Galway Hurling thread

No Diarmuid Byrnes or Declan Hannon.... if the Galway half forward line can't impress tomorrow they'll have no chance at the business end of the year.

Armchairreporter (Galway) - Posts: 81 - 25/02/2023 17:06:40    2460123

Replying To Armchairreporter:  "No Diarmuid Byrnes or Declan Hannon.... if the Galway half forward line can't impress tomorrow they'll have no chance at the business end of the year."
I'm sure the lads Limerick bring in as replacements for them two won't be too bad either. Either way you have a valid point and this is why these matches are so valuable.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2218 - 26/02/2023 12:26:49    2460219

Replying To foreveryoung:  "Surely you're missing an 'e'? Didn't you mean "with McManus, Collins, O'Shea as impact subs to come in and finish the wine in style"?

And I'm sure those young lads would just lash it in to them!"
Better keep them on the 7-Up for another while, Katser!

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 2069 - 26/02/2023 17:36:45    2460352

Terrible first half yesterday with no clear game plan. Some awful ball going into the forward line but there were some players who have played themselves out of the team for later in the year. Flynn again showed nothing and was off at half time, could be his last starting action for a while although none of the half forward line won any ball really.

Padraig Mannion is in a horrid stretch of form with a load of slow, poor touches yesterday after having a woeful game against Cork. Hopefully it's just a blip and not a downturn in his game. Grealish was having a tough first half before Morrissey came on and shut down Shane O'Brien. Thought TJ done ok at the back as well.

I'd be worried for later in the year that we will still end up relying on players that we know aren't good enough and the style of play is still a long way off resembling even a Leinster winning team. Bad news with injuries with Cathal Mannion out for two months and Eanna Murphy still dealing with a concussion. Daithi is back training and so is Ronan Glennon. Would expect to see a few more of the Thomas' lads for the last two league games.

Team I'd be going with for Clare and it wouldn't be far off the team to play the first Championship game:

Eanna Murphy (Mark Fahy if not fit in two weeks time)

Morrissey
Daithi
TJ Brennan

Killeen
McInerney
Fintan Burke

Monaghan
Joseph Cooney

Fahy
Whelan
Conor Cooney

Concannon
Kevin Cooney
Niland

galway19 (Galway) - Posts: 764 - 27/02/2023 12:06:21    2460620

Replying To galway19:  "Terrible first half yesterday with no clear game plan. Some awful ball going into the forward line but there were some players who have played themselves out of the team for later in the year. Flynn again showed nothing and was off at half time, could be his last starting action for a while although none of the half forward line won any ball really.

Padraig Mannion is in a horrid stretch of form with a load of slow, poor touches yesterday after having a woeful game against Cork. Hopefully it's just a blip and not a downturn in his game. Grealish was having a tough first half before Morrissey came on and shut down Shane O'Brien. Thought TJ done ok at the back as well.

I'd be worried for later in the year that we will still end up relying on players that we know aren't good enough and the style of play is still a long way off resembling even a Leinster winning team. Bad news with injuries with Cathal Mannion out for two months and Eanna Murphy still dealing with a concussion. Daithi is back training and so is Ronan Glennon. Would expect to see a few more of the Thomas' lads for the last two league games.

Team I'd be going with for Clare and it wouldn't be far off the team to play the first Championship game:

Morrissey
Daithi
TJ Brennan

Killeen
McInerney
Fintan Burke

Monaghan
Joseph Cooney

Fahy
Whelan
Conor Cooney

Concannon
Kevin Cooney
Niland"
I like that team you put up there. I was suggesting before the Limerick match that Jason Flynn off the bench may be better late in matches as defenders are somewhat worn out a bit. I'm glad we are playing another tough team in Clare as it will expose what needs to be exposed. Galway Abu!

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2218 - 27/02/2023 13:21:46    2460648

Replying To Trump2020:  "I like that team you put up there. I was suggesting before the Limerick match that Jason Flynn off the bench may be better late in matches as defenders are somewhat worn out a bit. I'm glad we are playing another tough team in Clare as it will expose what needs to be exposed. Galway Abu!"
I hope they are not the 6 forwards come championship, if so we can all book our holidays around the 23rd of July and go abroad.

Armchairreporter (Galway) - Posts: 81 - 27/02/2023 15:23:20    2460707

Replying To galway19:  "Terrible first half yesterday with no clear game plan. Some awful ball going into the forward line but there were some players who have played themselves out of the team for later in the year. Flynn again showed nothing and was off at half time, could be his last starting action for a while although none of the half forward line won any ball really.

Morrissey
Daithi
TJ Brennan

Killeen
McInerney
Fintan Burke

Monaghan
Joseph Cooney

Fahy
Whelan
Conor Cooney

Concannon
Kevin Cooney
Niland"
Id have a similar team also. Conor Cooney & Niland would be the only 2 id have question marks over. Mannion is an aweful loss. Id still stick with McManus though ahead of C Cooney. We have a major lack of decent forwards. O'Shea & Collins would be good at minor maybe but they too small for this craic. Pity too.

clare_sparrow (Galway) - Posts: 436 - 27/02/2023 15:54:52    2460727

Replying To clare_sparrow:  "Id have a similar team also. Conor Cooney & Niland would be the only 2 id have question marks over. Mannion is an aweful loss. Id still stick with McManus though ahead of C Cooney. We have a major lack of decent forwards. O'Shea & Collins would be good at minor maybe but they too small for this craic. Pity too."
Mmmmmmm....pretty good at Minor alright, winning 5 of 6 titles 2015-2020.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3830 - 27/02/2023 16:09:49    2460739

Replying To clare_sparrow:  "Id have a similar team also. Conor Cooney & Niland would be the only 2 id have question marks over. Mannion is an aweful loss. Id still stick with McManus though ahead of C Cooney. We have a major lack of decent forwards. O'Shea & Collins would be good at minor maybe but they too small for this craic. Pity too."
I know its a bit of a cliché but Its crazy to think that with all the minor winning teams Galway have had in the last decade or so that our only real top senior intercounty forward and the only Galway forward that opposition teams worry about consistently re scoring / setting up scores is Conor Whelan! That is especially true since JC's retirement - something is wrong somewhere in the system as that is not good enough. Yesterday's game lacked any intensity, tough tackling and all the things you want to see in a game. Galway were just like spectators watching Limerick "tip-tapping" around weaving their "pretty little triangles" before the ball was "handpassed" (often thrown IMO) to a player in space and then "bang over the bar" as Cyril Farrell would say. I am getting tired of watching it at this stage (nearly 5 years now) and Galway's lethargy / inaction to stop it at source was "sickening to the gills" as Joe Connolly would say!

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3470 - 27/02/2023 16:19:56    2460745

Not a great game of hurling yesterday, overall Limerick were the better team and deserved the win. Lots of talk about Hayes hit which I wont go into. But something else I notice about Hayes , he takes a lot of steps with the ball and more often than not gets away with it. Counted 3-4 times he over carried but got away with it.

BostonGuy (Galway) - Posts: 129 - 27/02/2023 16:44:57    2460761

Replying To Armchairreporter:  "I hope they are not the 6 forwards come championship, if so we can all book our holidays around the 23rd of July and go abroad."
Fair enough but who would you prefer?

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2218 - 27/02/2023 17:42:44    2460787

Replying To BostonGuy:  "Not a great game of hurling yesterday, overall Limerick were the better team and deserved the win. Lots of talk about Hayes hit which I wont go into. But something else I notice about Hayes , he takes a lot of steps with the ball and more often than not gets away with it. Counted 3-4 times he over carried but got away with it."
True. But u can put Concannon into the mix for blatant overcarrying too

Shocs07 (Limerick) - Posts: 374 - 27/02/2023 17:46:44    2460790

Replying To BostonGuy:  "Not a great game of hurling yesterday, overall Limerick were the better team and deserved the win. Lots of talk about Hayes hit which I wont go into. But something else I notice about Hayes , he takes a lot of steps with the ball and more often than not gets away with it. Counted 3-4 times he over carried but got away with it."
Your only noticing now!

UtahBlaine (Galway) - Posts: 147 - 27/02/2023 19:41:42    2460818

Replying To tommy k:  "I know its a bit of a cliché but Its crazy to think that with all the minor winning teams Galway have had in the last decade or so that our only real top senior intercounty forward and the only Galway forward that opposition teams worry about consistently re scoring / setting up scores is Conor Whelan! That is especially true since JC's retirement - something is wrong somewhere in the system as that is not good enough. Yesterday's game lacked any intensity, tough tackling and all the things you want to see in a game. Galway were just like spectators watching Limerick "tip-tapping" around weaving their "pretty little triangles" before the ball was "handpassed" (often thrown IMO) to a player in space and then "bang over the bar" as Cyril Farrell would say. I am getting tired of watching it at this stage (nearly 5 years now) and Galway's lethargy / inaction to stop it at source was "sickening to the gills" as Joe Connolly would say!"
Jaysus, I am only warming up to watching it at this stage (nearly 5 years now) and long may Limerick's dominance continue. But I'll be the first man to shake the hand of any friend of mine from the county that is good enough to dethrone the great champions!

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 2069 - 27/02/2023 20:17:59    2460826

Why won't you go into Hayes hit? If it were rugby he'd be banned for 6 months!

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1849 - 27/02/2023 20:30:29    2460829

Replying To tommy k:  "I know its a bit of a cliché but Its crazy to think that with all the minor winning teams Galway have had in the last decade or so that our only real top senior intercounty forward and the only Galway forward that opposition teams worry about consistently re scoring / setting up scores is Conor Whelan! That is especially true since JC's retirement - something is wrong somewhere in the system as that is not good enough. Yesterday's game lacked any intensity, tough tackling and all the things you want to see in a game. Galway were just like spectators watching Limerick "tip-tapping" around weaving their "pretty little triangles" before the ball was "handpassed" (often thrown IMO) to a player in space and then "bang over the bar" as Cyril Farrell would say. I am getting tired of watching it at this stage (nearly 5 years now) and Galway's lethargy / inaction to stop it at source was "sickening to the gills" as Joe Connolly would say!"
in fairness Tom Monaghan has stepped it up in the last couple of games also so he would be another probable starting forward this year.

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3470 - 27/02/2023 21:25:42    2460843

Replying To baire:  "Why won't you go into Hayes hit? If it were rugby he'd be banned for 6 months!"
As Mannion would for his strike on Lynch. Ridiculous rule alright. Of course the Mannion was never shown on RTe 2 highlights, but it was on TG4 Highlights Programma.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4458 - 28/02/2023 07:30:06    2460846

Replying To Trump2020:  "Fair enough but who would you prefer?"
As I stated in an earlier post Galway are ok from 1-8 but its from there on the quality is just not there for 6 top forwards. Top club players but intercounty is a serious step up. Galway definitely can't afford to play two free takers.

Armchairreporter (Galway) - Posts: 81 - 28/02/2023 07:32:36    2460847

Did you count every other players steps

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4458 - 28/02/2023 07:33:03    2460848

Replying To foreveryoung:  "Jaysus, I am only warming up to watching it at this stage (nearly 5 years now) and long may Limerick's dominance continue. But I'll be the first man to shake the hand of any friend of mine from the county that is good enough to dethrone the great champions!"
Exactly. Too much complaining from a few Galway men . We have won no minor since 84- yes we have won ,6 U21s, but Galway have won more of them also yet they have hone 33 years with just one AI, despite having the second highest hurling population in the country. The simple fact is more needs to be done to capitalize on those gone under age teams you have. Limerick will be gone in a few years as we simply do have the numbers playing the game to maintain this level of performance.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4458 - 28/02/2023 07:41:59    2460850