2021 SHC should be a cracker. With Wexford, Galway and Dublin talked up in Leinster. Limerick & Waterford in Munster I,d say the Cats , Rebels and the Premier be licking their lips at causal few upsets. Which they will no doubt. Bring it on. hunchback (Antrim) - Posts: 56 - 19/06/2021 11:33:36 2351978 Link 0 |
Limerick are the favorites but recent history is not on their side. If you take Kilkenny out of it the last team to win 2 in a row was Cork in '04 and '05. However they have an endless supply of big good hurlers and a very good man in charge. I think Davy has great shock value, he can come into a set up and light a fire under players for a short time but he doesn't have great shelf life. I would imagine his act could get old with players after a few years. Tipp have great hurlers the question is how much is left in the old guards. They were great sevants to Tipp hurling but, eventually you come up against young legs and you are left behind. They may have another year left. Fun team to watch play. Galway are Galway can be the best team on Earth one day and not so great the next. Have some good young players that could spur them on. If they get it right on the day they can beat anyone. Clare seem to have a lot of issues with in house fighting between the county board, which is terrible for a team trying to prepare for the championship. Cork I can't wrap my head around they are a fustrating team to watch. Some mistakes they make are hard to believe. Waterford are the big question can they push on from last year. Waterford are right there, I think what they are missing is a star forward. A Callinan, Reid or Canning, if they had one they would be right there with Limerick. lastly is Kilkenny they have a star and some tested players plus they have Cody. I don't think they are good enough to win an All-Ireland but if they get to a semi-final I wouldn't want to be the team playing them. Well that is an amatuers opinion on the whole thing hopefully we will get crowds back at the games and have a great championship. gatha (Kilkenny) - Posts: 318 - 19/06/2021 11:45:06 2351981 Link 3 |
2021 SHC should be a cracker. With Wexford, Galway and Dublin talked up in Leinster. Limerick & Waterford in Munster I,d say the Cats , Rebels and the Premier be licking their lips at causal few upsets. Which they will no doubt. Bring it on."]Dont think anyone is talking up our chances not even in Wexford! As someone who has followed Wexford hurling since the early/mid 90s I dont think I've ever expected us to do well. Hoped definitely but never expected. Even 96 was a shock! Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 20653 - 19/06/2021 12:10:31 2351992 Link 0 |
A kilkenny man accusing me of arrogance is quite the compliment I must say! The 2021 All Ireland championship hasn't been played yet so all any of us can do at the moment is to talk hypothetically about what might happen in it. That is what making predictions is all about. And I am not making a prediction....I am merely engaging in speculation based on the fact that Galway are 2nd favourites and the bookies are not often wrong and have us 2nd favourites for a reason. I don't know if we will go far in this year's championship but I do think we have as good a chance as any and a better chance than some. I suggest you read posts properly before you react with your over the top gibberish PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 2152 - 19/06/2021 12:11:31 2351993 Link 0 |
Think that's a bit unfair on Davy. He won a League title with Clare the year he departed. And they have won nothing since. We were poor last year but the whole panel except 2 lads were playing club championship football at a high, mainly senior, level in the run up to last years championship which is a completely different game to hurling. Very few senior intercounty hurlers on other panels are also the best players on the top senior club football teams in the county. I suppose that's the price we pay for being one of very few genuinely dual counties as in nearly all the clubs put equal emphasis on hurling and football from underage upwards.. Most of the other dual counties have far more hurling only or football only clubs or even football areas and hurling areas like Cork, Galway etc. There was also the covid interruption to collective training for the whole panel as well. Same as this year. The collective wait for an all ireland title between the 3 counties Davy has managed when he started managing them is around 70 years! I suppose this season will tell alot but we havent been great at underage grades since the 1960s so it's not as if he has had any sort of conveyor belt of new talent to bring through.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 20653 - 19/06/2021 12:26:49 2351996 Link 1 |
I could be wrong about Davy looking from the outside in. This year will tell a lot but I don't see him staying with Wexford after this year. He reminds me of Loughnane in that he is the star of the show. A lot of Clare believe that although Lougnane brought Clare 2 All-Irelands, and that was fanatastic, he cost them in later years with all he nonsense associated with him. When you see the way Kiely, Cody and Galvin conduct themselves they are built for the long haul if they choose I don't see that in Davy.
gatha (Kilkenny) - Posts: 318 - 19/06/2021 13:20:15 2352005 Link 1 |
Viking, I totally acknowledge that Galway have a terrible record in All Ireland finals and they have lost some big games through a lack of mental toughness (the 2015 All Ireland final comes to mind). But you don't seem to realise that Galway hurling before 1975 was at about at the same level that Laois hurling is now so going back 100 years to bolster your point is ridiculous. If Laois were in our position for many of the finals we've lost, getting byes to the All Ireland semi final and doing giant killing acts to reach the final, they'd have a horrendous record in All Ireland finals too! I have to keep on reiterating that more than half of the All Ireland finals we've lost over the years were 2nd round championship matches. In a properly structured championship (I.e. an open draw championship where geography was not the predominant feature) Galway wouldn't even have reached most of those All Ireland finals they lost because their inadequacies would have been found out earlier by better teams who had lost in their own provincial championship. Any discussion of Galways record in big games should begin at 2008 when Galway entered the Leinster championship and there was a level playing field for all contenders. Our record since then has not been great but I think it will balance out over time. We have lost some big games that on paper we would have been expected to win but generally when we have lost it is because we were not good enough. I was replying to a Galway poster when I described as BS the notion that Gslways poor record in All Ireland finals has any relevance for this year or any other year. It has absolutely ZERO relevance. I find it really frustrating when I hear someone from my own county utter nonsense like that. It is only relevant if you hold the false belief that it is relevant but thankfully the modern players are psychologically well prepared nowadays and clearly grasp that what happened in games that took place in previous eras when maybe the players concerned weren't even born, has zero relevance to whatever big game they are playing today. History is only a burden if you allow it to be so. PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 2152 - 19/06/2021 13:45:09 2352009 Link 0 |
I love the man's passion for the game. Sometimes it may cost them but you can't accuse him of not caring.
Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2631 - 19/06/2021 14:38:03 2352015 Link 1 |
Viking, I totally acknowledge that Galway have a terrible record in All Ireland finals and they have lost some big games through a lack of mental toughness (the 2015 All Ireland final comes to mind). But you don't seem to realise that Galway hurling before 1975 was at about at the same level that Laois hurling is now so going back 100 years to bolster your point is ridiculous. If Laois were in our position for many of the finals we've lost, getting byes to the All Ireland semi final and doing giant killing acts to reach the final, they'd have a horrendous record in All Ireland finals too! I have to keep on reiterating that more than half of the All Ireland finals we've lost over the years were 2nd round championship matches. In a properly structured championship (I.e. an open draw championship where geography was not the predominant feature) Galway wouldn't even have reached most of those All Ireland finals they lost because their inadequacies would have been found out earlier by better teams who had lost in their own provincial championship. Any discussion of Galways record in big games should begin at 2008 when Galway entered the Leinster championship and there was a level playing field for all contenders. Our record since then has not been great but I think it will balance out over time. We have lost some big games that on paper we would have been expected to win but generally when we have lost it is because we were not good enough. I was replying to a Galway poster when I described as BS the notion that Gslways poor record in All Ireland finals has any relevance for this year or any other year. It has absolutely ZERO relevance. I find it really frustrating when I hear someone from my own county utter nonsense like that. It is only relevant if you hold the false belief that it is relevant but thankfully the modern players are psychologically well prepared nowadays and clearly grasp that what happened in games that took place in previous eras when maybe the players concerned weren't even born, has zero relevance to whatever big game they are playing today. History is only a burden if you allow it to be so."]I agree history is only a burden if you let it. I disagree about Galway being at Laois level up to 2008. The team you had in the 80s was very good for example and won 2 AIs. And since 1972 you have won 10 AI U20/1 finals to our none. You have won 13 AI minor titles to our none since 1983. We've only ever won 1 u21 and 3 minor AI titles all 4 of which were in the 60s before I was born. To put your record at minor into context Kilkenny have only won 9 since 1983. Tipp have only won 5 since 1983. And Cork have only won 4 since 1983. Only Kilkenny have won more u20/1s since 1983 than you, 11 to your 10. You should have a better record at senior. Before 2008 the argument was you only had an AISF to get ready for a final but your record since then is still alot worse than your underage record so that obviously isnt the reason. Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 20653 - 19/06/2021 15:46:38 2352025 Link 0 |
I agree. I dont think he puts that on just to be the centre of attention on the sideline. He was the very same as a player.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 20653 - 19/06/2021 15:48:02 2352026 Link 2 |
At this moment limerick are out on their own. Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 4663 - 20/06/2021 09:28:14 2352106 Link 0 |
looking at the year ahead if limerick put their best foot forward its hard to see them been beat.......i'd be afraid of galway tho as o'neill has put a very good panel together and 6 real good forwards . munsterchamps (Limerick) - Posts: 1171 - 20/06/2021 12:12:37 2352134 Link 0 |
That's exactly what people should expect. The beauty of our game of course being that it won't happen. Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 4663 - 20/06/2021 12:22:17 2352137 Link 2 |
doyler id love to putting wexford into the mix but ye are going nowhere until ye get rid of that clare man......and i'm telling you now ye will earn yer oats trying to get rid of him he is going nowhere as he knows he'll be out of a job if he walks away as no other top county will take him on.......ye may not have the players to win the allireland but ye certainly have the players to be making last 4 and knocking on the door.
munsterchamps (Limerick) - Posts: 1171 - 20/06/2021 13:15:03 2352147 Link 2 |
Either way best of luck to ye in this year's Championship.
Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2631 - 20/06/2021 14:56:07 2352159 Link 0 |
Exactly the way the bookies have it Munsterchamps. Would be great to see Waterford win it if we dont. Be good to see Limerick go back to back if not.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 20653 - 20/06/2021 15:07:52 2352164 Link 1 |
I don't think that is fair on Davy. Clare were going no where in 2013 and he won the All-Ireland. Waterford were hammered in 2008 in Munster and brought them through the back door to the All-Ireland. (though I will never accept what was done to Justin) He has brought Wexford from the doldrums to a Leinster championship win and now respectability. Like him or dislike him he is a good motivator and coach.
Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 3249 - 20/06/2021 15:19:02 2352165 Link 1 |
Exactly that. A great manager. Marmite is good for you too but you either love it or hate it....
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 20653 - 20/06/2021 15:29:01 2352166 Link 0 |
I love Marmite. I dislike Davy. Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2961 - 20/06/2021 15:59:56 2352170 Link 0 |
I'd love to give him a few years in charge of this galway team. For sure he'd end up falling out with the players after a while but in the mean time I think he'd almost guarantee us an all Ireland.
Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1942 - 20/06/2021 16:33:46 2352174 Link 1 |