2021 Hurling Championship

Replying To johnocarroll17:  "You didn't blow it in 2019 ...... Limerick did!"
I think we were beaten fair and square by Kilkenny. we were shocking in the first half.. Should have got a 65 at the end but even then we were not guaranteed anything in extra time.

But Wexford had Tipp by the throat in 2019. They should have won that game, by far the better team.

still remember with 10 mins to go commenting on how they would have to be careful, they're losing shape by playing not to concede scores rather than kicking on.
It was a really good Wexford side who I definitely think would have beaten Kilkenny in the final. Unfortunately they've gone backwards since then..

skillet (Limerick) - Posts: 1062 - 19/07/2021 19:49:01    2361900

Massive game for Galway this Weekend...not worried about Tipp in the Quater Final or KK in the Semi Final (that's our route to the Final)
Waterford are a very good team and it will take a huge effort to beat them, so in my opinion this is our biggest game of the year... I know if Galway beat Waterford they will win the other two games.

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2195 - 19/07/2021 20:32:41    2361908

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "Bon might be a Dub living in Kildare and might not like that. Anyway Viking just want to say Wexford have given us great pleasure the last few years and you can keep your heads held up high."
Me too. Ah hes probably ok and I know from some of his posts hes passionate and knowledgeable about hurling and has probably been involved at some level or another in promoting hurling in Kildare at the grassroots or higher. It was just an annoying post!!!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11849 - 19/07/2021 20:54:08    2361926

Replying To katser:  "Massive game for Galway this Weekend...not worried about Tipp in the Quater Final or KK in the Semi Final (that's our route to the Final)
Waterford are a very good team and it will take a huge effort to beat them, so in my opinion this is our biggest game of the year... I know if Galway beat Waterford they will win the other two games."
No... I'm not biting.
All I'll say is, I think you should give your crystal ball a bit of a shine, it sounds to me like it's a bit blurry.

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2466 - 19/07/2021 20:55:33    2361929

Replying To skillet:  "I think we were beaten fair and square by Kilkenny. we were shocking in the first half.. Should have got a 65 at the end but even then we were not guaranteed anything in extra time.

But Wexford had Tipp by the throat in 2019. They should have won that game, by far the better team.

still remember with 10 mins to go commenting on how they would have to be careful, they're losing shape by playing not to concede scores rather than kicking on.
It was a really good Wexford side who I definitely think would have beaten Kilkenny in the final. Unfortunately they've gone backwards since then.."
"Wexford by far the better team"? Have you forgotten that Tipp had three goals cancelled out that day? Maybe we're not supposed to question the "hawkeye point" that resulted in a four-point swing, but the other two disallowed goals were ridiculous. There was no foul in the lead-up to Tipp's early disallowed goal and the ref failed miserably to give Jake Morris the advantage near the end when he blew up for a fairly harmless "foul" on Callanan. A team with an extra man for most of the second half should have coasted home if they were "by far the better team". Many experts claimed that Tipp were greatly assisted by having an extra man in that year's final, but some of the same experts seemed to suggest that the extra man was of no benefit to Wexford in the semi-final. As the yanks might say "go figure".

midlands (Westmeath) - Posts: 542 - 19/07/2021 21:17:10    2361934

Replying To katser:  "Massive game for Galway this Weekend...not worried about Tipp in the Quater Final or KK in the Semi Final (that's our route to the Final)
Waterford are a very good team and it will take a huge effort to beat them, so in my opinion this is our biggest game of the year... I know if Galway beat Waterford they will win the other two games."
If games could be won on paper katser they'd be easily won!
By the way, you may be a bit off there with our route to the final. If Cork and Galway come through the qualifiers and reach the semifinals then it would be Galway vs Limerick and Cork vs Kilkenny in the semi finals cos Cork cannot meet Limerick again til the final. Mind you, I don't think it's something we'll have to worry about. I wouldn't share your optimism about us getting that far.

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1903 - 19/07/2021 21:27:34    2361937

Well if you can't beat Dublin.......

Shocs07 (Limerick) - Posts: 372 - 19/07/2021 21:54:46    2361948

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "No... I'm not biting.
All I'll say is, I think you should give your crystal ball a bit of a shine, it sounds to me like it's a bit blurry."
I think it's more like the yellow sliotar than a crystal ball! Say nothing!

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1798 - 19/07/2021 22:34:36    2361961

Replying To Viking66:  "Back to 2nd best again? We were only 1 of a couple of bad refereeing decisions from winning the Leinster semi final and a matter of inches away from probably beating Clare when Rory O Connor hit the side netting. That turned into a 6 point swing. And if it had of gone in we would probably have never been even halfway to the 11 points down we got to in the 1st half. If Waterford lose to Galway no doubt you will be on this saying Liam Cahill should be shown the door as their only Championship win will have been a very close win over a Laois team we hammered by more than 20 points. Maybe best you buy a ticket for Croke Park where hopefully the Lilywhites can shock the Dubs because you seem to know nothing about hurling."
That's all well and good ifs buts and maybe's, facts are ye lost. Games he could well have won. So where does the problem lie with that? Your manager? Liam Cahill got his team to an all ireland final last year, he gets more time.
I've zero interest in watching lily white footballers even if they were in my back garden.

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1909 - 19/07/2021 22:36:46    2361963

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "Bon might be a Dub living in Kildare and might not like that. Anyway Viking just want to say Wexford have given us great pleasure the last few years and you can keep your heads held up high."
Kildare Hurling man born and bred.
They most certainly have, the colour Wexford fans bring to occasions. Hurling needs a strong Wexford influence.

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1909 - 19/07/2021 22:39:44    2361966

Replying To PoolSturgeon:  "If games could be won on paper katser they'd be easily won!
By the way, you may be a bit off there with our route to the final. If Cork and Galway come through the qualifiers and reach the semifinals then it would be Galway vs Limerick and Cork vs Kilkenny in the semi finals cos Cork cannot meet Limerick again til the final. Mind you, I don't think it's something we'll have to worry about. I wouldn't share your optimism about us getting that far."
Semi Final Draw 2021
Leinster Champions v Winner of Round 2 Team/Munster Runner up.
Munster Champions v Winner of Round 2 Team/Leinster Runner up.
At Semi Final stage (ONLY) of Competition Teams who met before can meet again.
Got this info from a top man!

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2195 - 19/07/2021 23:17:00    2361978

Replying To johnocarroll17:  "Because Waterford and Clare were kept apart Cork and Galway couldn't be drawn against each other either"
What I meant was Galway and Cork were always going to be kept apart in the draw regardless of who came through of the Round 1 qualifiers. There was no reason they couldn't face each other if say Wexford and Waterford had come through.

M Lyster (Antrim) - Posts: 461 - 20/07/2021 00:00:04    2361987

Replying To bloodyban:  "Wexico rather than getting exercised about Limericks success by putting together a DPP type file of crimes committed ,how about telling us about Wexfords short comings. Tell us why ye play a brand of hurling that guys on scooters could hardly implement. The most energy intensive, ineffective brand of hurling In Ireland. Wexford would be better off copying Limerick rather than being negative of a Monday morning"
Fair play to you for your Davy Fitzgerald impression of attempted deflection, im well aware of our short comings, that 1st 20 mins meant we'd no business remaining in the championship.

You shown plenty of times the innate ability of being both a sore winner and sore loser, any taughts of the Gillane and Flanagan incidents or just go on another random tangent for deflection purposes?

bostonredsox (Wexford) - Posts: 4368 - 20/07/2021 01:02:31    2361997

Replying To PoolSturgeon:  "If games could be won on paper katser they'd be easily won!
By the way, you may be a bit off there with our route to the final. If Cork and Galway come through the qualifiers and reach the semifinals then it would be Galway vs Limerick and Cork vs Kilkenny in the semi finals cos Cork cannot meet Limerick again til the final. Mind you, I don't think it's something we'll have to worry about. I wouldn't share your optimism about us getting that far."
No- Not right. If Tipp and Cork reach the Semi Finals, as could happen, then Limerick would play Cork as they could not play Tipp, their Munster Final opponents.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4321 - 20/07/2021 08:20:00    2362007

Replying To skillet:  "I think we were beaten fair and square by Kilkenny. we were shocking in the first half.. Should have got a 65 at the end but even then we were not guaranteed anything in extra time.

It was a really good Wexford side who I definitely think would have beaten Kilkenny in the final. Unfortunately they've gone backwards since then.."
By far the better team? No chance. It was an amazing contest, both teams did hurling proud, but tipp definitely deserved the win imo,

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1708 - 20/07/2021 08:35:57    2362010

Replying To Bon:  "Kildare Hurling man born and bred.
They most certainly have, the colour Wexford fans bring to occasions. Hurling needs a strong Wexford influence."
Fair play Bon. You must be a big fan of Seanie Johnston so lol. Seriously though good to see Kildare getting strong in the hurling.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3676 - 20/07/2021 08:54:07    2362013

Since you are in such a confident mood, have you thought about the 3 weekends in a row that we will have to play if we do win against Waterford and tipp??

ecad123 (Galway) - Posts: 272 - 20/07/2021 09:24:50    2362020

Replying To Bon:  "That's all well and good ifs buts and maybe's, facts are ye lost. Games he could well have won. So where does the problem lie with that? Your manager? Liam Cahill got his team to an all ireland final last year, he gets more time.
I've zero interest in watching lily white footballers even if they were in my back garden."
Around the beginning of the decade we were losing to Laois and Antrim. Even 5 or 6 years ago. We didnt beat Dublin from the late noughties til Davy took over. The late noughties team had a load of lads that won Leinster u21s and nearly an all Ireland u21 in the early noughties. Liam Dunne stopped the rot and Davy has brought us on. For us to be in the kind of conversation about what happened in 2019 and whose fault it was that we lost an AISF narrowly to the All Ireland winners is still amazing to me. If you told me in 2011 we would be back in a Leinster final in 2017 and winning a title in 2019 and losing to Kilkenny after being somewhat unluckily level in normal time in 2021 I'd of laughed at you. We were comfortably the joint 4th worst team in Leinster and a long way behind Dublin, Kilkenny and Galway. I'm still not sure we lost any of those games only because of the manager. Maybe he was a large part of why we got to them at all. For sure the players have improved immensely but to say that's nothing to do with the manager is surely nonsense. And being largely competitive again the last 4 years in league and championship, 2020 championship excepted, after years of not being so in a consistent way. Up until 2016 we were being regularly hammered by Munster counties second strings in league games. We havent any underage All Ireland winning players since the 60s. The last decade has seen Clare, Waterford, Limerick, Kilkenny, Galway, Tipperary, and Cork win underage AI titles. In the last 50 plus years we have won the same as Laois, Antrim, Dublin and alot less than Offaly. It could be said we have over achieved. I dont believe that necessarily but I do know I had alot of years of going to see us playing Antrim, Laois and Offaly if I wanted to see us in a competitive game. Whatever about the disappointment of both our championship losses this year there were large chunks of both games where we were the better team we weren't beat off the field like we were even just 8 or 9 years ago.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11849 - 20/07/2021 10:08:59    2362031

Replying To Oldtourman:  "No- Not right. If Tipp and Cork reach the Semi Finals, as could happen, then Limerick would play Cork as they could not play Tipp, their Munster Final opponents."
Galway and Clare always thrive on Momentum...when they both Click and hit top form with games coming thick and fast.
Possibly looking like lk worse nightmare Semi Final Clare v lk and Galway v KK!

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2195 - 20/07/2021 11:30:36    2362059

Clare and Cork is an interesting game this weekend. Cork are seen as an up and coming team. They will be fresh after a few weeks break. Clare however seem to be learning and improving with every game.

People seem to look on playing in the qualifiers week after week as a negative. What will win this weekend? Freshness or momentum?

Ban (Westmeath) - Posts: 1415 - 20/07/2021 11:42:09    2362065