Leitrim GAA thread

Replying To leitrimman1994:  "Word on the street is that Andy Moran has anyone that can kick a ball up training with the county panel . Fair play to him . Good to hear he's keeping his panel tight knit . No paddy Maguire , Keith beirne or Paul Keaney involved this year."
I assume your 'keeping his panel tight' comment is sarcasm. Every county team in the country from Kerry to Antrim is doing the same thing right now. Players are invited in for trials, to have a look at etc. It's November. Any panel won't be agreed until the end of the FBD league. I haven't heard of any player involved that doesn't deserve a look at or a chance to prove themselves. You'd probably be the same man giving out if they brought no one new in.

From what I've heard there is been a huge change in focus on to the younger players. Which is great. But is something I believe Andy should have done when he first took charge. I was speaking to some of the u20 county players that are in training with the seniors. It has been illustrated to them that u20 players will be left to play u20's. So we won't have the same situation we had with McNulty being pulled from the u20 game vs Galway. Hopefully.

A word on the new jersey. I know a few on here have said they like it. But talking to most people in the county they think its horrible. I also have that same opinion. I myself am probably in a younger age category to others on here. Most of my peers have conveyed the same opinion I have. Maybe we have more of a focus on fashion and what's in style. It's unfortunate as the first few jerseys with McKeever were beautiful (The black and gold training jerseys and the New York background jerseys were personal favourites of mine).

It's great that we have Gallagher group on board but there logo really clashes with the green and gold jersey. I think apart from that the jersey is nice. Cork had the same problem with sports direct and Westmeath with renault in recent years. The sponsors colours clashed with the jersey. But they learnt from this and changed sports directs blue red and white logo to a white one and renaults yellow logo to white too. Do we gain much revenue off jersey sales or any at all? If not it might not matter much on how the jersey looks. But I can't see the sales being anywhere near as high as the last home jersey we released. As someone else said if how the jersey looks is our only problem it'll be a great year.

Leitrimforliam (Leitrim) - Posts: 262 - 09/11/2023 10:35:49    2512202

Annaduff 9/1 in their intermediate clash v Kilmeena this weekend.

Absolutely crazy odds. Leitrim badly need an 8 Senior 8 Intermediate 7 Junior Split to make teams more competitive at these grades.

drumalee11 (USA) - Posts: 299 - 09/11/2023 12:35:19    2512242

Replying To Square_B:  "https://hoganstand.com/Article/Index/329828

What do we think of this proposal? A fierce kick in the teeth to anyone involved in Leitrim hurling let's be honest and doesn't say much for the priorities of the GAA."
Kick in the teeth is right. It will be the eradication of hurling in the smaller counties and the top boys don't care.

I never seen the sense of splitting out the leagues so much across 6 divisions. I know competitiveness for team, but no young player ever grows up with ambition to play in Division 5 or 6. There is a good few counties in same region that I would like to see amalgamate as part of a divisional team and let them play at higher level. The system now doesn't work where teams are essentially divided across county council lines.

There is between 2B and 3B or the bottom 3 Divisions that are geographically close.
• Leitrim, Mayo, Roscommon, Sligo
• Armagh, Cavan, Monaghan, Fermanagh, Donegal

Any thoughts?

leitrimlad15 (Leitrim) - Posts: 73 - 09/11/2023 13:22:29    2512252

Replying To leitrimlad15:  "Kick in the teeth is right. It will be the eradication of hurling in the smaller counties and the top boys don't care.

I never seen the sense of splitting out the leagues so much across 6 divisions. I know competitiveness for team, but no young player ever grows up with ambition to play in Division 5 or 6. There is a good few counties in same region that I would like to see amalgamate as part of a divisional team and let them play at higher level. The system now doesn't work where teams are essentially divided across county council lines.

There is between 2B and 3B or the bottom 3 Divisions that are geographically close.

Any thoughts?"
Very good idea imo. Tbh though I can't see any of our hurlers getting onto that divisional team. I wonder how they would fare out against the likes of Dublin, Offally, Carlow or Laois

Leitrimforliam (Leitrim) - Posts: 262 - 09/11/2023 14:36:56    2512265

Replying To leitrimlad15:  "Kick in the teeth is right. It will be the eradication of hurling in the smaller counties and the top boys don't care.

Any thoughts?"
Sligo, Roscommon and Mayo are operating at a much higher level than some of the teams you mentioned there. Easkey lead the charge for sligo and have reached all Ireland finals and same for Toreen in Mayo. I'd argue that both clubs could probably beat the likes of Leitrim, Fermanagh and Cavan. Tbh the proposal has some sense in it. It's huge money and has not grown club hurling numbers. Would it be acceptable for a county with two or three clubs in football to field at county level?

Would it not make sense for Longford, Leitrim, Fermanagh and Cavan to join up and play a proper club league and championship within it. There'd be 10 teams in that if I read correctly. Then you could pick a combined team to enter the league and see how they fair out in Division 2A.

Sligoman1234 (Sligo) - Posts: 378 - 09/11/2023 16:50:52    2512277

Replying To Leitrimforliam:  "I assume your 'keeping his panel tight' comment is sarcasm. Every county team in the country from Kerry to Antrim is doing the same thing right now. Players are invited in for trials, to have a look at etc. It's November. Any panel won't be agreed until the end of the FBD league. I haven't heard of any player involved that doesn't deserve a look at or a chance to prove themselves. You'd probably be the same man giving out if they brought no one new in.

From what I've heard there is been a huge change in focus on to the younger players. Which is great. But is something I believe Andy should have done when he first took charge. I was speaking to some of the u20 county players that are in training with the seniors. It has been illustrated to them that u20 players will be left to play u20's. So we won't have the same situation we had with McNulty being pulled from the u20 game vs Galway. Hopefully.

A word on the new jersey. I know a few on here have said they like it. But talking to most people in the county they think its horrible. I also have that same opinion. I myself am probably in a younger age category to others on here. Most of my peers have conveyed the same opinion I have. Maybe we have more of a focus on fashion and what's in style. It's unfortunate as the first few jerseys with McKeever were beautiful (The black and gold training jerseys and the New York background jerseys were personal favourites of mine).

It's great that we have Gallagher group on board but there logo really clashes with the green and gold jersey. I think apart from that the jersey is nice. Cork had the same problem with sports direct and Westmeath with renault in recent years. The sponsors colours clashed with the jersey. But they learnt from this and changed sports directs blue red and white logo to a white one and renaults yellow logo to white too. Do we gain much revenue off jersey sales or any at all? If not it might not matter much on how the jersey looks. But I can't see the sales being anywhere near as high as the last home jersey we released. As someone else said if how the jersey looks is our only problem it'll be a great year."
How many of the last home jerseys were sold? And why would the new Jersey not sell aswell as the old one?

Thejampot (Leitrim) - Posts: 258 - 09/11/2023 17:07:46    2512279

Shocking treatment for the hurlers they train twice a week granted nothing compared to the footballers work/commitment but to be told you might be deleted from the league is appalling.
The footballers is going to be an interesting year very tricky group but a stronger management. Paddy excellent servant but time is done the likes of Adam Reynolds can slot in and do the same. Beirne is involved according to the players and management and I really hope he is our best player is needed whixh he has been the last 3 years and the rest stepping up then we might have a chance of promotion. Laois lost piggott Murphy and another defender so there is hope if we gel and get everyone together

Terrysarmy (Leitrim) - Posts: 5 - 10/11/2023 06:53:44    2512308

Replying To Thejampot:  "How many of the last home jerseys were sold? And why would the new Jersey not sell aswell as the old one?"
Because it looks awful. That's why it won't sell as well. When your target audience and biggest consumer group (which is young people) are saying it looks terrible then it's not going to sell as well as the previous jerseys.

Leitrimforliam (Leitrim) - Posts: 262 - 10/11/2023 10:18:05    2512320

Replying To Leitrimforliam:  "Because it looks awful. That's why it won't sell as well. When your target audience and biggest consumer group (which is young people) are saying it looks terrible then it's not going to sell as well as the previous jerseys."
How many of the old Jersey were sold?? You sound like you know. You and the cavan poster are the only ones that don't seem to like it. Have been talking to a lot of supporters and none of them had any issues with it

Thejampot (Leitrim) - Posts: 258 - 10/11/2023 10:34:17    2512326

Replying To Thejampot:  "How many of the old Jersey were sold?? You sound like you know. You and the cavan poster are the only ones that don't seem to like it. Have been talking to a lot of supporters and none of them had any issues with it"
I never once stated I know how many jerseys were sold. I said the last jerseys were hugely popular which every one can agree they were. The slick design and the fact that they were much cheaper than the old O'Neills Leitrim jerseys was the reason for this. If you can't see that green, white, gold and orange is an obscene colour clash I really wouldn't like to see what you wear on a daily basis. I don't think I've spoke to anyone yet that said they like it. Most of the sports media organization's release a 1-32 ranking of all the jerseys in the country and I'd expect our new jersey to be near the bottom of the list.

Leitrimforliam (Leitrim) - Posts: 262 - 10/11/2023 11:51:11    2512336

Replying To Thejampot:  "How many of the old Jersey were sold?? You sound like you know. You and the cavan poster are the only ones that don't seem to like it. Have been talking to a lot of supporters and none of them had any issues with it"
i don't like it either and a lot of people i've spoken to don't like it, but its not the end of the world. forget about it lads. move on.

meathbasedfan (Leitrim) - Posts: 76 - 10/11/2023 12:29:11    2512343

Replying To Leitrimforliam:  "Because it looks awful. That's why it won't sell as well. When your target audience and biggest consumer group (which is young people) are saying it looks terrible then it's not going to sell as well as the previous jerseys."
The jersey is least of our problems... and I think it looks fine... not awful but fine. The results on the pitch are what matters and that's the only thing I'll be concerned about in 2024. By the looks of what I've been hearing so far, we'll need a miracle on that front. But shur look, what's another year eh?

Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 886 - 10/11/2023 14:00:20    2512361

Replying To Square_B:  "The jersey is least of our problems... and I think it looks fine... not awful but fine. The results on the pitch are what matters and that's the only thing I'll be concerned about in 2024. By the looks of what I've been hearing so far, we'll need a miracle on that front. But shur look, what's another year eh?"
I've heard Beirne won't be involved but hard to know because the Mohill players aren't back in ye training anyways. Alsoo is it true Paddy Maguire is retired? Have you heard that anything else that leads you to believe we'll need a miracle? Sounds a stupid question cause most years we need a miracle tbf.

Leitrimforliam (Leitrim) - Posts: 262 - 10/11/2023 14:34:41    2512369

Replying To Leitrimforliam:  "I never once stated I know how many jerseys were sold. I said the last jerseys were hugely popular which every one can agree they were. The slick design and the fact that they were much cheaper than the old O'Neills Leitrim jerseys was the reason for this. If you can't see that green, white, gold and orange is an obscene colour clash I really wouldn't like to see what you wear on a daily basis. I don't think I've spoke to anyone yet that said they like it. Most of the sports media organization's release a 1-32 ranking of all the jerseys in the country and I'd expect our new jersey to be near the bottom of the list."
You didn't say the old Jerseys were hugely popular. You said sales for new Jersey wouldn't be as high as the old Jersey. If you don't know how many were sold then you have no idea if sales were high!!.

Thejampot (Leitrim) - Posts: 258 - 10/11/2023 17:54:48    2512401

Best wishes to all Leitrim teams who are representing Leitrim in the Connacht club championship over the next couple of weeks. On another note we as a county need Keith Berine involved

Champotime18 (Leitrim) - Posts: 442 - 10/11/2023 22:46:06    2512413

Was just wondering for 2024 is Leitrim underage even ages ,( 14 ,16 :18 ) or 13:, 15 ; 17 ?? Lots counties gone. Back even ages ,

Kickitout (Galway) - Posts: 899 - 11/11/2023 17:56:56    2512444

Replying To Leitrimforliam:  "I've heard Beirne won't be involved but hard to know because the Mohill players aren't back in ye training anyways. Alsoo is it true Paddy Maguire is retired? Have you heard that anything else that leads you to believe we'll need a miracle? Sounds a stupid question cause most years we need a miracle tbf."
Hard to see Keith being involved for mohill or Leitrim

Keith won't be involved, in all honesty. I hope he is from a Leitrim fan point of view and from a football fan point, absolutely- but I can't see it. I wish and hope he will be.

Back to football- which is what i want to talk about…

If Ryan and Riordan don't come back where does that leave us?? Keith kept the scoreboard ticking over and covered our ailing defence. Who else can Andy call on?? Damien Moran was always a guy who could do it I thought and I'd love to see again in the full forward line for us.

However hard a loss Keith is for us , surprisingly I think we could just about absorb that with our attacking talent if our defence wasn't so bad. Ryan, Riordan, Shane Moran, Jack Heslin, Darragh Rooney, Barry Mc Nulty, Jordan Reynolds, Evan sweeney, Conor Dolan are there, but can we take Keith's loss when our defence is so poor though. Keith made up for our poor defence over the past few years and we will see this with the few points swing gone.

If Paul keaney is gone too ( great free taker) and Keith, then who takes the frees?? Ryan would be the obvious choice , a great free taker- if he is back. Who else if Ryan isn't there?

Leitrim need good top class defenders more than ever, our attack is good enough to win most games in division 4, our midfield is good enough to break even and our defence is poor enough to lose most games. That's the bottom line as far as I can see.

Defences win leagues- another year in division 4 looms next year

leitrim4sam (Leitrim) - Posts: 653 - 11/11/2023 22:03:30    2512477

Replying To leitrim4sam:  "Hard to see Keith being involved for mohill or Leitrim

Keith won't be involved, in all honesty. I hope he is from a Leitrim fan point of view and from a football fan point, absolutely- but I can't see it. I wish and hope he will be.

Back to football- which is what i want to talk about…

If Ryan and Riordan don't come back where does that leave us?? Keith kept the scoreboard ticking over and covered our ailing defence. Who else can Andy call on?? Damien Moran was always a guy who could do it I thought and I'd love to see again in the full forward line for us.

However hard a loss Keith is for us , surprisingly I think we could just about absorb that with our attacking talent if our defence wasn't so bad. Ryan, Riordan, Shane Moran, Jack Heslin, Darragh Rooney, Barry Mc Nulty, Jordan Reynolds, Evan sweeney, Conor Dolan are there, but can we take Keith's loss when our defence is so poor though. Keith made up for our poor defence over the past few years and we will see this with the few points swing gone.

If Paul keaney is gone too ( great free taker) and Keith, then who takes the frees?? Ryan would be the obvious choice , a great free taker- if he is back. Who else if Ryan isn't there?

Leitrim need good top class defenders more than ever, our attack is good enough to win most games in division 4, our midfield is good enough to break even and our defence is poor enough to lose most games. That's the bottom line as far as I can see.

Defences win leagues- another year in division 4 looms next year"
I thought Jack was going to Oz?We haven't even finalised a panel and you've already consigned us to another year in Div 4.Lets wait and see what happens.

masseyferguson (Leitrim) - Posts: 103 - 12/11/2023 15:23:49    2512539

1pt in second half from our Intermediate Champions tells you everything I suppose the can claim the did better then Crossmaglen lastnight

Weaternpro (Leitrim) - Posts: 51 - 12/11/2023 16:08:43    2512548

This looks like an ok team from who i believe will be part of the squad this year

Struggling to fill in number 4, 12 as I'm not sure who else has committed

1. Gaffney
2. Conor Renoylds
3. Donal Wrynn
5. C. McGlion
6. Donal Casey
7. Shane Quinn
8. Pearse Dolan
9. Shane Moran
10. Darragh Rooney
11. Barry McNulty
13. Ryan O,Rourke