Replying To letsgetgoing: "I can see where the county board are coming from but it is a total mess- up from a supporters point of view. With all due respect to Wexford v Limerick I do not think that it could compare with a Kerry v Mayo double header. Croke Park really has to get it's act together re a gap between league finals and championships matches. I would think many Monaghan supporters will also not be very happy with the change of dates particularly those who may have booked flights back from the UK on Sunday along with some Rossie supporters." Barely anyone from Wexford or Limerick will pay heed on the football and same for the Monaghan and Ros supporters for the hurling. Another kick in the face for the league really. It has already given great excitement despite the lack of promotion from GAA and the way it is sandwiched into the calender, imagine what a competition it would be if it was given the respect it deserves. As Malachy Clerkin said in todays IT, 6 nations is over, Cheltenham over, English soccer sewn up already this year, the final round of games in the league plus the finals with a two week break after would generate huge interest and get everyone reved up for championship.
FullOfPorter (Roscommon) - Posts: 29 - 24/03/2025 16:59:00
Replying To The_analyser: "After Luke Loughlin one of the top scoring forwards in Div 2 got in too easy for their goal management switched Niall Higgins onto to him and held him scoreless from play for the rest of the game. Problem defensively was further out and allowing Westmeath score five two pointers in the 2nd half and their shooters put under little or no pressure.
Anyway moving on final set for Saturday night at 7:15pm in Croke Park that won't suit supporters travelling but couldn't play it Sunday with the players travelling to London four days later." Niall Higgins is very pacey. He's probably better suited to the half back line than the full back line. I wonder what our starting 15 for the championship should be if everyone's fit. We certainly need Brian Stack back. Great to see Keith Doyle playing well with his high fielding. Roscommon do have options but we'll need to be a lot better in the championship than we were for most of the League. I feel a lot less optimistic than I did just a few weeks ago.
endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2347 - 24/03/2025 19:39:21
Replying To rossy15: "There's plenty of div 1 teams have turned there noses up At national finals too by the way ! Maybe nail ur colours to the mast and call it where ur from rather than trying to get a rise out of true gaels !" After over a decade on here that old chestnut remains. Why would I nail colours when I don't have any?
Nothing I posted was trying to get a rise. A discussion forum not the place for you if you become upset whenever anyone challenges your point of view.
Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3561 - 24/03/2025 20:32:53
Watched the game back. We were still something like 7 points up with ten minutes left and looking comfortable. The first half of the second half had a challenge match look to it. But once Westmeath got a sniff they dragged themselves back into it. Maybe there will be good lessons for our game management. With these new rules teams end up with big leads at stages and it is a challenge in its own right to maintain that lead. Wonder what our chance conversion was in the second half compared to the first. Definitely missed too many scoreable chances to keep ourselves further ahead.
FullOfPorter (Roscommon) - Posts: 29 - 24/03/2025 22:10:28
We need Stack back asap, McManus isn't a div 1 full back in 2025 he was decent in 2017 but it highlights our lack of options when he saw so much game time in the league, to be fair he didn't do too bad at all. Ronan Daly and Killoran definitely not the players they were having taken years out and it's no wonder Ronan still hasn't got his place in the backs despite our problems. McCormack is big loss I thought we could cope but he was establishing himself as a key player. Fallon has had some good league games and needs to be left in the half back line now, I would also like to see more of Ruane as compared to Dolan etc he has the physicality. Doyle was the real plus of the league he is showing now we had such high hopes about him, long may it continue. Neary has done well and should be a starter going forward, I was liking Frost too until his injury, Murray has done okay too but has a lot of football played and would worry about him as our most experienced back always has the tendency to be rash. Team I'd go with Saturday with a focus on making us a bit more solid and building from there
Carroll Neary ?? We can't go with Murray again very small full back line? Higgins Fallon Ruane Cunnane Doyle Nolan Hand Enda Ciaran Lennon (track likes of McCarthy) Ciaran Murtagh McKeon Diarmuid
Rossie2020 (Roscommon) - Posts: 193 - 25/03/2025 07:56:52
Replying To FullOfPorter: "Watched the game back. We were still something like 7 points up with ten minutes left and looking comfortable. The first half of the second half had a challenge match look to it. But once Westmeath got a sniff they dragged themselves back into it. Maybe there will be good lessons for our game management. With these new rules teams end up with big leads at stages and it is a challenge in its own right to maintain that lead. Wonder what our chance conversion was in the second half compared to the first. Definitely missed too many scoreable chances to keep ourselves further ahead." I read we had 39 attempts at scores converting 18.
Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 2174 - 25/03/2025 09:17:16
Replying To FullOfPorter: "Watched the game back. We were still something like 7 points up with ten minutes left and looking comfortable. The first half of the second half had a challenge match look to it. But once Westmeath got a sniff they dragged themselves back into it. Maybe there will be good lessons for our game management. With these new rules teams end up with big leads at stages and it is a challenge in its own right to maintain that lead. Wonder what our chance conversion was in the second half compared to the first. Definitely missed too many scoreable chances to keep ourselves further ahead." First half 55% and 2hd half 35%
The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3985 - 25/03/2025 10:15:40
Replying To Gaa_lover: "After over a decade on here that old chestnut remains. Why would I nail colours when I don't have any?
Nothing I posted was trying to get a rise. A discussion forum not the place for you if you become upset whenever anyone challenges your point of view." Good on ya sure whatever floats u and ur at least 3 other alias's on here boats !
rossy15 (Roscommon) - Posts: 638 - 25/03/2025 10:51:00
Replying To Rossie2020: "We need Stack back asap, McManus isn't a div 1 full back in 2025 he was decent in 2017 but it highlights our lack of options when he saw so much game time in the league, to be fair he didn't do too bad at all. Ronan Daly and Killoran definitely not the players they were having taken years out and it's no wonder Ronan still hasn't got his place in the backs despite our problems. McCormack is big loss I thought we could cope but he was establishing himself as a key player. Fallon has had some good league games and needs to be left in the half back line now, I would also like to see more of Ruane as compared to Dolan etc he has the physicality. Doyle was the real plus of the league he is showing now we had such high hopes about him, long may it continue. Neary has done well and should be a starter going forward, I was liking Frost too until his injury, Murray has done okay too but has a lot of football played and would worry about him as our most experienced back always has the tendency to be rash. Team I'd go with Saturday with a focus on making us a bit more solid and building from there
Carroll Neary ?? We can't go with Murray again very small full back line? Higgins Fallon Ruane Cunnane Doyle Nolan Hand Enda Ciaran Lennon (track likes of McCarthy) Ciaran Murtagh McKeon Diarmuid" Whenever stack is back he has to go back into full back. Is cunnane able for wing back do ye think. Would Ronan Daly not bet better suited to wing back with Fallon at 6 and id go with Higgins at the other wing. So Neary stack and frost in full back line. That's when everyone is fit. Id give cunnane an opportunity at midfield with Doyle
dave1988 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1216 - 25/03/2025 12:09:34
Replying To Rossie2020: "We need Stack back asap, McManus isn't a div 1 full back in 2025 he was decent in 2017 but it highlights our lack of options when he saw so much game time in the league, to be fair he didn't do too bad at all. Ronan Daly and Killoran definitely not the players they were having taken years out and it's no wonder Ronan still hasn't got his place in the backs despite our problems. McCormack is big loss I thought we could cope but he was establishing himself as a key player. Fallon has had some good league games and needs to be left in the half back line now, I would also like to see more of Ruane as compared to Dolan etc he has the physicality. Doyle was the real plus of the league he is showing now we had such high hopes about him, long may it continue. Neary has done well and should be a starter going forward, I was liking Frost too until his injury, Murray has done okay too but has a lot of football played and would worry about him as our most experienced back always has the tendency to be rash. Team I'd go with Saturday with a focus on making us a bit more solid and building from there
Carroll Neary ?? We can't go with Murray again very small full back line? Higgins Fallon Ruane Cunnane Doyle Nolan Hand Enda Ciaran Lennon (track likes of McCarthy) Ciaran Murtagh McKeon Diarmuid" Ruaidhrí Fallon played in the full back line in the last two games.
The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3985 - 25/03/2025 12:33:01
Roscommon U20 selection to play Sligo in round 2 of the Connacht championship tomorrow.
Mixed news on the injuries. Unfortunately Captain Rob Heneghan misses out and still a game too early for Colin Murray, Ronan McDermott and Brian Greene. Good news is that Tommy Morris, Ciaran O'Reilly, Conor Grogan return to the match day panel after missing out through injury against Mayo and Ryan Dowling is back after a one match ban.
Pat Gaynor - Western Gaels Keelan Kelly - Pádraig Pearses Tommy Morris - St Aidans Cillian Campbell - St Barry's Daniel Hagney - Michael Glaveys Eoghan Carthy - Roscommon Gaels Eoin Collins - St Croans Niall Heneghan - Michael Glaveys David Higgins - Western Gaels Brendan Murphy - St Brigids John McGuinness - Roscommon Gaels Cathal McKeon - Boyle John Curran - Castlerea Ruairí Kilcline - St Dominics Rory Carthy - Roscommon Gaels
Subs
Sean Kelly - Clann na nGael Conor Kelly - Boyle Eanna Nolan - Western Gaels Ciaran O'Reilly - Roscommon Gaels Conor Grogan - Roscommon Gaels Jack Nevin - Pádraig Pearses Ruadhan Henry - St Michael's Ryan Dowling - Roscommon Gaels Liam Óg Coyle - St Aidans
Best of luck to the Roscommon U20s in Dr Hyde park tomorrow.
The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3985 - 25/03/2025 15:01:08
Replying To The_analyser: "Roscommon U20 selection to play Sligo in round 2 of the Connacht championship tomorrow.
Mixed news on the injuries. Unfortunately Captain Rob Heneghan misses out and still a game too early for Colin Murray, Ronan McDermott and Brian Greene. Good news is that Tommy Morris, Ciaran O'Reilly, Conor Grogan return to the match day panel after missing out through injury against Mayo and Ryan Dowling is back after a one match ban.
Pat Gaynor - Western Gaels Keelan Kelly - Pádraig Pearses Tommy Morris - St Aidans Cillian Campbell - St Barry's Daniel Hagney - Michael Glaveys Eoghan Carthy - Roscommon Gaels Eoin Collins - St Croans Niall Heneghan - Michael Glaveys David Higgins - Western Gaels Brendan Murphy - St Brigids John McGuinness - Roscommon Gaels Cathal McKeon - Boyle John Curran - Castlerea Ruairí Kilcline - St Dominics Rory Carthy - Roscommon Gaels
Subs
Sean Kelly - Clann na nGael Conor Kelly - Boyle Eanna Nolan - Western Gaels Ciaran O'Reilly - Roscommon Gaels Conor Grogan - Roscommon Gaels Jack Nevin - Pádraig Pearses Ruadhan Henry - St Michael's Ryan Dowling - Roscommon Gaels Liam Óg Coyle - St Aidans
Best of luck to the Roscommon U20s in Dr Hyde park tomorrow." Strange to see such a small contingent from Brigid's on the team. Good to see a few smaller clubs with representation. Roscommon Gaels will be quite strong in the next few years especially with their new addition….
Ros2013 (Roscommon) - Posts: 528 - 25/03/2025 21:18:37
Having taken in all but one of the games live, it's great to be promoted back to division 1 with the elite but there is major concerns after some of the league displays. While the new rules suit some of our forwards who are the best in the business on their day, we are glaringly open at the back and really seem to struggle when its man for man defensive wise.
The Cavan, Meath, Down and Westmeath games highlighted this, while some of our decision making and shot selection was also poor which kept these teams in all of these games.
Hopefully we see a cracking game Saturday in Croke Park but there needs to be some defensive stability and tactical work in place, considering we are only a few weeks out from Championship. I understand its the league and Davy has rotated a lot of players, but just wary of the level Galway and Mayo are at and how we will cope against them when it comes to crunch time.
All the same, hopefully we get another Division 2 title back home Saturday evening!
P.S. Great to see the likes of Keith Doyle, Ciarain Murtagh, Cian McKeon and Conor Hand absolutely flying it. Top class players
Rossfan93 (Roscommon) - Posts: 61 - 26/03/2025 09:05:49
Strong solid showing tonight by the U20 footballers the 9 point win didn't flatter us. Only led by 3 at half time when we should have been 6 or 7 ahead. Midfield exchanges and breaking ball we dominated. Good win considering we lost by 4 to Sligo at U17 level in 2022 or be it we had only 3 or 4 same starters tonight.
Two week break before we play next against Galway in Tuam who lost to Mayo tonight
The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3985 - 26/03/2025 19:17:42
Replying To The_analyser: "Strong solid showing tonight by the U20 footballers the 9 point win didn't flatter us. Only led by 3 at half time when we should have been 6 or 7 ahead. Midfield exchanges and breaking ball we dominated. Good win considering we lost by 4 to Sligo at U17 level in 2022 or be it we had only 3 or 4 same starters tonight.
Two week break before we play next against Galway in Tuam who lost to Mayo tonight" Ya it was a much improved performance. Both teams missing a couple of players also. Watched Mayo Galway back and it was a very 50/50 game. Galway look strong so plenty of work for cian to do in the next two weeks
dave1988 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1216 - 27/03/2025 07:43:12
Great to hear that it was an improved performance from the under 20's. While there had been limited matches played so far, it looks very much like that Mayo (4 pts) will make it straight to the final, and a play off between Galway (2 pts) and Roscommon (2 pts) to see who will join them. Unless there is a dramatic improvement from either Sligo or Leitrim!
Monaghan will really be going for it on Saturday night and have Stephen O' Hanlon back playing well. ( missed the Roscommon game) Interesting to see what Roscommon team will line out, (who will track O'Hanlon, McCarthy etc), what the attitude will be, and what the attendance will be. I think we should really go for it at championship intensity and see where it takes us. Should be a good match.
letsgetgoing (Roscommon) - Posts: 702 - 27/03/2025 10:56:18
Replying To letsgetgoing: "Great to hear that it was an improved performance from the under 20's. While there had been limited matches played so far, it looks very much like that Mayo (4 pts) will make it straight to the final, and a play off between Galway (2 pts) and Roscommon (2 pts) to see who will join them. Unless there is a dramatic improvement from either Sligo or Leitrim!
Monaghan will really be going for it on Saturday night and have Stephen O' Hanlon back playing well. ( missed the Roscommon game) Interesting to see what Roscommon team will line out, (who will track O'Hanlon, McCarthy etc), what the attitude will be, and what the attendance will be. I think we should really go for it at championship intensity and see where it takes us. Should be a good match." Probably be like that D2 Final v Cavan some years ago, a high scoring exhibition type game.
Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 2174 - 27/03/2025 11:32:54
Replying To letsgetgoing: "Great to hear that it was an improved performance from the under 20's. While there had been limited matches played so far, it looks very much like that Mayo (4 pts) will make it straight to the final, and a play off between Galway (2 pts) and Roscommon (2 pts) to see who will join them. Unless there is a dramatic improvement from either Sligo or Leitrim!
Monaghan will really be going for it on Saturday night and have Stephen O' Hanlon back playing well. ( missed the Roscommon game) Interesting to see what Roscommon team will line out, (who will track O'Hanlon, McCarthy etc), what the attitude will be, and what the attendance will be. I think we should really go for it at championship intensity and see where it takes us. Should be a good match." I think they should really go for it too. First time in Croke Park with the new rules. How we handle McCarthy, Bannigan and O'Hanlon will be crucial. Fallon on Bannigan and Higgins on O'Hanlon? Who is the best for tracking McCarthy? You can bet Moran would love to get one over on us.
Depending on who starts but I'd like to see the likes of McKeon, D Cregg or Ben (if they play) have the confidence to really take on their men in one on one situations. There was a score from D Cregg which came from 2-3 long kick passes at the weekend which you'd like to see tried more often. Would go to it if it was on Sunday but can't make Saturday unfortunately.
FullOfPorter (Roscommon) - Posts: 29 - 27/03/2025 12:06:13
Replying To FullOfPorter: "I think they should really go for it too. First time in Croke Park with the new rules. How we handle McCarthy, Bannigan and O'Hanlon will be crucial. Fallon on Bannigan and Higgins on O'Hanlon? Who is the best for tracking McCarthy? You can bet Moran would love to get one over on us.
Depending on who starts but I'd like to see the likes of McKeon, D Cregg or Ben (if they play) have the confidence to really take on their men in one on one situations. There was a score from D Cregg which came from 2-3 long kick passes at the weekend which you'd like to see tried more often. Would go to it if it was on Sunday but can't make Saturday unfortunately." That was a super score and something we should be aiming to do more of Saturday night with the wide open spaces. We need to get our house in order first of all Saturday. Monaghan are playing lovely attacking football and have some players that are capable of really hurting us from deep and inside. Higgins is the only one who has the pace for O Hanlon maybe, we know what he done last year vs Dublin in croker and he will be a big help to Monaghan Saturday they hadn't him in The Hyde. Any update on any lads retuning? Hope cregg can play some part he was looking sharp last week before he came off.
Rossie2020 (Roscommon) - Posts: 193 - 27/03/2025 15:34:51
Monaghan will really be going for it on Saturday night and have Stephen O' Hanlon back playing well. ( missed the Roscommon game) Interesting to see what Roscommon team will line out, (who will track O'Hanlon, McCarthy etc), what the attitude will be, and what the attendance will be. I think we should really go for it at championship intensity and see where it takes us. Should be a good match." Not just O'Hanlon. We had 10 players missing for the Roscommon game in fact and I know Roscommon were short as well. So a different game on Sunday but I think both teams will be happy with a good performance & no injuries. Hope you win Connacht lads !
Shelbourne1 (Monaghan) - Posts: 394 - 27/03/2025 16:59:02