Galway Hurling thread

Replying To galway19:  "I know Sarsfields had a team in Junior F which would be their fourth team. Coincidentally, they had 42 players listed on the programme last weekend in the senior semi final."
Great to see, but to be fair, it included a lot of their third team too. Great club and nice to acknowledge these lads too.

GalwaysFinest (Galway) - Posts: 190 - 18/10/2023 14:31:06    2509047

Replying To Viking66:  "Any idea how many adult teams you have? I presume there must be clubs up your way with 3 or even 4?"
Senior, Senior B, Intermediate, Junior A,B,C,D,E,F are the Adult Grades respectively.
Turloughmore, Clarinbridge, Castlegar, Craughwell and sarsfields would all have 4 Adult teams each. Some Clubs would have 3 Adult teams each, but the majority of Clubs would have 2 Adult teams each..
I think it's 108 Adult teams from Senior-Junior F.

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2401 - 18/10/2023 15:32:59    2509075

Replying To TownLad09:  "@ Katser Did someone from Loughrea steal your porridge - very obvious from your comments , the delight you seem to take in a few results that did not go their way.

Anyways I doubt very much that your mean spirited jibes will bother any fair minded contributors to this forum.

No doubting the Town will rally again - as they always do ."
It was just misfortune to be unlucky to get knocked out of everything in one clean sweep!
Sure have Loughrea's hurlers their fathers would have come from and hurled with neighbouring Clubs.

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2401 - 18/10/2023 15:40:17    2509078

Replying To katser:  "Senior, Senior B, Intermediate, Junior A,B,C,D,E,F are the Adult Grades respectively.
Turloughmore, Clarinbridge, Castlegar, Craughwell and sarsfields would all have 4 Adult teams each. Some Clubs would have 3 Adult teams each, but the majority of Clubs would have 2 Adult teams each..
I think it's 108 Adult teams from Senior-Junior F."
I stand corrected.....117 Adult Teams is the answer for our Wexford man!

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2401 - 18/10/2023 16:01:56    2509085

Replying To Stool Pigeon:  "What a lousy, mean - spirited take.

Mullagh got to a county final, the only one they could qualify for, like it or not, and surely having a bit of local hype and noise around the place is good for the area (I imagine, I haven't been there in a while) and what harm is it doing to you anyway?"
Sure I was going back to Eyrecourt with a wagon load of big bullocks and driving through Mullagh I was trying to avoid Green and White flags everywhere...... flags up high on Telegraph poles one nearly hit my big Scania!!!

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2401 - 18/10/2023 16:25:08    2509093

Replying To katser:  "I stand corrected.....117 Adult Teams is the answer for our Wexford man!"
Thanks Katser. The game is thriving up there so! We have around 80.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 13070 - 18/10/2023 17:13:53    2509105

Replying To galway19:  "I know Sarsfields had a team in Junior F which would be their fourth team. Coincidentally, they had 42 players listed on the programme last weekend in the senior semi final."
Thanks

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 13070 - 18/10/2023 17:15:29    2509106

Replying To galway19:  "Turlough 7/4 to lift the cup is a mighty price."
Yes, sure is. Put 10 euro on it and you lose a tenner!

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1931 - 18/10/2023 20:36:39    2509144

Replying To katser:  "Sure I was going back to Eyrecourt with a wagon load of big bullocks and driving through Mullagh I was trying to avoid Green and White flags everywhere...... flags up high on Telegraph poles one nearly hit my big Scania!!!"
Ah Katser, you seem to have an awful problem with Green and white flags

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4433 - 18/10/2023 21:00:35    2509146

Why is it a coincidence that 42 players listed on senior team and them fielding a fourth team?

anotheralias (Galway) - Posts: 912 - 19/10/2023 08:33:40    2509163

Replying To katser:  "Sure I was going back to Eyrecourt with a wagon load of big bullocks and driving through Mullagh I was trying to avoid Green and White flags everywhere...... flags up high on Telegraph poles one nearly hit my big Scania!!!"
A load of bullocks Katser! Nothing new there! ;)

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1849 - 19/10/2023 08:42:17    2509165

Replying To Oldtourman:  "Ah Katser, you seem to have an awful problem with Green and white flags"
:-D

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 13070 - 19/10/2023 10:13:26    2509173

Replying To clare_sparrow:  "Im only having a laugh. You'd want to lighten up. Mullagh lads are always the first to dish it out when they get the opportunity."
I'm not from Mullagh so I wouldn't know what they 'dish out' or not, I'm sure they are as good/bad as anyone else on that front.

But don't lecture me about 'lightening up'. You could do with 'lightening up' yourself, if you're going to have a cut off people enjoying a good year for their club.

Tell us your club then, so we can have a bit of a laugh, since you're all lightened up, so it won't bother you ;)

Stool Pigeon (Galway) - Posts: 882 - 19/10/2023 12:49:17    2509225

Replying To katser:  "The only chokers yesterday were the town! How many Finals and Semi Finals have Loughrea choked!!
Really fancy Turlough to win the Final."
Katser you seem to hate SOUTH GALWAY worse than LIMERICK. Hon Thomas'.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2198 - 19/10/2023 22:14:45    2509328

Replying To Trump2020:  "Katser you seem to hate SOUTH GALWAY worse than LIMERICK. Hon Thomas'."
I have nothing but admiration for St.Thomas', what that Club has achieved in the last 10yrs is OUTSTANDING, but I have fancied Turloughmore to win the Co.Cup from the start this year!
Who could believe that a team which couldn't beat Gort in the group game "could" win the title!

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2401 - 20/10/2023 16:27:50    2509497

Last big Fixtures of the Club action next Weekend
Saturday 28th Duggan Park Ballinasloe 2pm
Intermediate Final
Tynagh/Abbey-Duniry v Ballindeereen.......................TAD

Saturday 28th Duggan Park Ballinasloe 3.45pm
Senior B Final (Replay)
Mullagh v Ahascragh-Fohenagh..................................Mullagh

Sunday 29th Pearce Stadium Salthill
Senior Co. Final
Turloughmore v St.Thomas'........................................Turlough

Their could be 10,000 at the exciting double header Saturday in the grand Old formidable Duggan Park!

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2401 - 20/10/2023 16:38:11    2509499

Replying To Trump2020:  "I'd favor Thomas's but very close. A point or two. You've been right a lot this year so I wouldn't be shocked if you were right about this too. Loughrea and Clarenbridge are my biggest disappointments of this year's Championship."
Indeed! She's great on the club scene, but should stay away from the Inter-county stuff! That's for the big wans!

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 2053 - 20/10/2023 23:58:30    2509526

Replying To katser:  "I have nothing but admiration for St.Thomas', what that Club has achieved in the last 10yrs is OUTSTANDING, but I have fancied Turloughmore to win the Co.Cup from the start this year!
Who could believe that a team which couldn't beat Gort in the group game "could" win the title!"
Good point. Yeah should be a great match.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2198 - 21/10/2023 11:56:01    2509542

Minor A final tomorrow in Salthill with Clarinbridge going for the minor and u20 double and three minors in four years. Niland still eligible for this grade and scored 4-14 himself in the semi final win over Athenry. Facing a good Oranmore team with the Keadys, Colm Burke, Thomas Blake. Should be a good game.

galway19 (Galway) - Posts: 739 - 21/10/2023 13:01:58    2509553

Replying To katser:  "Last big Fixtures of the Club action next Weekend
Saturday 28th Duggan Park Ballinasloe 2pm
Intermediate Final
Tynagh/Abbey-Duniry v Ballindeereen.......................TAD

Saturday 28th Duggan Park Ballinasloe 3.45pm
Senior B Final (Replay)
Mullagh v Ahascragh-Fohenagh..................................Mullagh

Sunday 29th Pearce Stadium Salthill
Senior Co. Final
Turloughmore v St.Thomas'........................................Turlough

Their could be 10,000 at the exciting double header Saturday in the grand Old formidable Duggan Park!"
You're expecting lots of neutrals then? The combined population of the 4 teams is probably less than 4k I would think.

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1931 - 21/10/2023 18:31:04    2509580