Derry V Donegal

Replying To Dubh_linn:  "Think it is very unfair that a team that lost today by a point are in the same position and gone from the competition as a team that lost by 24 points and were never at the races."
It's called a knockout competition.

Denmark and Spain are in the same position now as North Macedonia and Turkey.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 11/07/2021 21:58:37    2358787

I thought Derry deserved to be given that penalty and Donegal are brilliant with Murphy but ordinary without him.
Derry had that game for the taking but needed that bit of luck and proper decision making.

border Gael (Monaghan) - Posts: 894 - 11/07/2021 22:03:44    2358791

Replying To P.Mckenna:  "Have to say I agree. Derry would have been a great addition to a back door competition"
Ulster teams would have dominated the super 8's,tough one on Derry with no second chance but they are a real team and will do well in div 2 no doubt, heading for div1.
All Ireland series as it is suits Dublin Kerry and Mayo, Ulster teams are at a serious disadvantage having come through a bruising competitive Ulster campaign, at the same time I wouldn't swap Ulster for anything.
Really looking forward to next Sunday now.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2745 - 11/07/2021 22:17:43    2358796

I was apprehensive before this game. I thought it would go to the wire, and I was right. Hard luck Derry. Very brave effort. We were in serious trouble and would have been beaten had that goal chance been converted. Good going our lads. Delighted that Niall O'Donnell came of age today. Likewise Langan. Hopefully we can bring this spirit to the next game and put it up to Tyrone.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 11/07/2021 23:00:53    2358803

Firstly, hard luck to Derry and Rory Gallagher. It was the best championship performance by Derry against us in a good while. I think they last beat us in 2008? Rory gets a lot of stick for his approach but he has a lot of good players there now and it would have been very interesting to see them go on a qualifier run. I think if we had the old style qualifiers they would definitely have been in the mix for a quarter final spot. With a wee bit more experience they could have engineered a free at the end, or at least someone to have the composure to land an equalizer from play.

We were very sloppy and lethargic for much of the game and I feared it was going the way of the 2020 Ulster final. The game seemed to be passing a lot of our lads by and only for the likes of O'Donnell stepping up when needed we were gone. I suppose credit has to go to Derry too for the jobs they did on McHugh and McBrearty. Paddy landed the big score when needed though so fair play to him.

Tyrone will be another step up and if we sleep walk through that we'll definitely be gone. I see McShane is back in action so that'll be a big addition for them. We've had their measure for the last few meetings but noone will be under any illusions as to the size of the task ahead. I think we'll need Murphy to start and MacNiallais possibly. A couple of very good semi finals with Armagh and Monaghan being evenly matched as well.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9128 - 12/07/2021 09:21:26    2358850

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Gradually coming to your side? I would have said Mayo should beat Galway before this conversation. Same way I said they should beat them last year. Gradually coming to your side? Lol."
I hope after watching yesterdays game Flaker that you'll now understand that my assessment was in fact the correct one.

On reflection, maybe the only ones who underestimated Derry and Ulster football was yourself and regandgreen.

AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 12/07/2021 12:41:42    2358970

Replying To greatpoint:  "Dublin and Kerry in joint first? Come on now. It's the same every year with the media and Kerry, don't fall for it."
I don't pay a bit of heed to the media when it comes to assessing a team, I'm assuming you feel Dublin are miles ahead of Kerry.

If you look at Dublin as being 100, where do you see Kerry, Mayo and Donegal, Galway, Tyrone and Monaghan ?

AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 12/07/2021 13:23:30    2358988

Replying To AfricanGael:  "I hope after watching yesterdays game Flaker that you'll now understand that my assessment was in fact the correct one.

On reflection, maybe the only ones who underestimated Derry and Ulster football was yourself and regandgreen.
"
You really don't get it. Donegal were poor but they won. Tyrone won handy. Derry have improved, they lost to an underperforming Donegal team. Let's see what happens next year. You are a tremendous fan of your own analysis. I look forward to reading your predictions for the rest of the games.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7887 - 12/07/2021 13:35:43    2358991

Replying To TheFlaker:  "
Replying To AfricanGael:  "I hope after watching yesterdays game Flaker that you'll now understand that my assessment was in fact the correct one.

"
You really don't get it. Donegal were poor but they won. Tyrone won handy. Derry have improved, they lost to an underperforming Donegal team. Let's see what happens next year. You are a tremendous fan of your own analysis. I look forward to reading your predictions for the rest of the games."
I'll tell you what I'm a fan of, people with balls who can admit when they get something wrong, they are the real men here, very few and far between though.

Read Paddy Power, he seems to be your man for predictions.

AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 12/07/2021 13:49:08    2358999

I have to admit I enjoyed the Donegal Derry game for excitement although it was like a basketball game as BBC commentator said with lots of holding possession and keep ball. I was impressed with Derry but hats off to Donegal who showed great calmness to come back fromm 4 down in 2nd half. Congrats to both teams.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3674 - 12/07/2021 14:11:03    2359013

Replying To AfricanGael:  "
Replying To TheFlaker:  "[quote=AfricanGael:  "I hope after watching yesterdays game Flaker that you'll now understand that my assessment was in fact the correct one.

"
You really don't get it. Donegal were poor but they won. Tyrone won handy. Derry have improved, they lost to an underperforming Donegal team. Let's see what happens next year. You are a tremendous fan of your own analysis. I look forward to reading your predictions for the rest of the games."
I'll tell you what I'm a fan of, people with balls who can admit when they get something wrong, they are the real men here, very few and far between though.

"]Ah lads … leave it out .. leave the point scoring to the players… enjoy the games.

Curlew66 (Roscommon) - Posts: 505 - 12/07/2021 14:11:34    2359014

Really enjoyed this game yesterday. I thought Derry were the better team, but 3 or 4 goal chances and didn't take any of them. I think McBreartys point was the first time Donegal led in the whole match. Chrissy McKaigue was outstanding as usual, best man marker in the country.  Hopefully the Derry lads stay at it and push for an Ulster title next year. They have lots of good underage teams coming through too.
I thought Langan and O'Donnell showed great leadership for Donegal. They have so many threats all over the field and they showed good character to come back. I think Mogan is a big miss for them

97Cavans (Cavan) - Posts: 317 - 12/07/2021 14:20:51    2359016

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "I have to admit I enjoyed the Donegal Derry game for excitement although it was like a basketball game as BBC commentator said with lots of holding possession and keep ball. I was impressed with Derry but hats off to Donegal who showed great calmness to come back fromm 4 down in 2nd half. Congrats to both teams."
Can you not get RTE in Dublin?

tireoghainabu (Tyrone) - Posts: 274 - 12/07/2021 14:35:20    2359024

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "I have to admit I enjoyed the Donegal Derry game for excitement although it was like a basketball game as BBC commentator said with lots of holding possession and keep ball. I was impressed with Derry but hats off to Donegal who showed great calmness to come back fromm 4 down in 2nd half. Congrats to both teams."
Hope ye enjoyed the half time panel reactions, Mc Hugh, Harte and Mc Conville, Jesus they really went to town on one another.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2010 - 12/07/2021 14:57:16    2359036

Replying To TheFlaker:  "[quote=AfricanGael:  "I hope after watching yesterdays game Flaker that you'll now understand that my assessment was in fact the correct one.

"

"]Your logic is a little flawed here. All week I argued with people saying there would be no shock in either game, and I said there was zero chance of a shock in the Tyrone game, zero chance. So is that not putting it out there and not sitting on the fence? As I said I look forward to your analysis and predictions or do you just waffle and tell people their analysis is wrong without actually predicting how the game will go?

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7887 - 12/07/2021 15:13:59    2359046

Replying To AfricanGael:  "[quote=TheFlaker:  "[quote=AfricanGael:  "I hope after watching yesterdays game Flaker that you'll now understand that my assessment was in fact the correct one.

"

"]Your logic is a little flawed here. All week I argued with people saying there would be no shock in either game, and I said there was zero chance of a shock in the Tyrone game, zero chance. So is that not putting it out there and not sitting on the fence? As I said I look forward to your analysis and predictions or do you just waffle and tell people their analysis is wrong without actually predicting how the game will go?"]I think you know as well as I do that the issue with parts of your post was the condescending and patronizing tone, it's very easy to knock a team down if it's yourself that puts them up on a pedestal.

I think Donegal are a good team but even playing at their best I do not think there is an All-Ireland in that current squad.

Do you think there is ?

AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 12/07/2021 15:48:35    2359066

Replying To AfricanGael:  "[quote=TheFlaker:  "[quote=AfricanGael:  "I hope after watching yesterdays game Flaker that you'll now understand that my assessment was in fact the correct one.

"

"]Your logic is a little flawed here. All week I argued with people saying there would be no shock in either game, and I said there was zero chance of a shock in the Tyrone game, zero chance. So is that not putting it out there and not sitting on the fence? As I said I look forward to your analysis and predictions or do you just waffle and tell people their analysis is wrong without actually predicting how the game will go?"]I did predict how the game would go, I said I believed Donegal would get over the line but wouldn't be surprised if they lost either, think it panned out that way.

I didn't even make a prediction for Tyrone v Cavan, not even worthy of a mention, you'd hardly expect brownie points for predicting Mayo would beat Leitrim would you.

AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 12/07/2021 16:00:40    2359075

Replying To TheFlaker:  "[quote=AfricanGael:  "[quote=TheFlaker:  "[quote=AfricanGael:  "I hope after watching yesterdays game Flaker that you'll now understand that my assessment was in fact the correct one.

"

"]Your logic is a little flawed here. All week I argued with people saying there would be no shock in either game, and I said there was zero chance of a shock in the Tyrone game, zero chance. So is that not putting it out there and not sitting on the fence? As I said I look forward to your analysis and predictions or do you just waffle and tell people their analysis is wrong without actually predicting how the game will go?"]I did predict how the game would go, I said I believed Donegal would get over the line but wouldn't be surprised if they lost either, think it panned out that way.

I didn't even make a prediction for Tyrone v Cavan, not even worthy of a mention, you'd hardly expect brownie points for predicting Mayo would beat Leitrim would you.
"]My point is there was no shock. You can talk about the good performance of Derry etc etc but there was no shock, end of story. Yet you are here saying I was proved wrong and hoped I was watching the game? Talking about the Mayo Leitrim game? Well you are just being childish again. Who talked about that pre game? Nobody.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7887 - 12/07/2021 16:18:49    2359084

Replying To AfricanGael:  "[quote=TheFlaker:  "[quote=AfricanGael:  "[quote=TheFlaker:  "[quote=AfricanGael:  "I hope after watching yesterdays game Flaker that you'll now understand that my assessment was in fact the correct one.

"

"]My point is there was no shock. You can talk about the good performance of Derry etc etc but there was no shock, end of story. Yet you are here saying I was proved wrong and hoped I was watching the game? Talking about the Mayo Leitrim game? Well you are just being childish again. Who talked about that pre game? Nobody."]You dismissed any prospect of Derry even having a chance, I think the game proved you wrong and I don't agree that it would have been a "shock" as you call it if Derry had won.

Sorry, but predicting Tyrone to beat Cavan isn't much above predicting that Mayo would beat Leitrim and that's why I wouldn't insult my own intelligence by even mentioning it.

So do you believe Donegal are good enough to win an All-Ireland playing at their best or not ?

AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 12/07/2021 16:36:41    2359092

Replying To TheFlaker:  "[quote=AfricanGael:  "[quote=TheFlaker:  "[quote=AfricanGael:  "[quote=TheFlaker:  "[quote=AfricanGael:  "I hope after watching yesterdays game Flaker that you'll now understand that my assessment was in fact the correct one.

"

"]My point is there was no shock. You can talk about the good performance of Derry etc etc but there was no shock, end of story. Yet you are here saying I was proved wrong and hoped I was watching the game? Talking about the Mayo Leitrim game? Well you are just being childish again. Who talked about that pre game? Nobody."]You dismissed any prospect of Derry even having a chance, I think the game proved you wrong and I don't agree that it would have been a "shock" as you call it if Derry had won.

Sorry, but predicting Tyrone to beat Cavan isn't much above predicting that Mayo would beat Leitrim and that's why I wouldn't insult my own intelligence by even mentioning it.

So do you believe Donegal are good enough to win an All-Ireland playing at their best or not ?"]It wouldn't have been a shock. Ah lads comedy stuff.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7887 - 12/07/2021 17:59:38    2359110