Wexford Clare

Replying To Ban:  "I thought Davy was staying one year too many. To be fair, the Kilkenny game proved otherwise. They were very unfortunate to lose that game in normal time.
They could have been playing for provincial glory this Saturday but now they are playing to stay in the Championship! How fine the margins can be!"
They could, but they needed a panel rather than a team to do that. That is not today or yesterday's problem.
Fine margins indeed.

StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 1732 - 15/07/2021 15:54:23    2360158

Replying To StoreysTash:  "I have no use for the side show that has become Wexford and Clare managers.
We will need a better performance than last year, there is no doubt about that.
If we can stop the Clare forwards scoring, and put a leash on TK, I give us a chance.
It is possibly Davy's last hurrah if we lose, but maybe it is time for change."
ye need to stop TK as a first priority. Davy loves him so much he gave him the freedom of the park the last 2 championship games we have played.

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2479 - 15/07/2021 16:54:00    2360174

Replying To StoreysTash:  "They could, but they needed a panel rather than a team to do that. That is not today or yesterday's problem.
Fine margins indeed."
Think Clare are heading down the same path we went down. Alot of their comments on their forums sounds just like we did 10 years ago. And still do to an extent. Poorly organised underage leads onto a lack of well developed hurlers coming up. No good just having natural talent unfortunately there is so much more to senior intercounty hurling these days.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11864 - 15/07/2021 17:13:07    2360180

Replying To Ban:  "I thought Davy was staying one year too many. To be fair, the Kilkenny game proved otherwise. They were very unfortunate to lose that game in normal time.
They could have been playing for provincial glory this Saturday but now they are playing to stay in the Championship! How fine the margins can be!"
"They were very unfortunate to lose that game in normal time."? They didn't lose the game in normal time.

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2466 - 15/07/2021 20:16:04    2360219

Replying To Greengrass:  "It's an "if" but if Galway hit top form they are a better outfit than either Clare or Wexford."
And with most likely KK and Lk waiting in the Quarter Finals hopefully Galway can squeeze into the Quarter Finals too but it will take a huge effort for Galway to get there.

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2198 - 15/07/2021 20:55:51    2360230

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  ""They were very unfortunate to lose that game in normal time."? They didn't lose the game in normal time."
Calm down

Patchin (Clare) - Posts: 36 - 15/07/2021 21:06:09    2360233

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "ye need to stop TK as a first priority. Davy loves him so much he gave him the freedom of the park the last 2 championship games we have played."
Prediction - You'll be on here giving out after Clare lose a tight game and Lee Chin and Rory O Connor et al run the Clare half back line and John Conlon ragged.

LarryOBrother (Wexford) - Posts: 409 - 16/07/2021 17:17:11    2360469

When will the teams be named

Patchin (Clare) - Posts: 36 - 16/07/2021 17:47:16    2360474

Replying To Patchin:  "When will the teams be named"
Knowing Davy probably just as Fergal Horgan is throwing the ball in

ChinCanHurl (Wexford) - Posts: 260 - 16/07/2021 18:42:44    2360484

Replying To Patchin:  "When will the teams be named"
Last minute job with the 2 lads who are managing the 2 teams. I'd be very surprised if there are many changes on either side from the last day once there were no injuries since. Whatever team is named......

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11864 - 16/07/2021 19:19:05    2360488

Replying To katser:  "I would love to get Wexford in Round 2 but ,unfortunately it's Clare to win.
In my opinion Clare have the better team and I expect them to win by 6pts."
Ok it wasn't by 6pts, but that's the Banner safely through!

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2198 - 17/07/2021 15:16:24    2360695

Replying To katser:  "Ok it wasn't by 6pts, but that's the Banner safely through!"
Helps with the worst refereeing performance of the year

HurlingBuzz (Wexford) - Posts: 473 - 17/07/2021 15:21:43    2360700

Well done to the ref today,got both calls spot on,the sky sports guys trying to say he was wrong.

cityman73 (Limerick) - Posts: 775 - 17/07/2021 15:22:49    2360703

Replying To katser:  "Ok it wasn't by 6pts, but that's the Banner safely through!"
3 point margin at the end, Lee Chin's late goal not enough. Clare's good start was the deciding factor.

MicktheMiller (Offaly) - Posts: 421 - 17/07/2021 15:24:05    2360705

Wow! Mystic Meg is among us. Pick a winner between 2 teams and your telling everyone you told them so.
God help us.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 17/07/2021 15:30:10    2360710

Replying To HurlingBuzz:  "Helps with the worst refereeing performance of the year"
He had a great game,well done ref, didn't fall for the diving.

cityman73 (Limerick) - Posts: 775 - 17/07/2021 15:33:03    2360712

Replying To HurlingBuzz:  "Helps with the worst refereeing performance of the year"
Come out of the fog. Ref was spot on today bar a couple of relatively minor calls.

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2479 - 17/07/2021 15:43:09    2360715

great win for clare but wexford didnt help themselves with stupid tactics. rory o connor as shown in the replay took a dive . also matt o hanlon lucky not to get a second yellow when he pulled shanagher bk when through on goal.

munsterchamps (Limerick) - Posts: 1097 - 17/07/2021 15:49:03    2360721

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "Come out of the fog. Ref was spot on today bar a couple of relatively minor calls."
Fully agree with you,can't fault him.

cityman73 (Limerick) - Posts: 775 - 17/07/2021 15:59:10    2360728

Delighted for Clare, super win for them. Wexford are horrible to watch. Hopefully that's the end of Davy down there and they can get somebody progressive in. There's plenty of talent there.
Davy got 5 years and won one leinster title, that's very poor return.

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1909 - 17/07/2021 16:05:21    2360732