Meath V Dublin

Replying To brian:  "Well when everyone and their dog from around the country wants to get into this thread and kick Meath its hard to talk about the Dubs at the same time.

No one from Meath is afraid to mention Dublin. Think we're all realistic enough to know what the outcome of this match will be. I'm on record as saying I'd be sick to my stomach with a loss regardless of a 1 or 21 point victory.

But maybe you should take your own advice there and worry about the pain coming your own way this weekend. Rahter than focusing on Meath V Dublin go focus on Donegal v Derry. Donegal supporters were so concentrated on how you'd beat Dublin last year that you disregarded Cavan and got your tails handed to you. Once bitten twice shy and all that...,"
I didn't come here to have a go at Meath at all, I just read through the thread and there was very little mention of the Dubs, sad times when ye are going in against the Dubs and know you are going to get walloped,
I think if this was Donegal Tyrone Mayo Galway etc we'd be going in thinking/hoping we could beat them or at least have a damned good go at it,
I didn't include Kerry in that because I think at this stage Kerry are confident of matching the Dubs and beating them. best of luck on the day anyway.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2739 - 07/07/2021 18:34:52    2357486

Replying To BeJasus:  "Bad time for Meath to be playing Dublin , especially with various media outlets having the audacity to write them off as a weaker outfit this year..
Dublin by 10+"
Has there been a good time of late? exactly what we did not need.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2136 - 07/07/2021 18:35:45    2357488

Replying To seadog54:  "Has there been a good time of late? exactly what we did not need."
Yeah, probably the Westmeath game.
Dublin looked generally poor against them , so they will want to lay down a marker ,
so the writings probably on the wall for Meath here.

BeJasus (UK) - Posts: 383 - 07/07/2021 19:10:59    2357496

Replying To BeJasus:  "Yeah, probably the Westmeath game.
Dublin looked generally poor against them , so they will want to lay down a marker ,
so the writings probably on the wall for Meath here."
In big capital letters.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2136 - 07/07/2021 19:24:51    2357503

Replying To CC2020:  "Sounds like you need to tighten down your social media if random people are seeing pics of your family etc?

That's a pretty awful experience."
I've tightened it since then. But in all honesty what type of mental state would someone be in to go to the bother of finding someone on Twitter and then give details of their young daughter and their sporting achievements on hoganstand ? I guess the world is full of weirdos. So that's twice now under different names they've brought my family into things. It's a bit much. All because I post on here.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 07/07/2021 22:48:58    2357542

Replying To Ashrules:  "Anyone on this post know anything about this Dublin team"
Yes Ash rules. They beat Galway in Leinster semi. Clash of the Ash rules.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3674 - 08/07/2021 00:03:19    2357558

Poster on here having digs at someone about bringing family into posts. Just to clear up my post, go to NFL Div2 dated 13th June, page9, regarding someone seeing end of Kildare v Meath match. I think it's explains all. Now if my post mentions family tell me where.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2006 - 08/07/2021 10:00:42    2357598

Replying To Saynothing:  "Poster on here having digs at someone about bringing family into posts. Just to clear up my post, go to NFL Div2 dated 13th June, page9, regarding someone seeing end of Kildare v Meath match. I think it's explains all. Now if my post mentions family tell me where."
This is it here,
http://www.hoganstand.com/Forum/Details/110459?County=National&PageNumber=8&TopicID=110459

The only mention of family on the thread was by RD himself, your comment was you thought he was talking bs saying he didn't see the 2nd half etc.
many's the time you wouldn't feel like watching the end of a match if your teams playing rubbish and going to get beat, natural enough I suppose. some of us ejits sit and suffer till the bitter end though.
I see from the 19 thumbs up your comment got that up many on here agreed with you and I don't see anything wrong in what you said. Yourself and RD have been having a back and forth but it was mostly about Tyrone Meath stuff and the 6 counties etc.
As you said if the missed the second half ok just say that, who cares anyway,
but when RD mentions his own son in the thread and then complains about people mentioning his family?? sounds like a load of bs to me anyway.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2739 - 08/07/2021 11:06:06    2357617

Replying To royaldunne:  "I've tightened it since then. But in all honesty what type of mental state would someone be in to go to the bother of finding someone on Twitter and then give details of their young daughter and their sporting achievements on hoganstand ? I guess the world is full of weirdos. So that's twice now under different names they've brought my family into things. It's a bit much. All because I post on here."
I am very sorry to hear about that twitter thing and the person doing it is a creep. However in all fairness Royal Dunne you can't accuse a poster of being the guilty party unless you have proof.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3674 - 08/07/2021 11:07:58    2357619

Replying To Saynothing:  "Poster on here having digs at someone about bringing family into posts. Just to clear up my post, go to NFL Div2 dated 13th June, page9, regarding someone seeing end of Kildare v Meath match. I think it's explains all. Now if my post mentions family tell me where."
The same poster was backed into a corner to apologise for accusing another poster of having multiple usernames and not being who they said they were only a few months ago.

Wouldn't take any notice of it at this stage as there's definitely a bit of a boy who cried wolf about it when it comes to these accusations.

if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3685 - 08/07/2021 11:27:52    2357627

Any chance of actually talking about the game at hand.

Are there any area's people think Meath can break even or possibly get on top of Dublin at any stage during the match. Should Meath go after Comerford's kick outs and try and shake him up a bit (not easily done though) ?

Was the Wexford match just a blip and will Dessie have to change things up now that there was a slight regression and bring in the Dean Rocks ec

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 08/07/2021 11:43:37    2357630

Replying To brian:  "Any chance of actually talking about the game at hand.

Are there any area's people think Meath can break even or possibly get on top of Dublin at any stage during the match. Should Meath go after Comerford's kick outs and try and shake him up a bit (not easily done though) ?

Was the Wexford match just a blip and will Dessie have to change things up now that there was a slight regression and bring in the Dean Rocks ec"
Dúin looked rusty nodoubt but they will be a different team in croke park. Dublin still look too strong for me for Meath but I would expect Meath to give it a rattle. I think the Wexford match was just blowing off a few cobwebs although the Wexicans did well. Yes Meath will have to go after Comerford kickout. A very good Keeper but no Cluxton. Also maybe try a bit of high ball. When Dublin don't have sweeper I think they can be suspect to high ball in fb line. The Meath half backs have to attack with pace but still when one looks at Fenton Mccarthy Howard Con Costello Rock etc it's hard to see beyond Dublin

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3674 - 08/07/2021 12:06:50    2357635

Dublin are going to beat us absolutely no question about that! I would like to think that we will keep it reasonably competitive though and get within 10 points of them (Sad times that that is the best we can hope for)

Meath10 (Meath) - Posts: 183 - 08/07/2021 12:44:01    2357646

As a neutral I can't see Meath beating Dublin in Croke Park.

I've watched all their recent championship games there v Dublin. What's killing Meath is a lack of pace around the middle of the field and backs. I think it's there Achilles.

CC2020 (Kilkenny) - Posts: 173 - 08/07/2021 13:05:40    2357654

Replying To CC2020:  "As a neutral I can't see Meath beating Dublin in Croke Park.

I've watched all their recent championship games there v Dublin. What's killing Meath is a lack of pace around the middle of the field and backs. I think it's there Achilles."
Add in kickouts,free taking and lack of fielders, in fairness we have added a bit of pace, however not much use without the basics. My main hope is that we at least have a go, unlike recent games.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2136 - 08/07/2021 15:18:57    2357721

Replying To if_in_doubt:  "The same poster was backed into a corner to apologise for accusing another poster of having multiple usernames and not being who they said they were only a few months ago.

Wouldn't take any notice of it at this stage as there's definitely a bit of a boy who cried wolf about it when it comes to these accusations."
Yeah of course. Tell you what boy. When someone brings up ur children. Then get back to me. Until then !!

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 08/07/2021 18:21:08    2357796

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "I am very sorry to hear about that twitter thing and the person doing it is a creep. However in all fairness Royal Dunne you can't accuse a poster of being the guilty party unless you have proof."
Same M O.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 08/07/2021 18:21:37    2357797

Replying To CC2020:  "As a neutral I can't see Meath beating Dublin in Croke Park.

I've watched all their recent championship games there v Dublin. What's killing Meath is a lack of pace around the middle of the field and backs. I think it's there Achilles."
its certainly not pace is the problem

meath1977 (Meath) - Posts: 534 - 08/07/2021 21:38:33    2357869

Replying To brian:  "Fair play Ollie got a good laugh from this."
No probs at all Brian. It's good to laugh.

Ollie2 (Louth) - Posts: 782 - 08/07/2021 21:59:46    2357877

The U20 Meath Vs Dublin game will be cracking the Weds before.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 08/07/2021 23:40:40    2357909