Donegal GAA thread

Replying To Commodore:  "If you look at this Donegal team, we are actually starting to plug gaps in key positions now with really strong talented players, we actually have a fairly strong starting 15, had we the likes of Michael Langan, Peadar Mogan, Ryan McHugh, Niall O'Donnell, Odhran McFadden Ferry, Shane O'Donnell and even Michael Murphy on the bench, we would be All Ireland contenders."
No point mentioning players that have retired or players that don't want to play for their County.......
We need to look forward and bring through a few more young players.

Scenicparish (Donegal) - Posts: 469 - 23/06/2023 16:51:50    2488704

Replying To SignTheContract:  "I'm always conflicted when we play Tyrone. I mean, they are just such a wonderful group of beautiful human beings who bring the most polite and friendly support along with them. I just hate it when we win against such a group of people. I just don't understand why every Ulster county dislikes them? I mean, what's wrong with every other single county in the province who really don't understand these beautiful Gaels : )"
Time to go full Kevin Keegan- "I WOULD LOVE IT IF WE BEAT THEM"

himachechy (Donegal) - Posts: 293 - 23/06/2023 17:31:48    2488710

Replying To Commodore:  "If you look at this Donegal team, we are actually starting to plug gaps in key positions now with really strong talented players, we actually have a fairly strong starting 15, had we the likes of Michael Langan, Peadar Mogan, Ryan McHugh, Niall O'Donnell, Odhran McFadden Ferry, Shane O'Donnell and even Michael Murphy on the bench, we would be All Ireland contenders."
We had all that last year and we weren't even close. Lads, forget about Niall O'Donnell and Murphy. Don't want to be there. One is a loss, the other never fulfilled his potential and we can't let his self-imposed exile make us feel like we are missing out on something. Ryan McHugh hasn't been the same since Paddy Durcan got the measure of him in 2019. He was switched to 5 the following year, I think to protect the team from a vulnerability in his tracking back. He owes us nothing though, took savage and disgraceful abuse for years. He shouldn't have opted out though, hard to get back up to the pitch of it.

SignTheContract (Donegal) - Posts: 197 - 23/06/2023 17:52:43    2488715

Newsflash...Michael Murphy retired..

totalrecall (Leitrim) - Posts: 1046 - 23/06/2023 19:13:31    2488721

Replying To Scenicparish:  "No point mentioning players that have retired or players that don't want to play for their County.......
We need to look forward and bring through a few more young players."
Exactly, it's pointless. Every county is in the same boat, they have players who aren't playing for one reason or another.

greenfan (Donegal) - Posts: 623 - 23/06/2023 20:26:04    2488729

Replying To Scenicparish:  "It's very simple, call our Club by its proper name, Naomi Conaill. I always refer to your Club as St Eunans. Don't get me started with catchment areas. Your Club have a huge catchment area. You also have the added advantage of players coming from all over Ireland through their work."
Time to focus on what will be a great week end's football. There will be ample time to educate those from Conwal & Leck on the geography of your beautiful Iniskeel parish (patron saint St Conaill) when this championship cools down.
Tyrone like Monaghan last week will be favourites but an improving Donegal team are well capable of another victory. They are obviously working very hard in training,some individual players are playing with greater confidence and the team as a unit seem to have adapted a 'have a go' approach. Fingers crossed that Jason McGee can start and that Oisin Gallen will be 100% fit lining out on his home pitch.
We in Connacht are still licking our wounds after a 'shocking Sunday' which started with three of us in pole position in our groups. Sligo's heavy defeat guaranteed that Dublin would win the group but a draw for the rest would have ensured us a home game in the Hyde and a quarter final berth for both Galway and Mayo. All three led for most of the game but faded badly towards the end. Kerry were the big winners last week end resulting in a free week end for them and two teams Mayo and Galway both capable of testing them locking horns instead. Biggest concern for those of us hoping to emerge from the prelim QF apart from the fatigue factor is the added risk of picking up injuries and suspensions.
Best of luck Donegal and here's hoping that both of us will have qualified for a Quarter final by Sunday evening where some big guns await.

Curlew66 (Roscommon) - Posts: 604 - 24/06/2023 03:20:27    2488745

Firstly, I think we will get the result this evening. I've seen Tyrone a couple of times this season, and apart from a good first half against Monaghan, I haven't been overly impressed by them. I actually think we have the tools to hurt Tyrone. We have brought more speed and direct running to our attack by using more mobile players. We had been using the bigger units, McGonagle, McGee, McFadden as battering rams, a d teams were able to prepare for them. In a way, you can match size, but it's very hard to prepare for raw speed.

I hope I'm wrong, but I'm getting a feeling of Deja Vu. It feels like 2009, when we stumbled as far as an AI Quarter Final, went to Croke Park with hope, and were annihilated by Cork. I think if we win this evening and draw Dublin or Kerry the same fate could await us.

Let's hope we can get the result this evening, maybe get a good draw for next week, and then take stock of where we are at then, and learn from the mistakes of the past. Let's skip the 2010 experience, and move instead to 2011 when the foundations of what was to become a golden era were laid.

PS. I too have a similar grá those lovely fair minded and humble people from Tyrone mentioned above...

SouthOfTheGap (Donegal) - Posts: 763 - 24/06/2023 08:51:59    2488754

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Time catches up with every man but I really think Murph had a few more years left for us in at FF anyway, even to have his leadership around the place and to bring him on to finish out games, I know the man owes us nothing but I think he might regret stepping way a bit early imo in years to come.
I suppose he got so sick of the way things were being run last year that he said to hell with it, imagine if we had him to spring from the bench tomorrow evening..."
I know, the mere threat of Michael Murphy coming from the bench late in a game would keep the Tyrone management on their toes, as he would have a massive impact. Last season he was playing full 70+ minutes in every game and still making a huge contribution, no doubt he could bring that for the last 20 minutes of games too.

Commodore (Donegal) - Posts: 1332 - 24/06/2023 10:29:07    2488760

Adh mhór to the players and management tonight. Pride has been restored and that's all we can ask. The pressure is on Tyrone to deliver and I think that might just tip it in our favour.

We have nothing to lose.

A free hit at home to our 'lovely' neighbours, what more could you ask for..

peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 1181 - 24/06/2023 12:10:39    2488780

Replying To peiledoir20:  "Adh mhór to the players and management tonight. Pride has been restored and that's all we can ask. The pressure is on Tyrone to deliver and I think that might just tip it in our favour.

We have nothing to lose.

A free hit at home to our 'lovely' neighbours, what more could you ask for.."
Totally agree, a great opportunity for our young players. Forecast good so no better place than in Mac Cumhaill park on a Saturday evening with the prize for the winners a quarter final in Croke Park.

Scenicparish (Donegal) - Posts: 469 - 24/06/2023 12:36:34    2488788

Replying To SignTheContract:  "That's exactly what I said. They lived in Ballybofey, but first club was Glenfin, hence the dispute. Then they lived to NC.

They did well out of it. Good luck to them."
That's not what happened, they didn't live in Ballybofey. They lived in Dooish, there was a dispute alright but it was centred on Curraghmone players, it then came out that there was no actual by law prohibiting a player from playing for whatever club they wanted to which was corrected.

joeteor (Donegal) - Posts: 228 - 24/06/2023 15:44:17    2488819

Replying To Commodore:  "I know, the mere threat of Michael Murphy coming from the bench late in a game would keep the Tyrone management on their toes, as he would have a massive impact. Last season he was playing full 70+ minutes in every game and still making a huge contribution, no doubt he could bring that for the last 20 minutes of games too."
Michael Murphy made his decision last year, time to move on, other lads after a slow start now starting to take up the mantle like gallen and Connor o donnell, it doesn't matter whether we think Murphy could have played for a few more years. Time to park this hypothetical nonsense and get behind the guys who are available

totalrecall (Leitrim) - Posts: 1046 - 24/06/2023 16:48:16    2488846

Replying To totalrecall:  "Michael Murphy made his decision last year, time to move on, other lads after a slow start now starting to take up the mantle like gallen and Connor o donnell, it doesn't matter whether we think Murphy could have played for a few more years. Time to park this hypothetical nonsense and get behind the guys who are available"
Patton got away with a mistake the last day. Not gona happen today, very costly......

Scenicparish (Donegal) - Posts: 469 - 24/06/2023 19:40:20    2488890

Replying To Scenicparish:  "Brilliant performance on Saturday night. Huge improvement. Defence outstanding, especially the 2 new men, Mc Colgan & Odhran. Its amazing what can be achieved when players are properly coached and all players buy into the management system."
Wrong again they didn't look too properly coached to me. We're going nowhere till we get a defence , that's no 1 priority. We need physical man marking defenders like Hampey and Mc namee.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2607 - 24/06/2023 21:13:39    2488922

Well done to players and management they gave it there all. Still proud of them

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2607 - 24/06/2023 21:18:05    2488925

Replying To rorysboys:  "Wrong again they didn't look too properly coached to me. We're going nowhere till we get a defence , that's no 1 priority. We need physical man marking defenders like Hampey and Mc namee."
I dont know how you could only blame the defence. The runners from deep was our downfall again. Our no 11 was so poor, front of the posts twice and missed two crucial points one in each half. You cannot give Tyrone a 1 - 3 to 0 - 1 start and hope to have any chance.

Scenicparish (Donegal) - Posts: 469 - 24/06/2023 22:04:04    2488951

Replying To benjyyy:  "I know the scenario is different but let's not forget how easily Tyrone disposed of us in the league and that was coming after 2 very different results with Tyrone having lost to Roscommon in week 1 while we beat Kerry. Tyrone controlled that game from start to finish and won easily - the lineups were also very similar to what they will be this weekend. Canavan and McCurry in particular did a lot of damage that day. It's a big ask to turn that around this weekend. I still remember the pain of the loss in Ballybofey to Tyrone in the 2018 QF, hopefully that can spur a few of them on"
You're a Tyrone man sure Benny!!!! Win win for you

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2093 - 24/06/2023 22:07:25    2488953

I see Rory is straight on the computer as soon as the game finished on the telly, our no1 fan lol. never misses a match,home or away,
poor enough effort this evening, carrying the ball into a Tyrone brick wall,and getting turned over, Patton had a nightmare of a game, lucky Tyrone kicked so many wides, no more fortress Ballybofey anyway.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 3172 - 24/06/2023 22:08:10    2488954

Replying To eunans4ever:  "Jeez some amount of poaching going on around Fintown / glenties.

I hadn't intended to open up this can of worms…..

The 4 Doherty's, jack mc kelvey, the regans from Mayo , the keeper from Dublin and bringing managers in from Tyrone… some amount of outsiders brought in."
Who's the Tyrone managers out of interest? Genuine question

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2093 - 24/06/2023 22:14:48    2488956

Meant to say well done to Tyrone and good luck in the quarter final whoever ye draw.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 3172 - 24/06/2023 22:16:28    2488957