Meath V Dublin

I find it strange that people would want to bet against their own county. Even if I thought I was getting the better of a bet it would not feel right to bet against my own county, I would not enjoy winning a bet like that. Would the lads thinking of taking on that bet like that actually want their team to lose?

bdbuddah (Meath) - Posts: 1347 - 20/07/2021 13:42:49    2362132

Much improved performance from Meath in the second half I thought. Would have been very easy for heads to go down and ship a huge score. Wouldn't read much into not getting the penalty. Sometimes these things happen. It's hard to know how much of the second half was down to Meath improving or the Dubs easing off the gas. Probably more to do with the latter. From that showing though I don't see any reason why Meath can't join us and be competitive against the Monaghans, Armaghs, Donegal and Mayos etc.

Good to see that Andy McEntee didn't try and focus on other incidents to deflect from the defeat and management decisions. Although baseless allegations of that nature wouldn't have been brushed under the carpet so easily this time.

Regarding the talk of lads closing accounts etc, well it's just silly. Plenty of posters have duplicate accounts anyway. Also one prominent Meath poster said a few months ago he was taking a break and was back posting within days.

I'd like to think that the gap between Meath and Dublin at the finish was an accurate reflection of where Leinster football is currently at but I fear it's not. We are a bit further advanced than Meath with one of the best goalies around so our game against the dubs might be a bit more telling of the state of play.

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 20/07/2021 13:54:43    2362134

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Id have no interest in starting a new account Avon none what so ever but that's my way, poster's like myself yourself and jimbo have been on here for years so we've our own personalities (well some have a few more than most isn't that right jim but there you go)

I think it would hurt a lot more if the loser of the bet had to pack his iPhone and leave the main forum

I think the logistics of trying to get the €100 to each other would be too difficult whereas this is a clean cut easy way of doing it."
Well KIngdom, to be honest I'm not so sure I want anybody to leave the forum. I know people have their differences, and things can get heated but I don't bear any personal animosity towards anybody who posts in here. The good thing about a forum like this is the diversity of opinion. The loss of knowledgeable posters like yourself who have been following the game all your lives would benefit nobody.
Of course I don't want my county to win but my head tells that Dublin do not have an inexhaustible reserve of very talented players. I think the loss of Cluxton and JIm Gavin is incalculable. I reckon the Dubs won last year's final due to the momentum that Gavin had generated over the previous seasons. I don't rate Dessie F that highly. People watching the Meath match would have seen things happen that no Dublin team would have permitted since 2014. There was a distinct lack of composure in the second half that I haven't seen in a long time.
I've no problem quitting myself but I'm not sure I'd like to insist on others leaving: and that is my honest view.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 20/07/2021 14:31:18    2362152

Replying To avonali:  "Well KIngdom, to be honest I'm not so sure I want anybody to leave the forum. I know people have their differences, and things can get heated but I don't bear any personal animosity towards anybody who posts in here. The good thing about a forum like this is the diversity of opinion. The loss of knowledgeable posters like yourself who have been following the game all your lives would benefit nobody.
Of course I don't want my county to win but my head tells that Dublin do not have an inexhaustible reserve of very talented players. I think the loss of Cluxton and JIm Gavin is incalculable. I reckon the Dubs won last year's final due to the momentum that Gavin had generated over the previous seasons. I don't rate Dessie F that highly. People watching the Meath match would have seen things happen that no Dublin team would have permitted since 2014. There was a distinct lack of composure in the second half that I haven't seen in a long time.
I've no problem quitting myself but I'm not sure I'd like to insist on others leaving: and that is my honest view."
That should read " I don't want my county to lose'. It wasn't a Freudian slip.:-D

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 20/07/2021 14:56:04    2362165

Replying To avonali:  "Ahh would ye go away outta that. None of the Dublin team ever had the inducement that one of your former midflielders had to come back onto the team - a bleedin' house no less. And speaking of him, wasn't he up to his neck in the mass brawl ye orchestrated in 1996. Ye loved bullying teams.
Plenty of money on Meath but ye couldn't organize a p8ss up in a brewery."
No great with your facts there at all avonali old chum

Not as if all your beloved Dubs don't have plenty of inductments with their cushy jobs with very little travel to allow them devote the majority of their time to training. They all have sponsored cars and meals delivered to them as they want so they don't have to do that for themselves either. C'mon Avonali, every county has played that game. Look at your own messiah and all the legal support he's gotten in recent years paid for to make sure he could be on the pitch.

I'm pretty sure the house you're talking to was not to a midfielder but a half foward, believe he was given a site to build a house to transfer clubs and if memory serves me that was around 2000. And the player in question didn't play in the 1996 replay. And speaking of that i think the only orchestrating of a brawl was from three mayo punches being thrown first and meath lads not backing off, but look if it suits your flawed narrative to say meath orchestrated a brawl then so be it.

Unless you want to share with us the details of this house that was given to a Meath player and back up your argument. And BTW if you think that's unique to one county then you're very naive. It happens with every county across the country, being on a county panel always provides "lifestyle perks" to the players be it jobs, cars, etc. It's happened since time immemorium

I'm surprised you haven't mentioned all the helicopter rides the meath players got during the Kepak sponsorship days...

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 20/07/2021 15:12:48    2362167

Replying To avonali:  "Well KIngdom, to be honest I'm not so sure I want anybody to leave the forum. I know people have their differences, and things can get heated but I don't bear any personal animosity towards anybody who posts in here. The good thing about a forum like this is the diversity of opinion. The loss of knowledgeable posters like yourself who have been following the game all your lives would benefit nobody.
I've no problem quitting myself but I'm not sure I'd like to insist on others leaving: and that is my honest view."
Fair enough Avon I just thought it would add a bit of spice to the bet and make it easier than trying to get money transferred between us.

If you want what we could do is if I lose il give €100 to the charity of your choice and vise versa if you lose you give €100 to the charity of my choice, what say you buddy?

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 20/07/2021 15:21:24    2362170

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Good man realdub, I'm in as well, how about the other 3 lads will they put their accounts on the line (all their accounts) to back up their claims that they think Kerry will win the allireland and that the dubs will lose."
You're on! :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8591 - 20/07/2021 15:31:30    2362172

Replying To avonali:  "And that was a broadcast from Hoganstand's very own Jim Corr."
Ain't that the truth!

lilylanger (Kildare) - Posts: 758 - 20/07/2021 15:34:56    2362174

Replying To avonali:  "When you understand the nature of the bet get back to me. I think you are confused. Meanwhile, why don't you go back and play with your abacus like a good lad?"
Would you like me to teach you again ? I'll gladly make a fool of you for a second time in a week if you want.

The nature of the bet lol. What a spoofer you are scurrying around the northside backing against your own.

Typical fair weather bandwagoner.

Keep your €100 for your beloved Penny's .

AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 20/07/2021 15:40:47    2362178

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Fair enough Avon I just thought it would add a bit of spice to the bet and make it easier than trying to get money transferred between us.

If you want what we could do is if I lose il give €100 to the charity of your choice and vise versa if you lose you give €100 to the charity of my choice, what say you buddy?"
That sounds fair. YOu're on!

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 20/07/2021 15:52:03    2362184

Replying To AfricanGael:  "Would you like me to teach you again ? I'll gladly make a fool of you for a second time in a week if you want.

The nature of the bet lol. What a spoofer you are scurrying around the northside backing against your own.

Typical fair weather bandwagoner.

Keep your €100 for your beloved Penny's ."
You've been exposed as a first class spoofer here several times.Must I embarrass you again???
The Chinese wont get their hands on Djibouti you wrote. Then you concede they have naval base.You demean your own country for wastage then you tell us you're happy to fly off to a country that has more waste and corruption than any western country. That takes a level of obtuseness that is hard to understand.
"THE CHINESE won't get the keys to Djibouti" you wrote. They don't need the keys. They own the bloody economy. SPOOFER?? :-D
Try and get out of your bedroom like a good lad and enjoy the sun.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 20/07/2021 16:05:47    2362188

Replying To realdub:  "You're on! :D"
Looks like the bet has changed realdub, we're gona just give €100 to the charity of the winners choice, so you wanna match Avons €100 or go halves with him il let ye sort that out.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 20/07/2021 16:22:11    2362190

So Dublin cruise into yet another final while been undermined further by the media, and the Mighty Meath are back.....
Everyone's a winner here..

BeJasus (UK) - Posts: 383 - 20/07/2021 17:10:59    2362205

Replying To avonali:  "You've been exposed as a first class spoofer here several times.Must I embarrass you again???
The Chinese wont get their hands on Djibouti you wrote. Then you concede they have naval base.You demean your own country for wastage then you tell us you're happy to fly off to a country that has more waste and corruption than any western country. That takes a level of obtuseness that is hard to understand.
"THE CHINESE won't get the keys to Djibouti" you wrote. They don't need the keys. They own the bloody economy. SPOOFER?? :-D
Try and get out of your bedroom like a good lad and enjoy the sun."
I destroyed your wiki figures already re. China, they are owed what the Irish in Ireland consume on drink in 6 months !

Peanuts in real terms, but I suppose everything is big to someone who never ventured outside the M50.

Now I have rattled you again and exposed your bet as a cod, I'm sure you are good at something, but math's isn't one of them.

Why don't you bet some of your Penny's vouchers instead, the Northside's own currency. Lol.

AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 20/07/2021 17:23:57    2362208

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Looks like the bet has changed realdub, we're gona just give €100 to the charity of the winners choice, so you wanna match Avons €100 or go halves with him il let ye sort that out."
I ain't making any financial commitments on an anonymous GAA forum pal, but thanks.

The bet I like is, if Kerry win you leave, if Dublin win I'll leave. It'll be hard for you to stay off in that scenario so it's a good bet!

And you can't even come on to gloat :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8591 - 20/07/2021 17:35:16    2362211

Just about getting over the hangover, but can't tell you how great it was to be back in Croker.

As for the Dubs flattered a bit to deceive, that said possible reasons for hope, I had a few on me but I think we scored about 17 first half, though was never a penalty for us in my opinion and Meath very unlucky not to be awarded one. The ref spent much of the second half making up for it though, so maybe a fair reflection.

Thought Meath were great, fought for everything second half some great phases of play, really skillful and a statement performance I thought. Pity there is no back door this year as that game would have brought them on.

Mixed bag for us, when we were purring we were purring for about 30 odd mins, we didn't show up in the second half and worse Meath rattled us, I haven't seen us rattled in a long long time.

But who knows, the good was a lot better then Wexford, our aim in the final has to be to put in a 70 min performance. Hopefully we get a few key players back soon, we're missing a few.

But we'l look to our own win, loose or draw heading on, it's our way.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 20/07/2021 17:36:18    2362212

So the so called "best team ever" are wobbling without Jim Gavin, like out of control robots without their joystick master, waiting for Dessie to learn how to use it.

Jim Gavin and his process, the Dublin version of Jim McGuinness' Donegal with money.

AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 20/07/2021 17:42:50    2362213

Replying To AfricanGael:  "So the so called "best team ever" are wobbling without Jim Gavin, like out of control robots without their joystick master, waiting for Dessie to learn how to use it.

Jim Gavin and his process, the Dublin version of Jim McGuinness' Donegal with money.
"
Unoriginal. Must. Do. Better.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 20/07/2021 18:12:35    2362221

Replying To realdub:  "I ain't making any financial commitments on an anonymous GAA forum pal, but thanks.

The bet I like is, if Kerry win you leave, if Dublin win I'll leave. It'll be hard for you to stay off in that scenario so it's a good bet!

And you can't even come on to gloat :D"
Understandable realdub and ya that would have been tough to stay off the mainland if we by some miracle did manage to win it :-)

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 20/07/2021 18:30:47    2362227

Replying To AfricanGael:  "So the so called "best team ever" are wobbling without Jim Gavin, like out of control robots without their joystick master, waiting for Dessie to learn how to use it.

"
Agreed -:)

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 20/07/2021 18:38:21    2362231