Derry V Donegal

Replying To TheFlaker:  "
Replying To AfricanGael:  "[quote=TheFlaker:  "[quote=AfricanGael:  "[quote=TheFlaker:  "[quote=AfricanGael:  "[quote=TheFlaker:  "[quote=AfricanGael:  "I hope after watching yesterdays game Flaker that you'll now understand that my assessment was in fact the correct one.

On reflection, maybe the only ones who underestimated Derry and Ulster football was yourself and regandgreen.
"
You really don't get it. Donegal were poor but they won. Tyrone won handy. Derry have improved, they lost to an underperforming Donegal team. Let's see what happens next year. You are a tremendous fan of your own analysis. I look forward to reading your predictions for the rest of the games."
I'll tell you what I'm a fan of, people with balls who can admit when they get something wrong, they are the real men here, very few and far between though.

Read Paddy Power, he seems to be your man for predictions.
"]Your logic is a little flawed here. All week I argued with people saying there would be no shock in either game, and I said there was zero chance of a shock in the Tyrone game, zero chance. So is that not putting it out there and not sitting on the fence? As I said I look forward to your analysis and predictions or do you just waffle and tell people their analysis is wrong without actually predicting how the game will go?"]I did predict how the game would go, I said I believed Donegal would get over the line but wouldn't be surprised if they lost either, think it panned out that way.

I didn't even make a prediction for Tyrone v Cavan, not even worthy of a mention, you'd hardly expect brownie points for predicting Mayo would beat Leitrim would you.
"]My point is there was no shock. You can talk about the good performance of Derry etc etc but there was no shock, end of story. Yet you are here saying I was proved wrong and hoped I was watching the game? Talking about the Mayo Leitrim game? Well you are just being childish again. Who talked about that pre game? Nobody."]You dismissed any prospect of Derry even having a chance, I think the game proved you wrong and I don't agree that it would have been a "shock" as you call it if Derry had won.

Sorry, but predicting Tyrone to beat Cavan isn't much above predicting that Mayo would beat Leitrim and that's why I wouldn't insult my own intelligence by even mentioning it.

So do you believe Donegal are good enough to win an All-Ireland playing at their best or not ?"]It wouldn't have been a shock. Ah lads comedy stuff."]What's the story with this same post recurring all the time.
Sure way to turn people of a forum.

Derryman2 (Derry) - Posts: 12 - 12/07/2021 20:39:09    2359155

Replying To Derryman2:  "
Replying To TheFlaker:  "[quote=AfricanGael:  "[quote=TheFlaker:  "[quote=AfricanGael:  "[quote=TheFlaker:  "[quote=AfricanGael:  "[quote=TheFlaker:  "[quote=AfricanGael:  "I hope after watching yesterdays game Flaker that you'll now understand that my assessment was in fact the correct one.

On reflection, maybe the only ones who underestimated Derry and Ulster football was yourself and regandgreen.
"
You really don't get it. Donegal were poor but they won. Tyrone won handy. Derry have improved, they lost to an underperforming Donegal team. Let's see what happens next year. You are a tremendous fan of your own analysis. I look forward to reading your predictions for the rest of the games."
I'll tell you what I'm a fan of, people with balls who can admit when they get something wrong, they are the real men here, very few and far between though.

Read Paddy Power, he seems to be your man for predictions.
"]Your logic is a little flawed here. All week I argued with people saying there would be no shock in either game, and I said there was zero chance of a shock in the Tyrone game, zero chance. So is that not putting it out there and not sitting on the fence? As I said I look forward to your analysis and predictions or do you just waffle and tell people their analysis is wrong without actually predicting how the game will go?"]I did predict how the game would go, I said I believed Donegal would get over the line but wouldn't be surprised if they lost either, think it panned out that way.

I didn't even make a prediction for Tyrone v Cavan, not even worthy of a mention, you'd hardly expect brownie points for predicting Mayo would beat Leitrim would you.
"]My point is there was no shock. You can talk about the good performance of Derry etc etc but there was no shock, end of story. Yet you are here saying I was proved wrong and hoped I was watching the game? Talking about the Mayo Leitrim game? Well you are just being childish again. Who talked about that pre game? Nobody."]You dismissed any prospect of Derry even having a chance, I think the game proved you wrong and I don't agree that it would have been a "shock" as you call it if Derry had won.

Sorry, but predicting Tyrone to beat Cavan isn't much above predicting that Mayo would beat Leitrim and that's why I wouldn't insult my own intelligence by even mentioning it.

So do you believe Donegal are good enough to win an All-Ireland playing at their best or not ?"]It wouldn't have been a shock. Ah lads comedy stuff."]What's the story with this same post recurring all the time.
Sure way to turn people of a forum."]Welcome to hell Derryman2.

There's fellas here who think they know everything but are unable to answer a yes or no question when they're put on the stand.

AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 12/07/2021 21:15:05    2359175

If Donegal don't replace most of their defence for the Tyrone game, they are in for a big hiding, and the end of Bonner as Manager.

jacktheboy (Donegal) - Posts: 404 - 12/07/2021 21:46:49    2359187

Replying To jacktheboy:  "If Donegal don't replace most of their defence for the Tyrone game, they are in for a big hiding, and the end of Bonner as Manager."
Who do you suggest they replace them with. Would love to hear your six.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2391 - 12/07/2021 21:56:53    2359193

Replying To jacktheboy:  "If Donegal don't replace most of their defence for the Tyrone game, they are in for a big hiding, and the end of Bonner as Manager."
That's a bit harsh.

I would have more confidence after the derry game than before it.

Derry were always going to be an awful team to beat. I genuinely feared them before the game and they could have beaten us. We really dug deep to get the result in the end. Deserved it? I am not sure. Neither team deserved to lose it but that is the harsh nature of knock out championship. I think that we won't leak a goal v Tyrone. I think that we will score what we need to against them. I am happy that we are playing tyrone before an ulster final, as they are almost impossible to beat in a final in Clones.

So let's see.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 12/07/2021 22:44:33    2359210

Whoever starts in defence has to start making a difference and get the tackles in. Paul Brennan has to start for me, looked like he had a point to prove when he came on, played well.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2739 - 12/07/2021 23:03:56    2359220

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Ulster teams would have dominated the super 8's,tough one on Derry with no second chance but they are a real team and will do well in div 2 no doubt, heading for div1.
All Ireland series as it is suits Dublin Kerry and Mayo, Ulster teams are at a serious disadvantage having come through a bruising competitive Ulster campaign, at the same time I wouldn't swap Ulster for anything.
Really looking forward to next Sunday now."
Ulster teams might have had the highest representation in a super 8 but none would be good enough to beat Kerry, Dublin or a full strength Mayo

Ulster teams have only qualified for 1 all Ireland final in the past 5 years since jimmy stopped winning matches.
Yes the Ulster championship is tough but it's tough because of the absence of a really top quality team
- a lot of good teams but not of the all Ireland winning standard

tirawleybaron (Mayo) - Posts: 1105 - 13/07/2021 03:56:45    2359244

Replying To tirawleybaron:  "Ulster teams might have had the highest representation in a super 8 but none would be good enough to beat Kerry, Dublin or a full strength Mayo

Ulster teams have only qualified for 1 all Ireland final in the past 5 years since jimmy stopped winning matches.
Yes the Ulster championship is tough but it's tough because of the absence of a really top quality team
- a lot of good teams but not of the all Ireland winning standard"
Mayo had a great run and maybe it was their best ever team over the years 2015 to 2019? They were unlucky to run into the best team ever to play football but for a bit of luck here and there could still have won an All Ireland. As things stand I can see five or maybe even six Ulster teams playing in Division 1 in the next year or two. As for the super 8's the set up of the draw makes it difficult for Ulster teams to have that number in a Super 8 series so I don't see Ulster teams totally dominating the participants.

I think Ulster football has had a fairly average decade; certainly from 2014, in terms of competing at the top, Mayo and Dublin were the best two teams by quite a distance. Kerry have replaced Mayo; Dublin and Kerry are now out at a completly different level and will stay ahead for the next number of years. As for Mayo they're a long way back, they're around the same level as three or four counties chasing, they won't play an Ulster team in this year's championship but when we get back to normal in 2022 there'll be a number of counties that will easily be able to compete with Mayo.

sam1884 (UK) - Posts: 999 - 13/07/2021 09:49:33    2359275

Replying To tirawleybaron:  "Ulster teams might have had the highest representation in a super 8 but none would be good enough to beat Kerry, Dublin or a full strength Mayo

I suppose you'd know all about winning All Ireland's in Mayo? what is it now 79 years or something? thanks for the entertainment though, the gift that keeps on giving.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2739 - 13/07/2021 11:02:23    2359302

Ulster football is a warzone. Donegal have been the best Ulster team since 2011 and have only made 2 AI finals. I know injuries are all part of the game but for the past number of years Donegal have had major injuries during the Ulster Championship and have gone into the AI series badly wounded. That's what Ulster does to you. Connaught on the other hand is different. Same for Leinster and Munster, in fact. Mayo have just beaten Sligo in a Connaught Quarter final. They then beat Leitrim in a Connaught semi final. These two teams are debatably the two worst teams in Ireland. Mayo could afford to play their u16 team against Leitrim on Sunday for crying out loud. My point is that the Ulster teams are battered by the time they get to face a fresh Kerry, Mayo, or Dublin. I'm sick of people saying Ulster is competitive but they are weaker than the top teams such as Dublin, Kerry, and Mayo. Have an open draw and we will soon see how strong Mayo are then.

MurphBalls (Donegal) - Posts: 178 - 13/07/2021 11:19:56    2359312

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "I suppose you'd know all about winning All Ireland's in Mayo? what is it now 79 years or something? thanks for the entertainment though, the gift that keeps on giving."
And yet we're still looking down on you on the All-Ireland roll of honour. Not just in terms of Sams but pretty much across every grade of football, U20/21s, minors, NFLs, All-Ireland club championships, Hogan Cups.

You stay salty, Tir Chonaill ;)

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 13/07/2021 11:20:52    2359313

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "I suppose you'd know all about winning All Ireland's in Mayo? what is it now 79 years or something? thanks for the entertainment though, the gift that keeps on giving."
Down have as many All-Irelands as Donegal and Mayo put together and they won them playing football with style and swagger so I wouldn't be getting too cocky with 2 All-Irelands in 130 years or whatever.

I think ye should both count yourselves very lucky to be even talking about contesting an All-Ireland, never mind winning it.

AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 13/07/2021 11:32:58    2359318

Replying To Gleebo:  "And yet we're still looking down on you on the All-Ireland roll of honour. Not just in terms of Sams but pretty much across every grade of football, U20/21s, minors, NFLs, All-Ireland club championships, Hogan Cups.

You stay salty, Tir Chonaill ;)"
Aye Mayo have some record alright, lost 10 All Ireland finals in a row, a feat never to be equalled, fair play.
Can't be many still alive down there who rem Mayo winning an All ireland now?

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2739 - 13/07/2021 11:36:37    2359320

Replying To Gleebo:  "And yet we're still looking down on you on the All-Ireland roll of honour. Not just in terms of Sams but pretty much across every grade of football, U20/21s, minors, NFLs, All-Ireland club championships, Hogan Cups.

You stay salty, Tir Chonaill ;)"
What is the roll of honour in all grades between Donegal and Mayo, I'd imagine it should be pretty similar surely ?

AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 13/07/2021 11:45:22    2359330

Replying To sam1884:  "Mayo had a great run and maybe it was their best ever team over the years 2015 to 2019? They were unlucky to run into the best team ever to play football but for a bit of luck here and there could still have won an All Ireland. As things stand I can see five or maybe even six Ulster teams playing in Division 1 in the next year or two. As for the super 8's the set up of the draw makes it difficult for Ulster teams to have that number in a Super 8 series so I don't see Ulster teams totally dominating the participants.

I think Ulster football has had a fairly average decade; certainly from 2014, in terms of competing at the top, Mayo and Dublin were the best two teams by quite a distance. Kerry have replaced Mayo; Dublin and Kerry are now out at a completly different level and will stay ahead for the next number of years. As for Mayo they're a long way back, they're around the same level as three or four counties chasing, they won't play an Ulster team in this year's championship but when we get back to normal in 2022 there'll be a number of counties that will easily be able to compete with Mayo."
Kerry on the same level as Dublin after 4 league matches. Hilarious.

greatpoint (USA) - Posts: 427 - 13/07/2021 11:53:20    2359339

Replying To greatpoint:  "Kerry on the same level as Dublin after 4 league matches. Hilarious."
Ah no, Kerry are on different level when it comes to actually playing football.

It's in their DNA.

AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 13/07/2021 12:23:26    2359354

Replying To greatpoint:  "Kerry on the same level as Dublin after 4 league matches. Hilarious."
Kerry will win this year's All Ireland; you can screenshot this and come back to the post in September ;). Kerry have been planning for a number of years, Dublin have dipped just slightly but enough to allow an outstanding Kerry to come through. There won't be an All Ireland winner outside Kerry and Dublin for the next 10 years.

sam1884 (UK) - Posts: 999 - 13/07/2021 12:39:54    2359360

Replying To AfricanGael:  "Down have as many All-Irelands as Donegal and Mayo put together and they won them playing football with style and swagger so I wouldn't be getting too cocky with 2 All-Irelands in 130 years or whatever.

I think ye should both count yourselves very lucky to be even talking about contesting an All-Ireland, never mind winning it.
"
Would regret if this thread on Donegal v Derry deteriorates into a Connacht/Ulster squabble. After the glory years of Galway and Down in the 1960s both of us had a fallow period of 23 years before Down again showed the way in '91. I for one will be raising a glass or three should any one of the remaining Ulster or Connacht counties bring Sam home this year. It's anyone's guess who will win the Anglo Celt this year, a full strength Galway offer the only resistance to predicted outcomes in the other three provinces.
Getting back on topic to last Sunday's titanic struggle I think Donegal will be grateful they are not recovering from the demands of playing extra time especially with Tyrone having an extra day's rest. Derry are left to lament missing three goal chances and not even getting a point from any of them in such a tight contest. They seem to have a fine minor team to get behind this year.
Moving on from last Sunday Donegal will be working hard to decide on their best defensive formation for the semi final. They are all good footballers, comfortable in possession with some offering more going forward to attack than basic defending. They could do with a couple of touch tight defenders possessing the raw natural strength of a fully fit McGrath & Gillespie to stop a forward in their tracks without fouling. Paul Brennan made a good impact when introduced on Sunday and while he probably won't start next day I can see him getting 20 mins. Likewise Peadar Mogan is too gifted a footballer to spend 75mins on the bench assuming he is 100% fit. It's obvious that some players are carrying niggling injuries (Murphy and McNialis apart). We Rossies would be rooting for Thompson but he seems to be operating on the fringes a lot more this year content to get on the end of a movement to attempt a medium range shot from the left. He was much more involved before with high fielding, taking on defenders and tackling back. Could be a fitness issue or maybe operating under coaches instructions.

Curlew66 (Roscommon) - Posts: 504 - 13/07/2021 12:49:34    2359365

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Aye Mayo have some record alright, lost 10 All Ireland finals in a row, a feat never to be equalled, fair play.
Can't be many still alive down there who rem Mayo winning an All ireland now?"
Well actually, we have some way to go in amassing the record number of All-Ireland losses, which is held by Kerry at 23 (in addition to their having the record number of wins at 37). Even Cork are above us on 16.

I imagine those losses in 2013, 2015 and 2019 must have been really painful for you, judging by your scribblings here. Being relegated by us up in Ballybofey in 2018 must have also been an especially sore one for you, that last point from Kevin McLoughlin came from the next parish.

Don't worry Sham, at some point Donegal will beat us again in championship football and you'll be here to crow, no doubt. Maybe next year in the league even? Looking forward to greeting you in MacHale Park.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 13/07/2021 13:15:53    2359371

Replying To AfricanGael:  "What is the roll of honour in all grades between Donegal and Mayo, I'd imagine it should be pretty similar surely ?"
In terms of the head to head record? No idea. Donegal didn't win their first Ulster SFC til 1972, so I imagine we didn't play them in the championship before that.

Mayo GAA Blog has a list of most of the games that Mayo have ever played if you fancy doing the research.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 13/07/2021 13:21:35    2359375