Leitrim GAA thread

Replying To SeanMacDiarmada:  "The date has huge relevance. If the under 20s game was fixed for last Saturday McNulty could have played. It's unfortunate but the senior squad need all their best players available. Darragh Rooney not making it is a huge loss as it is. Going to be very difficult. NY look very very strong around midfield and half back lines."
It has no relivance... the two dates were well known in advance and if it needed to be changed, both teams would obviously need to agree to the change which was never going to happen.

Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 844 - 07/04/2023 13:50:58    2469405

Replying To Square_B:  "Joe we know you're nothing but a Moran fanboy living in cloud cookoo land."
Thank you Square D

Your comments are ill informed ,full of nonsense and the antipidy of what I would expect from a supporter.

I hope Leitrim disappoints you tomorrow evening as we know where you are coming from

joeman123 (Leitrim) - Posts: 463 - 07/04/2023 13:58:38    2469409

New York are fit and well prepared for this game tomorrow and have named a strong team with plenty of good options off the bench. Would still expect leitrim to prevail with 7 NFL games under their belts but anyway off it they are in for a shock.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3337 - 07/04/2023 15:58:21    2469440

Replying To Leitrimdivide:  "I think its worrying that there are photos in from the Leitrim training session in new york. Surely that should have been behind closed doors. Are our tactics now a free for all??"
Tactics? I've been to most of the league games and out from kick it into the two man full forward line I haven't seen much in the way of tactics. Work needed on a defensive structure and a lot of work to be done on kick outs, especially against a press.

3rdmidfielder (Australia) - Posts: 294 - 07/04/2023 18:27:23    2469461

Replying To joeman123:  "Thank you Square D

Your comments are ill informed ,full of nonsense and the antipidy of what I would expect from a supporter.

I hope Leitrim disappoints you tomorrow evening as we know where you are coming from"
Says the lad moaning about New York 'ambushing' Leitrim... lol Toddle on fella.

Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 844 - 07/04/2023 18:56:47    2469469

Replying To Square_B:  "The date of the game had no relevance here... if he plays for the u20's, he can't play for the senior panel. The season is already a failure, lets hope and pray it doesn't get worse. My point stands, it we're depending on an 18 year old who hasn't been a regular starter throughout the year, it says a lot for what's happening in the camp at the moment."
Its working well for the Irish Soccer team to depend on an up and coming 18yr old .

Best of luck Leitrim

Mugatay (Leitrim) - Posts: 157 - 07/04/2023 21:32:24    2469491

There's two camps involved here, those who think Coach Moran has brought improvements to the Leitrim team, the the other camp think he has not brought us forward at all.

I am in the latter camp, I don't see the improvements.

He's had two years to get us promoted, nothing doing.

We looked out on our feet towards the end of the Sligo game, so there hasn't been an improvement in fitness either.

I sincerely hope we beat NY comfortably, I am very nervous though. It entirely depends on what team shows up...on both sides!

somewouldargue (Leitrim) - Posts: 52 - 08/04/2023 09:49:54    2469515

Replying To Mugatay:  "Its working well for the Irish Soccer team to depend on an up and coming 18yr old .

Best of luck Leitrim"
Oh yeah of course... a lad that's started 2 games for Ireland... I see the media hype has caught you too...

Anyhow, best of luck to Leitrim... what a great weekend it's going to be in and around Gaelic Park and McLean Avenue. Looking forward to the game... it's going to be a tight competitive game.

Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 844 - 08/04/2023 10:15:45    2469518

Can't fathom out the team selection if the one named by Moran actually starts. 1-9 is fine and largely picks itself and IMO is the best we have in these positions. Ironically is the forwards we are the strongest and the selections here baffle me. Dwyer hasn't seen any action during the league and is named at wing forward. Undoubtedly talented but surely Gaelic park is not the place to find out if he is up to the pace of inter county standard. Heslin has to have a knock as again he isn't named to start. Keaney starting again despite offering only brief glimpses of what he can do and has gone missing for large portions of league games. Flynn named and will probably drop deep in a sweeper role. Prior on the bench and McNulty too.

I can understand to a certain extent that if we went with Heslin, prior and McNulty and went to to blitz New York from the start and the game turned out to be tight or we were down for whatever reason then there may be no alternative plan B to change the game with these guys already on the field. Introducing them in the league completely changed the game and offered us a whole new life in attack. Bringing on Prior was like bringing on solskjaer in the league and he has to be wondering what he has to do to start. I was hoping Heslin, Prior and McNulty would all start. For me you got to start with your best team and this one leaves a lot to be desired. Hoping for changes come the throw in. Not as confident as I was but we should still have too much in the tank for them to overcome

leitrim4sam (Leitrim) - Posts: 644 - 08/04/2023 11:29:33    2469522

Jesus there is some key board warriors on here. Just as matter of fact I wonder how many of ye lads have actually kick a ball for club or county or even made the trip out to New York or ye just sitting at home hiding behind fake names. Anyone who's followed Leitrim or goes to games knows It's a 4/5 year project, never a 1/2 year s. It's great to see so any Leitrim supporter out in New York. All the best to Leitrim lads today whoever takes the field.

Leitrim_12 (Leitrim) - Posts: 63 - 08/04/2023 14:06:45    2469544

Best of luck to the Leitrim lads, very nervous about this game just hoping the competitive league games we have under our belt will pull us through. We won't be lacking for support tonight great Leitrim crowd out there by all accounts.

JimmyNail (Leitrim) - Posts: 182 - 08/04/2023 14:17:55    2469545

Replying To leitrim4sam:  "Can't fathom out the team selection if the one named by Moran actually starts. 1-9 is fine and largely picks itself and IMO is the best we have in these positions. Ironically is the forwards we are the strongest and the selections here baffle me. Dwyer hasn't seen any action during the league and is named at wing forward. Undoubtedly talented but surely Gaelic park is not the place to find out if he is up to the pace of inter county standard. Heslin has to have a knock as again he isn't named to start. Keaney starting again despite offering only brief glimpses of what he can do and has gone missing for large portions of league games. Flynn named and will probably drop deep in a sweeper role. Prior on the bench and McNulty too.

I can understand to a certain extent that if we went with Heslin, prior and McNulty and went to to blitz New York from the start and the game turned out to be tight or we were down for whatever reason then there may be no alternative plan B to change the game with these guys already on the field. Introducing them in the league completely changed the game and offered us a whole new life in attack. Bringing on Prior was like bringing on solskjaer in the league and he has to be wondering what he has to do to start. I was hoping Heslin, Prior and McNulty would all start. For me you got to start with your best team and this one leaves a lot to be desired. Hoping for changes come the throw in. Not as confident as I was but we should still have too much in the tank for them to overcome"
I'd pass no remarks on the team named. The team that was named hasn't once started.

3rdmidfielder (Australia) - Posts: 294 - 08/04/2023 15:02:43    2469553

Replying To Leitrim_12:  "Jesus there is some key board warriors on here. Just as matter of fact I wonder how many of ye lads have actually kick a ball for club or county or even made the trip out to New York or ye just sitting at home hiding behind fake names. Anyone who's followed Leitrim or goes to games knows It's a 4/5 year project, never a 1/2 year s. It's great to see so any Leitrim supporter out in New York. All the best to Leitrim lads today whoever takes the field."
But sure you're here 'hiding' behind a keyboard too talking keyboard warrior stuff. Its a forum of anonymous people. I doubt there's too many here that hasn't kicked a ball now. It isn't exactly a highly interesting thing to non football people, a Leitrim gaa thread!

Exactly what is this 4 or 5 year project and what is its goals and outcomes? Because as been mentioned the Leitrim team in 2026 could look a lot different than the one today with lads retiring or leaving the panel. So what is being implemented now that will come to fruition in 2025?

And are we keeping coach moran for that long if we haven't achieved promotion. I'd know of no other county that would do that now.

somewouldargue (Leitrim) - Posts: 52 - 08/04/2023 16:36:10    2469572

Worries about an upset or "ambush" are par for the course even when Mayo are playing this fixture. A top ref has been put in charge. Truth is anything other an a win for the visitors would be a nightmare for Connacht Council and Gaa in general. Talk of an upset on the cards keeps the buzz going, but the result will not be in any doubt. Andy has being preparing for this and the Sligo game since Christmas. Best of Luck.

martinjoe (Mayo) - Posts: 499 - 08/04/2023 16:47:51    2469574

Replying To Leitrim_12:  "Jesus there is some key board warriors on here. Just as matter of fact I wonder how many of ye lads have actually kick a ball for club or county or even made the trip out to New York or ye just sitting at home hiding behind fake names. Anyone who's followed Leitrim or goes to games knows It's a 4/5 year project, never a 1/2 year s. It's great to see so any Leitrim supporter out in New York. All the best to Leitrim lads today whoever takes the field."
Well said.

Unfortunately the Leitrim forum is bedeviled by begrudgers who wallow in our failings.

Good luck to Leitrim and the incredible supporters who made the journey for tonight's game.

joeman123 (Leitrim) - Posts: 463 - 08/04/2023 18:31:09    2469615

Replying To joeman123:  "Well said.

Unfortunately the Leitrim forum is bedeviled by begrudgers who wallow in our failings.

Good luck to Leitrim and the incredible supporters who made the journey for tonight's game."
I expect Leitrim to prevail with the same ease as Sligo did v London earlier today.
Our sharpness and fitness .and NY's lack of match practice will see us through with a bit to spare.

Buzzcagney62 (Leitrim) - Posts: 217 - 08/04/2023 19:02:11    2469626

Replying To Buzzcagney62:  "I expect Leitrim to prevail with the same ease as Sligo did v London earlier today.
Our sharpness and fitness .and NY's lack of match practice will see us through with a bit to spare."
I hope you are right.

However the New York team is much stronger this year with the 5 imports -all top inter County men

joeman123 (Leitrim) - Posts: 463 - 08/04/2023 20:06:07    2469639

That's a good one.... the birthcert must have 'Leitrim_12' on it... there's some jokers on this forum. Nothing but Moran fanboys... thankfully there's others here who are want our county to push on and not settle second best.

Will say it again, on the way to the game from the privileged position sitting in Clarke's on McLean Avenue... best of luck Leitrim and let's do the business this evening.

Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 844 - 08/04/2023 20:24:11    2469641

On paper this New York has much better footballers than any team they ever had before, they ran sligo very close last year and have added Eoghan Kerin,all star nominee, O Brien and Wharton who have played with Kerry in 2019, Carthy who was involved with Dublin for a Sam Maguire winning year and Maher who played for Tipperary in their Munster final win in 2020. Individually they have better footballers than Leitrim , simple. Lack of match fitness should play into our hands . Kerin will be capable of marking Beirne , 50/50 game.

theroadtocroker (Leitrim) - Posts: 26 - 08/04/2023 21:26:46    2469652

Replying To martinjoe:  "Worries about an upset or "ambush" are par for the course even when Mayo are playing this fixture. A top ref has been put in charge. Truth is anything other an a win for the visitors would be a nightmare for Connacht Council and Gaa in general. Talk of an upset on the cards keeps the buzz going, but the result will not be in any doubt. Andy has being preparing for this and the Sligo game since Christmas. Best of Luck."
What's this about"result been n no doubt"???I hope ur predictions stay the same for mayo to cruise past roscommon ......wats that we ear EVERY YEAR ,this could b our year ;()

Timmy86 (Sligo) - Posts: 270 - 09/04/2023 07:15:58    2469664