Roscommon GAA thread

Replying To endgame:  "Agreed but isn't Cathal Cregg working for the Connacht council. Would that preclude him from managing Roscommon minors."
I'd say it would alright.

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1416 - 16/04/2023 09:23:28    2471144

Frustrating and annoying viewing in Hyde Park from our senior hurlers this afternoon. We beat Armagh comfortably twice in the league and it was clear in the opening 15 minutes that the attitude/mindset was we'll beat you again easily but that's not the way sport works.

Today Armagh was first to every 50/50 ball. got more and more energy from our errors and lack of discipline and we gave them a major advantage by going down to 14 men just before half time. Hopefully a massive improvement is seen in the upcoming games.

One good bit of hurling news was our U20s reaching the All Ireland B final with a fine win against Down yesterday. A few of those lads played for the seniors today and that really highlights how short on numbers we have when relying on teenagers for senior championship hurling.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3755 - 16/04/2023 16:24:56    2471215

Hi could anyone familiar with Hyde Park advise what way the numbering of the rows in the stand works, is row 1 down at the sideline or is it right up at the back of the stand?
Thanks.

jam83 (Galway) - Posts: 134 - 16/04/2023 21:46:23    2471287

David Gough announced as the ref for Sundays game. Our record against Galway in The Hyde is very poor, have not won since 1990, let's hope this changes on Sunday

hontherossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 100 - 17/04/2023 10:29:18    2471312

Replying To jam83:  "Hi could anyone familiar with Hyde Park advise what way the numbering of the rows in the stand works, is row 1 down at the sideline or is it right up at the back of the stand?
Thanks."
Row 1 is the front row. No cover if raining though

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1416 - 17/04/2023 10:50:08    2471318

Replying To Seanfanbocht:  "Row 1 is the front row. No cover if raining though"
Thanks for that info!
It always struck me as a shallow stand that might only give cover to the last few rows

jam83 (Galway) - Posts: 134 - 17/04/2023 11:06:31    2471325

Replying To hontherossie:  "David Gough announced as the ref for Sundays game. Our record against Galway in The Hyde is very poor, have not won since 1990, let's hope this changes on Sunday"
Yes I think it's 6 championship defeats against Galway in The Hyde since the last win in July 1990 when Junior McManus put in a man of the match performance.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2162 - 17/04/2023 13:35:18    2471374

Hi just wondering if anyone could advise on best parking spots if I've small kids with me on Sunday?
They were too small to go any other time I've been to Hyde Park so I parked a good bit away those times.
If anyone could advise wheres closest parking on the stand side (where I've tickets) and would the guards have closed off car access to that golf links road by a certain time?
Walking wouldn't be an issue other than the small ones could be absolutely knackered before I even get to the pitch.
Thanks.

jam83 (Galway) - Posts: 134 - 17/04/2023 17:07:42    2471426

Replying To endgame:  "Yes I think it's 6 championship defeats against Galway in The Hyde since the last win in July 1990 when Junior McManus put in a man of the match performance."
So very close in 98, was a beautiful summers evening in the Hyde.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 784 - 17/04/2023 20:35:23    2471458

Replying To MachaireConnacht:  "So very close in 98, was a beautiful summers evening in the Hyde."
That was some game back in 98! Really looking forward to the Hyde on Sunday. Always good craic and banter, and hoping for a great game. Best place for the auld fry up in Ros beforehand?!

togoutlads (Galway) - Posts: 902 - 18/04/2023 10:25:36    2471502

Replying To jam83:  "Hi just wondering if anyone could advise on best parking spots if I've small kids with me on Sunday?
They were too small to go any other time I've been to Hyde Park so I parked a good bit away those times.
If anyone could advise wheres closest parking on the stand side (where I've tickets) and would the guards have closed off car access to that golf links road by a certain time?
Walking wouldn't be an issue other than the small ones could be absolutely knackered before I even get to the pitch.
Thanks."
There would be limited parking at the government buildings on the golf links road (across from County Home) that would be ideal for families with small children. You can enter the rear of the Hyde from this road too so ideal for anyone with tickets in the main stand. Just get in early I would suggest as the spaces will be gone quickly I'd imagine.

ComainRos (Roscommon) - Posts: 104 - 18/04/2023 13:22:05    2471567

Replying To ComainRos:  "There would be limited parking at the government buildings on the golf links road (across from County Home) that would be ideal for families with small children. You can enter the rear of the Hyde from this road too so ideal for anyone with tickets in the main stand. Just get in early I would suggest as the spaces will be gone quickly I'd imagine."
Thanks for that!

jam83 (Galway) - Posts: 134 - 18/04/2023 13:42:07    2471571

Replying To togoutlads:  "That was some game back in 98! Really looking forward to the Hyde on Sunday. Always good craic and banter, and hoping for a great game. Best place for the auld fry up in Ros beforehand?!"
A great battle! Rogue on main street does a nice breakfast. I'd say the Abbey hotel would as well.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 784 - 18/04/2023 19:29:45    2471662

Replying To ComainRos:  "There would be limited parking at the government buildings on the golf links road (across from County Home) that would be ideal for families with small children. You can enter the rear of the Hyde from this road too so ideal for anyone with tickets in the main stand. Just get in early I would suggest as the spaces will be gone quickly I'd imagine."
Parking also there around Service Matters and those other commercial units on the golf links road.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 784 - 19/04/2023 10:00:48    2471711

Replying To MachaireConnacht:  "Parking also there around Service Matters and those other commercial units on the golf links road."
Thanks!

jam83 (Galway) - Posts: 134 - 19/04/2023 14:20:28    2471788

Unchanged from the Mayo match. Good to see Daire Cregg back on the 26.

Conor Carroll - Oranmore/Maree
Conor Hussey - Michael Glaveys
Conor Daly - Padraig Pearses
David Murray - Padraig Pearses
Niall Daly - Padraig Pearses
Brian Stack - St Brigids
Eoin McCormack - St Dominics
Dylan Ruane - Micheal Glaveys
Keith Doyle - St Dominics
Ciarain Murtagh - St Faithleachs
Ciaran Lennon - Clann na nGael
Enda Smith - Boyle
Donie Smith Boyle
Diarmuid Murtagh - St Faithleachs
Ben O'Carroll - St Brigids

Subs
Colm Lavin (Eire Og) Colin Walsh (Oran) Cian Connolly (Roscommon Gaels) Robbie Dolan (St Brigids) Niall Kilroy (Fuerty) Ruaidhri Fallon (St Brigids) Conor Cox (Eire Og) Paul Carey (Padraig Pearses) Cian McKeon (Boyle) Richard Hughes (Roscommon Gaels) Daire Cregg (Boyle)

Best of luck to Roscommon on Sunday.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3755 - 20/04/2023 20:24:33    2472038

Replying To MachaireConnacht:  "Parking also there around Service Matters and those other commercial units on the golf links road."
That's where I was going to suggest, but ensure you get there early!!

Rossie2022 (Roscommon) - Posts: 26 - 20/04/2023 20:26:27    2472039

Replying To togoutlads:  "That was some game back in 98! Really looking forward to the Hyde on Sunday. Always good craic and banter, and hoping for a great game. Best place for the auld fry up in Ros beforehand?!"
Gleeson's in the Square do a good all day breakfast. New place beside Tesco too that does same.

Rossie2022 (Roscommon) - Posts: 26 - 20/04/2023 20:57:11    2472044

Eight point beating for U17s tonight. More competitive than last Friday or the score line suggests or be it Galway don't look as strong as Mayo. 0-3 each it was 5 minutes before half time. 45 mins played it was 0-7 to 0-4 we then conceded a quick two points and goal and game was over as a contest. Leitrim to play next hopefully we can get the win but they'll be confident after claiming a good draw with Sligo tonight.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3755 - 21/04/2023 20:11:43    2472275

Let's hope our lads on the pitch are not as accommodating as our fans are ATM. I think if we can stop Kelly from his runs and of course pervent Walsh and Comer from getting on ball.we are in with a great shout.

hontherossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 100 - 21/04/2023 21:09:32    2472288