Meath V Dublin

Replying To brian:  "KB if we only lost by 6 points I'd but still sick to the pit of my stomach. Its not disrespectful to say Dublin could win by double that to be totally fair to them. We've lost the last 2 championship games by 16 and 21 points.

Arguing with Kildare supporters over who lost by less to Dublin doesn't interest me at all, a lose is a lose. Kildare are in no way guaranteed to get to the Leinster final. Believe me Westmeath will give Kildare their fill of it and I won't be surprised if they do beat Kildare.

But go bury your self pitying bringing Kerry into everything attitude some where else. Once more you're trying to drag a thread off topic with your usual starting points."
This is your post from the top of page 4 of this thread where you interacted with me brian :-)

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 19/07/2021 20:44:02    2361918

Replying To jimbodub:  "Good first half performance from Du6lin, beautiful scores and capped off with yet another Con thunder bolt. (Hardly a mention of it) He's simply deadly given a sniff. What a finish off his left.. love it.

Du6lins performance in the 2nd half.. poor.

Tempo dropped and some poor decision making followed and absentee defenders became evident.

Meath to their credit bossed proceedings there for a sizeable chunk of 2nd half, Meath have proven they are capable of playing well against good teams. They were due a good performance against Du6lin. It was a close run thing there and it was worrisome.. got an old sick feeling of watching a Meath comeback ; )

I'm surprised by some of the commentary from my fellow Dubs. I've not seen a lot of comments regarding the blooding of new players but also the fact that Du6lin are currently missing a number of 2020 All Stars from their defense which I believe will be available in the not so distant future.

This will significantly bolster things and bring with it quite a bit of class and from that different options. I thought the new lads will take a lot from that win.

No doubt Dublin do not have the sort of bench they once had but there's still an awful lot of quality there.

Just a mention on the Du6s outstanding big game management at the end of the game. They make it look so easy to control things and do what's needed when it matters most. Some loveky late scores and good to see what it still means. Making it look easy is the hardest thing to do.

Up the Dubs #7"
Con had a nice 11 step build-up to his thunderbolt...

bdbuddah (Meath) - Posts: 1348 - 19/07/2021 20:47:07    2361922

Replying To browncows:  "It is not long ago since at least 7 of your team rugby tackled Mayo players in the AI final with no foul committed! - a great skill to have. How much training went into that. Your teams get more expenses to run your fleet of buses than the Leitrim receives to prepare their county team."
Ahh would ye go away outta that. None of the Dublin team ever had the inducement that one of your former midflielders had to come back onto the team - a bleedin' house no less. And speaking of him, wasn't he up to his neck in the mass brawl ye orchestrated in 1996. Ye loved bullying teams.
Plenty of money on Meath but ye couldn't organize a p8ss up in a brewery.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 19/07/2021 20:54:19    2361927

Replying To bdbuddah:  "Con had a nice 11 step build-up to his thunderbolt..."
11 steps now is it?

"At least 7 Dublin players rugby tackling"

Oh really which ones.. I've seen that footage in replay numerous times

Didn't remember seeing 7 Dublin players rugby tackling

Keep it up man

#OutinJuly

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 19/07/2021 20:54:41    2361928

Replying To avonali:  "Ahh would ye go away outta that. None of the Dublin team ever had the inducement that one of your former midflielders had to come back onto the team - a bleedin' house no less. And speaking of him, wasn't he up to his neck in the mass brawl ye orchestrated in 1996. Ye loved bullying teams.
Plenty of money on Meath but ye couldn't organize a p8ss up in a brewery."
lol who was given a house?

joeteor (Donegal) - Posts: 217 - 19/07/2021 21:40:59    2361943

Replying To realdub:  "I'll take that bet!"
Good man realdub, I'm in as well, how about the other 3 lads will they put their accounts on the line (all their accounts) to back up their claims that they think Kerry will win the allireland and that the dubs will lose.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 19/07/2021 22:41:05    2361968

Replying To jimbodub:  "11 steps now is it?

"At least 7 Dublin players rugby tackling"

Oh really which ones.. I've seen that footage in replay numerous times

Didn't remember seeing 7 Dublin players rugby tackling

Keep it up man

#OutinJuly"
It wasn't me who said anything about 7 players rugby tackling, it was a different poster.
From my memory I wouldn't have said that Dublin players in that final were rugby tackling, they were more like Olympic wrestling moves....
I'm only having a laugh, relax, ye well deserved your win on Sunday.

bdbuddah (Meath) - Posts: 1348 - 20/07/2021 09:42:05    2362026

Replying To MicktheMiller:  "Brian. Do you see positives for Meath football after their performance yesterday?"
Mick its hard to know. I think the third quarter showed these lads are capable of performances and possibly breaking out of that pack behind the top six. But they lack any kind of consistency within themselves. I think if they could get a win over a top six team it would help maybe push them on and give them a wee bit more believe.

In 2019 they were giving top six teams good matches to 55 minutes and then fitness told and they got burnt off, they lasted til 65 minutes this weekend so things are moving in the right direction on S&C (which takes years to build)

Main aim for this team will be to reestablish themselves next season and win promotion back to division one. It should be two from Meath, Galway and Roscommon who go up and you'd hope for Meath's sake they can beat one or both of them. along the way. That's really the challenge for Meath to put the mark down that they're better than Galway, Roscommon, Armagh, Kildare, Clare, Cork and Derry and then maybe you can focus on the top 6 counties.

The 2020 minor team won Leinster and hopefully one or two players at least come through from it to help improve the squad. The captain Eoghan Frayne looks like a decent free taker and from range too so might solve a long running issue with Meath. Conor Gray is also a huge lump of a gasun and might help solve the midfielder fielding issues we've had as well.

The current U20 team also has a couple of lads yet to make the breakthrough at senior level, Jack Flynn is another potential big midfielder (he had a great game v Dublin at U20 last week) and i know some people have high hopes for Oisin McCloskey as well, who's a half back.

For Meath it's about supplementing and adding depth and talent to what's there. 1-15 and may 16-18 are a good standard but we need 1-21 all being of a slightly higher standard to really challenge.

If you look at Tyrone at the weekend, Richie Donnelly started v Cavan and didn't get brought in v Donegal. Meath would kill to have a talent like that available to them. Tyrone also have Mark Bradley who's barely been used. You need quality like that to spring from your bench, and we've been relying mainly on guys in their first or second year on the panel.

Its all a lot of ifs, buts ands and maybe's... i suppose like every county.

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 20/07/2021 09:50:55    2362028

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Good man realdub, I'm in as well, how about the other 3 lads will they put their accounts on the line (all their accounts) to back up their claims that they think Kerry will win the allireland and that the dubs will lose."
How can we be sure that any of us won't re-emerge onto the forum in another incarnation?? Son of Kingdomboy, or KIngdomboy's ghost?? There is no way of verifying that the loser(s) will comply with the terms.
Also, how could I deny myself the pleasure of engaging with your wonderful conspiracy theories???
Another thing, 3/4 Dubs will have to leave the forum and let you chaps have free rein over the whole show??? That's disproportionate.
The traditional way is to bet for money: I'm a traditionalist. I am a member of that Northside club that you sometimes frequent after All-Irelands between Dublin/Kerry. It would be very easy to hand over the money there.
Now If you were to take The Hermit with you that's something I'd definitely consider.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 20/07/2021 10:24:31    2362035

Replying To avonali:  "How can we be sure that any of us won't re-emerge onto the forum in another incarnation?? Son of Kingdomboy, or KIngdomboy's ghost?? There is no way of verifying that the loser(s) will comply with the terms.
Also, how could I deny myself the pleasure of engaging with your wonderful conspiracy theories???
Another thing, 3/4 Dubs will have to leave the forum and let you chaps have free rein over the whole show??? That's disproportionate.
The traditional way is to bet for money: I'm a traditionalist. I am a member of that Northside club that you sometimes frequent after All-Irelands between Dublin/Kerry. It would be very easy to hand over the money there.
Now If you were to take The Hermit with you that's something I'd definitely consider."
So what you're really saying is that you don't really believe dublin will lose this year Avon and that's fine i just wanted to call your bluff, it's a pity you don't take me up on my bet as it would have been a good chance for ye to get rid of me off the main forum, ye would have been hero's to the other dubs on here true kerry killers, but there we go.

€100 would be spent in a day and forgot about quickly getting rid of old kingdomboy would have lasted a lifetime.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 20/07/2021 11:15:34    2362053

Replying To brian:  "Mick its hard to know. I think the third quarter showed these lads are capable of performances and possibly breaking out of that pack behind the top six. But they lack any kind of consistency within themselves. I think if they could get a win over a top six team it would help maybe push them on and give them a wee bit more believe.

In 2019 they were giving top six teams good matches to 55 minutes and then fitness told and they got burnt off, they lasted til 65 minutes this weekend so things are moving in the right direction on S&C (which takes years to build)

Main aim for this team will be to reestablish themselves next season and win promotion back to division one. It should be two from Meath, Galway and Roscommon who go up and you'd hope for Meath's sake they can beat one or both of them. along the way. That's really the challenge for Meath to put the mark down that they're better than Galway, Roscommon, Armagh, Kildare, Clare, Cork and Derry and then maybe you can focus on the top 6 counties.

The 2020 minor team won Leinster and hopefully one or two players at least come through from it to help improve the squad. The captain Eoghan Frayne looks like a decent free taker and from range too so might solve a long running issue with Meath. Conor Gray is also a huge lump of a gasun and might help solve the midfielder fielding issues we've had as well.

The current U20 team also has a couple of lads yet to make the breakthrough at senior level, Jack Flynn is another potential big midfielder (he had a great game v Dublin at U20 last week) and i know some people have high hopes for Oisin McCloskey as well, who's a half back.

For Meath it's about supplementing and adding depth and talent to what's there. 1-15 and may 16-18 are a good standard but we need 1-21 all being of a slightly higher standard to really challenge.

If you look at Tyrone at the weekend, Richie Donnelly started v Cavan and didn't get brought in v Donegal. Meath would kill to have a talent like that available to them. Tyrone also have Mark Bradley who's barely been used. You need quality like that to spring from your bench, and we've been relying mainly on guys in their first or second year on the panel.

Its all a lot of ifs, buts ands and maybe's... i suppose like every county."
Yes definitely a top mid-fielder on the Meath u20's, caused panic for the Dub goalie, when Meath pressed the kickout, there was no long option as he was winning everything in the air.

sligo joe (Dublin) - Posts: 678 - 20/07/2021 11:48:14    2362067

Replying To avonali:  "How can we be sure that any of us won't re-emerge onto the forum in another incarnation?? Son of Kingdomboy, or KIngdomboy's ghost?? There is no way of verifying that the loser(s) will comply with the terms.
Now If you were to take The Hermit with you that's something I'd definitely consider."
PS I'm not assuming it will be a Kerry/Dubin All_ireland. I've already said that I just don't think that's how it will pan out. But I'd be happy to take 100eu from you up in Raheny when Kerry contest the final.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 20/07/2021 11:49:52    2362069

Anyone want to talk about the match itself?

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 20/07/2021 12:17:05    2362077

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "So what you're really saying is that you don't really believe dublin will lose this year Avon and that's fine i just wanted to call your bluff, it's a pity you don't take me up on my bet as it would have been a good chance for ye to get rid of me off the main forum, ye would have been hero's to the other dubs on here true kerry killers, but there we go.

€100 would be spent in a day and forgot about quickly getting rid of old kingdomboy would have lasted a lifetime."
1I think you will find it was I who called your bluff. Sure who is going to stop you changing your name and coming back in another re-incarnation. If Dublin win the All_ireland 100eu is yours. That's the bet. If you don't want to take it up that's fine; but stop peddling the line that you called people's bluff. Jaysis you're a gas man altogether!! :-D

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 20/07/2021 12:22:10    2362081

Bloody hell the fair weather Dublin fans are out in force, scurrying around the Northside backing against their own team as soon as there's an orchestrated trimmer, pitiful but humorous.

They'll be back again when the media tell them they are the greatest team ever and hop up on the blue bandwagon once more.

If the bet is that "Dublin won't win the All-Ireland" this year, then it's a no risk bet to avonali whatever happens, so only a fool would take it on as there's zero risk of any financial loss to avonali.

He could bet 10 grand with KingdomBoy1 that "Dublin won't win the All-Ireland this year" without the possibility of losing a cent, so it's pie in the sky, and not a real bet at all.

AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 20/07/2021 12:22:50    2362082

Replying To AfricanGael:  "Bloody hell the fair weather Dublin fans are out in force, scurrying around the Northside backing against their own team as soon as there's an orchestrated trimmer, pitiful but humorous.

They'll be back again when the media tell them they are the greatest team ever and hop up on the blue bandwagon once more.

If the bet is that "Dublin won't win the All-Ireland" this year, then it's a no risk bet to avonali whatever happens, so only a fool would take it on as there's zero risk of any financial loss to avonali.

He could bet 10 grand with KingdomBoy1 that "Dublin won't win the All-Ireland this year" without the possibility of losing a cent, so it's pie in the sky, and not a real bet at all."
And that was a broadcast from Hoganstand's very own Jim Corr.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 20/07/2021 12:28:15    2362084

Big mistake Meath made in hindsight was not insisting at the draw that the next meeting they were to have with Dublin would be in Navan.

I also believe that teams not to have played in Croke park that year should be afforded use of the stadium for a training session at their convenience. Not good enough the attitude of 'Croke park stadium' Don't want to facilitate anyone except Dublin. Paid big salaries and given use of our players free. Time to demand more from the *******.
Then offending all our eardrums with a wall of noise over the speakers to greet Dublin out.

I have great admiration for the Dublin team and set up but Croke park paid officials need to be rooted out of their nest.

Ashrules (Dublin) - Posts: 518 - 20/07/2021 12:30:39    2362089

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "So what you're really saying is that you don't really believe dublin will lose this year Avon and that's fine i just wanted to call your bluff, it's a pity you don't take me up on my bet as it would have been a good chance for ye to get rid of me off the main forum, ye would have been hero's to the other dubs on here true kerry killers, but there we go.

€100 would be spent in a day and forgot about quickly getting rid of old kingdomboy would have lasted a lifetime."
Don't be foolish KingdomBoy1 taking on a bet with a fella who's taking zero financial risk whatever the outcome of the All-Ireland.

It's what's called a spoofer bet.

AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 20/07/2021 12:31:16    2362090

Replying To AfricanGael:  "Bloody hell the fair weather Dublin fans are out in force, scurrying around the Northside backing against their own team as soon as there's an orchestrated trimmer, pitiful but humorous.

He could bet 10 grand with KingdomBoy1 that "Dublin won't win the All-Ireland this year" without the possibility of losing a cent, so it's pie in the sky, and not a real bet at all."
When you understand the nature of the bet get back to me. I think you are confused. Meanwhile, why don't you go back and play with your abacus like a good lad?

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 20/07/2021 12:36:24    2362091

Replying To avonali:  "1I think you will find it was I who called your bluff. Sure who is going to stop you changing your name and coming back in another re-incarnation. If Dublin win the All_ireland 100eu is yours. That's the bet. If you don't want to take it up that's fine; but stop peddling the line that you called people's bluff. Jaysis you're a gas man altogether!! :-D"
Id have no interest in starting a new account Avon none what so ever but that's my way, poster's like myself yourself and jimbo have been on here for years so we've our own personalities (well some have a few more than most isn't that right jim but there you go)

I think it would hurt a lot more if the loser of the bet had to pack his iPhone and leave the main forum

I think the logistics of trying to get the €100 to each other would be too difficult whereas this is a clean cut easy way of doing it.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 20/07/2021 12:48:31    2362098