Donegal GAA thread

Replying To KerrymanStuckInDonegal:  "Donegal best chance to be productive is a running game. Hugh McF and Paddy McB as a two man full forward line and pack the middle third plenty runners off the ball carrier.

Kerry are going to set up same as last year. No.6 (Morley) is going to sit in front of the full back and full forward and the Kerry half forward line will help out in the half back line and midfield, leaving two or three up and try and isolate them.

It will be interesting where Ryan McHugh fits into this team.... He play in the full forward line and came out around the middle in the Tyrone game in the league, it looked to be a bad move at the beginning but I seen plenty merit to it...."
What's the merit in it ?

TheRock2121 (Donegal) - Posts: 1136 - 20/01/2023 17:11:57    2453256

Replying To TheRock2121:  "What's the merit in it ?"
In what? I can't respond if I don't know what your asking

KerrymanStuckInDonegal (Kerry) - Posts: 269 - 21/01/2023 11:54:31    2453294

Is Ryan McHugh playing with Donegal this year. Huge player over years. Didn't see him mentioned on any McKenna cup teams

Champotime18 (Leitrim) - Posts: 442 - 21/01/2023 14:51:28    2453305

Replying To KerrymanStuckInDonegal:  "In what? I can't respond if I don't know what your asking"
Playing Ryan in the forward line.

TheRock2121 (Donegal) - Posts: 1136 - 21/01/2023 15:32:20    2453311

Replying To TheRock2121:  "Playing Ryan in the forward line."
Mainly because Donegal lacking a spark in the forwards. Donegal needs Ryan McHugh on the ball rather than defending.

KerrymanStuckInDonegal (Kerry) - Posts: 269 - 21/01/2023 17:27:29    2453331

LKIT seven up at half time and lose by a point in the end

greatpoint (USA) - Posts: 427 - 22/01/2023 13:55:08    2453396

Any predictions for the starting 15 this weekend? It will be total guess work of course given that there hasn't been much news about injuries and we don't really know what levels of fitness different players are at. We can't really go by the McKenna Cup either.

1. Lynch

2. McKelvey
3. McCole
4. Ward

5. Eoghan Ban
6. McMenamin
7. R McHugh

8. McFadden
9. McGonagle

10. Langan
11. Thompson
12. O'Donnell

13. Brennan
14. McBrearty
15. McGroddy

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9108 - 23/01/2023 11:38:53    2453585

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Any predictions for the starting 15 this weekend? It will be total guess work of course given that there hasn't been much news about injuries and we don't really know what levels of fitness different players are at. We can't really go by the McKenna Cup either.

1. Lynch

2. McKelvey
3. McCole
4. Ward

5. Eoghan Ban
6. McMenamin
7. R McHugh

8. McFadden
9. McGonagle

10. Langan
11. Thompson
12. O'Donnell

13. Brennan
14. McBrearty
15. McGroddy"
I'd say luke mcglynn is ahead of mcgroddy

greenfan (Donegal) - Posts: 460 - 23/01/2023 13:18:40    2453630

Replying To greenfan:  "I'd say luke mcglynn is ahead of mcgroddy"
Who's o donnell are they not gone the three of them.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2389 - 23/01/2023 13:32:18    2453645

Replying To rorysboys:  "Who's o donnell are they not gone the three of them."
Conor O'Donnell (Carndonagh)

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9108 - 23/01/2023 13:52:48    2453657

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Conor O'Donnell (Carndonagh)"
Oh yea completely forgot him, don't know why because he's an outstanding talent. Looks like very few newcomers going to make going to be the same tried and trusted. I think Jamie grant has to be considered , he's making the d c u team.. pity if mogan and the three o donnell s are gone Niall Shane and Ethan.. we can't afford to lose talent like that. Hope they can be coaxed back. Another few players who bonner was blamed for getting rid of. Ciaran mulligan Micheal Carroll and Stephen Mc brearty don't seem to be in paddy carrs plan. Maybe it was the players decision all along and not management.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2389 - 23/01/2023 14:29:04    2453674

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Any predictions for the starting 15 this weekend? It will be total guess work of course given that there hasn't been much news about injuries and we don't really know what levels of fitness different players are at. We can't really go by the McKenna Cup either.

1. Lynch

2. McKelvey
3. McCole
4. Ward

5. Eoghan Ban
6. McMenamin
7. R McHugh

8. McFadden
9. McGonagle

10. Langan
11. Thompson
12. O'Donnell

13. Brennan
14. McBrearty
15. McGroddy"
1. Mulrainey

2. McKelvey
3. McCole
4. Ward

5. Eoghan Ban
6. McMenamin
7. R McHugh

8. McGee
9. McGonagle

10. Langan
11. Brennan
12. Thompson

13. Barrett
14. McBrearty
15. Conor O'Donnell

beidhmeanseo (Donegal) - Posts: 137 - 23/01/2023 14:59:24    2453682

Replying To rorysboys:  "Oh yea completely forgot him, don't know why because he's an outstanding talent. Looks like very few newcomers going to make going to be the same tried and trusted. I think Jamie grant has to be considered , he's making the d c u team.. pity if mogan and the three o donnell s are gone Niall Shane and Ethan.. we can't afford to lose talent like that. Hope they can be coaxed back. Another few players who bonner was blamed for getting rid of. Ciaran mulligan Micheal Carroll and Stephen Mc brearty don't seem to be in paddy carrs plan. Maybe it was the players decision all along and not management."
I don't think it was ever the case that Bonner didn't want those three lads you mentioned. For their own reasons they didn't want to commit to county football and that should be respected too.

I see David Moran has retired from county duty. He was a formidable player in his day. Bets wishes to him in his retirement.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9108 - 23/01/2023 15:29:26    2453696

Replying To rorysboys:  "Oh yea completely forgot him, don't know why because he's an outstanding talent. Looks like very few newcomers going to make going to be the same tried and trusted. I think Jamie grant has to be considered , he's making the d c u team.. pity if mogan and the three o donnell s are gone Niall Shane and Ethan.. we can't afford to lose talent like that. Hope they can be coaxed back. Another few players who bonner was blamed for getting rid of. Ciaran mulligan Micheal Carroll and Stephen Mc brearty don't seem to be in paddy carrs plan. Maybe it was the players decision all along and not management."
If lads can't commit that's fair enough, that's their choice. I for one in any given year only want to see players fully committed playing for Donegal, shouldn't be coaxing anyone...

totalrecall (Leitrim) - Posts: 912 - 23/01/2023 16:19:31    2453720

Replying To totalrecall:  "If lads can't commit that's fair enough, that's their choice. I for one in any given year only want to see players fully committed playing for Donegal, shouldn't be coaxing anyone..."
Has Paddy Carr not said in numerous interviews that everyone is available apart from the 2 players who have retired.

ryan (Donegal) - Posts: 724 - 23/01/2023 16:35:48    2453732

Replying To totalrecall:  "If lads can't commit that's fair enough, that's their choice. I for one in any given year only want to see players fully committed playing for Donegal, shouldn't be coaxing anyone..."
We shudnt be losing young talented players simple as. If reports are through we could be down 5 starters from last year. 3 of them in there prime. Not one through emigration. Why wudnt we be trying to coax them back so Dublin coaxed Mc caffrey and mannion this year, what's so special about us. Mogan and Shane o donnell were probably our two best players last year. To win anything we need every player committing.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2389 - 23/01/2023 16:38:49    2453734

Looking forward to the game Sunday and hopefully I'll get parking near enough to pitch. It will be interesting to see Donegal post Murphy. This might ré energise the Donegal forwards and give Paddy McBrearty a new lease of life. Murphy gave his all for years and now it's time for other to carry the load..

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3673 - 23/01/2023 18:46:29    2453775

Replying To rorysboys:  "We shudnt be losing young talented players simple as. If reports are through we could be down 5 starters from last year. 3 of them in there prime. Not one through emigration. Why wudnt we be trying to coax them back so Dublin coaxed Mc caffrey and mannion this year, what's so special about us. Mogan and Shane o donnell were probably our two best players last year. To win anything we need every player committing."
Mogan is at Collage in Liverpool completing a Masters so i doubt we will see him this year unfortunately.

beidhmeanseo (Donegal) - Posts: 137 - 24/01/2023 07:58:13    2453824

Kerry coming with a third of all Ireland final team and none of their first choice forwards. This should be a win for Donegal with a bit to spare.

jacktheboy (Donegal) - Posts: 404 - 24/01/2023 09:33:47    2453830

Replying To beidhmeanseo:  "Mogan is at Collage in Liverpool completing a Masters so i doubt we will see him this year unfortunately."
Mogan will be involved. He's only in Liverpool not Melbourne! A short flight away, it would take him longer to drive from Dublin.

Fair enough he won't be home for training but he's a diligent enough player that he'll keep himself right.

peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 794 - 24/01/2023 10:02:42    2453847