 (Roscommon) - Posts: 578 - 04/10/2023 13:45:51    2506934

Replying To Curlew66:  "Weather forecast is very good for the week end so it should make for a very pleasant week end."
Hopefully. Wild rain here today.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9529 - 04/10/2023 14:43:24    2506943

Replying To eunans4ever:  "Not sure about that - first half we dominated with the breeze and glenties/Fintown kicked back with the breeze second half - disappointed our lads didn't see it out but not many teams leave there with a win..

Can't wait now……."
Why are you surprised that the bookies have you as favourites when you yourself think you have more firepower and a stronger panel? Strange!!!

SignTheContract (Donegal) - Posts: 197 - 04/10/2023 21:33:19    2506988

Replying To SignTheContract:  "Why are you surprised that the bookies have you as favourites when you yourself think you have more firepower and a stronger panel? Strange!!!"
That's our eunans 4 ever in a nutshell. Always likes contradicting himself. Lol

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2569 - 05/10/2023 08:56:44    2507004