Meath V Dublin

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "This thread is actually very funny and getting more so, hardly a mention of Dublin at all, think they are even afraid to mention Dublin because they know the pain is coming."
Well when everyone and their dog from around the country wants to get into this thread and kick Meath its hard to talk about the Dubs at the same time.

No one from Meath is afraid to mention Dublin. Think we're all realistic enough to know what the outcome of this match will be. I'm on record as saying I'd be sick to my stomach with a loss regardless of a 1 or 21 point victory.

But maybe you should take your own advice there and worry about the pain coming your own way this weekend. Rahter than focusing on Meath V Dublin go focus on Donegal v Derry. Donegal supporters were so concentrated on how you'd beat Dublin last year that you disregarded Cavan and got your tails handed to you. Once bitten twice shy and all that...,

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 07/07/2021 11:34:37    2357306

Replying To Ollie2:  "Footballs coming home to the Royal County."
Fair play Ollie got a good laugh from this.

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 07/07/2021 11:38:16    2357308

Replying To brian:  "Shows how little you know. Most people in Meath are not whingers, they speak well of the dubs, congratulate them on the structures they've put in place since the late 90's to harvest their own golden generation of players, and we certainly don't whinge about the Leinster championship. Maybe you're mixing us up with other counties. See the thing here in Meath is we're not jealous of our neighbours success we see the hard work they've put in and wish them well.

You'll always have the odd whinger and they are the minority but the empty can makes the loudest noise.

I think what most people in Meath maybe as you perceive are whinging about is the fact that our county board haven't looked at the model implemented in Dublin, tried to replicate it in some fashion and develop a golden generation of our own. In the early 00's Colm O'Rourke was tasked with setting out a vision for what needed to be done and when he came back he was laughed out the door at the costings and proposals he made. Many years later Meath are trying to scratch and claw their way to implementing many of the recommendations set out in his plan at multiples more of the costings O'Rourke set out.

That is where the frustration with Meath people mainly lies in that we do see the success of Dublin and are frustrated by the lack of action from our county board to try and close the gap. If you call that whinging then maybe we need to get you a new dictionary."
Pay no heed Brian, that username is just looking for a reaction. I'm living in Meath more than 5 years now. Plenty of Dubs here too! I haven't heard Meath people whinging. But I think no manager can go too long without being compared to Séan Boylan who himself took the job when the Meath team were at a low ebb. Andy McEntee has a much lesser calibre squad than Boylan inherited but at times in games they don't look as confident as they should or as belligerent as Boylan could make a Meath team when push came to shove in games. Dublin have a head start in a lot of opposition's heads when the fixture is made, the anxiety starts, but only if you let it. Many of the Meath team trudged onto Croke Park after halftime in last year's Leinster Final looking like it was the last place they wanted to be, making it even easier for Dublin. Even a lift in confidence is only a small gain to try and beat this great Dublin team but you need to start somewhere. And start a fight to break up their momentum is another tactic, but sure I'm not bitter! We can discuss county boards another time, does any county have one they're happy with? The Dubs are class but no team is unbeatable.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7344 - 07/07/2021 12:07:12    2357327

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "This thread is actually very funny and getting more so, hardly a mention of Dublin at all, think they are even afraid to mention Dublin because they know the pain is coming."
That's what it's all about, but some boys , well they'd be some craic on the high stool.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2012 - 07/07/2021 12:10:57    2357330

Replying To GreenandRed:  "Pay no heed Brian, that username is just looking for a reaction. I'm living in Meath more than 5 years now. Plenty of Dubs here too! I haven't heard Meath people whinging. But I think no manager can go too long without being compared to Séan Boylan who himself took the job when the Meath team were at a low ebb. Andy McEntee has a much lesser calibre squad than Boylan inherited but at times in games they don't look as confident as they should or as belligerent as Boylan could make a Meath team when push came to shove in games. Dublin have a head start in a lot of opposition's heads when the fixture is made, the anxiety starts, but only if you let it. Many of the Meath team trudged onto Croke Park after halftime in last year's Leinster Final looking like it was the last place they wanted to be, making it even easier for Dublin. Even a lift in confidence is only a small gain to try and beat this great Dublin team but you need to start somewhere. And start a fight to break up their momentum is another tactic, but sure I'm not bitter! We can discuss county boards another time, does any county have one they're happy with? The Dubs are class but no team is unbeatable."
Many of them are, i'd suspect that it's the same fella with multiple county accounts going round thanking all his own posts to boost his ego, Sure good look to him ;)

Some good points you make there on Boylan teams. I think there was some talent there but you'd a backbone of lads that willed themselves to get ever ounce out of themsleves in Joe Cassells, Gerry McEntee, Padraic and Mick Lyons, Liam Harnan and Kevin Foley. They weren't the greatest of footballers but they refused to bend the knee so to speak. The sprinkling of classy footballers in O'Connell, Hayes, Stafford, Flynn and O'Rourke brought them where they believed they could get too.

I think for lads like myself who grew up in that era and then revelled in the 90's I miss the days of great Meath footballers supported by some tough belligerent you know whats.

Unfortunately and this isn't limited Meath, teams don't feel they can win an all ireland. Now maybe the dubs are regressing and we might see teams chipping away the mortar and eventually the castle will fall.. Meath and other need to be in position to take advantage of that. Unfortunately i think we're talent poor right now and way behind teams like Kerry, Mayo, Donegal, Tyrone and Monaghan who could take advantage.

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 07/07/2021 12:39:22    2357339

Anyone on this post know anything about this Dublin team

Ashrules (Dublin) - Posts: 518 - 07/07/2021 12:39:38    2357340

Replying To Ashrules:  "Anyone on this post know anything about this Dublin team"
never heard of them at all.... ;)

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 07/07/2021 13:04:15    2357348

Replying To Ashrules:  "Anyone on this post know anything about this Dublin team"
Apparently they're no good :)

Meath10 (Meath) - Posts: 183 - 07/07/2021 13:07:54    2357350

Replying To brian:  "Many of them are, i'd suspect that it's the same fella with multiple county accounts going round thanking all his own posts to boost his ego, Sure good look to him ;)

Some good points you make there on Boylan teams. I think there was some talent there but you'd a backbone of lads that willed themselves to get ever ounce out of themsleves in Joe Cassells, Gerry McEntee, Padraic and Mick Lyons, Liam Harnan and Kevin Foley. They weren't the greatest of footballers but they refused to bend the knee so to speak. The sprinkling of classy footballers in O'Connell, Hayes, Stafford, Flynn and O'Rourke brought them where they believed they could get too.

I think for lads like myself who grew up in that era and then revelled in the 90's I miss the days of great Meath footballers supported by some tough belligerent you know whats.

Unfortunately and this isn't limited Meath, teams don't feel they can win an all ireland. Now maybe the dubs are regressing and we might see teams chipping away the mortar and eventually the castle will fall.. Meath and other need to be in position to take advantage of that. Unfortunately i think we're talent poor right now and way behind teams like Kerry, Mayo, Donegal, Tyrone and Monaghan who could take advantage."
That Meath team of the 80s and 90s were great but especially the 80s.Brilliant footballers who never knew when they were beaten. Every line had such interesting characters. Mick Lyons so hár tough and yet fair and graceful. Harnan like a brick wall. O Malley tight defending to Ó Connell s solid performances. Hayes McEntee Joe Cassells. Flynn a top score Stafford and Ó Rourke s absolute brilliance the speed of Beggy. 90s also with John McDermott Fay Tommy Dowd Ollie Murphy. Those Meath teams gave great entertainment to the neutrals.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3675 - 07/07/2021 13:08:16    2357351

Apparently not, although a Dublin friend told me that the've won the last 6 All Irelands-must check that out!! Have you seen them play?

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 07/07/2021 14:00:59    2357376

Interesting to see a topic set up on Cavan Tyrone has got 13 replies, haven't counted but seems like that is about the same number as posts on this topic by Cavan and Tyrone posters.

bdbuddah (Meath) - Posts: 1347 - 07/07/2021 14:14:21    2357384

Replying To brian:  "Many of them are, i'd suspect that it's the same fella with multiple county accounts going round thanking all his own posts to boost his ego, Sure good look to him ;)

Unfortunately and this isn't limited Meath, teams don't feel they can win an all ireland. Now maybe the dubs are regressing and we might see teams chipping away the mortar and eventually the castle will fall.. Meath and other need to be in position to take advantage of that. Unfortunately i think we're talent poor right now and way behind teams like Kerry, Mayo, Donegal, Tyrone and Monaghan who could take advantage."
Actually yes. He was once called royalking. From Meath. Also has a account from Kildare. 5 that I know of. Had to actually get gardai involved after I realised he was stalking me on Twitter. Then went on to post stuff of my Twitter account regarding my daughter and her sporting achievements. Got quite creepy. Most notably now pretending to be from Tyrone. The person clearly needs help. And should seek it. It's kinda funny in one way as if they met me face to face they'd saynothing. :)

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 07/07/2021 14:38:07    2357396

Replying To bdbuddah:  "Interesting to see a topic set up on Cavan Tyrone has got 13 replies, haven't counted but seems like that is about the same number as posts on this topic by Cavan and Tyrone posters."
Take your socks off if you need to

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 07/07/2021 14:39:35    2357397

Hard to know if Cluxtons "stepping away" is a sign of hope for the rest of the contenders, of which there are very few. Don't think it will matter much in Leinster this year anyway.
This is an important game for Meath. They need to be more competitive than previous years to close the gap. That's why not getting promotion was a disaster for them, to keep playing, and staying in Div 1 is a big plus in terms of progressing in the top level, the alternative is to do it in the championship, now.
I hope they can keep the result in doubt for the entire match. Don't know if Mc Gill and Jones are back, if not they will be a huge loss. It is probably better to play Dublin now than in the final and I expect hem to beat the handicap of +12. Need goals though

mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1044 - 07/07/2021 15:01:38    2357410

I would get hard to agree that some mentioned were not the greatest footballers. You make it sound like they were plodders. Take where you mentioned Mick Lyons. Ya he was hard as nails but he was also a very good footballer, great pair of hands for catching a ball, very strong, very fast for a big man and good at reading the game.
I saw him a few times playing for Summerhill in midfield and he was a very good midfielder also. Before that Meath team won the first All Ireland in 87 Lyons had already won 2 all stars.

bdbuddah (Meath) - Posts: 1347 - 07/07/2021 15:17:29    2357420

Replying To bdbuddah:  "I would get hard to agree that some mentioned were not the greatest footballers. You make it sound like they were plodders. Take where you mentioned Mick Lyons. Ya he was hard as nails but he was also a very good footballer, great pair of hands for catching a ball, very strong, very fast for a big man and good at reading the game.
I saw him a few times playing for Summerhill in midfield and he was a very good midfielder also. Before that Meath team won the first All Ireland in 87 Lyons had already won 2 all stars."
When i saw not the greatest I say it in the the same way I would saw Roy Keane wasn't the most naturally gifted of footballers but he like them got every ounce of potential out of themselves. If I make out like they're plodders that's not my intention. They are great players the steel you needed in your team to go with the finesse and elegance of the ohter i mentioned.

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 07/07/2021 15:34:26    2357426

Replying To galwayford:  "The reason is Meath posters tend to whinge a lot about Gaelic football and the Leinster championship. You have a chance next weekend. Let us see what you are made off. Look at Wexford how well they played last Sunday."
Wexford played Dublin in Wexford. It was the first time in 16 years Dublin have played leinster opposition in their home ground. 2006 was the last time Dublin had to go to another leinster counties home ground and play them in leinster. In the last 16 years in the leinster championship, Dublin have never played Meath in Navan, kildare in Newbridge, Louth in Drogheda, Offaly in Tullamore, Laois in Portlaoise, Wicklow in Aughrim or Westmeath in Mullingar. They played Wexford in Wexford on Sunday, they first time they have leinster team and that leinster team was at home for 16 years.

Dublin are different animal in Croke Park last year they beat laois by 22 points, Meath by 21 points and Cavan Ulster champions by 15 points in Croke Park. They haven't played in Croke Park this year. The year beforehand they beat kildare by 15 points, Meath by 16 points, Roscommon by 18 points Connacht champions, and Mayo by 10 points all in Croke Park. Dublin are a different team in Croke Park.

And Galway are the one county that cannot talk about beating Dublin. Galway haven't beaten Dublin in 87 years in championship. They have only beaten Dublin twice in the championship eg 1934 1933. Mayo have beaten Dublin twice and 3 draws in the last 35 years v Dublin in Croke Park in the championship.

Kingkeegan (UK) - Posts: 55 - 07/07/2021 17:27:54    2357465

Bad time for Meath to be playing Dublin , especially with various media outlets having the audacity to write them off as a weaker outfit this year..
Dublin by 10+

BeJasus (UK) - Posts: 383 - 07/07/2021 17:43:39    2357471

Replying To royaldunne:  "Actually yes. He was once called royalking. From Meath. Also has a account from Kildare. 5 that I know of. Had to actually get gardai involved after I realised he was stalking me on Twitter. Then went on to post stuff of my Twitter account regarding my daughter and her sporting achievements. Got quite creepy. Most notably now pretending to be from Tyrone. The person clearly needs help. And should seek it. It's kinda funny in one way as if they met me face to face they'd saynothing. :)"
Sounds like you need to tighten down your social media if random people are seeing pics of your family etc?

That's a pretty awful experience.

CC2020 (Kilkenny) - Posts: 173 - 07/07/2021 17:59:54    2357475

Replying To cavanman47:  "Take your socks off if you need to"
Classic Cavanman47, very funny.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2747 - 07/07/2021 18:26:36    2357485