Roscommon GAA thread

Well done to Roscommon for gaining promotion back to Div 1. A league campaign wouldn't be a league if it didn't have a few wobbles a long the way. Too much experimenting and perhaps complacency in games or within games like today played a part but are a Div 1 team again now so that's all that matters.

Drax_the_destroyer (UK) - Posts: 337 - 23/03/2025 20:00:17    2598119

Replying To rossy15:  "Over the last few years I've often thought we never got a break luck was never on our side . Well we got it in spades in this league campaign but it wasn't deserved so poor again today in what was the weakest division 2 in a long time no disrespect to any team - anyway it is what it is but It's very hard to see how they can flick
A switch for championship-
league final total nonsense next week if we were to win it will only paper over cracks and I hope the players are rightly tuned in for London game -
honestly I'm at a loss bad enough having to depend on favours from teams to get promoted but failing to win our own game today there are no words !"
Roscommon finished up with a point more than those below them Meath,Cork,Cavan and do you think any of that trio deserved more than the 8 points they got? in the end the win against Cork in round 5 was enough for promotion for Roscommon.

Roscommon got deserved wins against Down,Monaghan,Cork,Louth and today drew and would have been a deserved win had at least 3-6 wasn't left behind you. You aren't to know where Roscommon are to be in the year ahead so shouldn't turn your nose up at Croke Park national final.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3561 - 23/03/2025 20:10:56    2598120

Replying To Gaa_lover:  "Roscommon finished up with a point more than those below them Meath,Cork,Cavan and do you think any of that trio deserved more than the 8 points they got? in the end the win against Cork in round 5 was enough for promotion for Roscommon.

Roscommon got deserved wins against Down,Monaghan,Cork,Louth and today drew and would have been a deserved win had at least 3-6 wasn't left behind you. You aren't to know where Roscommon are to be in the year ahead so shouldn't turn your nose up at Croke Park national final."
Go way u wud ya

rossy15 (Roscommon) - Posts: 638 - 23/03/2025 20:28:30    2598126

Replying To letsgetgoing:  "Game of two halves if there ever was one with the wind not really being a major factor. Well done to the team and management on getting promotion. However while it might be one thing being inconsistent between matches, inconconsistancy in the same match is at another level. I thought the team played extremely well for the first 30 minutes and it appeared to go down hill from there.
Westmeath however deserve great credit for their comeback.
Maybe someone might clarify two things for me:
× Did Enda Smith score a goal which was not given?
× Was the time up before the Westmeath goalkeeper kicked out the ball for the final play where Westmeath scored a 2 pointer.
The above did impact on our promotion hopes, but it could well have done."
I thought that was a goal for a split second, thought the net moved. But then there didn't seem to be any major protest.

Not sure on the hooter. It definitely went before the kick out and I thought after Coxes effort.

If a Roscommon player fouled the Westmeath player who wins the kick out what is the outcome?

FullOfPorter (Roscommon) - Posts: 29 - 23/03/2025 20:56:07    2598134

Replying To FullOfPorter:  "I thought that was a goal for a split second, thought the net moved. But then there didn't seem to be any major protest.

Not sure on the hooter. It definitely went before the kick out and I thought after Coxes effort.

If a Roscommon player fouled the Westmeath player who wins the kick out what is the outcome?"
Free to Westneath

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 2174 - 23/03/2025 21:17:15    2598138

Replying To FullOfPorter:  "I thought that was a goal for a split second, thought the net moved. But then there didn't seem to be any major protest.

If a Roscommon player fouled the Westmeath player who wins the kick out what is the outcome?"
Should have been buried anyway! I think because the ball was on the tee it was deemed that the play had begun again. Last week the hooter went before Diarmuid took his free so the play ended. If Westmeath player was fouled the free would be taken as the ball has to go dead for game to end

D.Hyde (Roscommon) - Posts: 259 - 23/03/2025 21:38:01    2598146

Replying To Seanfanbocht:  "Free to Westneath"
So the play is still allowed continue?

On the subs, I'd say he was just trying to get minutes into lads and we should have been in a position and have enough quality to see out the game. Was there a reason why Neary was taken off so early?

FullOfPorter (Roscommon) - Posts: 29 - 23/03/2025 21:38:58    2598147

Replying To Gaa_lover:  "Roscommon finished up with a point more than those below them Meath,Cork,Cavan and do you think any of that trio deserved more than the 8 points they got? in the end the win against Cork in round 5 was enough for promotion for Roscommon.

Roscommon got deserved wins against Down,Monaghan,Cork,Louth and today drew and would have been a deserved win had at least 3-6 wasn't left behind you. You aren't to know where Roscommon are to be in the year ahead so shouldn't turn your nose up at Croke Park national final."
There's plenty of div 1 teams have turned there noses up
At national finals too by the way !
Maybe nail ur colours to the mast and call it where ur from
rather than trying to get a rise out of true gaels !

rossy15 (Roscommon) - Posts: 638 - 23/03/2025 22:47:28    2598167

Replying To rossy15:  "There's plenty of div 1 teams have turned there noses up
At national finals too by the way !
Maybe nail ur colours to the mast and call it where ur from
rather than trying to get a rise out of true gaels !"
What did the Gaa Lover say that was wrong?

Tarismelting22 (Roscommon) - Posts: 787 - 24/03/2025 08:26:32    2598185

Replying To D.Hyde:  "Should have been buried anyway! I think because the ball was on the tee it was deemed that the play had begun again. Last week the hooter went before Diarmuid took his free so the play ended. If Westmeath player was fouled the free would be taken as the ball has to go dead for game to end"
There seems to be still confusion on the hooter rule. At the end of the first half when the hooter went some players thought the play had stopped and the Westmeath management were screaming at some of their players to keep playing. Roscommon players thought it was up at the end of the second half and it looked like there was three Westmeath men completely free up the Roscommon end of the field. The scores from the other games were announced at half time, maybe it wasn't a good thing for our players to know those scores.

The big positive was to get promotion, and as it turns out, promotion without playing well. A good number of players got game time and chances as well. Our fielding of high ball is very good, especially from Keith Doyle but seems like we could do better on breaking ball. Some decision making in offensive positions needs improvement. And the biggest questions still hang over how we defend. They don't get any or enough contact on the player with the ball and the tracking of runners is a weakness.

FullOfPorter (Roscommon) - Posts: 29 - 24/03/2025 10:10:37    2598216

Yesterday definitely leaves more questions than answers. We will know even more this time next week I suppose but the signs are not good. Westmeath to their credit never gave up yesterday and deserve their draw and more out of their league campaign. But we should have been out of sight and some of our most experienced players were at fault for poor decision making and execution. Monaghan will relish taking us on in Croker and it should be a shoot out but shoot outs are a means to an ends as we have seen before once you come against better opposition that you can't outscore. I do not like naming lads on here behind a face less account and will back any person who puts on a Roscommon jersey but a few lads are just not up to it and are holding us back. Niall Higgins, Ciaran Lennon, and Killoran are not / no longer good enough at this level. Cox is only an option if maybe chasing a 2 pointer and can get him into the pocket but he offers nothing apart from that. Our structure or lack of it is getting more evident every week and some lads are not 100% / out of form. When are Stack, Frost and Niall Daly back does anyone know? We will go to Croker and London in the next 2 weeks and hope to see big signs of improvement but I am losing faith the more I see. I hope to be proved wrong.

Rossie2020 (Roscommon) - Posts: 193 - 24/03/2025 10:11:42    2598217

Massive result yesterday fair play. We have a right chance of being in the Connacht final where we can put it up to Mayo. Galway while starting well have been in decline since it got to the business end and remember they failed to beat either of the 2 teams relegated. They have a more potent attack than ourselves or mayo but are wide open at the back . Still great to see 3 westies on Div 1 and even better to see to 2 Ulster teams go down. The new rules are a disaster for the defensive teams.

Keephimthere (Roscommon) - Posts: 116 - 24/03/2025 10:54:38    2598239

Replying To Keephimthere:  "Massive result yesterday fair play. We have a right chance of being in the Connacht final where we can put it up to Mayo. Galway while starting well have been in decline since it got to the business end and remember they failed to beat either of the 2 teams relegated. They have a more potent attack than ourselves or mayo but are wide open at the back . Still great to see 3 westies on Div 1 and even better to see to 2 Ulster teams go down. The new rules are a disaster for the defensive teams."
I don't know if it was a massive result yesterday. Very lucky more like. We are wide open at the back ourselves and division 2 teams cutting us apart so the Galway forwards will absolutely destroy us unless we get a system in Place. Derry were poor in division 1 but Tyrone very unlucky to go down with 7 points. Tyrone will have a big say in Ulster this year .

dave1988 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1216 - 24/03/2025 11:12:53    2598251

Replying To Rossie2020:  "Yesterday definitely leaves more questions than answers. We will know even more this time next week I suppose but the signs are not good. Westmeath to their credit never gave up yesterday and deserve their draw and more out of their league campaign. But we should have been out of sight and some of our most experienced players were at fault for poor decision making and execution. Monaghan will relish taking us on in Croker and it should be a shoot out but shoot outs are a means to an ends as we have seen before once you come against better opposition that you can't outscore. I do not like naming lads on here behind a face less account and will back any person who puts on a Roscommon jersey but a few lads are just not up to it and are holding us back. Niall Higgins, Ciaran Lennon, and Killoran are not / no longer good enough at this level. Cox is only an option if maybe chasing a 2 pointer and can get him into the pocket but he offers nothing apart from that. Our structure or lack of it is getting more evident every week and some lads are not 100% / out of form. When are Stack, Frost and Niall Daly back does anyone know? We will go to Croker and London in the next 2 weeks and hope to see big signs of improvement but I am losing faith the more I see. I hope to be proved wrong."
Even if it's a tight turn around, and even if we just about fell into the final, it will be no bad thing to get a chance playing the new rules in Croker. It is getting close to championship conditions looking at the weather forecast.

Brian Stack and N Daly badly needed back. Also John McManus.

FullOfPorter (Roscommon) - Posts: 29 - 24/03/2025 11:20:18    2598253

Replying To Tarismelting22:  "What did the Gaa Lover say that was wrong?"
Nothing from what I see. rossy15 has allowed the negativity take hold when he/she should deal with the positive of promotion straight back to Div 1 and Croke Park final to look forward too this Sunday. Nice to win not the end of the World if you don't which Galway found out themselves three years ago.

Drax_the_destroyer (UK) - Posts: 337 - 24/03/2025 13:14:49    2598293

Replying To Rossie2020:  "Yesterday definitely leaves more questions than answers. We will know even more this time next week I suppose but the signs are not good. Westmeath to their credit never gave up yesterday and deserve their draw and more out of their league campaign. But we should have been out of sight and some of our most experienced players were at fault for poor decision making and execution. Monaghan will relish taking us on in Croker and it should be a shoot out but shoot outs are a means to an ends as we have seen before once you come against better opposition that you can't outscore. I do not like naming lads on here behind a face less account and will back any person who puts on a Roscommon jersey but a few lads are just not up to it and are holding us back. Niall Higgins, Ciaran Lennon, and Killoran are not / no longer good enough at this level. Cox is only an option if maybe chasing a 2 pointer and can get him into the pocket but he offers nothing apart from that. Our structure or lack of it is getting more evident every week and some lads are not 100% / out of form. When are Stack, Frost and Niall Daly back does anyone know? We will go to Croker and London in the next 2 weeks and hope to see big signs of improvement but I am losing faith the more I see. I hope to be proved wrong."
From watching the game on you tube last night Niall Higgins,Fallon was the two stand out defenders for you both playing in a few exposed full back line I might add. Ciaran Lennon did ok also seem to be given a role to track one of Westmeath attacking wing half backs. Cox,Killoran looked way off the pace and decision making poor and from turnovers Westmeath got scores off their errors.

Drax_the_destroyer (UK) - Posts: 337 - 24/03/2025 13:22:09    2598298

Replying To Drax_the_destroyer:  "From watching the game on you tube last night Niall Higgins,Fallon was the two stand out defenders for you both playing in a few exposed full back line I might add. Ciaran Lennon did ok also seem to be given a role to track one of Westmeath attacking wing half backs. Cox,Killoran looked way off the pace and decision making poor and from turnovers Westmeath got scores off their errors."
After Luke Loughlin one of the top scoring forwards in Div 2 got in too easy for their goal management switched Niall Higgins onto to him and held him scoreless from play for the rest of the game. Problem defensively was further out and allowing Westmeath score five two pointers in the 2nd half and their shooters put under little or no pressure.

Anyway moving on final set for Saturday night at 7:15pm in Croke Park that won't suit supporters travelling but couldn't play it Sunday with the players travelling to London four days later.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3985 - 24/03/2025 14:53:53    2598328

Replying To The_analyser:  "After Luke Loughlin one of the top scoring forwards in Div 2 got in too easy for their goal management switched Niall Higgins onto to him and held him scoreless from play for the rest of the game. Problem defensively was further out and allowing Westmeath score five two pointers in the 2nd half and their shooters put under little or no pressure.

Anyway moving on final set for Saturday night at 7:15pm in Croke Park that won't suit supporters travelling but couldn't play it Sunday with the players travelling to London four days later."
I heard we requested Saturday.
Croker will be fairly lonesome Saturday!
2 Hurling Counties and I suspect a lot of Rossies and Mons will make do with TG4

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 2174 - 24/03/2025 15:04:54    2598330

Replying To Seanfanbocht:  "I heard we requested Saturday.
Croker will be fairly lonesome Saturday!
2 Hurling Counties and I suspect a lot of Rossies and Mons will make do with TG4"
It'll be deserted! How many were in The Hyde a few weeks ago for the league game? 7:15 is a bad time aswell.

D.Hyde (Roscommon) - Posts: 259 - 24/03/2025 15:15:24    2598334

I can see where the county board are coming from but it is a total mess- up from a supporters point of view. With all due respect to Wexford v Limerick I do not think that it could compare with a Kerry v Mayo double header.
Croke Park really has to get it's act together re a gap between league finals and championships matches.
I would think many Monaghan supporters will also not be very happy with the change of dates particularly those who may have booked flights back from the UK on Sunday along with some Rossie supporters.

letsgetgoing (Roscommon) - Posts: 702 - 24/03/2025 15:32:11    2598338