Galway Football thread

Replying To GDL:  "Where do you get your info from? It is very inaccurate, there was only one first choice defender that started last weekend, Galway were missing Silke, Kelly, Glynn, Molloy and Daly from the All Ireland Final. We can also add in Mulkerrins who was the preferred first choice full back prior to injury. As stated above by a good few posters the FBD is a development league."
Did you even read what i wrote before replying?

I said "few" first choice Galway defenders. And seeing that Molloy is ruled out for the year, Silke most of the year and Glynn also injured how many of that back 6 last Saturday will start against Mayo on Jan 28th?

One interesting comment from P Joyce when asked why a togged John Daly didn't play. "With his knees we weren't going to risk him on that surface"

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3338 - 18/01/2023 16:59:30    2453007

Replying To Fox.1n.7he.b0x:  "I have heard at least 12 gone from the panel all got a call from Joyce some players to note Barry mchugh and James foley, Dylan Canney, Grainger, jack kirrane, mannion from tuam, some decent players there in that lot, thought they would have been kept for a development squad"
All names that played last Saturday, fairly ruthless by Joyce. Would have thought Barry McHugh would see some minutes during the league.

Yondu (UK) - Posts: 845 - 18/01/2023 17:23:10    2453009

Anyone care to make a stab at starting 15 for this year.

Power
Glynn
Kelly
Silke
Mc Hugh
Daly
Heaney
Mc Daid
Conroy
Cooke
Matthew Tierney
Shane Walsh
Finnerty
Comer
Ian Burke

Subs
Patrick Kelly
Billy Mannion
Tomo Culhane
Mulkerrins
Gallagher
Paul Kelly

Unavailable
Michael Daly
Finnian o' Laoi
kieran Molloy

Would be something like this for the matchday 15 plus subs. Hopefully one or two come through during the league. Am I missing anyone?
Positions on team sheet don't mean much as team shuffle about for tactical reasons.

centrefield99 (Galway) - Posts: 99 - 19/01/2023 07:09:35    2453036

Replying To centrefield99:  "Anyone care to make a stab at starting 15 for this year.

Power
Glynn
Kelly
Silke
Mc Hugh
Daly
Heaney
Mc Daid
Conroy
Cooke
Matthew Tierney
Shane Walsh
Finnerty
Comer
Ian Burke

Subs
Patrick Kelly
Billy Mannion
Tomo Culhane
Mulkerrins
Gallagher
Paul Kelly

Unavailable
Michael Daly
Finnian o' Laoi
kieran Molloy

Would be something like this for the matchday 15 plus subs. Hopefully one or two come through during the league. Am I missing anyone?
Positions on team sheet don't mean much as team shuffle about for tactical reasons."
I definitely think the All Ireland final showed that we needed a plan B when Comer was tied up. Kerry used the forward mark to great effect and when they dropped deep, Comer was completely blotted out, only really coming into it when he dropped deep(this suited Kerry).

We should be working on either dropping Conroy or Cooke into full forward if teams drop deep, both good score takers and good to claim a ball in the air.

I have a feeling this is the road Mayo are going down. I hear Aidan O'Shea has been placed by McStay at 14 and Conor Loftus is playing at 6.

John Daly finding a target like Cooke or Conroy would be a useful back up.

smallfrank (Galway) - Posts: 361 - 19/01/2023 10:50:34    2453052

Replying To centrefield99:  "Anyone care to make a stab at starting 15 for this year.

Power
Glynn
Kelly
Silke
Mc Hugh
Daly
Heaney
Mc Daid
Conroy
Cooke
Matthew Tierney
Shane Walsh
Finnerty
Comer
Ian Burke

Subs
Patrick Kelly
Billy Mannion
Tomo Culhane
Mulkerrins
Gallagher
Paul Kelly

Unavailable
Michael Daly
Finnian o' Laoi
kieran Molloy

Positions on team sheet don't mean much as team shuffle about for tactical reasons."
I really think PJ likes the look of Mulkerrins, he'd kept him involved with the squad all through last year with his bad knee injury. I think Kelly has proved hes a classy #3 and Mulkerrins is key to hold down that position but imagine what Sean Kelly could do a bit further out the field with more freeddom if (and its a big if) Mulkerrins could nail down that #3.

The_DOC (Galway) - Posts: 705 - 19/01/2023 12:34:50    2453071

Replying To smallfrank:  "I definitely think the All Ireland final showed that we needed a plan B when Comer was tied up. Kerry used the forward mark to great effect and when they dropped deep, Comer was completely blotted out, only really coming into it when he dropped deep(this suited Kerry).

We should be working on either dropping Conroy or Cooke into full forward if teams drop deep, both good score takers and good to claim a ball in the air.

I have a feeling this is the road Mayo are going down. I hear Aidan O'Shea has been placed by McStay at 14 and Conor Loftus is playing at 6.

John Daly finding a target like Cooke or Conroy would be a useful back up."
I think Conroy needs to be played at 14 this year. We have enough options around the middle/ HF line especially if Cooke is back. Conroy might still need needed out a bit but sure he can just switch in game with someone but I think he could 1) prolong his IC career and 2) but a useful asset to Galway at #14

The_DOC (Galway) - Posts: 705 - 19/01/2023 12:43:31    2453072

Power
Glynn
Kelly
Silke
Mc Hugh
Daly
Heaney
Mc Daid
Conroy
Cooke
Matthew Tierney
Shane Walsh
Finnerty
Comer
Ian Burke

Subs
Patrick Kelly
Billy Mannion
Tomo Culhane
Mulkerrins
Gallagher
Paul Kelly

Unavailable
Michael Daly
Finnian o' Laoi
kieran Molloy

I wouldn't be convinced that Liam Silke will be back for championship. Huge loss if he's not.
I think Cathal Sweeney might nab a wing back slot this year. Himself and Heaney are interchangeable maybe.
For depth alone it's good news that Peter Cooke will be back in the panel. We are light enough on midfield options.
We could be without 4 of the starting 6 backs from the AI final for the Mayo league game if Glynn is not fit (am assuming here Sean Kelly gets a break for a few weeks now).
And our substitute backs wouldn't inspire confidence unfortunately.

galwayman2 (Galway) - Posts: 1234 - 19/01/2023 12:44:04    2453073

Replying To galway19:  "Jarlaths lost today and are out of the championship on scoring difference. Semi finals are Colmans vs Claregalway and Summerhill Sligo vs Ballinrobe CS. Claregalway should win it from here which would be massive for them."
I see Claregalway College were beaten by Summerhill as well.
Big turnaround as Jarlaths beat Ballinrobe by ten points last week.

galwayman2 (Galway) - Posts: 1234 - 19/01/2023 12:47:43    2453075

Replying To smallfrank:  "I definitely think the All Ireland final showed that we needed a plan B when Comer was tied up. Kerry used the forward mark to great effect and when they dropped deep, Comer was completely blotted out, only really coming into it when he dropped deep(this suited Kerry).

John Daly finding a target like Cooke or Conroy would be a useful back up."
I go a bit radical on the basis that if we continue to do the same things we will end up with the same results.. And, while a Connacht title and AI runners up wouldn't be bad , I think we need something different to win it

Power
S.Kelly, B.Mannion, Heaney
McHugh, Daly, McDaid
Maher McLoughlin/Tierney
Comer Gallagher Finnerty
Burke Walsh Tomo

Justifications:
1. Corner backs who can support a full back marking your Clifford/Con O C and do damage at other end
2. Wing Forwards who can help midfield win ball and give kick out options
3. A centre forward who can use his head and has the pace to cut through when needed
4. Pace in the FF line
5. Options to rotate wing forwards into FF line.
6. Real good scoring options off the bench Conroy/ Cooke ... Both great scorers but mightn't get the space early in games , when game opens up they are capable of scoring 6 or 7 points between them in the second half.
7. Some other good options too e.g. Jack Glynn., Pat Kelly. We need options off the bench as we found out in AI

I know that nobody would agree with this , but I'm putting it out there as a thought provoker.

anotheralias (Galway) - Posts: 840 - 19/01/2023 12:51:34    2453076

Replying To Yondu:  "All names that played last Saturday, fairly ruthless by Joyce. Would have thought Barry McHugh would see some minutes during the league."
He was hooked both FBD games at half-time. The writing was on the wall.

TanCanRan (Galway) - Posts: 179 - 19/01/2023 13:01:28    2453081

Replying To galwayman2:  "I see Claregalway College were beaten by Summerhill as well.
Big turnaround as Jarlaths beat Ballinrobe by ten points last week."
The way it played out Claregalway had already qualified. The team they had out in their first game had nine or ten lads who have played county minor. Daithi Kilcommins playing midfield for them who looked good for the Annaghdown seniors this year.

galway19 (Galway) - Posts: 672 - 19/01/2023 13:44:41    2453090

Replying To galwayman2:  "I see Claregalway College were beaten by Summerhill as well.
Big turnaround as Jarlaths beat Ballinrobe by ten points last week."
The bish were the whipping boys in the group and Ballinrobe knew a cricket score would more then likely get them through, On their day Jarlaths were well ahead of Ballinrobe .

Belclare (Galway) - Posts: 904 - 19/01/2023 16:09:26    2453108

Replying To TanCanRan:  "He was hooked both FBD games at half-time. The writing was on the wall."
Yeah you could say it was a bit harsh maybe. But in reality he didn't really do much in either game.

galwayman2 (Galway) - Posts: 1234 - 19/01/2023 16:09:43    2453109

Replying To The_DOC:  "I really think PJ likes the look of Mulkerrins, he'd kept him involved with the squad all through last year with his bad knee injury. I think Kelly has proved hes a classy #3 and Mulkerrins is key to hold down that position but imagine what Sean Kelly could do a bit further out the field with more freeddom if (and its a big if) Mulkerrins could nail down that #3."
It will be interesting to see how Mulkerrins gets on when he gets back to fitness.
He has had two championship seasons (albeit I think that only spanned 3 or 4 games with Covid etc.) so we haven't really seen enough of him to know whether he'll be a permanent fixture in the team or not going forward.

galwayman2 (Galway) - Posts: 1234 - 19/01/2023 16:13:22    2453110

I see some posters on here suggest conroy or Cooke full forward , only. One man for number 14 Shane Walsh 9 points in all Ireland from there I'd play rob Finnerty at 11 smart player who can kick long range points I'd like see McLaughlin and Mcdaid midfield
Sean kelly has be played full back or corner Thars his best position he does not kick ball enough to be played further out the field ,, Matthew tienery could struggle make starting 15 he does not score enough at all , my forwards be
Cooke , Finnerty Heaney
Comer Walsh. Burke ? ( not convinced)
If they want bring a corner forward out either
Tierney/ Patrick kelly could play that position

Kickitout (Galway) - Posts: 832 - 19/01/2023 16:41:07    2453114

Replying To galway19:  "Jarlaths lost today and are out of the championship on scoring difference. Semi finals are Colmans vs Claregalway and Summerhill Sligo vs Ballinrobe CS. Claregalway should win it from here which would be massive for them."
Jarlath's beat Ballinrobe by 10 points last weekend. How on earth did they manage to get eliminated on scoring difference?

Marooned (Galway) - Posts: 2208 - 19/01/2023 19:27:19    2453128

Replying To galwayman2:  "I wouldn't be convinced that Liam Silke will be back for championship. Huge loss if he's not.
I think Cathal Sweeney might nab a wing back slot this year. Himself and Heaney are interchangeable maybe.
For depth alone it's good news that Peter Cooke will be back in the panel. We are light enough on midfield options.
We could be without 4 of the starting 6 backs from the AI final for the Mayo league game if Glynn is not fit (am assuming here Sean Kelly gets a break for a few weeks now).
And our substitute backs wouldn't inspire confidence unfortunately."
I wouldn't say we are light in midfield now. McDaid, Cooke, Conroy and McLaughlin is a pretty good first four. And then maybe Maher makes a 5th option there.

Defensively is the concern with Molloy and Silke unavailable. Glynn and McGrath are carrying knocks at the moment. No sign of Mulkerrin back yet. At the moment that's where the options look light I'd say. I wonder with Cooke back would they even put McDaid at wing-back to start the league anyway.

Marooned (Galway) - Posts: 2208 - 19/01/2023 19:35:59    2453129

Replying To galway19:  "The way it played out Claregalway had already qualified. The team they had out in their first game had nine or ten lads who have played county minor. Daithi Kilcommins playing midfield for them who looked good for the Annaghdown seniors this year."
Yeah Claregalway wer well up at one stage of first half, took off some of there better players in 2nd half and lost by 2 points. Be a good game against Coleman's in semi final who knocked out Jarlaths. Claregalway seemed to be missing a few of last year Galway minors no sign of Eanna Monaghan

Ferg9 (Galway) - Posts: 1 - 19/01/2023 20:59:40    2453138

Replying To Kickitout:  "I see some posters on here suggest conroy or Cooke full forward , only. One man for number 14 Shane Walsh 9 points in all Ireland from there I'd play rob Finnerty at 11 smart player who can kick long range points I'd like see McLaughlin and Mcdaid midfield
Sean kelly has be played full back or corner Thars his best position he does not kick ball enough to be played further out the field ,, Matthew tienery could struggle make starting 15 he does not score enough at all , my forwards be
Cooke , Finnerty Heaney
Comer Walsh. Burke ? ( not convinced)
If they want bring a corner forward out either
Tierney/ Patrick kelly could play that position"
Meanwhile Matthew Tierney kicks 7 points for NUIG against UCD at the time of this post! Galway management use him in a running role where he isn't getting on the end of moves enough/doesn't have it in the tank to run at his man after running up the pitch from deep. With Cooke And potentially Maher/mc Laughlin options in mid field perhaps can be used further forward.

Burke an impact sub, and a good one at that once he gets going. Tierney 11 and finnerty inside, but could certainly do a job at 11 also. Tomo culhane surely warrants a few starts in the league.

Mickgal (Galway) - Posts: 1 - 20/01/2023 07:21:59    2453145

Replying To anotheralias:  "I go a bit radical on the basis that if we continue to do the same things we will end up with the same results.. And, while a Connacht title and AI runners up wouldn't be bad , I think we need something different to win it

Power
S.Kelly, B.Mannion, Heaney
McHugh, Daly, McDaid
Maher McLoughlin/Tierney
Comer Gallagher Finnerty
Burke Walsh Tomo

Justifications:
1. Corner backs who can support a full back marking your Clifford/Con O C and do damage at other end
2. Wing Forwards who can help midfield win ball and give kick out options
3. A centre forward who can use his head and has the pace to cut through when needed
4. Pace in the FF line
5. Options to rotate wing forwards into FF line.
6. Real good scoring options off the bench Conroy/ Cooke ... Both great scorers but mightn't get the space early in games , when game opens up they are capable of scoring 6 or 7 points between them in the second half.
7. Some other good options too e.g. Jack Glynn., Pat Kelly. We need options off the bench as we found out in AI

I know that nobody would agree with this , but I'm putting it out there as a thought provoker."
Yeah you are right. Nobody agrees with this.

Imagine dropping our young footballer of the year !

Dermot_Desmond_96 (Galway) - Posts: 36 - 20/01/2023 09:21:41    2453149