Galway Hurling thread

Replying To foreveryoung:  "Indeed, and Galway have always had a healthy representation on UL teams, so it's kind of surprising that some folk on here see UL as being anti-Galway and love to see them being bate! Same in the Sigerson, more Galway players on the UL team than Limerick players (one only)."
One folk rather than some folk, and it's not surprising at all if you've read his previous posts.
He tends to have a blindspot when it comes to anything Limerick, as well as Sarsfields locally. Maybe its the green and white.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2147 - 19/02/2023 09:32:39    2458959

Replying To WanPintWin:  "One folk rather than some folk, and it's not surprising at all if you've read his previous posts.
He tends to have a blindspot when it comes to anything Limerick, as well as Sarsfields locally. Maybe its the green and white."
"Maybe its the green and white.".
Interesting theory.
Wonder what his thoughts are on Ballyhale Shamrocks?

skillet (Limerick) - Posts: 1103 - 19/02/2023 11:24:22    2458980

Replying To foreveryoung:  "Sure UG have fellas from Roscommon, Sligo, Leitrim, Mayo and even down from Donegal attending, so you can't really claim that UL has more counties to pick from!

Anyway, fine display by UL and Mikey Kiely for a fine biteen of a tressing for Galway +1. Long may Limerick success continue!"
Finished ET win over Cork in Barefield on Thursday night at 9pm or so, leaving 40 hours to prepare for a final fixed in Waterford at 1pm Saturday. Tight turnaround met big ask there.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3830 - 19/02/2023 16:41:52    2459059

Replying To skillet:  ""Maybe its the green and white.".
Interesting theory.
Wonder what his thoughts are on Ballyhale Shamrocks?"
Wouldn't say he'd like them either tbh!!!!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 13343 - 19/02/2023 17:58:20    2459110

Replying To Oldtourman:  "Just a small point. Cork have been running teams into the ground for years in the National League. Last year they destroyed Limerick below in the Gaelic Grounds and got to the Final but were destroyed thereafter. Do you really think Connor Lehane will get 2.3 against major opposition in the Championship
Maybe but it will make him an overnight success in his eleventh year in Senior
Championship Hurling"
Cork are the February All Ireland Champions every year

Lehane is done, for all the waffle about Cork it's still far from unlikely that come championship they will start a game with Harnedy, Horgan and Lehane occupying three of the starting 6 spots.

In that event, does anyone seriously see them being around at the sharp end, especially without O'Flynn if he doesn't return in decent nick in the near future?

Stool Pigeon (Galway) - Posts: 889 - 22/02/2023 15:31:35    2459787

Hopefully we will see a big crowd in Salthill on Sunday to give Limerick a rattle. I'd expect plenty of changes from the Cork game and would hope to see Tiernan Killeen, Donal O'Shea and Liam Collins given a chance from the start. I think we will likely see Fintan Burke, Shane Cooney and Conor Cooney involved as well.

galway19 (Galway) - Posts: 764 - 23/02/2023 09:48:50    2459834

Hopefully we won't see J Cooney at no 6..........as the Kinvara man said Lehane is "done " and he got 2-03 of Cooney the last day which speaks for it self!
C Cooney straight away in for K Cooney and I'd try F Burke corner back for Morrissey.

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2431 - 23/02/2023 11:03:49    2459855

Replying To galway19:  "Hopefully we will see a big crowd in Salthill on Sunday to give Limerick a rattle. I'd expect plenty of changes from the Cork game and would hope to see Tiernan Killeen, Donal O'Shea and Liam Collins given a chance from the start. I think we will likely see Fintan Burke, Shane Cooney and Conor Cooney involved as well."
Hopefully the likes of Tiernan Killeen will have recovered from his Fitzgibbon Cup exploits, and if not, I hope he is rested. Heard fellas dismissing Evan Niland for the county this year because he had a poor game in the Fitzgibbon final apparently. Crazy talk....players are not machines but the way some people go on you would think they were. Some players have been playing at least 2 games a week for club and county over the past 4 to 6 weeks . No wonder loss of form and injuries hapoen with such a punishing schedule.

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1946 - 23/02/2023 13:34:55    2459887

Replying To PoolSturgeon:  "Hopefully the likes of Tiernan Killeen will have recovered from his Fitzgibbon Cup exploits, and if not, I hope he is rested. Heard fellas dismissing Evan Niland for the county this year because he had a poor game in the Fitzgibbon final apparently. Crazy talk....players are not machines but the way some people go on you would think they were. Some players have been playing at least 2 games a week for club and county over the past 4 to 6 weeks . No wonder loss of form and injuries hapoen with such a punishing schedule."
Niland is fine to fill in for free taking duties while Conor Cooney was being rested but no point playing Niland when Cooney is back as he offers very little from play unfortunately due to his small build

John Doe (Galway) - Posts: 235 - 24/02/2023 08:59:45    2459953

Replying To John Doe:  "Niland is fine to fill in for free taking duties while Conor Cooney was being rested but no point playing Niland when Cooney is back as he offers very little from play unfortunately due to his small build"
What exactly does Conor Cooney offer?. His free taking is terrible and he offers less from play?.
I was doing a count last year and Cooney scored roughly 8 points from play in 6 games which included a "fill your boots" match against a minnow in Leinster.
For the 8 odd points he scored he hit about 24 wides from play, missed penalties and put some shocking frees wide.
Don't remember him catching a single puck out either.

He didn't exactly cover himself in glory against the Ulster club team either in a much lower level recently, the only players we'll get from Thomas's now are the backs - Cooney and Burke.

Niland deserves a run at it, his free taking is a level about the rest and he'll put a shift in, Ive seen enough of Conor Cooney strolling around at half pace, hitting awful wides and generally doing nothing of note to last a lifetime at this stage.

Gilberto_Eire (Galway) - Posts: 77 - 24/02/2023 10:17:51    2459963

Replying To Gilberto_Eire:  "What exactly does Conor Cooney offer?. His free taking is terrible and he offers less from play?.
I was doing a count last year and Cooney scored roughly 8 points from play in 6 games which included a "fill your boots" match against a minnow in Leinster.
For the 8 odd points he scored he hit about 24 wides from play, missed penalties and put some shocking frees wide.
Don't remember him catching a single puck out either.

He didn't exactly cover himself in glory against the Ulster club team either in a much lower level recently, the only players we'll get from Thomas's now are the backs - Cooney and Burke.

Niland deserves a run at it, his free taking is a level about the rest and he'll put a shift in, Ive seen enough of Conor Cooney strolling around at half pace, hitting awful wides and generally doing nothing of note to last a lifetime at this stage."
Has to be said from the outside looking in I wouldn't have Conor Cooney as the nailed on starter lads up your way think he is.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 13343 - 24/02/2023 10:56:18    2459971

Hopefully C Mannions hamstring is ok,
I'd like to see starting in the Forwards.......J Flynn, E Niland, C Mannion, C Whelan, C Cooney, B Concannon with McManus, Collins, O'Shea as impact subs to come in and finish the win in style.

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2431 - 24/02/2023 11:02:50    2459975

Replying To katser:  "Hopefully C Mannions hamstring is ok,
I'd like to see starting in the Forwards.......J Flynn, E Niland, C Mannion, C Whelan, C Cooney, B Concannon with McManus, Collins, O'Shea as impact subs to come in and finish the win in style."
Wouldn't Jason Flynn be better off the bench? He's a hell of a weapon late in a game when defenders are tired and worn out.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2218 - 24/02/2023 11:39:23    2459983

Replying To Trump2020:  "Wouldn't Jason Flynn be better off the bench? He's a hell of a weapon late in a game when defenders are tired and worn out."
Limerick's defenders don't tire or wear out though, which has been a serious issue for the non Limerick hurling world 2018-20?? .

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3830 - 24/02/2023 12:01:57    2459989

Replying To Trump2020:  "Wouldn't Jason Flynn be better off the bench? He's a hell of a weapon late in a game when defenders are tired and worn out."
I'd rather start him, Mcmanus, Collins or O'Shea would be Leathal Weapons 1, 2 and 3 respectively to bring on.......Young fit skillful lads determined to impress to get on the starting 15.

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2431 - 24/02/2023 12:46:44    2459995

Replying To katser:  "I'd rather start him, Mcmanus, Collins or O'Shea would be Leathal Weapons 1, 2 and 3 respectively to bring on.......Young fit skillful lads determined to impress to get on the starting 15."
Yeah. It's a good problem to have I guess. At least we have choices. I'm glad we are playing Limerick this weekend. These are the kind of matches we need to figure out who our best options are. Fair play to Cork for exposing us.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2218 - 24/02/2023 15:44:15    2460025

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "Limerick's defenders don't tire or wear out though, which has been a serious issue for the non Limerick hurling world 2018-20?? ."
Well yes they are the Gold Standard Right now. All the more reason to have fresh options late in games against the likes of Limerick.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2218 - 24/02/2023 15:47:02    2460027

Replying To katser:  "Hopefully C Mannions hamstring is ok,
I'd like to see starting in the Forwards.......J Flynn, E Niland, C Mannion, C Whelan, C Cooney, B Concannon with McManus, Collins, O'Shea as impact subs to come in and finish the win in style."
Surely you're missing an 'e'? Didn't you mean "with McManus, Collins, O'Shea as impact subs to come in and finish the wine in style"?

And I'm sure those young lads would just lash it in to them!

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 2069 - 24/02/2023 19:06:37    2460058

Replying To Viking66:  "Has to be said from the outside looking in I wouldn't have Conor Cooney as the nailed on starter lads up your way think he is."
Thing about it is, Cooney has been the best forward by some distance in the Galway club championship for the past couple of years. Therein lies the problem. I agree, he shouldn't be a nailed on starter for the county based on his performances in the maroon but in reality he probably will.

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1946 - 25/02/2023 09:50:21    2460085

Replying To PoolSturgeon:  "Thing about it is, Cooney has been the best forward by some distance in the Galway club championship for the past couple of years. Therein lies the problem. I agree, he shouldn't be a nailed on starter for the county based on his performances in the maroon but in reality he probably will."
I guess they have Cooney in there mostly for his free taking ability.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2218 - 25/02/2023 17:03:52    2460122