Wexford Clare

Replying To Bon:  "Delighted for Clare, super win for them. Wexford are horrible to watch. Hopefully that's the end of Davy down there and they can get somebody progressive in. There's plenty of talent there.
Davy got 5 years and won one leinster title, that's very poor return."
I'm not his biggest fan but I think that might be a bit too hard on Davy. They were at nothing when he took over. Couldn't get out of division 2. Promotion and a provincial title isn't that bad considering they were in with Kilkenny and a Galway team who were good enough to win an All-Ireland.
All that said, I feel he over thinks it sometimes and tries to be too clever. This maybe the cause to a dreadful start today.

Ban (Westmeath) - Posts: 1415 - 17/07/2021 16:23:03    2360737

Replying To Ban:  "I'm not his biggest fan but I think that might be a bit too hard on Davy. They were at nothing when he took over. Couldn't get out of division 2. Promotion and a provincial title isn't that bad considering they were in with Kilkenny and a Galway team who were good enough to win an All-Ireland.
All that said, I feel he over thinks it sometimes and tries to be too clever. This maybe the cause to a dreadful start today."
Wexford won three Leinster U21 hurling titles in a row 2013-2015 so there were players coming through for Davy when he took over. I agree with Ban. His record in Wexford is not good enough and they'd be better off making a change.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2164 - 17/07/2021 16:34:03    2360740

Replying To Ban:  "I'm not his biggest fan but I think that might be a bit too hard on Davy. They were at nothing when he took over. Couldn't get out of division 2. Promotion and a provincial title isn't that bad considering they were in with Kilkenny and a Galway team who were good enough to win an All-Ireland.
All that said, I feel he over thinks it sometimes and tries to be too clever. This maybe the cause to a dreadful start today."
Your 100% right ban he is trying to be too clever with all these tactics.....is say no one else in the wexford setup gets any decent input. Wexford have plenty good hurlers if he may let them hurl.....if you watch him today sitting down in the stand beside a girl with a laptop nice and calm . 10 minutes later jumping around the sideline roaring. I'm sure there are plenty level headed shrewd men in wexford could do the job.....

munsterchamps (Limerick) - Posts: 1097 - 17/07/2021 16:34:35    2360741

To be fair though a squad that has been on the go for 5 years should have been more than capable of getting over the line against a very average Kilkenny team. Same as today, a very very average Clare team and Wexford looked clueless at the best of time against them.

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1909 - 17/07/2021 16:46:37    2360747

Replying To Bon:  "To be fair though a squad that has been on the go for 5 years should have been more than capable of getting over the line against a very average Kilkenny team. Same as today, a very very average Clare team and Wexford looked clueless at the best of time against them."
Only time will tell how good kk and Clare are as Wexford are obviously very poor in most hurling peoples opinions. I sat in nowlan park before he arrived and watched pretty much a younger version of that team getting annihilated by kk. He has brought them to a competitive place. The hurling world is small and we don't want it to get any smaller by letting Wexford slip down the leagues, had he not arrived that may well have happened. However, I am sure Wexford will do what's best for hurling in Wexford in the coming months. There are certain pundits that will have a go at Davy no matter where he goes and maybe he does bring it on himself.From a Clare point of view you can read it whatever way choose to but he was your last successful all Ireland winning manager.

bottletopbill (Wexford) - Posts: 71 - 17/07/2021 17:10:17    2360755

Replying To LarryOBrother:  "Prediction - You'll be on here giving out after Clare lose a tight game and Lee Chin and Rory O Connor et al run the Clare half back line and John Conlon ragged."
Mystic Meg is safe enough yet

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2479 - 17/07/2021 18:43:40    2360782

Replying To Bon:  "To be fair though a squad that has been on the go for 5 years should have been more than capable of getting over the line against a very average Kilkenny team. Same as today, a very very average Clare team and Wexford looked clueless at the best of time against them."
By your definition is everyone outside of say Limerick average?

Kilkenny are very average and Clare are very very average? So who are above average? Cork? what have Cork done? Galway who lost to Dublin? Tipperary who needed the worst refereeing decision in modern hurling history to beat clare?

Clare have played super stuff in championship so far beating last years all Ireland finalists in the opening round and yet we are very very average? I'll tell you one thing, there is genuinely only 1 team in Ireland I think we would really struggle against and that's Limerick. This very very average Clare team could beat any of the other teams.

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2479 - 17/07/2021 18:49:48    2360787

Replying To bottletopbill:  "Only time will tell how good kk and Clare are as Wexford are obviously very poor in most hurling peoples opinions. I sat in nowlan park before he arrived and watched pretty much a younger version of that team getting annihilated by kk. He has brought them to a competitive place. The hurling world is small and we don't want it to get any smaller by letting Wexford slip down the leagues, had he not arrived that may well have happened. However, I am sure Wexford will do what's best for hurling in Wexford in the coming months. There are certain pundits that will have a go at Davy no matter where he goes and maybe he does bring it on himself.From a Clare point of view you can read it whatever way choose to but he was your last successful all Ireland winning manager."
Also the only clare man ever to win all Irelands as a player and manager

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1708 - 17/07/2021 19:02:51    2360797

If you talk to people from Clare who know their stuff they will tell you Davy has gone way, way down in their estimations and he has brought an awful lot of it on himself now. You can only play the victim card the once or twice. He is just hard to listen to at this stage.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7896 - 17/07/2021 20:19:16    2360818

Tried to mention something about Davy at last year's Wexford Clare game during the week but of course censorship was in full swing and it wasn't left on the thread. I never liked Davy after the way he conducted himself against us in 2006 abusing Mike O'Brien from his goal and against Shane Dowling in 2012 when he was Clare manager but James Ryan wasn't long quieting him there. Fair play to Paul Galvin saying as it is on Fintan O'Tooles Twitter. There is more than 1 reason why he is not wanted back at Clare and I hope this is the last we will see him as an inter-county manager. Fair enough he has done well in Waterford, Clare and Wexford I'll give him that but his antics on line and the way he conducts himself he is not a good look for the GAA, don't give me this passion b.s either it's all shapeing and showing off for the camera's.

DUALSUPPORT (Limerick) - Posts: 1038 - 17/07/2021 23:14:05    2360881

Replying To DUALSUPPORT:  "Tried to mention something about Davy at last year's Wexford Clare game during the week but of course censorship was in full swing and it wasn't left on the thread. I never liked Davy after the way he conducted himself against us in 2006 abusing Mike O'Brien from his goal and against Shane Dowling in 2012 when he was Clare manager but James Ryan wasn't long quieting him there. Fair play to Paul Galvin saying as it is on Fintan O'Tooles Twitter. There is more than 1 reason why he is not wanted back at Clare and I hope this is the last we will see him as an inter-county manager. Fair enough he has done well in Waterford, Clare and Wexford I'll give him that but his antics on line and the way he conducts himself he is not a good look for the GAA, don't give me this passion b.s either it's all shapeing and showing off for the camera's."
In fairness James Ryan should have got a 6 month ban for what he did that day. Not even a card if I remember correctly. No idea how he got anyway with that. Davy had the last laugh though winning promotion that year.

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2479 - 18/07/2021 04:46:43    2360927

Replying To Bon:  "Delighted for Clare, super win for them. Wexford are horrible to watch. Hopefully that's the end of Davy down there and they can get somebody progressive in. There's plenty of talent there.
Davy got 5 years and won one leinster title, that's very poor return."
We have only won 1 other Leinster in the last 24 years. And Galway are in Leinster now. With a team most have agreed is 1 of the top 2 or 3 in the country during Davys tenure so far. I'm happy to have won the 1 in 2019 tbh.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11864 - 18/07/2021 23:00:30    2361447

Replying To cityman73:  "He had a great game,well done ref, didn't fall for the diving."
You must be applauding the ref after a fine performance yesterday.

HurlingBuzz (Wexford) - Posts: 473 - 19/07/2021 09:16:12    2361504

Replying To endgame:  "Wexford won three Leinster U21 hurling titles in a row 2013-2015 so there were players coming through for Davy when he took over. I agree with Ban. His record in Wexford is not good enough and they'd be better off making a change."
This sums up the feeling down here over the weekend too.

StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 1732 - 19/07/2021 12:06:50    2361610

Replying To Ban:  "Seemingly Brian Lohan has been saying mean things about Wexford and when the gates open on Saturday the Yellow Bellies will be like wild horses taking to the field! Well at least that's what Davy is probably saying to the lads this week..!

A draw after 70 minutes. Clare will have 7 men sin-binned in extra time, all for fouls at the corner flag at a time when they had 14 men behind the ball. Wexford will run out of steam though and Clare will pull away and win 5-55 to 4-39"
actually a bit of research woulden't go astray before you post he said nothing at all bout wexford merely questioned why Two Clare Players were names as close contacts yet the WX players shared a dressing room Hotel Transport ect

clooney (Clare) - Posts: 888 - 19/07/2021 12:42:27    2361631

Clare the better team no qualms here best of luck to Clare against Cork.

I think Cork will come through that game after a dogged battle

hurlorhurley (Wexford) - Posts: 1660 - 19/07/2021 13:01:23    2361654

Replying To StoreysTash:  "This sums up the feeling down here over the weekend too."
Not everywhere in the county Storeystash. We have to be careful what we wish for. If we cut Davy loose and end up settling for someone unproven like Eddie Brennan we could go backwards very quickly

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11864 - 19/07/2021 13:19:54    2361679

Replying To clooney:  "actually a bit of research woulden't go astray before you post he said nothing at all bout wexford merely questioned why Two Clare Players were names as close contacts yet the WX players shared a dressing room Hotel Transport ect"
Its definitely wrong the 2 Clare lads were deemed close contacts noone down here has ever disagreed with that Clooney

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11864 - 19/07/2021 13:21:39    2361683

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "In fairness James Ryan should have got a 6 month ban for what he did that day. Not even a card if I remember correctly. No idea how he got anyway with that. Davy had the last laugh though winning promotion that year."
No Id disagree there. James Ryan did the right thing that day. He saw a problem (Davy) and he solved the problem.. Davy went down like ----

bloodyban (Limerick) - Posts: 1710 - 19/07/2021 13:57:43    2361711

Replying To clooney:  "actually a bit of research woulden't go astray before you post he said nothing at all bout wexford merely questioned why Two Clare Players were names as close contacts yet the WX players shared a dressing room Hotel Transport ect"
My post wasn't meant to be taken seriously clooney. Kind of a piss take on Davy's motivational antics..

I watched most of the game. Clare are a different team this year. The Cork game is a massive test. We should be in for another great weekend of hurling.

Ban (Westmeath) - Posts: 1415 - 19/07/2021 14:36:30    2361721