Galway Hurling thread

Replying To galway19:  "Minor A final tomorrow in Salthill with Clarinbridge going for the minor and u20 double and three minors in four years. Niland still eligible for this grade and scored 4-14 himself in the semi final win over Athenry. Facing a good Oranmore team with the Keadys, Colm Burke, Thomas Blake. Should be a good game."
You'd imagine that Clarenbridge should be the team of the future in the County with all that underage success.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2198 - 21/10/2023 18:59:48    2509585

Replying To galway19:  "Minor A final tomorrow in Salthill with Clarinbridge going for the minor and u20 double and three minors in four years. Niland still eligible for this grade and scored 4-14 himself in the semi final win over Athenry. Facing a good Oranmore team with the Keadys, Colm Burke, Thomas Blake. Should be a good game."
Cracking game with Oranmore edging it 2-17 to 2-15. Cathal Sweeney, Thomas Blake and Colm Burke all excellent. Aaron Niland with 1-14 for Clarinbridge. Oranmore also brought on Gus Lohan, son of Clare's Frank Lohan, who is only 14 but made a difference when he came in. Super prospects on that field today.

galway19 (Galway) - Posts: 739 - 22/10/2023 13:23:13    2509624

Replying To galway19:  "Cracking game with Oranmore edging it 2-17 to 2-15. Cathal Sweeney, Thomas Blake and Colm Burke all excellent. Aaron Niland with 1-14 for Clarinbridge. Oranmore also brought on Gus Lohan, son of Clare's Frank Lohan, who is only 14 but made a difference when he came in. Super prospects on that field today."
His grandfather is also Gus Lohan who hurled with his native Aughrim, Cappataggle and many other clubs before finally ending up in Wolfe Tones of Shannon and is the father of Brian and Frank Lohan.

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3470 - 23/10/2023 10:01:34    2509742

Seeing as I cannot find any thread on Hoganstand for camogie, I hope its ok to post this on here.
At the weekend SARSFIELDS camogie completed 5 in a row of Galway senior titles. This in of itself is noteworthy for a small parish of, mayube, a few hundred households.
When noted that they will now be going for three in row of All Ireland club titles, it puts into perspective what a monumental achievement it is.
With all due respect and admiration for St Thomeses attempt to win 5 in a row, I find it sad (as a very old Bullaun stalwart) the lack of coverage our brilliant Collens get.

waterside4 (Galway) - Posts: 30 - 24/10/2023 11:11:08    2510009

Please god there will be bonfires in Kilchreest and not Turlough on Sunday evening.

MapleSyrup (Galway) - Posts: 165 - 24/10/2023 16:33:31    2510097

Replying To waterside4:  "Seeing as I cannot find any thread on Hoganstand for camogie, I hope its ok to post this on here.
At the weekend SARSFIELDS camogie completed 5 in a row of Galway senior titles. This in of itself is noteworthy for a small parish of, mayube, a few hundred households.
When noted that they will now be going for three in row of All Ireland club titles, it puts into perspective what a monumental achievement it is.
With all due respect and admiration for St Thomeses attempt to win 5 in a row, I find it sad (as a very old Bullaun stalwart) the lack of coverage our brilliant Collens get."
Fair play to them. Mighty achievement. Best of luck to them going forward.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2198 - 24/10/2023 16:39:52    2510100

Replying To MapleSyrup:  "Please god there will be bonfires in Kilchreest and not Turlough on Sunday evening."
While I'd prefer St Thomas's to win I hope the BEST team wins and then goes on and wins the whole thing. Bring the Trophy back to Galway where it belongs!!! Galway Abu.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2198 - 24/10/2023 19:50:42    2510130

Replying To waterside4:  "Seeing as I cannot find any thread on Hoganstand for camogie, I hope its ok to post this on here.
With all due respect and admiration for St Thomeses attempt to win 5 in a row, I find it sad (as a very old Bullaun stalwart) the lack of coverage our brilliant Collens get."
You obviously havent much interest in Thomas's hurling achievements if you think they are attempting to win 5 in a row!

Congratulations to the Sarsfields camogie team. Great achievement.

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1931 - 25/10/2023 12:11:09    2510212

Replying To PoolSturgeon:  "You obviously havent much interest in Thomas's hurling achievements if you think they are attempting to win 5 in a row!

Congratulations to the Sarsfields camogie team. Great achievement."
Oh Mae Mae culpa, is it 6 in a row? My apologies. Even though I am a died in the wool SARSFIELDS man my mammy came from Ballacurra so I will follow their fortunes with interest. There is maybe too much parochialism attached to gaelic games

waterside4 (Galway) - Posts: 30 - 25/10/2023 13:27:18    2510232

St Thomass for the win this weekend to keep the county cup inside the hurling stronghold of South Galway. cannot see it straying to north galway. That geography will have to suffice with the senior B. Poor Mullagh will have another long long winter ahead by my predictions.

clare_sparrow (Galway) - Posts: 434 - 25/10/2023 15:43:21    2510278

Replying To waterside4:  "Oh Mae Mae culpa, is it 6 in a row? My apologies. Even though I am a died in the wool SARSFIELDS man my mammy came from Ballacurra so I will follow their fortunes with interest. There is maybe too much parochialism attached to gaelic games"
It's the Limerick hurlers who are going for the 5-in-a-row, in case you aren't aware! Just ask Katser, she'll readily provide you with all the detail.

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 2053 - 25/10/2023 17:06:56    2510307

I know he has won every medal possible with Corofin but it would be mighty to see Daithi get his senior hurling medal on Sunday. He has been some leader for Turlough. Deserves a win in a final

galway19 (Galway) - Posts: 739 - 26/10/2023 21:09:32    2510544

Well done to the county board for running off the various adult competitions by and large on schedule this year which was very pleasing to see with the exception of the Junior E competition which has dragged on a couple of weeks for various reasons including the weather.
We are all quick to give out about them but this year they deserve all the praise they get for a job well done.

John Doe (Galway) - Posts: 234 - 27/10/2023 08:41:40    2510564

Replying To galway19:  "I know he has won every medal possible with Corofin but it would be mighty to see Daithi get his senior hurling medal on Sunday. He has been some leader for Turlough. Deserves a win in a final"
The best defender bar none ever in Galway Hurling.
Come on Tourlough.

SixtiesKid (Galway) - Posts: 318 - 27/10/2023 09:59:39    2510577

Would imagine Tynagh will be too strong in the intermediate final but Ballindereen will give it a good crack. They have plenty of goals in them which always gives them a chance. Good to see Brehony going well for Tynagh. Senior B final is impossible to call, maybe marginal edge to Mullagh with Glennon coming back near 100% now and they have the most dangerous forward on the pitch in Conor Dolphin.

galway19 (Galway) - Posts: 739 - 27/10/2023 10:17:54    2510587

Replying To John Doe:  "Well done to the county board for running off the various adult competitions by and large on schedule this year which was very pleasing to see with the exception of the Junior E competition which has dragged on a couple of weeks for various reasons including the weather.
We are all quick to give out about them but this year they deserve all the praise they get for a job well done."
What about charging €25 for a county final and robbing people with streaming prices?

TanCanRan (Galway) - Posts: 184 - 27/10/2023 12:43:38    2510616

Replying To TanCanRan:  "What about charging €25 for a county final and robbing people with streaming prices?"
€25 is scandalous for a county final.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1760 - 27/10/2023 23:12:04    2510703

Replying To TerribleFootwork:  "€25 is scandalous for a county final."
They know they will get a crowd anyway with decent weather of a bank holiday weekend and you'll get neutrals going with the six in a row chasers against the only team to do it.

galway19 (Galway) - Posts: 739 - 28/10/2023 11:12:06    2510718

Replying To TerribleFootwork:  "€25 is scandalous for a county final."
Nothing short of a scandal!!

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2401 - 28/10/2023 12:11:34    2510722

All roads lead to the "Grand Old" Duggan Park today where a massive crowd will attend.
Two humdingers which is extremely difficult to call......
Intermediate Final Tynagh/Abbey-Duniry v Ballindeerren (2pm) and Senior B Final Replay Mullagh v Ahascragh-Fohenagh (3.45pm)
So hard to call it, but I will go for a East Galway double with Tynagh/Abbey-Duniry and Mullagh to win.

Tomorrow I will stick with Turloughmore in the Co. Senior Final v St.Thomas'.

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2401 - 28/10/2023 12:21:14    2510723