Roscommon GAA thread

Replying To DCFCGAA:  "The rossies won the all ireland, the thought of meeting one of ye in a bar with your shirt on saying hows its your year inbetween convos about this years lambs and the prices being demanded, awful crowd to listen to"
Not sure why these messages cannot be prevented, it ruins the overall contributions from posters

hontherossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 100 - 11/04/2023 15:20:02    2470294

Replying To DCFCGAA:  "The rossies won the all ireland, the thought of meeting one of ye in a bar with your shirt on saying hows its your year inbetween convos about this years lambs and the prices being demanded, awful crowd to listen to"
This new child on the block should be ignored. He has just gone various forums (Donegal / New York / Mayo / Roscommon etc) trying to insult and annoy people. Obviously has his own problems if that is what his life is all about.

letsgetgoing (Roscommon) - Posts: 506 - 11/04/2023 16:03:32    2470321

referee must have watched league final. You must understand that Aidan O'Shea is ALLOWED to be tackled, he wants the contact instead of trying to get shot off as he knows that his main job which is fine but some of the carry on the other day was cringeworthy. He shouldered the Roscommon player after the ball which I wouldn't say warranted a black card (like most people did) but then he was touched and he went down quicker than harry Kane. Take the green and red shades off!

candlewax (Galway) - Posts: 284 - 11/04/2023 16:03:57    2470322

Any idea when tickets are on sale for Galway Roscommon?
Hoping to squeeze into the stand or seating on the terrace if possible as have a few small ones to mind.

jam83 (Galway) - Posts: 134 - 11/04/2023 17:22:59    2470352

Any word on Ciarán Lennon's injury?

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 784 - 12/04/2023 08:42:40    2470407

ross goalie played excellent all year .he is young and it was his first championship match on a wet day against mayo and did ok with some excellent kickouts .

diehardrossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 2 - 12/04/2023 09:13:10    2470414

Roscommon have plenty of talented footballers and it remains a mystery to me how they haven't figured more at the business end of the season. For me what will define Roscommon's season is getting a big win in croker. I think a Connacht title will mean little otherwise.

centrefield99 (Galway) - Posts: 102 - 12/04/2023 10:20:49    2470437

Replying To centrefield99:  "Roscommon have plenty of talented footballers and it remains a mystery to me how they haven't figured more at the business end of the season. For me what will define Roscommon's season is getting a big win in croker. I think a Connacht title will mean little otherwise."
I'd like both.
Last Championship win in Croke Park 1980
Last Championship win over Galway in the Hyde 1990.

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1417 - 12/04/2023 11:12:35    2470456

Replying To diehardrossie:  "ross goalie played excellent all year .he is young and it was his first championship match on a wet day against mayo and did ok with some excellent kickouts ."
In fariness not a bad performance when you consider it was his first championship start, the weather and up against one of the best pressing teams in the country. He'll have learned loads from it. I was really impressed with the distance he got on his kicks, especially the ones into the wind.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 784 - 12/04/2023 11:14:33    2470459

Thought Donie Smith's workrate was off the charts on Sunday and Diarmuid murtagh is playing his best football in years and that's down to management giving him confidence. It's brilliant to finally see a defensive game plan and this is only going to improve. All the players are buying into what management want. Keith Doyle was outstanding to. Galway will be a massive test and hopefully we can put in the same performance even if we don't beat them we are definitely on the right road with Burke. McHugh has a massive part played in what we are doing this year so fair play to him to

dave1988 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1055 - 12/04/2023 12:42:43    2470507

Replying To diehardrossie:  "ross goalie played excellent all year .he is young and it was his first championship match on a wet day against mayo and did ok with some excellent kickouts ."
He did in the games I've watched. Sunday was his senior championship debut had a few hairy moments in the 2nd half but it shouldn't be ignored his long range kick outs was very important to Roscommon winning, endgame might have common sense to retract that comment he made on the Galway thread.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3347 - 12/04/2023 16:42:57    2470603

Replying To centrefield99:  "Roscommon have plenty of talented footballers and it remains a mystery to me how they haven't figured more at the business end of the season. For me what will define Roscommon's season is getting a big win in croker. I think a Connacht title will mean little otherwise."
Would be nice to win in Croke park however it will not define us if we don't again this year. Winning this Connacht title would mean we'll have beaten two Div 1 teams the two recent finalist. That's far from meaning little. We could reach the All Ireland quarter final bowing out with a competitive performance and for me that along from a good league would be a good first year under new management and something to build on for 2024 as we introduced more new faces into the side while a few old faces such as Tadgh O'Rourke,Ultan Harney return.

@MachaireConnacht Ciaran Lennon got a bang on his jaw, he should be fine for the semi final.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3755 - 12/04/2023 16:51:57    2470606

We got some perspective on our U20 defeat to Sligo tonight. Sligo really should have hammered Mayo tonight and Galway even with the 2 weeks to prepare advantage that they have will do well to topple them.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3755 - 12/04/2023 20:31:19    2470673

Replying To The_analyser:  "Would be nice to win in Croke park however it will not define us if we don't again this year. Winning this Connacht title would mean we'll have beaten two Div 1 teams the two recent finalist. That's far from meaning little. We could reach the All Ireland quarter final bowing out with a competitive performance and for me that along from a good league would be a good first year under new management and something to build on for 2024 as we introduced more new faces into the side while a few old faces such as Tadgh O'Rourke,Ultan Harney return.

@MachaireConnacht Ciaran Lennon got a bang on his jaw, he should be fine for the semi final."
Also add Ronan Daly hopefully and Cathal Heneghan.

dave1988 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1055 - 12/04/2023 20:53:43    2470678

Late to the party but comhghairdeas for the win in Castlebar, a dirty day but the defending from Roscommon was absolutely fantastic. All the best against Galway now - yous will be a hard nut to crack in the All-Ireland group stages as well

CCFabu (Donegal) - Posts: 96 - 13/04/2023 10:25:42    2470723

Is there some doubt about the venue for the Ross/Galway game? I see all other venues are sorted on the GAA Website. https://www.gaa.ie/football/connacht-gaa-football-senior-championship/galway-roscommon/2381225/

giveitlong (Galway) - Posts: 1222 - 13/04/2023 10:31:08    2470728

Replying To giveitlong:  "Is there some doubt about the venue for the Ross/Galway game? I see all other venues are sorted on the GAA Website. https://www.gaa.ie/football/connacht-gaa-football-senior-championship/galway-roscommon/2381225/"
Haven't heard anything.
Unless new seats in the Stand or other recent jobs might have affected licensed capacity???

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1417 - 13/04/2023 10:58:19    2470738

Replying To giveitlong:  "Is there some doubt about the venue for the Ross/Galway game? I see all other venues are sorted on the GAA Website. https://www.gaa.ie/football/connacht-gaa-football-senior-championship/galway-roscommon/2381225/"
Can't see any reason why the match will not be played in the Hyde. Substantial work has taken place there recently. (Improved walkways, installation of new seating etc). The Rossies have played there last three championship games in Connacht away from home (Castlebar, Galway & Sligo) and are due several home games.

letsgetgoing (Roscommon) - Posts: 506 - 13/04/2023 11:28:21    2470764

Replying To Seanfanbocht:  "Haven't heard anything.
Unless new seats in the Stand or other recent jobs might have affected licensed capacity???"
Heard the same rumour that the game wil be in salthill and the next two will be in the hyde hopefully not true

Tarismelting22 (Roscommon) - Posts: 760 - 13/04/2023 11:47:48    2470768

I personally have booked and paid for return train tickets from Dublin to Roscommon for the match. I know of other supporters who have booked hotel accommodation in Roscommon for the match. It is now Thursday 4 days after the Mayo v Roscommon match. The Connacht Council need to clarify this as soon as possible as it is a joke at this stage.

letsgetgoing (Roscommon) - Posts: 506 - 13/04/2023 12:19:49    2470782