Galway V Mayo

Replying To togoutlads:  "I think we should. Sadly and tellingly on their part, we would never get this in return."
'Sadly and tellingly on their part, we would never get this in return' based on ? exactly just your negative presumption ....

I'd 100% support Galway if they bet us the last day...why wouldn't we support our western neighbours?

nicko94 (Mayo) - Posts: 68 - 27/07/2021 12:20:37    2364653

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Mayo would crap the togs against Kerry, game would be over by the first water break. Now if the Ulster champs beat Kerry then that's a whole new ball game."
Another Donegal user continuing this recent trend of just being embarrassingly begrudging.

So with that same type of mentality ill use it myself ..... so when was the last time Donegal were any ways relevant come championship again? 2014? Jesus that's a mightily long transition going on there lads. Ye big yourselfs up based on league form every year when the big boys in League one are peaking for august...a time of year your players are well off on their holidays.

Your last two Ulster titles came against FERMANAGH and CAVAN... some level of football up there over the years...and it shows come the business end of the championship.

Lemme fix your remark continuing to use your negative begrudging mentality ..

'The ulster champions*** would crap the togs against Kerry, game would be over by the first water break'

nicko94 (Mayo) - Posts: 68 - 27/07/2021 12:34:47    2364656

Replying To mayo_123:  "was the galway fans cheering the mayo wides in the first half okay with u since u have such a gripe about it I didnt think they did such a thing"
Didn't travel but watched in TV..
The Mayo booing came across fairly loud didn't hear any Galway. I'm not saying there wasn't one or two but Mayo fans in abundance are always at it..
Anyways that's enough.. we move on with life..

Belclare (Galway) - Posts: 904 - 27/07/2021 12:36:54    2364657

Replying To nicko94:  "'Sadly and tellingly on their part, we would never get this in return' based on ? exactly just your negative presumption ....

I'd 100% support Galway if they bet us the last day...why wouldn't we support our western neighbours?"
Yup, would be happy enough to support the Galwegians in the hurling or if we go out of the football early. Same goes for any Connacht side other than the Rossies (and I'd say the feeling is mutual there).

Alas, from what I hear from Mayo people based in Galway this is not generally reciprocated around All-Ireland final time if we're in it, pubs full of locals shouting for Dublin and whatnot.

Que sera sera.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 27/07/2021 12:41:29    2364660

Replying To ponga:  "Should be an inquest into queues at Tesco on a Saturday morning, far rougher but my missus told me to toughen up."
Very good - Your comment reminds me of the media circus after the famous 1998 Munster hurling final replay. There was a proper schemozzle which started even before the throw in between Clare & Waterford with wild swings and red cards etc. The media were looking for comments/ condemnation and sought out the opinion of the last surviving member of the 1932 Clare team [the last time Clare won Munster before the 90's ]
He reckoned that he often 'saw more hitting on a Sunday morning coming after the 2nd mass in Crusheen'.

timmyhogan (UK) - Posts: 290 - 27/07/2021 12:43:27    2364662

Replying To Belclare:  "Didn't travel but watched in TV..
The Mayo booing came across fairly loud didn't hear any Galway. I'm not saying there wasn't one or two but Mayo fans in abundance are always at it..
Anyways that's enough.. we move on with life.."
'The Mayo booing came across fairly loud didn't hear any Galway. I'm not saying there wasn't one or two but Mayo fans in abundance are always at it..''

So as you sit there listening to your TV... you can distinguish between a Mayo/Galway person's boos

Very impressive Belclare

nicko94 (Mayo) - Posts: 68 - 27/07/2021 12:47:09    2364665

Replying To togoutlads:  "I think we should. Sadly and tellingly on their part, we would never get this in return."
You're right there, in the hurling in 2017 any Mayo man I knew were backing Waterford. Sad as I think for the most part we would back them in an AI final even if we should know better.

Anyway may as well draw a line under this thread, good luck to Mayo, if you do manage to bridge the gap then I'll be happy for you,

See you in 2022 please God.

ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1571 - 27/07/2021 13:17:26    2364688

Replying To togoutlads:  "Not one Galway fan cheered a Mayo wide where we were sat in the hogan. Not one. Meanwhile Mayo fans were at their usual boo boy nonsense for the first few mins and I believe when they saw we weren't at it in return, it died away and the banter and craic came back in the stand. Had some brilliant chats with Mayo proper sporting people and some hilarious, simple, good natured banter back and forth. It was like the old days! Best of luck, I fear Kerry will be the force this year but sport is funny."
Absolute delusional, head in the sand nonsense. Have you watched the Sunday Game since? I recorded the game and watched it again. Things can always sound worse if things like that are localised to the area you are sitting in so without watching the Sunday Game I would have with held judgment on that basis, but it was as clear as day on the telly. It doesn't actually particularly bother me personally. I wouldn't do it myself but as long as someone isn't roaring in my face about it I don't care if the opposition wants to cheer a Mayo wide. But what I do care about is lads like you having a go at Mayo fans while wilfully ignoring the same behaviour from your own fans. Go watch the Sunday Game again there and try keep a straight face while telling me Galway fans weren't cheering Mayo wides in the first half. It's literally undeniable unless you want to ignore the evidence of your own senses. I'm sure it's on the Player if you don't have it recorded. 27:57, Tommy Conroy hits a wide, to cheers from the crowd. Maybe it was Mayo fans trying to blacken the reputation of Galway fans.

the_walls (Mayo) - Posts: 495 - 27/07/2021 13:19:19    2364691

Replying To Belclare:  "Didn't travel but watched in TV..
Anyways that's enough.. we move on with life.."
Mayo and booing that cant be right. Martin Carney wouldn't have heard it. He had selective hearing a few years ago losing his marbles when clowns of our fans booed Andy Moran but somehow didn't hear or pretended not to hear Mayo fans boo every free taker who lined one up for us.
The reality is booing is pathetic but the minority of every teams fans do it. To claim they don't ever is a lie.

sourmilk93 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1144 - 27/07/2021 13:48:53    2364707

Replying To ahsure.:  "You're right there, in the hurling in 2017 any Mayo man I knew were backing Waterford. Sad as I think for the most part we would back them in an AI final even if we should know better.

Anyway may as well draw a line under this thread, good luck to Mayo, if you do manage to bridge the gap then I'll be happy for you,

See you in 2022 please God."
I was roaring for Galway in that hurling final and I don't know of any of my friends who were cheering for Waterford.

the_walls (Mayo) - Posts: 495 - 27/07/2021 13:53:50    2364711

Suppose the truth is the All Ireland run in wouldn't be the same without the Mayo factor, bit like England in the soccer finals, lots of similarities among the boo boy fans too.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2745 - 27/07/2021 13:57:38    2364714

Replying To tommy132:  "When ye realise ye are not 'Elite' anymore, and that ye need more than tradition, then ye might be able to compete with the top teams.."
If we are going by Senior All Ireland's won....Wexford have 5 All Ireland's in football don't they? Are they elite? Tyrone with only three like ourselves must not be an elite county either. Donegal with a mere two...

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11229 - 27/07/2021 14:20:37    2364722

Replying To the_walls:  "Absolute delusional, head in the sand nonsense. Have you watched the Sunday Game since? I recorded the game and watched it again. Things can always sound worse if things like that are localised to the area you are sitting in so without watching the Sunday Game I would have with held judgment on that basis, but it was as clear as day on the telly. It doesn't actually particularly bother me personally. I wouldn't do it myself but as long as someone isn't roaring in my face about it I don't care if the opposition wants to cheer a Mayo wide. But what I do care about is lads like you having a go at Mayo fans while wilfully ignoring the same behaviour from your own fans. Go watch the Sunday Game again there and try keep a straight face while telling me Galway fans weren't cheering Mayo wides in the first half. It's literally undeniable unless you want to ignore the evidence of your own senses. I'm sure it's on the Player if you don't have it recorded. 27:57, Tommy Conroy hits a wide, to cheers from the crowd. Maybe it was Mayo fans trying to blacken the reputation of Galway fans."
Stephen Coen got the biggest cheer of the day for his wife form a mark by Galway fans. Anyway every county as a set of clowns...we have our fair share. The bigger your support too the more boo boys you will have.

Injured players on both sides all received a round of applause from both sets of fans so the majority of fans are sound. We had great craic with the Galway lads in the Hoganstand pub before and after the game. They took defeat well and there was no over celebrating from Mayo people either.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11229 - 27/07/2021 14:25:51    2364726

Replying To avonali:  "Why do people have to be so disrespectful to another county with phrases like "crap in the in their shorts" etc? It's as if AS if a team's failure to win showed some weakness of character. Honestly Mayo gave us some great finals over the last few years and they will give Kerry a good contest as they did in 2014. They were the one team who could put it up to Dublin in an All-Ireland final and they were a feared and respected team who put us to the pin of our collar. They had the beating of Dublin in 2016 only for two freakish own goals..Those own goals had nothing to do with a loss of nerve. A team that keeps coming back like they do has remarkable character and to suggest otherwise is simply not fair.
How would you have responded if people had characterised Donegal's loss in 2014 to Kerry in similar terms. You could argue Durcan completely cracked on that kick out and gifted Kerry the title."
Without a doubt your best ever post Avonali. Unfortunatly it won't stop the whingers and begrudgers.

cluichethar (Mayo) - Posts: 454 - 27/07/2021 14:31:11    2364728

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Suppose the truth is the All Ireland run in wouldn't be the same without the Mayo factor, bit like England in the soccer finals, lots of similarities among the boo boy fans too."
Best of luck in the ulster final next Sunday.

xxx (Mayo) - Posts: 1275 - 27/07/2021 14:32:24    2364729

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Suppose the truth is the All Ireland run in wouldn't be the same without the Mayo factor, bit like England in the soccer finals, lots of similarities among the boo boy fans too."
Tirchonaill1's comments are some of the absolute worst going..

I'd love to see the man behind the comments. The most spiteful begrudger I've noticed on this forum by a country mile.

nicko94 (Mayo) - Posts: 68 - 27/07/2021 15:18:56    2364757

Replying To nicko94:  "Tirchonaill1's comments are some of the absolute worst going..

I'd love to see the man behind the comments. The most spiteful begrudger I've noticed on this forum by a country mile."
He'll clearly never get over his wife running away with a Mayo buck.

AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 27/07/2021 15:38:32    2364762

Replying To nicko94:  "Tirchonaill1's comments are some of the absolute worst going..

I'd love to see the man behind the comments. The most spiteful begrudger I've noticed on this forum by a country mile."
Oh he hasn't a clue that lad, On another thread a few weeks ago when I said Tyrone were imo better than Donegal he replied you could write what I know about football on the back of a stamp. Needless to say he hasn't addressed me since they lost to Tyrone.

sourmilk93 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1144 - 27/07/2021 15:41:12    2364763

Replying To TheFlaker:  "We won it in 59? Class."
I think Belclare gets his facts from the dark web... the dark web of his own mind! Accuracy is merely optional.

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 27/07/2021 15:47:57    2364766

On the booing/cheering issue. We're getting all kinds of mixed seafóid now.
What people complained about in the U20 game was the booing of a freetaker as he was lining up his shot. I do think this is poor form, from whichever supporters do it, and wouldn't be a regular occurrence at GAA games, from my experience.
Cheering a lad kicking a wide has been happening for as long as I've been going to games. It happens after the shot has been taken, so it's not off-putting to the kicker.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2039 - 27/07/2021 15:51:50    2364769