Roscommon GAA thread

Replying To endgame:  "We'd take that but I'd prefer to beat them by more than 1 point.! No squeaky bum time."
Could have done with a bottle of brandy in McHale that day by the final whistle!

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 773 - 08/04/2023 11:38:05    2469526

Replying To MachaireConnacht:  "Kevin Egan writing in the Western People is predicting Eddie Nolan to start in midfield.

Interesting to see how the starting 15 pans out."
Egan. Lol

moros (Roscommon) - Posts: 1078 - 08/04/2023 14:30:13    2469548

Congratulations Roscommon! Great road win against a hot team. Well done.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2113 - 09/04/2023 17:37:54    2469826

Congratulations Roscommon. Very worthy winners today. Superb defence. Took the scores when they were needed. Burke and McHugh a great duo on the line for ye.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7337 - 09/04/2023 17:43:43    2469829

U real performance from the Rossies. The most impressive part was the tackling from every Rossie. So disciplined, no stupid tackles, no tackles that gave the ref something to think about.

Excellent around. Enjoy the night but keep the heads….there's a beast of a Galway team coming your way

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 09/04/2023 17:49:16    2469835

Great win lads, well done. Why wasn't Cox on from the start I wonder?

SimonstownBack (Meath) - Posts: 143 - 09/04/2023 18:01:41    2469848

Brilliant win. So impressed with how we managed midfield and the discipline in the tackle, something we haven't been good at. Great hunger from all involved and Enda really stood up. Huge test coming in two weeks.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 773 - 09/04/2023 18:10:32    2469852

Well done Roscommon. Were in full control all through, and have the personnel and management to win another Connacht title.

Albara (Galway) - Posts: 30 - 09/04/2023 18:18:23    2469859

Super win for Roscommon, getting into a habit of winning in McHale Park and today's win probably all the more sweeter by beating a McStay managed Mayo.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3338 - 09/04/2023 18:23:17    2469860

What a win, tactics, match ups spot on and game management superb on and off the field.

Pretty much every starter put in a serious shift. Another tough game coming up v Galway but for now I'm going to enjoy another MacHale Park championship win against the defending Div 1 Mayo team. Well done to all the players and management.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3744 - 09/04/2023 18:28:24    2469865

Replying To The_analyser:  "What a win, tactics, match ups spot on and game management superb on and off the field.

Pretty much every starter put in a serious shift. Another tough game coming up v Galway but for now I'm going to enjoy another MacHale Park championship win against the defending Div 1 Mayo team. Well done to all the players and management."
Delighted for Donie Smith. Old and young really did well. Keith Doyle did some graft at midfield. Made subs when needed as well. We were under the cosh there in the second half but weathered through. Fortunate not to concede a goal early on but ya need to make use of your luck and we did.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 773 - 09/04/2023 18:41:29    2469871

Sorry for dropping in

Just wanted to say huge congratulations to you

That's a great win, but you had an excellent Div 1 so it's no shocker

You've a fine team and very well put together by a quality management team.

Onwards and upwards

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 09/04/2023 18:42:33    2469873

A jaysus. That was a superb performance. Those men have made a county and Rossies all over the World very happy. Men of Roscommon are marching again.

moros (Roscommon) - Posts: 1078 - 09/04/2023 18:51:02    2469879

So delighted to beat the hype merchants. I can believe how easily we dominated the middle. Rossies Abu

hontherossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 99 - 09/04/2023 19:16:36    2469885

Maith sibh to Roscommon on a huge win..A special word of praise for our own Davy Burke, truly the most exciting young manager in the game at the moment. Go all the way and win Connacht now!!!

LilywhiteGael (Kildare) - Posts: 93 - 09/04/2023 19:24:18    2469887

Well done to our dearest neighbours - see ye in The Hyde in 2 weeks time.

ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1569 - 09/04/2023 20:00:03    2469894

We hadn't beaten Mayo in Castlebar in 33 years. Now we've done it twice in 4 years. Full credit to players and management on a difficult day for football. Roscommon were dogged and determined and full value for the win. We're doing things well that we just weren't doing. Defending in numbers and picking up the breaking ball at midfield. Enda Smith outstanding. Diarmuid Murtagh outstanding with his crucial scores when we needed them to keep ahead in the second half. I thought Ben O'Carroll was very effective throughout. Bran Stack is a real leader at centre back driving us out of defence. The whole defence was cohesive and excellent. Important that Conor Daly was back from injury. We've lost Harney, O'Rourke and Killoran from midfield so full credit to the lads there yesterday. On a downside, Conor Carroll was uncertain in goals and that could have cost us on another day. Galway will present a different challenge to Mayo but that's for another day. Today let's savour our biggest championship win over Mayo since 1980 and just our fifth championship win against them in over 40 years. As Paddy Joe would say, come on the Rossies.!

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2156 - 10/04/2023 09:08:27    2469943

Replying To hontherossie:  "So delighted to beat the hype merchants. I can believe how easily we dominated the middle. Rossies Abu"
See ye in croke parke....don't forget to turn up!!!

Roscomeo (Roscommon) - Posts: 4 - 10/04/2023 09:15:02    2469945

Replying To moros:  "A jaysus. That was a superb performance. Those men have made a county and Rossies all over the World very happy. Men of Roscommon are marching again."
I thought it was a poor performance from both teams...don't get ahead of yourself.

Roscomeo (Roscommon) - Posts: 4 - 10/04/2023 09:16:20    2469946

Congratulations to the Rossies. Fully deserved win yesterday and hope ye get another Nestor cup.

ponga (Mayo) - Posts: 648 - 10/04/2023 09:26:07    2469949