Galway V Mayo

Replying To WanPintWin:  "On the booing/cheering issue. We're getting all kinds of mixed seafóid now.
What people complained about in the U20 game was the booing of a freetaker as he was lining up his shot. I do think this is poor form, from whichever supporters do it, and wouldn't be a regular occurrence at GAA games, from my experience.
Cheering a lad kicking a wide has been happening for as long as I've been going to games. It happens after the shot has been taken, so it's not off-putting to the kicker."
I only remember Galway fans jeering once in the first half, it was for that Mayo wide out near the Hogan Stand directly in front of a big group of Galway supporters. There may have been more but maybe I was getting lost in the euphoria of that first half performance so I may have blocked it out!!

ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1568 - 27/07/2021 16:14:10    2364779

Replying To the_walls:  "I was roaring for Galway in that hurling final and I don't know of any of my friends who were cheering for Waterford."
Galway all the way in the hurling from Roscommon people as well.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2154 - 27/07/2021 16:14:26    2364780

Replying To xxx:  "Best of luck in the ulster final next Sunday."
There's another similarity for you, the 1966, 1951, stuff that's trotted out every year England/Mayo are in the finals of a tournament. 70 years since mayo won Sam.
I venture to say it's going to be along time till they win it again, if ever.
Still though they given us great entertainment over the years, it wouldn't be the same without them.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2739 - 27/07/2021 18:53:37    2364839

Replying To yew_tree:  "Mayo aren't respected. You have to win an all Ireland before you get respect and the perception changes.

If mocking us makes people feel better and distract from their own counties failures so be it. A bit like the few Galway fans laughing coming out of Croker saying ye still won't win Sam and Galway will win it before ye...."
I have to disagree with you Yew tree. I get your point in a way but I know for a fact that Mayo are respected big time by Kerry and Dublin. I know years back they were nt really respected and maybe because they did nt win all ireland but I know Kerry respect Mayo big time since 2014 and we were beaten by Mayo in 17 semi. I remember many Kerry fans delighted we got home venue v Mayo in 2019 supr 8s.Also I live and work in Dublin and while Kerry used to be the team Dubs were always wary off it changed to Mayo after 15 semi in particular. Mayo gave Dubs plenty of it in 16 and 17 and so unlucky too and that has earned big respect.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3673 - 27/07/2021 21:29:17    2364892

Replying To Belclare:  "Didn't travel but watched in TV..
The Mayo booing came across fairly loud didn't hear any Galway. I'm not saying there wasn't one or two but Mayo fans in abundance are always at it..
Anyways that's enough.. we move on with life.."
good man to be fair it was only there own team they could boo in the 2nd half .no county is without a few bad supporters I can tell u as I go to every match pre covid

mayo_123 (Mayo) - Posts: 240 - 27/07/2021 23:03:08    2364925

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "I have to disagree with you Yew tree. I get your point in a way but I know for a fact that Mayo are respected big time by Kerry and Dublin. I know years back they were nt really respected and maybe because they did nt win all ireland but I know Kerry respect Mayo big time since 2014 and we were beaten by Mayo in 17 semi. I remember many Kerry fans delighted we got home venue v Mayo in 2019 supr 8s.Also I live and work in Dublin and while Kerry used to be the team Dubs were always wary off it changed to Mayo after 15 semi in particular. Mayo gave Dubs plenty of it in 16 and 17 and so unlucky too and that has earned big respect."
Spot on Mick!

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 27/07/2021 23:05:01    2364926

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "I have to disagree with you Yew tree. I get your point in a way but I know for a fact that Mayo are respected big time by Kerry and Dublin. I know years back they were nt really respected and maybe because they did nt win all ireland but I know Kerry respect Mayo big time since 2014 and we were beaten by Mayo in 17 semi. I remember many Kerry fans delighted we got home venue v Mayo in 2019 supr 8s.Also I live and work in Dublin and while Kerry used to be the team Dubs were always wary off it changed to Mayo after 15 semi in particular. Mayo gave Dubs plenty of it in 16 and 17 and so unlucky too and that has earned big respect."
Dublin fans probably so respect us due to recent battles. The game atmosphere has been toxic at times but I never witnessed it before or after games and Mayo/Dublin fans on very well in my experience.

Kerry and Mayo fans also have a hood relationship but I noticed some of them spit towards us when we beat them in 2017.

Every other county sees us a joke but I don't rally care anymore. We keep coming back and trying. That's all I'll ever ask of any Mayo player and team. If we are good enough great...if we aren't then we aren't.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 28/07/2021 00:37:56    2364938

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "There's another similarity for you, the 1966, 1951, stuff that's trotted out every year England/Mayo are in the finals of a tournament. 70 years since mayo won Sam.
I venture to say it's going to be along time till they win it again, if ever.
Still though they given us great entertainment over the years, it wouldn't be the same without them."
Had a few fans from Donegal jeering me and my father one day saying we will never live to see Mayo win Sam (I might)....but little did they know my father was (and still is) suffers from cancer so may not see Mayo ever win Sam. Mayos runs late into the championship the past few years have kept him going so I consider them a success.

I've never written or wished ill luck on Donegal but you sir with you constant tirades against Mayo are firing at this stage. I suggest you get a hobby or even better a woman.

Any team or player who puts themselves out there and never gives up is not a loser, a bottler or whatever in books and I don't care what county they are from.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 28/07/2021 00:43:20    2364939

100% Mick

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8585 - 28/07/2021 00:57:49    2364941

Replying To yew_tree:  "Dublin fans probably so respect us due to recent battles. The game atmosphere has been toxic at times but I never witnessed it before or after games and Mayo/Dublin fans on very well in my experience.

Kerry and Mayo fans also have a hood relationship but I noticed some of them spit towards us when we beat them in 2017.

Every other county sees us a joke but I don't rally care anymore. We keep coming back and trying. That's all I'll ever ask of any Mayo player and team. If we are good enough great...if we aren't then we aren't."
Mayo are battle hardened and keep coming back like great warriors. People who spit are not fans they are scumbags end of and should nt be allowed near a gaa field.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3673 - 28/07/2021 15:11:17    2365131

Replying To yew_tree:  "Had a few fans from Donegal jeering me and my father one day saying we will never live to see Mayo win Sam (I might)....but little did they know my father was (and still is) suffers from cancer so may not see Mayo ever win Sam. Mayos runs late into the championship the past few years have kept him going so I consider them a success.

I've never written or wished ill luck on Donegal but you sir with you constant tirades against Mayo are firing at this stage. I suggest you get a hobby or even better a woman.

Any team or player who puts themselves out there and never gives up is not a loser, a bottler or whatever in books and I don't care what county they are from."
Now there's no need to be getting personal or bringing families into the thing is there? we all have families and there's health issues in every family so I don't see why you're playing the 'poor me' card.
Maybe take a wee break from the forum till the Dublin game sure. and I wish your dad all the best.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2739 - 28/07/2021 15:34:56    2365146

Replying To yew_tree:  "Dublin fans probably so respect us due to recent battles. The game atmosphere has been toxic at times but I never witnessed it before or after games and Mayo/Dublin fans on very well in my experience.

Every other county sees us a joke but I don't rally care anymore. We keep coming back and trying. That's all I'll ever ask of any Mayo player and team. If we are good enough great...if we aren't then we aren't."
I'd also say that I as a meath supporter have huge respect for Mayo. There's certain ex players and managers of Mayo (Mchale, Maughan and Carney) i have absolutely no time for and give Mayo a bad name for some of the whinging they've done over the years. But I know some Mayo people personally and have no issue with 99% of their fans. There's always that small minority how drag their own county down and there's nothing you can do about em. Mayo keep coming back year after year and challenging for it all. That is to be admired. I would say that Mayo get the absolute most out of themselves despite a relative lack of underage success.

Yew_tree in fairness to you you seem like a great knowledgeable gael, who anyone would enjoy a pre or post match pint and chat about the game.

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 28/07/2021 15:37:49    2365147

You say you saw Kerry supporter's spitting at Mayo fans U3 in 2017 well I also saw a Mayo supporter looked in his 50s run up 5 steps and spat at 2 middle aged Kerry supporter's who were just sitting down talking minding their own business, it was filthy, I never mentioned it on here after the game as I didn't want it to sound like sour grapes but since you mentioned it I said I'd do the same.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 28/07/2021 15:38:28    2365149

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "You say you saw Kerry supporter's spitting at Mayo fans U3 in 2017 well I also saw a Mayo supporter looked in his 50s run up 5 steps and spat at 2 middle aged Kerry supporter's who were just sitting down talking minding their own business, it was filthy, I never mentioned it on here after the game as I didn't want it to sound like sour grapes but since you mentioned it I said I'd do the same."
KB i don't think there's anyone right in the scenario. As we say there's less than 1% of all teams fanbases (Mayo, Kerry, Dublin, Meath etc who give everyone else a bad name) I don't think yew_tree was saying the whole Kerry fan base are animals just what he saw, the same as yourself above. Two wrongs don't make a right.

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 28/07/2021 16:07:31    2365166

Replying To brian:  "KB i don't think there's anyone right in the scenario. As we say there's less than 1% of all teams fanbases (Mayo, Kerry, Dublin, Meath etc who give everyone else a bad name) I don't think yew_tree was saying the whole Kerry fan base are animals just what he saw, the same as yourself above. Two wrongs don't make a right."
I agree with you Brian, there are always a few supporters from every county that go too far at games, iv seen an ould lad from my own county go hand to hand combat with another ould lad from limerick at the Gaelic grounds 1 day, it's was hilarious though.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 28/07/2021 16:23:48    2365179

I can tell you there are plenty in Galway who respect Mayo. Some who might not admit, but they absolutely do. I've tended to watch most All-Ireland finals not involving Galway (which has been every football one for the past 20 years) back at the family home.
You might be surprised by the scenes when watching Mayo finals over the past decade. The devastation at the end of some of those matches wasn't far off Galway losing again to Kilkenny in a final.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2034 - 28/07/2021 17:27:22    2365198

https://www.rte.ie/player/series/the-sunday-game-live/SI0000001909?epguid=IH000402822

55min: 13 seconds roughly.

Who grabs who first?

Shane Walsh that's who.

O'Hora jogging past him, did he need to pull him to the ground? i'm not sure but Shane Walsh instigated it regardless

Where is that Galway poster that said 'O'hora snook up behind him and slammed him to the floor' ?????

nicko94 (Mayo) - Posts: 68 - 28/07/2021 18:01:11    2365212

Replying To brian:  "KB i don't think there's anyone right in the scenario. As we say there's less than 1% of all teams fanbases (Mayo, Kerry, Dublin, Meath etc who give everyone else a bad name) I don't think yew_tree was saying the whole Kerry fan base are animals just what he saw, the same as yourself above. Two wrongs don't make a right."
True Brian. Two wrongs def don't make a right. I have net bad supporters from many counties including my own but aas a rule most are grand. Meath supporters had a bad name Brian but I must admit I always found them to be a decent bunch. The worst I came across was in croke park a few years ago from a county that don't play there too often. I was a neutral at the game but was kind of taken aback by them. I won't name the county as I'm sure most of their supporters are good and I just came across an over cited group.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3673 - 28/07/2021 18:45:01    2365229

Replying To nicko94:  "https://www.rte.ie/player/series/the-sunday-game-live/SI0000001909?epguid=IH000402822

55min: 13 seconds roughly.

Who grabs who first?

Shane Walsh that's who.

O'Hora jogging past him, did he need to pull him to the ground? i'm not sure but Shane Walsh instigated it regardless

Where is that Galway poster that said 'O'hora snook up behind him and slammed him to the floor' ?????"
O'Hora ran to him when he had an acre of space to go around him. O'Hora was out of position completely, ran to our star performer who was destroying the Mayo defence at the time to draw him into your standard tussle, (happens all over the field all the time, unfortunately). However, the significant difference here is that a trained mixed martial arts fighter - a recognised jiu jitsu and karate competitor deliberately went to employ his 'skills' on a pretty much unsuspecting Gaelic footballer used to a bit of jersey tugging. O'Hora's martial arts skills only have a place on the mats, in supervised bouts, where the opponent knows the rules of engagement. That particular throw, even on mats, applies a massive impact to the shoulder. To do this on the field of play in the GAA is a whole other matter. He should receive a ban imo. Horan and McDonald are staying oblivious too. Poor form.

togoutlads (Galway) - Posts: 898 - 28/07/2021 18:49:51    2365231

Correction lads: not spit but noticed a "split" towards us in the way once we beat them in 2017 we weren't their favourite other team anymore. It's easy to like a team you keep beating. Jesus I'm embarrassed.

Apologies Kerry fans. I've never been spit at at you or any set of fans for that matter. I won't blame auto correct I'll try and re read what I type in future.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 28/07/2021 18:58:51    2365232