Roscommon GAA thread

Replying To Primrose_and_blue:  "Can't see McGuinness back in GAA anytime soon and if he does I'd imagine it would be with Donegal again next year. Stephen Rochford was mentioned the last time the job came around, I wonder would he be considered? This looks likely to be his last year in Donegal. I'm not sure he was the most defensively minded manager either however."
It's not about being defensively minded. It's about having a manager/coaches that our time and effort into coaching players how to tackle and defend. Listening to McGuiness on Niall Daly playing sweeper and saying you need football intelligence to play sweeper and one thing we lack all over is football intelligence. I always said Andy Moran wasn't the best natural footballer in the country but he was one of the most intelligent footballers which made him one of the best around. Very disappointing to think that's county football done for the year with no minor or u20 and it's only mid June. The Gaa have made a complete balls of this

dave1988 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1051 - 12/06/2022 09:38:38    2424116

Replying To howdareu:  "It was very disappointing day at the office. Really the co board have serious questions to answer"
Didn't realize we had members of the country board on the pitch yesterday

superos (Roscommon) - Posts: 46 - 12/06/2022 10:22:00    2424129

Replying To SouthsideRossie:  "Pretty much my opinion too. Tactically poor in 1st half. We finally get a midfield that can compete and we conceded every Clare short kickout until the second half. When we pressed up we destroyed them for 30 minutes and showed the quality that is in this team. To waste the talent thats in the panel (and getting older now) is most frustrating. Dont know if we need a new manager (the debacle last time is still fresh) but we need an external defensive coach brought in as well as a full back and centre back from somewhere (Walshe &Mullooly?) . On a separate note the refereeing of our match was truly awful, a recent conversion from a non-contact sport perhaps.
Congrats to Clare and best of luck in 1/4 final."
I like AC but there definitely needs to be a shake up and maybe that just requires getting in a top quality coach or two. PJ got Cian O'Neill in. For all we know Cunningham has been trying to but budgets could be limiting the standard.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 779 - 12/06/2022 10:25:59    2424130

Replying To dave1988:  "It's not about being defensively minded. It's about having a manager/coaches that our time and effort into coaching players how to tackle and defend. Listening to McGuiness on Niall Daly playing sweeper and saying you need football intelligence to play sweeper and one thing we lack all over is football intelligence. I always said Andy Moran wasn't the best natural footballer in the country but he was one of the most intelligent footballers which made him one of the best around. Very disappointing to think that's county football done for the year with no minor or u20 and it's only mid June. The Gaa have made a complete balls of this"
Cathal Cregg seemed to be one of our most intelligent players. Is he coaching now? I know he has something to do with the Connacht centre.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 779 - 12/06/2022 10:43:36    2424140

Replying To SouthsideRossie:  "Pretty much my opinion too. Tactically poor in 1st half. We finally get a midfield that can compete and we conceded every Clare short kickout until the second half. When we pressed up we destroyed them for 30 minutes and showed the quality that is in this team. To waste the talent thats in the panel (and getting older now) is most frustrating. Dont know if we need a new manager (the debacle last time is still fresh) but we need an external defensive coach brought in as well as a full back and centre back from somewhere (Walshe &Mullooly?) . On a separate note the refereeing of our match was truly awful, a recent conversion from a non-contact sport perhaps.
Walsh has to be given a chance next year. It's annoying to when you could have a back 6 of stack Collins McInerney mullooly the Daly's. We lost 3 of the best natural defenders we had in years for personal reasons.

dave1988 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1051 - 12/06/2022 10:53:21    2424143

Replying To dave1988:  "It's not about being defensively minded. It's about having a manager/coaches that our time and effort into coaching players how to tackle and defend. Listening to McGuiness on Niall Daly playing sweeper and saying you need football intelligence to play sweeper and one thing we lack all over is football intelligence. I always said Andy Moran wasn't the best natural footballer in the country but he was one of the most intelligent footballers which made him one of the best around. Very disappointing to think that's county football done for the year with no minor or u20 and it's only mid June. The Gaa have made a complete balls of this"
Good post right there. It's totally obvious that the Roscommon players are not being properly coached to tackle or defend and Jim McGuinness nailed that in his analysis. Anthony Cunningham will go but he should have gone last year and I said that here. I think we'll know how bad Roscommon were yesterday when we see Clare in the quarter final. If they get Dublin or Kerry, they'll be hammered as we would surely have been. We have a generation of players who should be in their prime ( Murtaghs, Smiths, Harney) and all we can muster in the championship is a win over 14 man division 4 Sligo. I think now that if the Sligo player hadn't been sent off early, they'd have given us a run for our money. Roscommon are utterly hopeless at the moment and that's the unfortunate reality of it.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2160 - 12/06/2022 10:55:47    2424144

Yea. Ref was fussy in the extreme. I know that technically a foul is a foul but if every technical free us given every game would be very boring. Not to mention what it would do to hurling. In the real good / classic hurling games in the last few years the ref has turned a blind eye to over 100 fouls per game.... i guess rightly so because it adds to entertainment. Having said that it is hard to be too critical of the ref for implementing the rules...

anotheralias (Galway) - Posts: 840 - 12/06/2022 11:10:43    2424151

Feel hungover this morning after yesterday, very like Fermanagh game in 2015 which spelled the end of John Evans. We simply give teams a chance by letting them score at will and when they find ways to shut us out we get dragged into a dogfight, no disrespect to Clare but we should be winning they game by 6-7 points, they were full value for their win and best of luck to them. Before we go into management who I feel have run out of road some players just are either not as good as they were 3/4 years ago or are not doing when it matters. Doubts over Lavin who whilst he has improved this year decides to kick out a 50/50 when 5 up when he hasn't done it all game…. Murray shouldn't have started today. Stack shouldn't be full back he has had to play there and whilst performing admirably is not a full back. Conor Daly along with Niall has a lot of football played the break will do him good should probably go to 3 next year if we can't find a natural full back. Niall had a poor year by his very high standards and need a break now having had a long year with club duties. Hussey done okay and is our best option at 6 at present. Ronan Daly had a good second half and can get more out of himself, Harney was good again and hopefully kicks on after his best year in a senior jersey. Nolan had a good league and is a good honest player in a position we have long struggled in. Ciaran Murtagh very good and his our most important forward / player kept us in it yesterday. Enda had a good league but the last two games he just couldn't get into and this is an issue in a lot of big games, teams know how to take him out of the game and we always look to him to drive us forward when it's not happening for him we as a team look lost. Heneghan was a big loss yesterday his pace and ability to weave through bodies would have been so valuable, a big plus this year along with McKeon who has become an important player for us. Cox was disappointing and doesn't do enough from play for me, I think he shouldn't be guaranteed to start next year. Diarmuid Murtagh was good yesterday and that last few games and and we all know what talent he has, hopefully can see it regularly from now on with no injuries. Donie had a great impact off the bench and I feel that role is best suited to him he gave us a big lift when coming on. Hughes and McCormick had very good years and both can be feel very bad done by to not start the last 2 games, both will start next year I'd imagine. Doyle had a great impact in nearly every game he came on and kicked a point in nearly every game too a great young talent that hopefully we can make the most of. Kilroy isn't as effective as he once was albeit still as accurate and hard working as ever. Not wanting to sound overly critical of any player as the sacrifice and commitment they put in is over and above. We will need to get the house in order well in advance of January as we face into a very difficult Div 1.

Rossie2020 (Roscommon) - Posts: 169 - 12/06/2022 11:19:10    2424154

One if the most depressing defeats it's ever been my misfortune to be at.
Played well for 20/25 minutes, winning that 9-1.
Awful 1st half, fortuitous goal and 2 late points flattered us at ht.
But the last 5 ir 6 minutes will live in infamy along with Enniskillen 2015 as to how to throw away a game you have done and dusted.....
As someone said 3 flat Championships in a row, has to be laid at management's door .
Talking about brains 1 thing sticks in the memory.
Ros man had ball on edge of our D, Clare retreated out of our half, Hussey on sideline unmarked 45m out.
Yer man decides to solo for 15m or so before finally passing to Hussey, which he should have done straight away.
A lot of players with a lot of mileage on the clock might well mean a load of retirements?

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1411 - 12/06/2022 11:58:14    2424157

I'm afraid that was as bad as it has ever been. Game won, chance to finally get that 1980 stat put to bed and advance to a 1/4 final and we found a way to lose it. Clare played pretty much how Galway played against us and we looked as lost and bemused as we did in Salthill, clearly no lessons were learned. We have no definite structure or plan. We filled our own half with players when Clare attacked, but all we were doing was filling space, no tackles made on the runners, Clare broke through at their ease. Our forward ply is so lethargic, we can't transition at pace. Football is played up and down the field, not over and back. We have been too reliant on Enda too drive us on and lift games in the past and I'm afraid teams have found how to minimise his impact now. Cox has completely gone off the boil this year also. This is 3 championships in a row where we have exited without any fight. Didn't win any game last year, I know COVID etc didn't help. And to be honest, though we achieved promotion this year, look at the results.. we drew with Clare and Derry, beat a 2nd string Galway team with nothing to play for and beat 4 teams battling relegation! Then beat a 14 man Div 4 team in championship. I have great respect for AC and anyone who puts their life's and time into our teams, but I'm afraid the time has come to move on or this group will start to break up. And I believe we have a very good group of players in this county, certainly feel we have better players then Clare but the better team deservedly won tand good luck to them in next round.
The few positives from the year is that we have finally found a good midfield pairing and have another young man pushing for a place in the middle too.
Ciaran Murtagh has been very good all year too, hopefully he will stick with it.
It's going to be a long Summer, Autumn and winter ahead!!

D.Hyde (Roscommon) - Posts: 144 - 12/06/2022 12:15:50    2424163

debacle last time indeed and I have zero confidence in our county board to bring in a suitable replacement. I think Cunningham will go because the shelf life of a Roscommon manager is normally 3 years and next year would be his 5th and he rolled the dice with a new management team this year and it produced the same flat championship displays.

Yes i agreed once we pressed up on Clare's kick out it was a totally different match as we outscored Clare 0-9 to 0-1 and right there we should have pushed on to get that long awaited championship win in Croke Park. The last 8 minutes we basically gifted Clare a way back into the match and to win it. For two of their frees and penalty we had the ball in hand and lost in with enforced errors in truth it was really a game we should have seen out comfortably.

A blessing in disguise perhaps losing that game yesterday as what we showed in efforts to defend and failure to keep cool heads in the final 8 minutes we are much better off not facing Kerry or Dublin in All Ireland quarter final.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3750 - 12/06/2022 13:32:38    2424189

Replying To The_analyser:  "debacle last time indeed and I have zero confidence in our county board to bring in a suitable replacement. I think Cunningham will go because the shelf life of a Roscommon manager is normally 3 years and next year would be his 5th and he rolled the dice with a new management team this year and it produced the same flat championship displays.

Yes i agreed once we pressed up on Clare's kick out it was a totally different match as we outscored Clare 0-9 to 0-1 and right there we should have pushed on to get that long awaited championship win in Croke Park. The last 8 minutes we basically gifted Clare a way back into the match and to win it. For two of their frees and penalty we had the ball in hand and lost in with enforced errors in truth it was really a game we should have seen out comfortably.

A blessing in disguise perhaps losing that game yesterday as what we showed in efforts to defend and failure to keep cool heads in the final 8 minutes we are much better off not facing Kerry or Dublin in All Ireland quarter final."
A blessing in disguise it surely was yesterday. Absolutely nothing learned from the Sligo and Galway games. I knew after a few mins it was going to be the same story. Even at 5 points up I knew we had the ability to mess it up and unfortunately we did just that. It's so disappointing as I firmly believe we have as good a crop of players as any of the top teams. We just lacked a couple of leaders on the pitch yesterday to run the game out. Not clever enough when on the ball and too much dilly dallying with the ball when a 25 yard pass is on and we don't take it. Not sure about getting rid of AC but we most definitely need a defensive coach in asap to help instill a bit of grit and knowhow into our defense. We're too slow getting back to stop the opposition running through and then take too much out of the ball coming out of defense and give the opposition all the time needed to get their defense in order. Enda was non existent again yesterday. I'm well aware he's a marked man but I feel he gives up too easily when the tough gets going. In the Connacht final Molloy wrapped his arms around him early on in front of the linesman and stopped him making runs. Linesman ignored it and Smith just let him do it instead of giving him loads back. From then onwards Enda was merely looking on in the game. Why can't he burst through these guys and at least try and bring the pulling and dragging to the officials attention? If he keeps at it he'll eventually get his reward but he just gives up almost immediately. Such a shame as he's such a talented player. James McCarthy from Dublin wouldn't allow anyone do that to him and he's the same size as Smith. I always feel this team is like the Donegal team of the late 2000's that had lots of talent but they could never get the best out of them until McGuinness came along and we all know where they went from there. Not saying Ros are going to win All Irelands but we should be aiming for Semi finals and not just content with winning the odd Connacht title. We have to set the bar high if we want to remain a div 1 team and get any sort of run in the championship. As things stand I feel we are seriously underachieving

ComainRos (Roscommon) - Posts: 104 - 12/06/2022 15:04:25    2424214

Roscommon have a lot of issues the main one is not able to defend. One issue seems to be mentality. Clare in comparison played that game in front of them, looked to win in Croke Park and reach the last 8 of the championship, looks to me in the back of Roscommons players minds was they didn't want to play Dublin or Kerry.

Yondu (UK) - Posts: 845 - 12/06/2022 15:15:08    2424217

Replying To ComainRos:  "A blessing in disguise it surely was yesterday. Absolutely nothing learned from the Sligo and Galway games. I knew after a few mins it was going to be the same story. Even at 5 points up I knew we had the ability to mess it up and unfortunately we did just that. It's so disappointing as I firmly believe we have as good a crop of players as any of the top teams. We just lacked a couple of leaders on the pitch yesterday to run the game out. Not clever enough when on the ball and too much dilly dallying with the ball when a 25 yard pass is on and we don't take it. Not sure about getting rid of AC but we most definitely need a defensive coach in asap to help instill a bit of grit and knowhow into our defense. We're too slow getting back to stop the opposition running through and then take too much out of the ball coming out of defense and give the opposition all the time needed to get their defense in order. Enda was non existent again yesterday. I'm well aware he's a marked man but I feel he gives up too easily when the tough gets going. In the Connacht final Molloy wrapped his arms around him early on in front of the linesman and stopped him making runs. Linesman ignored it and Smith just let him do it instead of giving him loads back. From then onwards Enda was merely looking on in the game. Why can't he burst through these guys and at least try and bring the pulling and dragging to the officials attention? If he keeps at it he'll eventually get his reward but he just gives up almost immediately. Such a shame as he's such a talented player. James McCarthy from Dublin wouldn't allow anyone do that to him and he's the same size as Smith. I always feel this team is like the Donegal team of the late 2000's that had lots of talent but they could never get the best out of them until McGuinness came along and we all know where they went from there. Not saying Ros are going to win All Irelands but we should be aiming for Semi finals and not just content with winning the odd Connacht title. We have to set the bar high if we want to remain a div 1 team and get any sort of run in the championship. As things stand I feel we are seriously underachieving"
Patience, can pay off. Look at Armagh and McGeeny. He got Kieran Donaghy into the coaching staff who seems to have a great football head on him and comes with a winning mentality. Roscommon need something like that. As Yondu says, a lot of what happened yesterday is down to mentality. Jimmy McGuinness said championship is all about intensity. Roscommon have good skilful players but the difference in the intensity between Mayo and Kildare compared to what Roscommon served up was night and day.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 779 - 12/06/2022 17:34:11    2424279

It is the GAA's fault that the county's interest in minor U21 and senior is over.
Players needs to look at themselves.
Been a yo-yo team does not help

Jack L (None) - Posts: 3099 - 12/06/2022 18:13:11    2424310

I wouldn't be so quick to turn your noses up to Kevin Walsh. It was fairly raw when he left the Galway job in 19' but history will be kind to him, he brought Galway to the next level.

He might be what Roscommon need because I do believe there is enough talent there.

ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1571 - 12/06/2022 19:09:45    2424344

Replying To ahsure.:  "I wouldn't be so quick to turn your noses up to Kevin Walsh. It was fairly raw when he left the Galway job in 19' but history will be kind to him, he brought Galway to the next level.

He might be what Roscommon need because I do believe there is enough talent there."
Exactly. I genuinely would take him in a heartbeat over what will probably be linked or intrested in the job should cunningham go. Out of who i see may get the gig should it come free and been realistic it could be Tully u20 manager or Pat Flanagan. I wouldnt touch either personally and would take Walsh over them.
Not saying hes anyway close to a dream candidate but think he was under apreciated in Galway. Joyce playing similar style of late and nothing about negitive style. Also he speaks well anytime i hear him on podcasts

sourmilk93 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1144 - 12/06/2022 20:06:02    2424365

Replying To ahsure.:  "I wouldn't be so quick to turn your noses up to Kevin Walsh. It was fairly raw when he left the Galway job in 19' but history will be kind to him, he brought Galway to the next level.

He might be what Roscommon need because I do believe there is enough talent there."
Listening to Kevin Walsh he thinks in great depth about the game. He would definitely be good manager. However, I get the impression he has zero interest in the Roscommon job. I could be wrong though.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 779 - 12/06/2022 20:06:03    2424366

Replying To MachaireConnacht:  "Listening to Kevin Walsh he thinks in great depth about the game. He would definitely be good manager. However, I get the impression he has zero interest in the Roscommon job. I could be wrong though."
Is Nigel Dinneen an option. He had a great record managing many of these players at underage level winning 2 Connacht U21 titles and reaching 2 All Ireland Finals.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2160 - 12/06/2022 20:58:08    2424383

Replying To MachaireConnacht:  "Listening to Kevin Walsh he thinks in great depth about the game. He would definitely be good manager. However, I get the impression he has zero interest in the Roscommon job. I could be wrong though."
Tbh, Roscommon did an awful lot right yesterday, It's just that you didn't go for the jugular.

When Paudge Collins was taken ashore - there was a discernable body language that their goose was cooked. But, they got lucky, and their top scorer stepped up to the mark. Ros should easily closed out the game.

I wouldn't go for Walsh as manager. He overcomplicates things - talks about lanes on the pitch - you'd imaging it was an Olympic sized swimming pool he was describing.

Roscommon are a proud football county - as are Leitrim..

AnCrúiscínLán (Galway) - Posts: 87 - 12/06/2022 21:16:13    2424397