Galway Football thread

Replying To smallfrank:  "Sean Kelly needs a rest. Between Sigerson, Galway and club, the man will burn out. Shane Walsh will need a break too.
Paul Kelly player an All Ireland Club Semi Final last week, what was the point in bringing him on today.
Tierney played the full game this evening, mid week and last week, same as Finnerty, I think that's crazy.
We will need them in June hopefully, not January.

And the one that really baffles me, James McLaughlin was an unused sub in his clubs biggest ever game last weekend but came on today. Someone make it make sense"
Just guessing re James Mcl but probably injury has recovered but lacking in aerobic match fitness for club game. He was out a long time. 10-15 minutes last night will help in that regard.

Hope Sean Kelly and Shane Walsh are minded early in the league. They have a lot of miles in last year and both have history with hamstrings. Cold weather on top of the load . ...

Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1826 - 15/01/2023 11:19:29    2452479

Replying To TanCanRan:  "I'm sure you mean well but tonight was a challenge game and couldn't be further removed from a League game if you tried. No Shane Walsh and Cillian McDaid our POTY nominees. No Damien Comer or Johnny Daly, two All-Stars. No Patrick Kelly or Paul Conroy. Surely you catch my drift. It was a meaningless game played indoors purely to improve fitness. We'll be grand."
The first half performance was a bit of a disaster for a top 2 / 3 team. That's what had me worried. You could hear from the sidelines that the management teams didn't deem it as meaningless. It's not league and it's not championship but nor do you want to see our lads shipping big scores and being overran by the neighbours, as was happening in the first half. Our second half was much better. I get your point re it only being FBD, we're all aware of where it sits in context , but I'm telling you, you need to hold momentum and build it - especially against Mayo. Anyway, on to the league. Looking forward to it.

togoutlads (Galway) - Posts: 898 - 15/01/2023 11:25:23    2452480

Replying To togoutlads:  "We're supposedly second or third in the country. AI runners up. Supposed to lay down markers early, especially against a team that's 'in transition' and with a new big name management team. Advantage Mayo. Can we get them back in two weeks time? We'll see. We'll need massive improvement from that first half limp rubbish we played."
All Ireland Champions lost to Cork....
Dublin lost to Offaly....
Armagh lost to Cavan...

Some would nearly think these pre season games are not result based competitions....

SamandLiamSoon (Galway) - Posts: 588 - 15/01/2023 11:47:29    2452481

Main positive for me was see young James McLoughlin back… he will hopefully be a big player for Galway for the years to come.

ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1568 - 15/01/2023 12:58:29    2452489

Replying To allstars23:  "Where was it confirmed Peter Cooke is back?"
Tuam herald journalist David Connors confirmed it after the game last night.

Not a lot to be taken out of last night's game. Big score conceded but that's normally the case with indoor matches with shadowing than actually tackling. Two experimental line ups one thing I'd question is why M Tierney, R Finnerty played the full game when they were involved in Sigerson cup action midweek and will be again on Tuesday.

Unusual not to have FBD final to play in however a challenge game no doubt will be set up and probably more useful as it will be played outdoors with more possible first choice players taking part

Yondu (UK) - Posts: 845 - 15/01/2023 13:24:34    2452493

Replying To togoutlads:  "The first half performance was a bit of a disaster for a top 2 / 3 team. That's what had me worried. You could hear from the sidelines that the management teams didn't deem it as meaningless. It's not league and it's not championship but nor do you want to see our lads shipping big scores and being overran by the neighbours, as was happening in the first half. Our second half was much better. I get your point re it only being FBD, we're all aware of where it sits in context , but I'm telling you, you need to hold momentum and build it - especially against Mayo. Anyway, on to the league. Looking forward to it."
I've gone to many challenge games during my time and from club to county level, managements are always barking orders and demanding more. Especially against a local rival. It's a thrown together team, we'll be grand.

TanCanRan (Galway) - Posts: 179 - 15/01/2023 13:57:55    2452495

Replying To togoutlads:  "This is a shambolic first half from Galway. Pathetic on so many fronts. A lot of questions raised on what we're at."
Were Galway playing against the wind - first half? Lol..

I predicted early last year we would get to AI final, but that Kerry would be too strong for us. This year, I think we have the raw material and nous, to get to final again - against Dublin. It will be a 50/50 affair, which we are capable of winning...provided, a fully firing Ian Burke is back on the team..

AnCrúiscínLán (Galway) - Posts: 87 - 15/01/2023 14:46:28    2452503

Replying To TanCanRan:  "I've gone to many challenge games during my time and from club to county level, managements are always barking orders and demanding more. Especially against a local rival. It's a thrown together team, we'll be grand."
The "we'll be grand" attitude is what had Galway football in the doldrums for over twenty years. We need to build on last year's success. Everyone understands it was FBD. But getting completely overrun by an arguably more experimental Mayo team in the first half was not good. The personnel there will change but we can't be relying on just a few men in defence and given the few departures and injuries potentially, it is a concern going forward.

Shamrocks95 (Galway) - Posts: 7 - 15/01/2023 15:36:05    2452527

I know it was only FBD some of the players that have being tried for last 2-3, years not good enough and won't be either ,, bringing in same faces every year half Mountbellew, and salthill lads must be on squad , I know Ian Burke back but hard see him scoring 2 much , in the league will he score 10 points ? 7 matches

Kickitout (Galway) - Posts: 832 - 15/01/2023 18:22:07    2452574

Dylan McHugh is really improving all the time.. positional sense v good and good brain.

Billy Mannion looks the part.. could he put on the wing? McHugh, Daly, Mannion.

Still haven't sorted out the kickouts unfortunately.. and can't see it being resolved.

Howardhunt1 (Galway) - Posts: 77 - 15/01/2023 18:41:24    2452582

Replying To Kickitout:  "I know it was only FBD some of the players that have being tried for last 2-3, years not good enough and won't be either ,, bringing in same faces every year half Mountbellew, and salthill lads must be on squad , I know Ian Burke back but hard see him scoring 2 much , in the league will he score 10 points ? 7 matches"
Ian is not a prolific scorer - although he won't give up a goal chance if presented. But it's his spatial sense, creativity and, assists for other players that mark him apart.

In AI final only John Daly showed the required creativity to open up a defence. Headless chickens will win you nothing..

AnCrúiscínLán (Galway) - Posts: 87 - 15/01/2023 19:46:23    2452599

Replying To Shamrocks95:  "The "we'll be grand" attitude is what had Galway football in the doldrums for over twenty years. We need to build on last year's success. Everyone understands it was FBD. But getting completely overrun by an arguably more experimental Mayo team in the first half was not good. The personnel there will change but we can't be relying on just a few men in defence and given the few departures and injuries potentially, it is a concern going forward."
I don't think that's what has us in the doldrums, neither were anyone saying it after some of the shambles during Mullhollands time.

I cannot overemphasis how little heed should be paid on the FBD. Take for example the Munster equivalent, Kerry were hammered by Cork. Dublin were bettered by Offaly in the O'Byrne Cup.

Let's keep our powder dry until the League. There would have been no benefit Joyce showing anything close to a full hand with Mayo in two weeks.

TanCanRan (Galway) - Posts: 179 - 15/01/2023 20:44:18    2452622

Replying To TanCanRan:  "I don't think that's what has us in the doldrums, neither were anyone saying it after some of the shambles during Mullhollands time.

I cannot overemphasis how little heed should be paid on the FBD. Take for example the Munster equivalent, Kerry were hammered by Cork. Dublin were bettered by Offaly in the O'Byrne Cup.

Let's keep our powder dry until the League. There would have been no benefit Joyce showing anything close to a full hand with Mayo in two weeks."
I agree with most of what your saying . Results of these games need to be taken with several pinches of salt because
1. Played with very few 1st team players.
2. Different squads at different stages of fitness evolution. In particular most squads do a lot of stamina work this time of year which has a short term impact on sharpness.
3. Varying levels of appetite to actually win a game.
4. In the case of the FBD, games in the Dome are different . some skills are taken out of the game ( judging the bounce or wind) and it is very fast for this time of year.

Having said that we shouldn't put our heads in the sand either and I am slightly concerned about how sharp Mayo looked versus us. I'm hoping its down to some of the reasons above , but I'm not 100% sure.
Also I am baffled by the fact that our number of available players is so low that we had to ask Moycullen players back in sooner than we should have had to, while at the same time Mayo ( seemingly) played Westmeath on the same day with a completely different squad. I'm a bit cynical about that one, and if this is the case, I would like to see their teamsheet.

anotheralias (Galway) - Posts: 839 - 16/01/2023 09:19:54    2452645

To be honest, i wouldn't be happy with either teams performance. Mayo were miles a head of us but we nearly stole it and probably should have with all the goal opportunities we had.

Our tackling and defensive structure looked poor and we ran through the middle of Mayo a number of times easily enough so they can't be happy either.

It is always nice to win but i wouldn't over think that game.

Time will tell

Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1826 - 16/01/2023 11:19:08    2452666

Lads let's focus on ourselves and not worry too much about Mayo. New manager bounce will help them and they clearly have a lot of work done. The proof will be in the pudding come April.

Coincidently was talking to a lad from Mayo yesterday who was raving about Orme and I think Towey inside - they are apparently now spoilt for choice in the forward division - but we all know an FBD indoor in the dome 2nd week of Jan has no real correlation to reality. We must bare that in mind from a Galway perspective also

ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1568 - 16/01/2023 11:26:10    2452669

A good few players will be lucky to see any game time during the league after that, there's a few of them who've had a god few chances and just aren't up to it although think McHugh could be a handy during the league on a softer pitch.

Great to here Cooke is back, we know what he and Ian Burke are capable of so they'll be great additions. Maher did ok and will probably get more chances although I hope James McLaughlin can stay fit as long term he has all the attributes to be a top player at this level. Cathal Sweeney has great ability but not sure Joyce knows where his best position is, he's not the tallest and Galway are lacking height in the backline.

Culhane excellent again, he's never going to be that quick but he should become stronger as he develops and he's another one who could become a top player at this level.

Its in net and defence where the issues are, Silke & Molloy will be huge losses. I really like O'Flaherty but he's still u20 this year so a lot to expect from a lad his age to take Molloy's place. I'd like to see McGrath given a run in the league and see what he can in place of Silke.

I'm surprised Conor Flaherty hasn't been given a chance in goal.

TheBishop (Galway) - Posts: 260 - 16/01/2023 11:45:45    2452677

Conor Flaherty withdrew from the panel. It would worry you a great deal to see Bernie P and Gleeson in direct competition for the starting championship berth. O'Malley from back west wouldn't fill you with a great deal of confidence either. Defense looks like it could come under pressure this year. They appear to be taking another good luck at Fitzgerald again which makes sense I suppose. Foley looks like a headless chicken out there. Not comfortable on the ball. Cant really solo and definitely can't kick. Billy Mannion looks the part but again, football appears to be an issue. Quite manufactured.

Dermot_Desmond_96 (Galway) - Posts: 36 - 16/01/2023 12:25:26    2452686

Replying To Dermot_Desmond_96:  "Conor Flaherty withdrew from the panel. It would worry you a great deal to see Bernie P and Gleeson in direct competition for the starting championship berth. O'Malley from back west wouldn't fill you with a great deal of confidence either. Defense looks like it could come under pressure this year. They appear to be taking another good luck at Fitzgerald again which makes sense I suppose. Foley looks like a headless chicken out there. Not comfortable on the ball. Cant really solo and definitely can't kick. Billy Mannion looks the part but again, football appears to be an issue. Quite manufactured."
Does anyone know why flaherty left the panel? Great hopes for him, thought he'd make the position his own this year

allstars23 (Galway) - Posts: 47 - 16/01/2023 12:56:52    2452691

Power is probably as good as the management have available so he probably should get first go in the league. Never going to be outstanding but he is unlikely to make as many errors as the other options.

Its a pity we don't have a good full back that would allow us to move Sean Kelly further out the field. Kelly is going to have to play there all year as I don't think Sean Fitzgerald has shown anything at senior level and without Silke there you need a more experienced full back anyways. Will probably end up between Johnny McGrath and Billy Mannion for the corner back spot beside Kelly and Jack Glynn.

We are also a bit light in the half back line aside from Daly and McHugh. O'Flaherty and Eoghan Kelly are promising but I can see Joyce having to move McDaid or Heaney back there at some stage.

They can patch the midfield together with Cooke (great that he has now committed), Conroy, McLaughlin, Tierney and Maher.

Forward line is fine. Loads of options there, it is just a case of picking the right blend.

galway19 (Galway) - Posts: 672 - 16/01/2023 13:11:41    2452697

Any clifden or Dunmore lads called in?….interesting that PJ was at the Clifden semi final in Hyde Park. Have they a decent goalie by any chance?;)

gaillimhboy (Galway) - Posts: 338 - 16/01/2023 13:42:31    2452708