Roscommon GAA thread

Replying To MachaireConnacht:  "Agreed we have lost something going forward but I can understand why he is shoring up defense first and probably trying to tweak forward play now. Our transition when we turn over teams or win ball seems to be far too slow. Multiple times yesterday when we won the ball yesterday that we allowed Galway loads of time to reset their defense. Don't know if that's down to a lack of movement up front or not enough bodies breaking forward or not breaking forward into the right areas."
Ya but we need our main men to step up every game.. thought donie smith and D. Murtagh Lennon were very poor yesterday. Ben O'Carroll tried his best to get on ball and make things happen. It's just about getting heads right for these big games. No point being able to get them right for one championship game a year and then drop them standards two weeks later.

dave1988 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1057 - 24/04/2023 11:59:15    2473181

Replying To MachaireConnacht:  "Agreed we have lost something going forward but I can understand why he is shoring up defense first and probably trying to tweak forward play now. Our transition when we turn over teams or win ball seems to be far too slow. Multiple times yesterday when we won the ball yesterday that we allowed Galway loads of time to reset their defense. Don't know if that's down to a lack of movement up front or not enough bodies breaking forward or not breaking forward into the right areas."
We've got the defensive side massively improved but at the expense of the forward area.
Next we need faster "transition" which will need a few flyers tearing ahead of the man with the ball.
4 weeks now to absorb lessons and recharge the batteries for the 3rd competition of the season.

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1419 - 24/04/2023 12:03:22    2473185

Losing yesterday might be a blessing in disguise as we don't now have to play Sligo. We would be totally complacent as per usual. If we we beat them(not certain) it would be taken as nothing more than we should do. And if we lost(quite possible) we would never hear the end of it. Sligo would see it as their All-Ireland and move heaven and earth to beat us.

worple (Roscommon) - Posts: 339 - 24/04/2023 12:27:45    2473206

Pundits go on about the Hyde as if it's a fortress but when was our last championship victory in there? Seems an age ago and probably against Leitrim. We seem to have a woeful record at home. The few super 8 home games were losses as well.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 784 - 24/04/2023 14:20:16    2473273

Can't really have any complaints about the end result as the best team won on the day. Having reflected on the match there are both negatives and positives:
Positives:
* Having gone five points down early in the second half, the team played fantastic for about 10 minutes and showed what they can do when fully motoring.
* Ciaran Murtagh showed once again what a fantastic player he is.
* Conor Carroll had 23 successful kickouts (100%) A lot of that is down to the outfield players.
* We created enough scoring chances to win the game. Galway got lucky with one of their goal chances. We only had 6 wides.
* Stack, Ruane, C. Daly, and C. McKeon and a couple of others also had good games.
* We did not concede many frees in the scoring zone. Galway only scored two points from frees. Roscommon only conceded 11 frees in the entire match. Some for over carrying.
* We have gaining more position around the midfield area than in the league.
* We have options on the bench.
Negatives
* Starting slow in the first half of the game again. We did not score from play in the first half. We did not have the same energy as the Mayo game and a couple of our players looked tired. ( Mental, over training, ???)
* Only one of our starting top 8 players scored from play.
*Tried a couple of long balls into the square looking for a goal towards the end when perhaps we should have taken our points.
* Gave away possession a little too easy at times with some sloppy passing. Comer should have goaled from one such chance.
* We dont seem to use the mark too much. A couple of long balls in the first half to Doyle / Lennon did not work out but may well the future as they are tall men.

Hopefully we can regroup and get our energy back for the group stages. No reason why we can't get a couple of wins and qualify for the quarter finals and take it from there. The glass is more than half full from my perspective as we are still very competitive and hard to beat. Mayo, Roscommon and Galway could well all meet up again before too long.
Well done Galway. You deserved the win yesterday.

letsgetgoing (Roscommon) - Posts: 507 - 24/04/2023 15:31:58    2473320

Good post letsgetgoing with all the key points well covered.

Depending on what group we are in our next match will be either May 20/21 or 27/28. That's a long break and hopefully it's used wisely by the players and management.

It will be away match against the Connacht champion (yes we could draw Galway) Leinster, Munster winners (will most certainly be Kerry, Dublin) and the Ulster winner (Derry the favourites there but Monaghan and Armagh are capable of winning that title also)

Round 2 will be a home game against provincial runners up (paired with Clare again?)

Finish off the group with a neutral venue game against a 4th seed (could be any number of teams including neighbours Westmeath)

Topping the group table equals the same as winning Connacht in previous years as would be straight into the last 8 and time to prepare for that game over your quarter final opponents.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3757 - 24/04/2023 17:27:31    2473396

Replying To MachaireConnacht:  "Pundits go on about the Hyde as if it's a fortress but when was our last championship victory in there? Seems an age ago and probably against Leitrim. We seem to have a woeful record at home. The few super 8 home games were losses as well."
Absolutely right. It seems we can only beat Galway or Mayo on the road. Both teams love coming to The Hyde. 33 years since we beat Galway there and 22 years since we beat Mayo there. A shocking home record.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2164 - 24/04/2023 17:35:50    2473401

Any danger the Mayo game was our All Ireland?

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1419 - 24/04/2023 19:12:08    2473449

Replying To endgame:  "Absolutely right. It seems we can only beat Galway or Mayo on the road. Both teams love coming to The Hyde. 33 years since we beat Galway there and 22 years since we beat Mayo there. A shocking home record."
Home advantage doesn't seem to count for a lot in Connacht anymore. Roscommon can win in Salthill and Castlebar, Mayo and Galway win in Hyde Park and the venue makes no difference when Mayo and Galway fare off. Have Leitrim ever won at home to Roscommon? I know they won in Hyde park in 1994 and 2000.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3347 - 24/04/2023 20:01:51    2473463

Replying To Seanfanbocht:  "Any danger the Mayo game was our All Ireland?"
We won four of our 7 Div 1 games coming into that game and were competitive in the 3 of our other games plus we won our previous championship game in Castlebar against Mayo so regardless what happens in the rest of this years championship that game was no "All Ireland"

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3757 - 24/04/2023 21:16:57    2473486

Replying To Gaa_lover:  "Home advantage doesn't seem to count for a lot in Connacht anymore. Roscommon can win in Salthill and Castlebar, Mayo and Galway win in Hyde Park and the venue makes no difference when Mayo and Galway fare off. Have Leitrim ever won at home to Roscommon? I know they won in Hyde park in 1994 and 2000."
Galway's record in Salthill and Mayo's record in Castlebar are a lot better than Roscommon's in Hyde park. We have an extraordinarily bad record at home in the championship over the last 30 years and it's worth noting. We came close again yesterday and much to be happy about but Galway still left The Hyde with the win.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2164 - 24/04/2023 21:40:44    2473493

Replying To Seanfanbocht:  "Any danger the Mayo game was our All Ireland?"
If that's the case we need to call it a day.

dave1988 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1057 - 24/04/2023 22:23:11    2473509

Leitrim have never beaten Roscommon at home in championship football. We have drawn with them a few times and lost to injury time goals down through the years, but never beaten them. Any victories Leitrim have had, have all come at a Roscommon venue

leitrim4sam (Leitrim) - Posts: 644 - 24/04/2023 23:16:36    2473523

I know we were beaten Sunday it is very disappointing especially another slow start. But are Roscommon now one of the big boys. We have beaten the 2021 all ireland finalist and showed that we have more than enough to beat the 2022 finalist if we did not start so slow.

I think we are well capable of getting to a semi final if we sort out the start.

4/5 more weeks of training into Cian Mckeon will make a huge difference he must start the next day with Donie dropping out then you have cox and donie to bring on for the last 20 mins of games.

4/5 more weeks for eddie nolan to get up to pace will be another great sub to bring on for the last 20 when our midfield gets tired. Thought Ruane was exceptional yesterday ran himself into the ground.

Richard hughes will be pushing niall daly hard for the wing back spot the next few weeks but either of them coming off the bench will be another big asset. One question i have is why was murray marking comer i know he kicked a couple of points off daly in the first half but Davie Murray is never going to out compete him in the air.

Another point is a lot of roscommon players seemed to be slipping yesterday would question if the right studs were chosen these are the margins

Thats my two cents whether i am right or wrong but i am optimistic of a good summer.

Worrying though how poor our underage has been going the last few weeks

Tarismelting22 (Roscommon) - Posts: 760 - 25/04/2023 09:03:20    2473551

Replying To Tarismelting22:  "I know we were beaten Sunday it is very disappointing especially another slow start. But are Roscommon now one of the big boys. We have beaten the 2021 all ireland finalist and showed that we have more than enough to beat the 2022 finalist if we did not start so slow.

I think we are well capable of getting to a semi final if we sort out the start.

4/5 more weeks of training into Cian Mckeon will make a huge difference he must start the next day with Donie dropping out then you have cox and donie to bring on for the last 20 mins of games.

4/5 more weeks for eddie nolan to get up to pace will be another great sub to bring on for the last 20 when our midfield gets tired. Thought Ruane was exceptional yesterday ran himself into the ground.

Richard hughes will be pushing niall daly hard for the wing back spot the next few weeks but either of them coming off the bench will be another big asset. One question i have is why was murray marking comer i know he kicked a couple of points off daly in the first half but Davie Murray is never going to out compete him in the air.

Another point is a lot of roscommon players seemed to be slipping yesterday would question if the right studs were chosen these are the margins

Thats my two cents whether i am right or wrong but i am optimistic of a good summer.

Worrying though how poor our underage has been going the last few weeks"
I'd agree with a lot of that. One of the most disappointing things about Sunday, especially the first half, was how we were not able to convert winning kick outs or turnovers into scores. Galway just completely nullified us. Could be a blessing as management will need to overcome this when we play any of the top teams especially a Derry.

Or would Hughes challenge Lennon for that position? Anyways great to see lads coming back and competition for places.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 784 - 25/04/2023 11:40:44    2473634

Replying To leitrim4sam:  "Leitrim have never beaten Roscommon at home in championship football. We have drawn with them a few times and lost to injury time goals down through the years, but never beaten them. Any victories Leitrim have had, have all come at a Roscommon venue"
Leitrim also beat Galway in back to back seasons in Tuam. Was it 1993 and 1994? I don't recall Leitrim beating Galway in Carrick in my time.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3422 - 25/04/2023 12:33:44    2473671

Roscommon need to win a championship game in Croke park and that should be the only objective for Davy Burke in 2023. Last years failure to beat Clare when it was in the melting pot seemed to me to be the end of it for this Roscommon team but fair play to ye out ye came strong and had a great league finishing third. The match Sunday was too defensive, boring and tortuous to watch with Galway never getting out of third gear maybe except Comer. It doesnt matter though now Roscommon have 3 Championship matches to come and a great chance at another effort at winning a game in Croke park. A win in an All Ireland QF would be a huge notch on Burkes belt and a massive achievement for Roscommon and in a semi anything can happen. Good luck to ye and sure we might see ye in Salthill yet this year.

PancakeWard (Galway) - Posts: 86 - 25/04/2023 13:35:35    2473699

Replying To PancakeWard:  "Roscommon need to win a championship game in Croke park and that should be the only objective for Davy Burke in 2023. Last years failure to beat Clare when it was in the melting pot seemed to me to be the end of it for this Roscommon team but fair play to ye out ye came strong and had a great league finishing third. The match Sunday was too defensive, boring and tortuous to watch with Galway never getting out of third gear maybe except Comer. It doesnt matter though now Roscommon have 3 Championship matches to come and a great chance at another effort at winning a game in Croke park. A win in an All Ireland QF would be a huge notch on Burkes belt and a massive achievement for Roscommon and in a semi anything can happen. Good luck to ye and sure we might see ye in Salthill yet this year."
Depending on the draw we might see you in Salthill on May 20th/21st

Defeat to Clare last year brought an end of the last management the manner of the defeat was the worst and we have done extremely well recover from that and give 9 competitive performances against Division 1 oppositions. Written in the stars that we'll play Clare again this year in either the group stage of a knock out game?

Have watched most of Galways games this year and what was seen on Sunday wasn't much different to what seen in other games. This year from a direct response of conceding some big scores last season has been bigger focus on the defensive structure of the team. Boring and tortuous to watch no doubt but it's not going to bother Galway management and its players one bit if producing results.

Back to ourselves i think reaching All-Ireland quarter final and competitive in it would be considered a good championship. No guarantee we'll reach that as if we don't top the group (harder to do by not winning Connacht) we could well face the likes of Mayo, Derry, Tyrone in last 12 knock out tie.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3757 - 25/04/2023 15:04:08    2473744

Replying To Tarismelting22:  "I know we were beaten Sunday it is very disappointing especially another slow start. But are Roscommon now one of the big boys. We have beaten the 2021 all ireland finalist and showed that we have more than enough to beat the 2022 finalist if we did not start so slow.

Worrying though how poor our underage has been going the last few weeks"
Good post. It did occur to me that Roscommon players were slipping more than their Galway counterparts. Conor Cox's slip was costly.I agree that a fit Cian McKeon should start. Excellent when he came on last Sunday. Yes Davy Murray on Comer when the ball came back off the post was always going to favour Comer in the air. I was delighted with Conor Carroll's kick outs. Plenty of work done there and full credit to the player and to management. The players get a well deserved break now. Then full steam ahead for the All Ireland series. Would be great to get to our first semi final since 1991.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2164 - 25/04/2023 18:08:02    2473821

Surprised Adam McDermott hasn't made the 26 this year apart from one or two league games. I have been at a couple of Castlerea games in the last month and he's flying. He offers something that none of our forwards have. He's also got very strong and his burst of speed is frightening. Serious eye for goal to.

dave1988 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1057 - 26/04/2023 07:58:34    2473868