Roscommon GAA thread

Replying To howdareu:  "Looking at the draw this morning realistically roscommon could have been in an all Ireland final. Must be very frustrating seeing that they had chances to win against clare and the draw was kind this morning. Would have missed all the big guys. Such a shame really."
Hard to look past Kerry and Dublin. Armagh/Galway next best. It was a chance for our side of the draw to reach the final. With the exception of Armagh all are D2 sides. After contesting super 8s for the past few years it is a shame not to reach the last 8 this year.

Jack L (None) - Posts: 3099 - 13/06/2022 12:34:25    2424596

Replying To imformed:  "Initially, like a lot of Rossie fans on here, I was dismayed by the way the team performed on Saturday. After I reflected on it a bit more I started to consider what this loss must have felt like to all the players, the management team and all the people who have contributed so much of their time to help give us great days out supporting the team we love.

It's easy for us supporters to be hurlers on the ditch and vent our anger at how these games work out but we should go into work this morning as proud Rossies that we have such great people representing us. It takes a special talent and serious commitment over many years to be able to get to the level of playing for your county, these people should be admired and commented on, not criticised. I'd like to thank Anthony Cunningham a true gentleman who only has Roscommon football at heart for his commitment and dedication to the cause. I would also like to thank the rest of the management & backroom team for such efforts for the greater good of the team.

Finally the most important people the players, we are proud and honoured to have you represent the people of Roscommon on the national stage. These lads are 150% committed, giving up all their free time and making huge sacrifices in their personal lives to represent the county's colour.
Thank you, players, we Rossie supporters wish ye a great break and hope to see ye all in January when we will all join the Crusade together again."
I fully agree with this post. I looked at a recording of the game last night again and feel that the team were very unlucky. But full credit to Clare on their win and I certainly do not want to take away from their achievement. We had a goal disallowed by a matter of inches, and it could be strongly argued that C. McKeon was fouled in the penalty area before delivering the pass across the goals. Clare got their two goals from an own goal (no blame to the player involved) and a penalty decision that could have gone either way.
On looking at the match again, the Roscommon team played much better than I realized when at the game, and it all fairness should have won it. They were completely on top in the second half and will regret their first half passiveness for a very long time. Keelan Sexton also scored some outstanding frees for Clare which is not guaranteed every day, but we also scored some outstanding points from play from Ciaran Murtagh, Ronan Daly, Keith Doyle etc. It is now that the team and management need our support in order to pick themselves again for division 1 next year, and I sincerely hope that the Murtagh, Daly and Smith brothers etc will stick with it for another few years.
In addition, Anthony Cunningham has improved the team and the style of play and added some good additions to the playing panel this year. I good defensive coach is what is needed and the possible introduction of a couple of new players.
The players and management have obviously put in a huge effort again this year and gave us a few good days out, which should not be forgotten.

I think it was Aristotle who said "Anyone can be angry - that is easy. But to be angry with the right person, to the right degree, at the right time, for the right purpose, and in the right way - that is not easy".
Perhaps some Roscommon supporters should reflect on this quotation before they put the boot in.

The best of luck to Colm Collins and his team in the quarter final. I sincerely hope that you beat Derry as I firmly believe that if Rory Gallagher's game plan were successful and they win the All Ireland, it would set the game back several years, and our great game would loose many supporters. Hopefully Galway and Mayo will also keep the flag going for Connacht also.

Thanks again to the Roscommon management and players for all their effort this year.
Have a good break and holiday and just get going again next year!

letsgetgoing (Roscommon) - Posts: 505 - 13/06/2022 12:40:25    2424602

Replying To eoinog:  "What a donkey of a post !!!!"
Little bit jealous that someone could suggest Roscommon could have been in an all ireland final??? I think they could have been- would have been avoiding Dublin, Kerry, Mayo- would they be afraid of Derry, Galway, Armagh????? They beat Galway twice already this year and were within one score of them in Connacht final, drew with Derry in the league......not all that unbelievable really. Anyhow we will never know now what could have been.

howdareu (USA) - Posts: 220 - 13/06/2022 14:05:45    2424663

Replying To Gaa_lover:  "kentuckytucky was a previous username for howdareu. He seemed offended when i asked him was he banned with that last account his reply was he thought kentuckytucky was a stupid name.

Moving on or back to Saturdays match. It was a match to be honest that I was expecting Roscommon would win by 5 or 6 points and it was looking that way with 68 minutes on the clock until Roscommon gifted Clare a way back into the match with truly awful defending.

SmokieRoss and Longford fellow thought the cure to all of your woes would be cured by starting the Murtagh brothers, Conor Daly and using Donie Smith as impact sub, well that all happened on Saturday and still lost. I see smokie it blaming the county boards lack of facilities and players not physically or conditioned enough for the business end of the championship now and that is closer to the real issues than team selection.

Galway fellows on their thread didn't want to agree with my view that Galway system over player quality won the Connacht final for them. Clare certainly don't have better quality players than Roscommon but their system is much better. Derry system would be a Mis match against Roscommon.

If Roscommon was in hat it could have been a completely different draw and even if it was Derry and Roscommon lost narrowly they'd go away thinking they are better than they are while the glaring weakness of defence not addressed at all. Cunningham or whoever is manager next year has to work on the defence now or 2023 will be another championship write off."
I think AC has definitely improved the conditioning of the team but more work probably needed. Roscommon were coming from a very low base. The team that bowed out in the Croker replay to Mayo some years back were very light ladeens compared to the physical shape Roscommon are in now.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 784 - 13/06/2022 14:22:45    2424677

Replying To dave1988:  "I'd have no problem with Anthony staying on if he did bring win a couple of top coaches. You don't have to get rid of any of the backroom team just add a top class coach who is proven. Who are our best defenders/tacklers in the county? It's all about getting the balance right and unfortunately we never do. It's one extreme to the next which is so frustrating"
Yea exactly, no need to get rid. Our best defender's probably don't play County anymore. In the current squad, I think the Dalys are good but could be improved with good coaching. Stack and Hughes also. Saying that all of them would. I know they play a certain style of football but all of Mayos starting backs the last day were half backs. I know we seem to lack natural full backs but with good coaching surely that can be overcome.

Probably too soon now but would the likes of Keith Higgins make a good coach to bring on board? Was a very intelligent back, has played and been coached in a set up where tackling and intensity were paramount. He knows the high standards that are required to compete in the top 8.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 784 - 13/06/2022 14:45:50    2424694

Replying To MachaireConnacht:  "I think AC has definitely improved the conditioning of the team but more work probably needed. Roscommon were coming from a very low base. The team that bowed out in the Croker replay to Mayo some years back were very light ladeens compared to the physical shape Roscommon are in now."
He put some fight into them in Castlebar in 2019. Not one of them took a backwards step. A great game of hardhitting football.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7344 - 13/06/2022 15:13:50    2424707

Is it the end of the road for a good number of players who aren't that old but a lot of football mileage on the clock going back to u16?
2019 was as good as it got for them.
If the Dalys, Murtaghs, Smiths, Murray, Kilroy pack it in we'll be falling back into the pack 12th to 20th.
We've been top 10 since 2016 but hardly top 12 after that championship.
Next time in Croker Tailteann Cup 2025?

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1416 - 14/06/2022 11:32:30    2424910

What would people think about Tom Cribbin as next Ros manager if Anthony Cunningham does go? Brought Westmeath to two Leinster finals in 2015 and 2016 only to be beaten by the Dubs.

howdareu (USA) - Posts: 220 - 14/06/2022 14:51:26    2424966

Replying To Seanfanbocht:  "Is it the end of the road for a good number of players who aren't that old but a lot of football mileage on the clock going back to u16?
If the Dalys, Murtaghs, Smiths, Murray, Kilroy pack it in we'll be falling back into the pack 12th to 20th.
Next time in Croker Tailteann Cup 2025?"
Hard to know. Players do put in massive effort but to play county football and be successful you need to obsessed with it and maybe outside the top 7/8 county's that obsession to win and achieve team goals and individual goals isn't what it should be. Like we haven't got ourselves motivated or raised our intensity in championship for few years and that's not normal. I think it's a combination of weak mentality. We have very good footballers but probably lack a few hard leaders that will control the team on the pitch. Roscommon county board need to move very fast on this situation and if Cunningham is to step down sort it out before September

dave1988 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1055 - 14/06/2022 15:08:13    2424972

Replying To Seanfanbocht:  "Is it the end of the road for a good number of players who aren't that old but a lot of football mileage on the clock going back to u16?
You'd hope they don't pack it in at the same time. All of those lads should have varying degrees of time left in the next 5 years. It'll be important to bring lads through while you have fellas like that in the panel. That's what happened those lads when they were thrown into a Roscommon panel quite young with very few older players who had played in the top tier. We will have the lads who lost the u20 final coming through now and we have the start of the minor all Ireland runners up against Tyrone starting to take places on the panel. All is not lost.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 784 - 14/06/2022 15:57:17    2424990

Replying To dave1988:  "Hard to know. Players do put in massive effort but to play county football and be successful you need to obsessed with it and maybe outside the top 7/8 county's that obsession to win and achieve team goals and individual goals isn't what it should be. Like we haven't got ourselves motivated or raised our intensity in championship for few years and that's not normal. I think it's a combination of weak mentality. We have very good footballers but probably lack a few hard leaders that will control the team on the pitch. Roscommon county board need to move very fast on this situation and if Cunningham is to step down sort it out before September"
It's the chicken and egg thing. The fact that Mayo consistently get to the business end of the championship makes it easier for them to get lads to commit and also drives fellas to play at that high level.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 784 - 14/06/2022 16:00:36    2424991

Not sure we might get a few from last years u20 team who could be as good as you mentioned. Two Lennons back plus Walsh Gavin Doyle O Carroll McDermott Cregg

sourmilk93 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1144 - 14/06/2022 17:15:08    2425010

Replying To sourmilk93:  "Not sure we might get a few from last years u20 team who could be as good as you mentioned. Two Lennons back plus Walsh Gavin Doyle O Carroll McDermott Cregg"
I'd like to see Mark Richardson get more of run next year, troubled by injury this year. Paul McGrath, Pearse Frost are two Brigids defenders that need to be looked at. The ship has probably sailed for Niall McInerney to return.

On doctors order Mullooly was told to sit out all physical action for a year with his injury problems. The type of athlete and pacy defender we could have done with.

Underage development will be key over the next five years some concerning underage results there recently but with proper coaching we should still be getting a handful of players out of each team who can compete at senior County level.

The net needs to be cast wide for the club championship even in the Junior A championship we might have a few hidden gems. Which is why a decision on the management needs to be made as quickly as possible to allow the manager and his selectors/coaches study those games.

The last thing we want is for the club championship to finished and the county board still searching for a manager.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3755 - 14/06/2022 18:48:08    2425028

Last 3 Minor teams had a few good players on each of them.
As Analyser said we need the senior management sorted out early and indeed Minor and u20 as well.
Of course we have uncertainty about future of underage as GAA are examining a u19 championship.
They should state that if introduced it comes in in 2024 so Counties could be organising their 2023 managements etc.

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1416 - 15/06/2022 10:31:36    2425088

Replying To The_analyser:  "I'd like to see Mark Richardson get more of run next year, troubled by injury this year. Paul McGrath, Pearse Frost are two Brigids defenders that need to be looked at. The ship has probably sailed for Niall McInerney to return.

On doctors order Mullooly was told to sit out all physical action for a year with his injury problems. The type of athlete and pacy defender we could have done with.

Underage development will be key over the next five years some concerning underage results there recently but with proper coaching we should still be getting a handful of players out of each team who can compete at senior County level.

The net needs to be cast wide for the club championship even in the Junior A championship we might have a few hidden gems. Which is why a decision on the management needs to be made as quickly as possible to allow the manager and his selectors/coaches study those games.

The last thing we want is for the club championship to finished and the county board still searching for a manager."
Mullooly would be a huge asset. Are there no backs in the vein of Mike Ryan and Francie Grehan in the county? The net definitely needs to be cast out wide. I don't know what underage coaching is like but has a situation developed in the county where teams just get people back as part of their defensive strategy and no work is actually done on how you tackle or shoulder a player?

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 784 - 15/06/2022 12:49:53    2425137

Replying To Seanfanbocht:  "Last 3 Minor teams had a few good players on each of them.
As Analyser said we need the senior management sorted out early and indeed Minor and u20 as well.
Of course we have uncertainty about future of underage as GAA are examining a u19 championship.
They should state that if introduced it comes in in 2024 so Counties could be organising their 2023 managements etc."
Looking at the performances of Galway and Mayo minor teams since
I think you can upgrade the Connacht minor Championship
Its possible Galway and Mayo could both get to the All Ire Final

rhudson (Galway) - Posts: 1478 - 15/06/2022 13:16:02    2425145

Replying To The_analyser:  "I'd like to see Mark Richardson get more of run next year, troubled by injury this year. Paul McGrath, Pearse Frost are two Brigids defenders that need to be looked at. The ship has probably sailed for Niall McInerney to return.

The last thing we want is for the club championship to finished and the county board still searching for a manager."
I would agree with that. The county board needs to act fast and appoint someone with calibration and not an inexperienced guy! Ye always had a good underage system and structures in place though. What has happened to that? Are the coaches not as good?

howdareu (USA) - Posts: 220 - 15/06/2022 13:24:31    2425148

Replying To howdareu:  "I would agree with that. The county board needs to act fast and appoint someone with calibration and not an inexperienced guy! Ye always had a good underage system and structures in place though. What has happened to that? Are the coaches not as good?"
I didn't know that A.C had stepped down. Who out there is more experienced ? He brought a club to an All Ireland final and brought a county team to All Ireland hurling final. Throw in a few titles with Roscommon including a Connacht title. The list of more experienced than that cv will be very small. Did you read Kevin Mc Stays piece. Going back over 20 years Roscommon defenders can't tackle or put in the hits !!!

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1655 - 15/06/2022 15:25:11    2425182

Replying To eoinog:  "I didn't know that A.C had stepped down. Who out there is more experienced ? He brought a club to an All Ireland final and brought a county team to All Ireland hurling final. Throw in a few titles with Roscommon including a Connacht title. The list of more experienced than that cv will be very small. Did you read Kevin Mc Stays piece. Going back over 20 years Roscommon defenders can't tackle or put in the hits !!!"
I would definitely agree with him on the last 10 but over 20 years? I think Mike Ryan, Francie Grehan and John Whyte among a few others would disagree on ability to tackle or put in hits.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 784 - 15/06/2022 16:36:52    2425206

Replying To eoinog:  "I didn't know that A.C had stepped down. Who out there is more experienced ? He brought a club to an All Ireland final and brought a county team to All Ireland hurling final. Throw in a few titles with Roscommon including a Connacht title. The list of more experienced than that cv will be very small. Did you read Kevin Mc Stays piece. Going back over 20 years Roscommon defenders can't tackle or put in the hits !!!"
There are people "out there" believe it or not that are more experienced and more successful too. To mention two here would be Jim Gavin and Jim McGuinness. Stephen Rochford could be worth an approach. He got mayo to two all Ireland finals even though they didn't win them just like AC.

howdareu (USA) - Posts: 220 - 15/06/2022 18:07:33    2425232