Ulster Championship 2021

Replying To TheRock2121:  "Hope I'm wrong but Tyrone will beat Cavan by 15 points."
I think you said something similar about donegal beating us before last years ulster final. So what are you basing that prediction on May I ask?

thegadfly (Cavan) - Posts: 290 - 22/04/2021 10:35:37    2338326

Replying To thegadfly:  "I think you said something similar about donegal beating us before last years ulster final. So what are you basing that prediction on May I ask?"
Yep, he called a 17 point win for Donegal, so he was only 21 points out. You'd imagine someone with that record would keep quiet...

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2381 - 22/04/2021 11:07:03    2338337

How do people keep hyping Armagh up? I said it before last year's championship - Geezer is all hype. He hasn't brought Armagh on at all and their performance last year against Donegal was abysmal. They'll beat Antrim but I wouldn't fancy them to take Monaghan or Fermanagh.

DL_Man (Donegal) - Posts: 145 - 22/04/2021 11:15:05    2338342

Replying To DL_Man:  "How do people keep hyping Armagh up? I said it before last year's championship - Geezer is all hype. He hasn't brought Armagh on at all and their performance last year against Donegal was abysmal. They'll beat Antrim but I wouldn't fancy them to take Monaghan or Fermanagh."
Not much reason to hype Armagh. Tipping them for a final is more a reflection of the state of affairs in Monaghan, Fermanagh and Antrim.

Eddie the Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 1057 - 22/04/2021 12:57:50    2338358

Replying To tonguey:  "You're from Wicklow and talking about teams gettings hammerings- haha. You could not make it up"
Dose it matter where I'm from to see cavan are the worst Ulster champions to ever take to the field ??? Not to long ago wicklow destroyed cavan in the quilifers hahaha youd swear cavan are world beaters now that they fluked there way to an Ulster title hahaha your actually in the same division as wicklow this year hahaha you haven't a clue about it do ya

Irishcelt (Wicklow) - Posts: 149 - 22/04/2021 13:25:41    2338364

Replying To Irishcelt:  "Dose it matter where I'm from to see cavan are the worst Ulster champions to ever take to the field ??? Not to long ago wicklow destroyed cavan in the quilifers hahaha youd swear cavan are world beaters now that they fluked there way to an Ulster title hahaha your actually in the same division as wicklow this year hahaha you haven't a clue about it do ya"
You would know about bad teams taking the field anyway- leagues don't matter baby- it is all about the championship so dry your eyes there. Good lad

the creeler (Cavan) - Posts: 512 - 22/04/2021 13:50:21    2338369

Replying To Irishcelt:  "Dose it matter where I'm from to see cavan are the worst Ulster champions to ever take to the field ??? Not to long ago wicklow destroyed cavan in the quilifers hahaha youd swear cavan are world beaters now that they fluked there way to an Ulster title hahaha your actually in the same division as wicklow this year hahaha you haven't a clue about it do ya"
Fluked it alright yeah- winning four games in the toughest province- complete fluke- good lad.

the creeler (Cavan) - Posts: 512 - 22/04/2021 13:53:06    2338370

So a qualifier game in 2009 is the same as a team as 2020? Come on lad, that is the stupidest statement I've ever heard. We hammered ye well in 2018 though.
And that was one of the hardest Ulsters ever won. It is very rarely done from the preliminary round, never mind doing in on 4 consecutive weekends, with one of those games extra time. How on earth is that fluking a title? Think it's yourself who hasn't a clue

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2381 - 22/04/2021 14:05:20    2338376

How did they fluke their way to on Ulster title?

blueman1903 (Cavan) - Posts: 882 - 22/04/2021 14:33:55    2338382

Replying To tonguey:  "Fluked it alright yeah- winning four games in the toughest province- complete fluke- good lad."
Toughest province how ??? When was the last time the Ulster champions won an all Ireland or got within a 5 points of the leinster champions hahaha Dublin in Ulster theyd walk it to

Irishcelt (Wicklow) - Posts: 149 - 22/04/2021 17:13:18    2338411

Replying To Loughduff Lad:  "So a qualifier game in 2009 is the same as a team as 2020? Come on lad, that is the stupidest statement I've ever heard. We hammered ye well in 2018 though.
And that was one of the hardest Ulsters ever won. It is very rarely done from the preliminary round, never mind doing in on 4 consecutive weekends, with one of those games extra time. How on earth is that fluking a title? Think it's yourself who hasn't a clue"
Me point was that other cavan yoke telling me what would I know about football so u was making the point it's not that long ago wicklow bate yas ya know wat I'm saying and Dublin kicked yas around the place last year so all these cavan boys think cause they won Ulster last year there the best team in Ireland

Irishcelt (Wicklow) - Posts: 149 - 22/04/2021 17:17:53    2338414

Replying To tonguey:  "Fluked it alright yeah- winning four games in the toughest province- complete fluke- good lad."
Keep the cavan tinted glasses on there hahaha suppose yas should of beat Dublin aswell if it was played in meath or somewhere hahahahahaha

Irishcelt (Wicklow) - Posts: 149 - 22/04/2021 17:19:42    2338415

Replying To Irishcelt:  "Me point was that other cavan yoke telling me what would I know about football so u was making the point it's not that long ago wicklow bate yas ya know wat I'm saying and Dublin kicked yas around the place last year so all these cavan boys think cause they won Ulster last year there the best team in Ireland"
However you have clearly shown you know little about football by referencing a qualifier over a decade ago, and calling one of the best Ulster wins a fluke. Don't blame you though, sure Wicklow don't know anything about provincial wins, do they?

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2381 - 22/04/2021 18:33:10    2338423

Replying To Loughduff Lad:  "You seriously think a Tyrone team with new management and very few games last year will beat a side by 15 points who showed last year that they are decent? Many said the same about Cavan in the final last year (including you, you called a similar margin of victory for Donegal here), and look what happened. Many of these Cavan lads have beaten these same Tyrone lads in minor/U21 games, so while it's not the same they know they're not far away from them. It'll be tough and tight, hardly a thrashing the likes of what you're saying though. Lets hope your predictions follow a similar line, as you've been very badly wrong before"
Yes I was well out last year and well done to Cavan. I'm rooting for Cavan but just think there will be a good few scores in it.

TheRock2121 (Donegal) - Posts: 1139 - 22/04/2021 18:54:12    2338429

Replying To Loughduff Lad:  "Yep, he called a 17 point win for Donegal, so he was only 21 points out. You'd imagine someone with that record would keep quiet..."
Fair point lol.

TheRock2121 (Donegal) - Posts: 1139 - 22/04/2021 18:55:15    2338430

I think the Tyrone v Cavan game will decide who wins Ulster.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2739 - 22/04/2021 20:19:01    2338447

Replying To TheRock2121:  "
Replying To Loughduff Lad:  "You seriously think a Tyrone team with new management and very few games last year will beat a side by 15 points who showed last year that they are decent? Many said the same about Cavan in the final last year (including you, you called a similar margin of victory for Donegal here), and look what happened. Many of these Cavan lads have beaten these same Tyrone lads in minor/U21 games, so while it's not the same they know they're not far away from them. It'll be tough and tight, hardly a thrashing the likes of what you're saying though. Lets hope your predictions follow a similar line, as you've been very badly wrong before"
Yes I was well out last year and well done to Cavan. I'm rooting for Cavan but just think there will be a good few scores in it."
But why so? If you actually look objectively, it's likely the best time Cavan could play them. Tyrone in a period of flux, dual managers which doesn't always work, short time and not many games to work with their squad. Meanwhile Cavan are coming with confidence, settled manager and core team, some new additions, and winning last year takes the pressure off. By any measure, there's more going for Cavan at this stage. I'm not saying they'll win, but it'll be tight at least. Not the thrashing by your poor predictions at least...

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2381 - 22/04/2021 20:38:59    2338448

Trying to predict how ulster is going to go is nigh impossible. If we were talking before championship last year most people would choose Tyrone and rightly so but the Cathal Mc Shane injury changed the whole thing. With football coming thick and fast the winners will come from whichever of the big teams keep there main players fit. If Donegal were to lose murphy Mc Hugh Mc brearty eoin ban or any of there experienced players it weakens them big time this last 3 years we've lost Mc brearty in 2018 eoin ban in 2019 and gallen and mc menamin last year. No matter what people say I know we don't have the squad to replace certain players. Similar with Tyrone if they were to lose Mc Shane. Mc kenna or mattie Donnelly it would diminish them. So as the old saying goes it's all on the day. I hope my own county wins it , if all fit we have a chance but the bounce Tyrone will get from the new management make them favourites.. can't wait

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2392 - 22/04/2021 20:48:30    2338449

Tasty ulster championship draw as usual, very lopsided though with the champions and the other 2 big hitters (Tyrone/Donegal) all on same side of draw.
Indeed donegal wont have it all their own way versus down in the preliminary. Tyrone and cavan will be a cracker.

Monaghan should get to a final on the other side of the draw, i dont rate banty at all but think mcmanus will try get one more big day out before he's done. Im not sure Armagh have really progressed at all, the hiding they got from donegal was so comprehensive last year im not sure where else they can go.

HuddHastings (Longford) - Posts: 144 - 22/04/2021 21:43:45    2338456

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "I think the Tyrone v Cavan game will decide who wins Ulster."
Your at it. Donegal the team to beat.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2006 - 22/04/2021 22:36:18    2338468