Dublin Vs Kerry

Kerry deserved the draw...dubs seemed to me as if they were holding back in the 2nd half..positive for me was we were able to cut them open in the first half should have had at least another 3 goals..Clifford is something else if you keep him to 3,4 ir 5 pts from a defenders point of few it is job done..1-3 in the 2nd half was disappointing...2 teams never disappoint when they play each other

jacktheDub (Dublin) - Posts: 944 - 23/05/2021 16:33:13    2344580

Replying To mayotyroneman:  "You obviously don't understand the rules. On both occasions Spillane and moynihan travelled for 8 or 9 steps while being fouled. Referee couldn't allow scores because both players had over carried. Correct decision on both occasions was to award free kick to Kerry as the foul was the initial transgression. Excellent refereeing decisions."
Nonsense. The best refs in all sports use common sense why would you want to reward the defender who is illegally trying to stop a goalscoring chance by bringing it back for a free? We want to see goals in our game and the benefit of the doubt being given to the attacker. You must not have played the game yourself as its impossible to hop or solo the ball whilst being fouled, con o callaghan alone could have a highlight reel of goals where he is being fouled and has to over carry as a result but is rightly given the advantage and buries it. Besides the first one wasnt even steps anyway and Kerry had men over breaking hard at goal when the ref decides to bring it back for a difficult free which kerry miss, ridiculous referring

Northsidegaels (Meath) - Posts: 237 - 23/05/2021 16:44:17    2344588

Replying To Northsidegaels:  "Nonsense. The best refs in all sports use common sense why would you want to reward the defender who is illegally trying to stop a goalscoring chance by bringing it back for a free? We want to see goals in our game and the benefit of the doubt being given to the attacker. You must not have played the game yourself as its impossible to hop or solo the ball whilst being fouled, con o callaghan alone could have a highlight reel of goals where he is being fouled and has to over carry as a result but is rightly given the advantage and buries it. Besides the first one wasnt even steps anyway and Kerry had men over breaking hard at goal when the ref decides to bring it back for a difficult free which kerry miss, ridiculous referring"
The aul common sense argument can justify anything. The ref was not wrong here. He just applied the rule. Change the rule and then he can apply that. If being fouled you can take as many steps as you like.

Ulsterchamps_32 (Donegal) - Posts: 693 - 23/05/2021 17:07:31    2344604

Good game. Dublin probably should have had another 3 goals and failed to keep the foot down when 7 points up. Kerry put the high press on in the second half and Dublin made some silly errors and got turned over easily. Kerry deserved the draw in the end but Dublin will be happy enough with that performance against a team who many declared to be AI favourites last week.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 23/05/2021 17:07:43    2344605

I'm confused, ok if there was too many steps....fair enough, but then I thought it would have been a black card and a penalty it as it was obviously a goal scoring opportunity? .... (we know it was a goal scoring chance as he scored the goal)

captainshamrock (Kerry) - Posts: 23 - 23/05/2021 17:09:16    2344607

Happy enough with that, didn't think we were to bothered about the result to be honest and just played the game without giving anything away strategy wise for later in the year. No real surprises or nothing we haven't weighed or measured from the South West before. A good game for the young lads and their development, Lahiff did well, Mullen tidy when he came on, McMahon grew into it - that will push him on, Evan had a good game to.

Kerry were probably better team overall, especially in the third quarter and really wanted it, but felt we were playing in second gear for three quarters of the game or maybe we are just getting on - who knows! Hopefully we wont be as sloppy in play or be hitting that many wides later in the year, when the real stuff starts, thankfully history is in our favour on that score.

Cluxton, Rock, a fully fit Cooper, Howard and Bugler to come back in. But today is a a day for development and fitness.

Kerry probably deserved it overall and If I was them be disappointed not to win, but we're good, very good even in low gears.

We go again looking forward to the Galway game,. We'l look to our own, & hopefully we continue to blood the youngsters, it's our way.

Wouldn't mind seeing POCB get a start though I thought Lahiff was very tidy today.

Up the Du6s.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 23/05/2021 17:15:23    2344609

Replying To lilylanger:  "Hugely entertaining game. Con O'Callaghan is some talent. Fair play to Kerry for coming back in what was an uncharacteristic collapse from Dublin."
Your idea of entertaining is different to mine. Match was interesting in that it was close near the end and some good skills from O' Callaghan and Clifford , However, as a game it was poor with some very negative football by Dublin for long periods with hand passing the ball backwards (for over 60m) on many occasions.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 23/05/2021 17:27:48    2344614

Replying To Joxer:  "Good game. Dublin probably should have had another 3 goals and failed to keep the foot down when 7 points up. Kerry put the high press on in the second half and Dublin made some silly errors and got turned over easily. Kerry deserved the draw in the end but Dublin will be happy enough with that performance against a team who many declared to be AI favourites last week."
I didn't think it was a great game joxer, the way dublin hold onto the ball going in and out over the 45 yard line like a human sewing machine, I understand why ye do it but it's awful to watch.

But considering we're months behind ye fitnesswise we did good to get back.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 23/05/2021 17:36:55    2344623

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "I didn't think it was a great game joxer, the way dublin hold onto the ball going in and out over the 45 yard line like a human sewing machine, I understand why ye do it but it's awful to watch.

But considering we're months behind ye fitnesswise we did good to get back."
Jesus looked sharp enough to me. Home remedies BOS style standing to ye..

jacktheDub (Dublin) - Posts: 944 - 23/05/2021 17:49:17    2344628

Replying To browncows:  "Your idea of entertaining is different to mine. Match was interesting in that it was close near the end and some good skills from O' Callaghan and Clifford , However, as a game it was poor with some very negative football by Dublin for long periods with hand passing the ball backwards (for over 60m) on many occasions."
And let a blanket defence win, never!! ;)

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 23/05/2021 17:51:00    2344631

Replying To browncows:  "Your idea of entertaining is different to mine. Match was interesting in that it was close near the end and some good skills from O' Callaghan and Clifford , However, as a game it was poor with some very negative football by Dublin for long periods with hand passing the ball backwards (for over 60m) on many occasions."
Yes we obviously have different opinions sure how bad.

lilylanger (Kildare) - Posts: 758 - 23/05/2021 17:57:28    2344638

Replying To captainshamrock:  "I'm confused, ok if there was too many steps....fair enough, but then I thought it would have been a black card and a penalty it as it was obviously a goal scoring opportunity? .... (we know it was a goal scoring chance as he scored the goal)"
That's a fair point though think rule states

Denying an opponent a goalscoring opportunity by a cynical act of depriving an opponent of a goalscoring opportunity within the 20-metre line or its arc

I think the cynical act is basically a black card foul. I don't think you could say that the foul was cynical. In saying that it would have been very fair if the rules allowed for a penalty in this situation.

Ulsterchamps_32 (Donegal) - Posts: 693 - 23/05/2021 17:58:20    2344640

Replying To captainshamrock:  "I'm confused, ok if there was too many steps....fair enough, but then I thought it would have been a black card and a penalty it as it was obviously a goal scoring opportunity? .... (we know it was a goal scoring chance as he scored the goal)"
If your man had of gone to ground it would have been a penalty and a black card.

lilylanger (Kildare) - Posts: 758 - 23/05/2021 17:58:47    2344641

The referee was terrible and so was the co commentator on TG4.... how in Gods good name did he award Scully man of the match...? Clifford and O Callaghan were the stand out players with several more way ahead of Scully... mind boggling

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1928 - 23/05/2021 18:17:48    2344655

Confusing alright, seems it has to be a black-card offence, i.e deliberate body collide, deliberate trip or deliberate pull-down, that prevents a goal-scoring opportunity, so it seems if a player is pulled back but not pulled down it is not covered?

sligo joe (Dublin) - Posts: 683 - 23/05/2021 18:43:08    2344671

Good run out, that's all.

Happy that Dublin stuck with giving the up and comings a good run and they did well. Happy with that, as this is the type of game to bring them on.

I'm seeing some promising signs there and with plenty to return it's very encouraging.

O'Callaghan very nearly beat Kerry on his own, scoring two goals, creating a third, winning a penalty for a fourth, and missing two other goalchances that could have easily given him a hat-trick on another day

That's a very serious contribution from him against a good side.

Congrats to both teams

Just shadow boxing but hey its good to have football back and having the opportunity to watch Cons efforts today.

Well done to the young lads again. They are taking the opportunity awarded to them in their stride.

Up The Du6s

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 23/05/2021 18:51:45    2344677

Replying To ForeverBlue2:  "The referee was terrible and so was the co commentator on TG4.... how in Gods good name did he award Scully man of the match...? Clifford and O Callaghan were the stand out players with several more way ahead of Scully... mind boggling"
I would have given it to Con O'Callaghan myself though David Clifford dragged Kerry back into the game so he would have been a worthy recipient too. Unless the TG4 crew saw something the camera didn't show I dunno why Scully got it. To be fair he looked bewildered himself.

lilylanger (Kildare) - Posts: 758 - 23/05/2021 18:54:24    2344679

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "I didn't think it was a great game joxer, the way dublin hold onto the ball going in and out over the 45 yard line like a human sewing machine, I understand why ye do it but it's awful to watch.

But considering we're months behind ye fitnesswise we did good to get back."
Kerry finished with the strongest legs all the same KB. The months without training and only hauling bails of hay around and working the farm has obviously kept a lot of lads fit. It was a good run out for a few of our young fellas and will stand to us but very disappointed in our first half finishing against that defence. Sure it's only the league as they say. Kerry have earned their favourites tag having demolished Galway and galloping back against the 6 in a row champs. Fix that defence and there'll be no stopping this green machine.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 23/05/2021 18:59:08    2344682

Replying To ForeverBlue2:  "The referee was terrible and so was the co commentator on TG4.... how in Gods good name did he award Scully man of the match...? Clifford and O Callaghan were the stand out players with several more way ahead of Scully... mind boggling"
Completely.... O Callaghan for me, Clifford wasn't great in the first half to be fair, great in the second . David Moran had a particular off day for me.

captainshamrock (Kerry) - Posts: 23 - 23/05/2021 19:07:42    2344688

Replying To lilylanger:  "If your man had of gone to ground it would have been a penalty and a black card."
So you have to lie down for a penalty. I have never seen that rule!. Is it called the 'lie down rule'!!

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 23/05/2021 19:15:31    2344692