Meath V Dublin

Replying To Forpucksake:  "Nonsense. He felt two hands on his shoulders and hit the deck. If there's a definition of playing for a penalty, you saw it there."
"He felt two hands on his shoulder" which is ofcourse a foul and a penalty!! Unless, Fenton made the opposition players put their hands on Fenton's shoulders?? I see your point...

Marse (Dublin) - Posts: 217 - 19/07/2021 00:22:17    2361472

9 steps for Con O Callaghan goal yesterday

centerfield (Mayo) - Posts: 360 - 19/07/2021 08:21:58    2361492

Conor Lane is a referee that seems to dance to the beat of his own drum. He was criticised heavily by the Dublin supporters after the final in 2019 v Kerry as he didn't give them a free at all. Now they benefited yesterday with the penalty decisions going for them. Meath themselves have benefited in the past. All teams have.

lilylanger (Kildare) - Posts: 758 - 19/07/2021 08:59:55    2361498

Replying To togoutlads:  "I don't think Mayo gave us a bye, did they?! It'll be a dog fight in Croke Park next week to meet the Dubs. Meath are on their way back - scandalous decision from the ref and bystander umpires not to award a clear penalty to Meath that would have changed the course of the game."
sorry what about kildare typical galway disrespect

mickcunningham (Westmeath) - Posts: 1799 - 19/07/2021 09:21:31    2361505

Dublin had the game won by half-time, took their foot off the accelerator and as soon as Meath got within distance, upped the tempo again.

People are reading way too much into this game, IMO.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 19/07/2021 09:27:24    2361508

Once again Dublin were saved by home advantage. Ref was previously bullied for not giving Dublin enough and had to make up for it. Several let offs for Dublin.
Meath had a clear penalty and black card for jumping on Bryan mc Mahon (was it Fenton ?)
Dublin immediately got a typical Raheem Sterling made penalty.
Cooper made a dangerous lunge to take Joey Wallace out in front of ref ,came 2nd best but no card, Continued blocking player off the ball, still no card, kick tripped a player going for the ball again in front of ref. Was allowed continuously foul as he liked.
Dublin forwards allowed carry ball rugby style as many steps as necessary.

Question1. Why was it in Croke Park at all.
Question 2 . Croke park is not paid for by Dublin yet after half time Meath drifted out. had to wait for 5 Minutes ,Then a timed huge blast of fanfare over the speakers to welcome Dublin out. Croke park stadium manager should have to answer for that.

All Ireland is made a joke of with Dublin getting 7 points advantage every game.

In fairness Dublin have a great bunch of players who are not behind this.

Ashrules (Dublin) - Posts: 518 - 19/07/2021 09:30:31    2361510

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "Very odd surely that TSG didnt discuss the possible Meath penalty?

I think Gooch is on the money regarding our one, advantage should have been played and Costello was in prime position.

The other. Well, it could easily have been a Meath penalty. No doubt."
The Meath penalty claim wasn't discussed as RTE had decided little time would be spent covering this game so rushed through their analysis of the game. They probably expect Dublin to win the All Ireland so, expecting that they will be showing Dublin's next 3 games on TV made a decision to spend minimal time analysing this game to avoid criticism that they spend too much time covering Dublin.
Considering neither Leinster semi finals were on TV the highlights Sunday game could have spent a bit more time on them.

bdbuddah (Meath) - Posts: 1338 - 19/07/2021 09:32:50    2361512

The dubs are on way down

kerry4sam21 (Kerry) - Posts: 103 - 19/07/2021 09:37:52    2361515

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "dublin will win by at least 6 points and i don't mean that as any disrespect to Meath because I fully expect dublin to hammer us by 6 points if we should meet in the final.

I expect Meath to be happy with only losing by 6 seeing it as progress but its not progress at all and Meath lads will hope that kildare will lose to dublin by 7 points so they can have the bragging rights, can ye see where I'm goin with this lads? Can ye remember that line from the usual suspects when Spacey said the greatest trick the devil ever pulled was convincing the world he didn't exist, that's what the dublin football team is doing right in front of ye and ye cant see it."
This is my post from 2 weeks ago where I called a 6 point win for dublin, its what they do, they give you a little scrap of hope to cling to so you don't see the fact that all the money they have been gifted by HQ has totally skewed the eco system of the football championship.

Regarding the reffs, well they're afraid of their lives to give big decisions against dublin in their home ground for fear they won't get the big games come the business end of the season, poor Paddy Neilan from Roscommon never got a big game after reffing the 2017 league final between ourselves and the dubs also in that game Connolly took Gavin Crowley out of it off the ball in front of Ciarán Branagan, Branagan was going to turn a blind eye only for us Kerry supporter's roaring at him to which he eventually called the reff.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 19/07/2021 10:15:09    2361532

Up 11 points at half time in sweltering heat its hard to keep going but all credit to Meath for a gutsy 2nd half performance. I only saw the TSG but anyone that writes off this Dublin team must nt have seen Brian Fenton or Con Ó Callaghan who still so energetic and hungry. Dubs have lost great players but over the years but look at what's come in like Con. Brian Howard and Costello flying. Also they have players coming back from injury. I can understand Dub supporters being cagey and a little worried but for the rest write of Dublin at your peril.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3674 - 19/07/2021 10:33:19    2361538

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "This is my post from 2 weeks ago where I called a 6 point win for dublin, its what they do, they give you a little scrap of hope to cling to so you don't see the fact that all the money they have been gifted by HQ has totally skewed the eco system of the football championship.

Regarding the reffs, well they're afraid of their lives to give big decisions against dublin in their home ground for fear they won't get the big games come the business end of the season, poor Paddy Neilan from Roscommon never got a big game after reffing the 2017 league final between ourselves and the dubs also in that game Connolly took Gavin Crowley out of it off the ball in front of Ciarán Branagan, Branagan was going to turn a blind eye only for us Kerry supporter's roaring at him to which he eventually called the reff."
Go away with vyour bitter anti Dublin nonsense

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 19/07/2021 10:39:02    2361539

Replying To kerry4sam21:  "The dubs are on way down"
Agreed

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 19/07/2021 10:39:51    2361540

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "This is my post from 2 weeks ago where I called a 6 point win for dublin, its what they do, they give you a little scrap of hope to cling to so you don't see the fact that all the money they have been gifted by HQ has totally skewed the eco system of the football championship.

Regarding the reffs, well they're afraid of their lives to give big decisions against dublin in their home ground for fear they won't get the big games come the business end of the season, poor Paddy Neilan from Roscommon never got a big game after reffing the 2017 league final between ourselves and the dubs also in that game Connolly took Gavin Crowley out of it off the ball in front of Ciarán Branagan, Branagan was going to turn a blind eye only for us Kerry supporter's roaring at him to which he eventually called the reff."
That's right Tommy ye Kerry boys like to ref the games yeerselves.
Lane must have forgot where he was and who was playing in 2019 so as he all but put on a Kerry jersey. It would be laughable if it wasn't so blatant. Kerry got everything he could give ye and ye still feel short.
Ye have been doing it for years in Munster too. Intimidating refs is yeer way.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 19/07/2021 10:46:02    2361541

Ahhh I see it all now. . So, the GAA hierarchy feeds all this money to the Dubs, then the Dubs take the foot off the gas in the second half of there matches to maintain the illusion that the other team has a fighting chance which will somehow blind the to them fact that this Dubs had all this money in the first place. Verry, very interesting theory there Kingdom me oul flower. Word of advice: make sure you keep your tin foil hat on in this fine weather. Wouldn't want a dose of sunstroke on top of all that paranoia.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 19/07/2021 10:50:31    2361544

Replying To Marse:  ""He felt two hands on his shoulder" which is ofcourse a foul and a penalty!! Unless, Fenton made the opposition players put their hands on Fenton's shoulders?? I see your point..."
Since when is touching another player a foul?

joeteor (Donegal) - Posts: 214 - 19/07/2021 10:57:16    2361546

Replying To bdbuddah:  "The Meath penalty claim wasn't discussed as RTE had decided little time would be spent covering this game so rushed through their analysis of the game. They probably expect Dublin to win the All Ireland so, expecting that they will be showing Dublin's next 3 games on TV made a decision to spend minimal time analysing this game to avoid criticism that they spend too much time covering Dublin.
Considering neither Leinster semi finals were on TV the highlights Sunday game could have spent a bit more time on them."
Good point BBuddah re the Meath penalty, no mention on Sunday Game, while the Aaron Gillane incident in the Munster Final was discussed by the panel. Lack of consistency.

MicktheMiller (Offaly) - Posts: 421 - 19/07/2021 11:12:02    2361556

Jaysus that's a new one, we're so good now that we can concede scores purposely to make it look like we're not really that good at all.
I think Meath might find that a little insulting.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8586 - 19/07/2021 11:22:58    2361568

Replying To Daith:  "A six point defeat is supposed to "give the rest of us hope".

Boycott the final. Enough of this farce."
what age are u? does mammy know your on line?

Stmunnsriver (Wexford) - Posts: 2840 - 19/07/2021 11:27:59    2361574

Massive eyeroll

http://www.seamusdukepr.ie/2020/01/01/paddy-neilan-interview-december-2019/

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 19/07/2021 11:28:20    2361575

Replying To kerry4sam21:  "The dubs are on way down"
To Kerry's level? Perhaps. Time will tell.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 19/07/2021 11:35:33    2361581