2021 National Hurling League

Replying To preddan:  "its only a draw lol,, they didnt win at the end of the day and get the result that counted. Mcmanus should have got the line far sooner and he did set up the goal."
The draw keeps them in Div 1.

carlovia (None) - Posts: 1517 - 05/06/2021 22:41:49    2348556

Very entertaining game on tg4 this afternoon between Ant v Wex. A draw was a fair result at the end. Antrim were very good with cross field passes and catching. However, they still have a bit to go to match Limerick at the short passing game. They ran down a few cul de sacs in the first half trying to short pass their way out of the backs. Lee Chin having an off day on the frees, eventhough, he still scored a haul, allowed Antrim off the hook. But overall, Antrim showed enough fight and determination to get the draw. Would love to see Antrim realistically challenging for Leinster/AI titles and whatever DG has brought, it has moved them in the right direction.

TippRed (Tipperary) - Posts: 42 - 05/06/2021 22:59:23    2348561

Replying To skirge7:  "Something need to be done about the distance someone can puck the ball.

A free is a point now. A unchallenged puck of the ball is a point. Scoring is way too high and not enough tackles.

Everyone is at the gym every week now. Either make the ball heavy, the ball less aerodynamic or the hurleys lighter.

Watching Limerick is so boring. The best game today was the two worst teams on TV - Antrim v Wexford. 90s was peak hurling."
Problem is you can't tackle or make yourself big, stand your ground, etc any more. It is all a free. If your man gets the ball, you better disappear into fresh air because any attempt at tackling is a free.
I think, watching 2 matches today, the game is gone boring.
I dunno re the 90s, I was only born in 96 but have watched a few games from the era, have not aged well.

StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 1729 - 05/06/2021 22:59:30    2348562

P.S. Great to see Davy and Darren make up off camera after Davy's interview on TG4!

TippRed (Tipperary) - Posts: 42 - 05/06/2021 23:07:52    2348564

Replying To skirge7:  "Something need to be done about the distance someone can puck the ball.

A free is a point now. A unchallenged puck of the ball is a point. Scoring is way too high and not enough tackles.

Everyone is at the gym every week now. Either make the ball heavy, the ball less aerodynamic or the hurleys lighter.

Watching Limerick is so boring. The best game today was the two worst teams on TV - Antrim v Wexford. 90s was peak hurling."
Agreed. 1st half of of Limerick v Cork had 28 scores and 14 wides in 37 minutes..ie the ball was constantly out play..a bore fest..

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 06/06/2021 00:04:47    2348570

Why boring? You bored of watching them win?

blackspot91 (Limerick) - Posts: 1055 - 06/06/2021 08:37:04    2348581

Replying To preddan:  "its only a draw lol,, they didnt win at the end of the day and get the result that counted. Mcmanus should have got the line far sooner and he did set up the goal."
McManus shouldn't have got the line at any point his second yellow was a joke and the amount of handy frees the referee kept giving wexford was joke. Antrim deserve the plaudits the kept chipping away at wexfords lead. But for very poor distribution antrim would have won they gave away possession with awful passes when in terrific positions several times. Wexford started the melee it was great to see antrim step up and refuse to be bullied. Davy may be box office but his carry on was beyond the pale he should have been sent from the stadium. The referee then allowed him back on at the water break after being sent to the stands mind boggling to be honest.

Richardkimble (Laois) - Posts: 39 - 06/06/2021 09:18:34    2348587

Not a bit boring if you are a Limerick follower. If it is so easy to hit those long range points why are every team not doing it. Apart from all that Limerick, with what even there biggest begrudgers will admit are a fine team, missed something like fifteen shots at goal yesterday, so scoring from distance even to good forwards is not that easy at all. They had 31 shots at goal in the first half yesterday. Remember also when Kilkenny beat them with a string of long range points themselves in '19 no one was complaining. I also recall that neutrals felt watching Tipperary sweep to All Final victory time after time in the sixties boring as they did watching Kilkenny and Cork doing the same in later decades. The same applied on occasion to Kerry and Dublin in Football when they were in utter domination. As regards '90s been 'peak hurling' anytime I play back recordings I see nothing but poorly prepared teams with very low skill levels and practically no combination play at all

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4315 - 06/06/2021 09:21:16    2348588

Replying To wexico15:  "Cork made several changes tonight so certainly an element of shadow boxing, for how dominant Limerick were Cork could easily have got 2 or 3 more goals."
you're dead right...cork could have scored more goals with a weakened team, they will the team to beat....ye better hope ye dont meet them.

munsterchamps (Limerick) - Posts: 1094 - 06/06/2021 09:57:12    2348591

Replying To Oldtourman:  "Not a bit boring if you are a Limerick follower. If it is so easy to hit those long range points why are every team not doing it. Apart from all that Limerick, with what even there biggest begrudgers will admit are a fine team, missed something like fifteen shots at goal yesterday, so scoring from distance even to good forwards is not that easy at all. They had 31 shots at goal in the first half yesterday. Remember also when Kilkenny beat them with a string of long range points themselves in '19 no one was complaining. I also recall that neutrals felt watching Tipperary sweep to All Final victory time after time in the sixties boring as they did watching Kilkenny and Cork doing the same in later decades. The same applied on occasion to Kerry and Dublin in Football when they were in utter domination. As regards '90s been 'peak hurling' anytime I play back recordings I see nothing but poorly prepared teams with very low skill levels and practically no combination play at all"
The game in the 90s was more hit and hope. There was alot less skill on show and the ball was given away every 20 seconds. But in a way that's what made it exciting. Dont think anyone had thought about combination play until Cork came along in the late 90s.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11695 - 06/06/2021 12:27:19    2348618

Replying To munsterchamps:  "you're dead right...cork could have scored more goals with a weakened team, they will the team to beat....ye better hope ye dont meet them."
It's going to take us to win a few games before we meet them I suspect so hopefully we do meet them later in the summer!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11695 - 06/06/2021 12:28:56    2348619

Replying To Oldtourman:  "Not a bit boring if you are a Limerick follower. If it is so easy to hit those long range points why are every team not doing it. Apart from all that Limerick, with what even there biggest begrudgers will admit are a fine team, missed something like fifteen shots at goal yesterday, so scoring from distance even to good forwards is not that easy at all. They had 31 shots at goal in the first half yesterday. Remember also when Kilkenny beat them with a string of long range points themselves in '19 no one was complaining. I also recall that neutrals felt watching Tipperary sweep to All Final victory time after time in the sixties boring as they did watching Kilkenny and Cork doing the same in later decades. The same applied on occasion to Kerry and Dublin in Football when they were in utter domination. As regards '90s been 'peak hurling' anytime I play back recordings I see nothing but poorly prepared teams with very low skill levels and practically no combination play at all"
TBF Oldtourman it was very evident that Limerick came out with a different approach to this game. A huge reduction in silly fouls ,fine scores and fantastic team play. People blaming the refs all the time for not letting the game flow but when Limerick decided to stop fouling the refs get credited with letting the game flow when in fact that's not the case. The biggest problem Limerick will have is maintaining that level of performance for the championship. If they do its hard to see past them.

ZUL10 (Clare) - Posts: 693 - 06/06/2021 12:53:15    2348622

What confuses me about people complaining about the high point scoring, is that most of the points scored yesterday didn't really come from long range, not really. How many points were due to Limerick turning over Cork backs, intercepting Cork puckouts etc? Huge workrate by the Limerick forwards to create those chances.

Its funny, I was watching the game yesterday, and I can't remember which Limerick forward it was, but he won the ball on Corks end-line, came back in field, and popped it over the bar. And that was typical of how Limerick were playing. But I knew people would be just looking at the full-time score, and complaining about the high point total, At this stage, I think there are people who are complaining about the full time scores, that aren't actually watching the matches.

Marlon_JD (Tipperary) - Posts: 1823 - 06/06/2021 15:24:48    2348643

Worried about Laois going forward losing by 9 points to a makeshift kilkenny who appeared to be going through the motions. I know they are going to say it was an improved display but in reality it was probably the opposite. Their was no poke in the match whatsoever although some decent defensive displays from Downey, Maher, McEvoy and Kelly kept Laois competitive. But the reality could be very bleak indeed the first half between Galway and Waterford was light years ahead some hurling and scoring in that game. I hope I'm wrong but I simply can't see Laois beating antrim so it will be a very very disappointing pointless league campaign. Looks like we're going backwards unfortunately.

Richardkimble (Laois) - Posts: 39 - 06/06/2021 16:37:13    2348653

Very good match in Salthill but the ref is allowing the old 5 seconds advantage rule that we had last year while the ref in Limerick last night was just blowing up for the free straight away, the GAA have to answer this which rule is it?

updwell (Limerick) - Posts: 812 - 06/06/2021 16:47:30    2348655

Replying To updwell:  "Very good match in Salthill but the ref is allowing the old 5 seconds advantage rule that we had last year while the ref in Limerick last night was just blowing up for the free straight away, the GAA have to answer this which rule is it?"
The ref last night allowed advantage too,not sure what match you saw.

cityman73 (Limerick) - Posts: 775 - 06/06/2021 17:05:04    2348660

Replying To updwell:  "Very good match in Salthill but the ref is allowing the old 5 seconds advantage rule that we had last year while the ref in Limerick last night was just blowing up for the free straight away, the GAA have to answer this which rule is it?"
And only 11 scores from frees between the two teams in a high scoring game, 4/7

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1895 - 06/06/2021 17:30:24    2348664

I taught the game in Salthill was more like a challenge game. Liam Cahill has to be worried about that defence. Too open through the centre. Aussie not the answer. Probably three of these goals with Tadgh covering would not happen. Again the ref struggling with fair and foul tackles. Gleeson blow for a good shoulder while receiving one straight to the head himself. No question now a marked man and it is effecting his game.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2653 - 06/06/2021 17:39:51    2348667

Noticed in the Kilkenny Laois game ref was allowing advantage alot of the time too

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11695 - 06/06/2021 17:39:53    2348668

Replying To Canuck:  "I taught the game in Salthill was more like a challenge game. Liam Cahill has to be worried about that defence. Too open through the centre. Aussie not the answer. Probably three of these goals with Tadgh covering would not happen. Again the ref struggling with fair and foul tackles. Gleeson blow for a good shoulder while receiving one straight to the head himself. No question now a marked man and it is effecting his game."
I thought it was a very good league game with some great displays on view. Conor Whelan and Des Hutchinson were outstanding as was Calcannon.

Richardkimble (Laois) - Posts: 39 - 06/06/2021 18:17:24    2348677