Galway Football thread

Yeah, Tierney's place has maybe been questionable but I'm hopeful he'll soon put that debate to bed. Tierney played a blinder for UG in the Sigerson against UCD last night. Tomo seriously effective too. These two lads could really step up for Galway now. Tierney's been there but he's still young and developing. He looked a bit lethargic last year, that can happen with young fellas who are still building up but asked to play a million and one games. He looked a small bit burned out. He's looking fresher now - no doubt he's working on the strength and stamina. His pace seems to be up a bit too, he's taking on markers better, though still dispossessed a bit too easily at times - that's relatively easy to work on though. He's full of football. A serious boot on him. I think he can be an absolutely pivotal player for Galway as he develops.
Ian Burke's smarts and skill in possession and distribution could be massive for us. He's as quick a hands as I've seen from winning possession to getting the killer hand pass away that can split a defence. When on form he's just lightning quick at that. He's also working his way into scoring positions pretty regularly but the calibration looks to be off a bit! No doubt they'll be working on his shooting because with his obvious positional intelligence he's going to get a few scoring opportunities in every game. He has to be able to take them. You just can't be leaving those behind if we've AI ambitions. He'll get that right, it's there.
Absolutely delighted that Cooke has committed. What an addition. He's one of the key ingredients we were missing around midfield, half forward. He can punch holes in a blanket defence with his power and athleticism. He can adapt his game. And critically he can field the high ball - something of a problem with Galway football for a number of years. High fielding is worth numerous key possessions in top flight games and is worth real scores - look at David Clifford's forward marks and what they yield. In his fielding, he's out jumping everyone by a foot or 18 inches. The photos and being there on the sidelines to witness it proves it. We have to be able to get off the deck. Mayo outfielded us repeatedly in midfield in the dome. Serious work has to go into this, we don't want them saying 'galway men can't jump'!! James McLoughlin could certainly help on this front too.

togoutlads (Galway) - Posts: 897 - 20/01/2023 09:48:10    2453154

Replying To Dermot_Desmond_96:  "Yeah you are right. Nobody agrees with this.

Imagine dropping our young footballer of the year !"
Not being on the starting 15 is not the same as being dropped. The game has evolved and you need quality players who may not start every game but play a part in every game.
Now that we are on the subject of Jack Glynn. He is a fine young player who really developed over the course of 2022 and is absolutely key to our plans. But young footballer of the year should not be an entitlement to an automatic starting spot.
Joe Bergin was YPOTY in 2000 and many called for his head ( not just in 2001 when he had a great year ) but also in the years that followed.
Michael Daly would have been YPOTY in 2017 if it wasnt for a combination of a poor U21 final display and the fact that Con O Callaghan was playing that year. Yet if I had a euro for every time I saw a post here knocking him , I would be typing this from Barbados.
In terms of nobody agreeing with the team I posted. I notice that one other poster subsequently agreed with SW at FF and with RF in the half forward line, so while would expect that nobody would agree with all my suggestions ( because as I stated they are a bit radical) I would say that I would find people who agree with each individual aspect.

anotheralias (Galway) - Posts: 839 - 20/01/2023 10:00:54    2453157

Replying To Kickitout:  "I see some posters on here suggest conroy or Cooke full forward , only. One man for number 14 Shane Walsh 9 points in all Ireland from there I'd play rob Finnerty at 11 smart player who can kick long range points I'd like see McLaughlin and Mcdaid midfield
Sean kelly has be played full back or corner Thars his best position he does not kick ball enough to be played further out the field ,, Matthew tienery could struggle make starting 15 he does not score enough at all , my forwards be
Cooke , Finnerty Heaney
Comer Walsh. Burke ? ( not convinced)
If they want bring a corner forward out either
Tierney/ Patrick kelly could play that position"
Interesting team there.
I think McLoughlin will struggle to break in this year, as he has missed so much football and it will take him time to get up to speed.
Mattie Tierney did not play that well in 2022 in all honesty, bar the Armagh game.
He could be an option for midfield though rather than the forwards.
I'd share your lack of being convinced by Ian Burke - we'll see how he goes in the league.
Silke and Molloy are such big losses for us.
I think Sweeney could break into the starting 15 this year. Also, I really like Patrick Kelly. Think he has the ability to really push on this year.

galwayman2 (Galway) - Posts: 1230 - 20/01/2023 10:07:14    2453159

I saw a picture of Tomo being carried off the field for UG. Was he injured? Anyone got an update?

I think Tomo will be a slow burner but could end up being a Cathal McShane type No 14. He is a decent size and will probably fill out more. Definitely worth a proper run out in the league.

First 2 matches key as it gives PJ the scope to experiment a bit more.

Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1825 - 20/01/2023 10:30:13    2453163

This would be my selection even though we will NEVER all agree on a start 15!

Flaherty

Glynn / Mulkerins (or S Kelly) / Silke if available

Mc Hugh / Daly / Heaney

Mc Daid / Cooke

Matthew Tierney / Shane Walsh (interchange with whoever the hell he wants but mainly Conroy) / P Kelly

Finnerty / Conroy / Damo

Subs:
Power
(any chance of another mass to get E Kerins back in the loop?)
Billy Mannion
Tomo Culhane
Gallagher
Paul Kelly
Ian Burke (first forward to be brought in when needed)

The_DOC (Galway) - Posts: 705 - 20/01/2023 10:39:27    2453164

There's a reason Tierneys not shooting the lights out at IC but is at club and college and it's because he plays a much different role. He's a work horse and is required to cover acres of space every game. Much more than finnerty/walsh/comer whose main job is to score . Tierney works for them to do this.

If you've been to Galway games and watched him you'd see that. It doesn't come across on tv how much work he actually does

I'd like to see him freed up a bit more but it would require others further out the field to do more. Think there's plenty of potential there but Silke and Molloy losses will be felt

galwayfball (Galway) - Posts: 1678 - 20/01/2023 10:47:49    2453168

Replying To galwayman2:  "Interesting team there.
I think McLoughlin will struggle to break in this year, as he has missed so much football and it will take him time to get up to speed.
Mattie Tierney did not play that well in 2022 in all honesty, bar the Armagh game.
He could be an option for midfield though rather than the forwards.
I'd share your lack of being convinced by Ian Burke - we'll see how he goes in the league.
Silke and Molloy are such big losses for us.
I think Sweeney could break into the starting 15 this year. Also, I really like Patrick Kelly. Think he has the ability to really push on this year."
Patrick Kelly had some good moments last year but like most of the other forwards (outside of Shane Walsh) he hardly kicked a ball in the AI Final so that is not good enough at the top level. A forward has to contribute by either winning possession and linking up play regularly, getting fouled for scores or scoring himself and 5 of the 6 Galway forwards in the AI final did very few of those things. Some posters on here are saying "we are fine for forwards" but I disagree - if those forwards cannot perform well at the very top level against the likes of Kerry or Dublin in an AI final they are at nothing.

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3314 - 20/01/2023 10:49:10    2453171

Replying To galwayfball:  "There's a reason Tierneys not shooting the lights out at IC but is at club and college and it's because he plays a much different role. He's a work horse and is required to cover acres of space every game. Much more than finnerty/walsh/comer whose main job is to score . Tierney works for them to do this.

If you've been to Galway games and watched him you'd see that. It doesn't come across on tv how much work he actually does

I'd like to see him freed up a bit more but it would require others further out the field to do more. Think there's plenty of potential there but Silke and Molloy losses will be felt"
Any player in the half forward line has to work their socks off now. That's what's required in the modern game. I'd agree with you that Tierney spends most of the game for Galway tracking runners and working up and down the pitch.
The question I'd have though is whether he's the right player for that type of job. He's not the most athletic player and isn't very quick.
At the same time he's an excellent footballer, a very good kicker of the ball and score getter when he gets chances.
I think a different player would be more effective at the work horse role. If Tierney's to play, it needs to be in a role that gets him on the ball more and utilises his skill set. Otherwise, we're just playing him for the sake of it.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2030 - 20/01/2023 11:38:55    2453185

Replying To The_DOC:  "This would be my selection even though we will NEVER all agree on a start 15!

Flaherty

Mc Hugh / Daly / Heaney

Mc Daid / Cooke

Matthew Tierney / Shane Walsh (interchange with whoever the hell he wants but mainly Conroy) / P Kelly

Finnerty / Conroy / Damo

Subs:
Power
Billy Mannion
Tomo Culhane
Gallagher
Paul Kelly
Ian Burke (first forward to be brought in when needed)"
Good team in fairness.

I'm not convinced about Mulkerrins. Hopefully same full backline as last year.

McDaid would be a great option at 7 if we could identify a midfield partner for Cooke.

Jellybaby (Dublin) - Posts: 334 - 20/01/2023 12:38:34    2453199

Replying To The_DOC:  "This would be my selection even though we will NEVER all agree on a start 15!

Flaherty

Mc Hugh / Daly / Heaney

Mc Daid / Cooke

Finnerty / Conroy / Damo

Subs:
Power
Billy Mannion
Tomo Culhane
Gallagher
Paul Kelly
best team i have seen posted so far

cavan.galway (Galway) - Posts: 182 - 20/01/2023 13:21:12    2453206

Replying To cavan.galway:  "

Flaherty

Mc Hugh / Daly / Heaney

Mc Daid / Cooke

Finnerty / Conroy / Damo

Subs:
Power
Billy Mannion
Tomo Culhane
Gallagher
Paul Kelly
best team i have seen posted so far"
Except Conor Flaherty is not in the Galway football panel

Belclare (Galway) - Posts: 904 - 20/01/2023 14:58:18    2453230

Replying To WanPintWin:  "Any player in the half forward line has to work their socks off now. That's what's required in the modern game. I'd agree with you that Tierney spends most of the game for Galway tracking runners and working up and down the pitch.
The question I'd have though is whether he's the right player for that type of job. He's not the most athletic player and isn't very quick.
At the same time he's an excellent footballer, a very good kicker of the ball and score getter when he gets chances.
I think a different player would be more effective at the work horse role. If Tierney's to play, it needs to be in a role that gets him on the ball more and utilises his skill set. Otherwise, we're just playing him for the sake of it."
I do agree with you just respondingto people saying he doesnt do much . He does a lot that many seem not to notice.

I don't think that's his best role and affects his scoring ability. I'm assuming he's the best they have at that job. I don't believe he's being played for the sake of it

galwayfball (Galway) - Posts: 1678 - 20/01/2023 15:24:53    2453236

Conroy definitely not a full forward we have best full forward in Ireland in Shane Walsh so that's where u play him it's a no brainier ,,

Kickitout (Galway) - Posts: 831 - 20/01/2023 16:23:07    2453247

Replying To Kickitout:  "Conroy definitely not a full forward we have best full forward in Ireland in Shane Walsh so that's where u play him it's a no brainier ,,"
Disagree, Shane needs space to use his pace, can kick points from distance, not many can do that.

Galwayspur (Offaly) - Posts: 230 - 20/01/2023 19:46:42    2453267

Team I think will face Mayo, this isn't necessarily the team I want to see face Mayo
1.Gleeson
2. Fitzgerald
3. Seán Kelly
4. Sweeney
5. McHugh
6. Daly
7. Mannion
8. Maher
9. McDaid
10. Evan Murphy
11. Tierney
12. Heaney
13. Finnerty
14. Comer
15. Burke

Ideally would like to see as few of the Sigerson lads used as possible but this an important game in terms of getting ourselves off the mark early in the league. Johnny McGrath injured at the moment.

gaillimhboy (Galway) - Posts: 338 - 20/01/2023 20:15:36    2453271

Culhane went off injured at half time for the College during the week.

Marooned (Galway) - Posts: 2207 - 21/01/2023 12:58:21    2453297

Was at the dome it was a complete bore. We have nothing to fear in Connacht

Thank god Joe brolly wasn't there he would have had a field day. It was a incredible shambles. The game indeed is a very sick patient.

handpassking (Galway) - Posts: 430 - 21/01/2023 16:06:41    2453317

Replying To handpassking:  "Was at the dome it was a complete bore. We have nothing to fear in Connacht

Thank god Joe brolly wasn't there he would have had a field day. It was a incredible shambles. The game indeed is a very sick patient."
I have to disagree In any sport u have good games and bad ones. I happen to think that Gaelic football is in rude good health.

anotheralias (Galway) - Posts: 839 - 21/01/2023 19:07:45    2453344

Replying To handpassking:  "Was at the dome it was a complete bore. We have nothing to fear in Connacht

Thank god Joe brolly wasn't there he would have had a field day. It was a incredible shambles. The game indeed is a very sick patient."
Just because a team play a boring brand does not mean they will be easy to beat.

On a side note. O'Neills website has said new galway Jersey coming soon. I need to get young lad a Jersey and am holding off for the new one but it has been like this for some time now. Does anyone have any info??

Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1825 - 22/01/2023 10:37:47    2453373

Replying To Mayonman:  "Just because a team play a boring brand does not mean they will be easy to beat.

On a side note. O'Neills website has said new galway Jersey coming soon. I need to get young lad a Jersey and am holding off for the new one but it has been like this for some time now. Does anyone have any info??"
I'd say that's been on the website since November. I am not sure if anything in imminent but with league coming up I'd say we will have word soon.

ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1568 - 22/01/2023 12:05:08    2453380