Ulster Championship 2021

So this evening we will know the draw for the 2021 Ulster Championship. It has been a long time coming and I have to say that I am giddy with excitement! It will be fantastic to finally have some game to look forward to and the fact that it will be knock-out again this year adds to the drama.

Usually you'd want to avoid the preliminary round if possible. But I'm just wondering if this year some managers might welcome the extra game if it helped to get more competitive match practice into the players? Of course you'd be hoping for a favourable draw in that scenario. A tough draw and your season might be over early doors.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9136 - 20/04/2021 16:26:12    2338058

Lockjaw yous got your favourable preliminary road draw. .

downtothecore (Down) - Posts: 349 - 20/04/2021 19:40:27    2338096

Oh great, Down face Donegal in the Preliminary round.

I suppose the draw has been kind to us for a few years and if you want to win the competition you would probably have to get past Donegal at some stage.

Suas Sios (None) - Posts: 1550 - 20/04/2021 19:50:19    2338098

Cavan Tyrone should be a brilliant match and down v donegal wont be bad either

Irishcelt (Wicklow) - Posts: 149 - 20/04/2021 20:04:06    2338102

Armagh v Antrim. Haven't played them in a while in the Ulster championship. I'll take that. Nice to lose to somebody else for a change

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2385 - 20/04/2021 20:32:03    2338112

Armagh dark horses for Ulster this year.

seanie08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1799 - 20/04/2021 20:49:17    2338115

Preliminary round
Down v Donegal: winners, Donegal
Quarter-finals
Derry v Down/Donegal: winners, Donegal
Armagh v Antrim: winners, Armagh
Monaghan v Fermanagh: winners, Fermanagh (if things go right)
Tyrone v Cavan: (draw)

essmac (Tyrone) - Posts: 1141 - 20/04/2021 21:08:46    2338122

No easy games in Ulster as we all know only too well, tough one for Cavan away to Tyrone, we are taking the scenic route but maybe the extra game will help us if we can win it away in Newry,
Armagh v Tyrone Ulster final?

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2747 - 20/04/2021 21:31:05    2338124

Replying To Irishcelt:  "Cavan Tyrone should be a brilliant match and down v donegal wont be bad either"
Have Cavan given Tyrone a good game in living memory?

greatpoint (USA) - Posts: 427 - 20/04/2021 21:51:59    2338131

Some cracking games and draw. All stages will have great games. Will be tough to win. Armagh will have to fancy themselves getting to a final at least. Tough draw for the reigning champions, but sure look, you need to beat the best. Tyrone are the only team in Ulster Cavan haven't beaten recently, and no time like the present when there's confidence after last year and Tyrone are in transition a wee bit. Bring on the championship!

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2383 - 20/04/2021 21:56:04    2338134

Replying To greatpoint:  "Have Cavan given Tyrone a good game in living memory?"
Lost by a few points in qualifiers in 2019. Won a McKenna Cup game in maybe 2017. That's about it really. Think it was 1983 when we last beat them in Championship...

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2383 - 20/04/2021 22:15:09    2338136

Replying To greatpoint:  "Have Cavan given Tyrone a good game in living memory?"
Yes a draw in the ulster semi final in 2016. Tyrone 16 Cavan 3-7

thegadfly (Cavan) - Posts: 290 - 20/04/2021 22:19:49    2338137

They didn't get far enough last year for us to find out

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 20/04/2021 22:43:29    2338140

Cavan drew with Tyrone in 2005 Ulster championship Tyrone went on to win the replay and the all Ireland that year. That in living memory for you is it

Irishcelt (Wicklow) - Posts: 149 - 20/04/2021 23:01:08    2338142

Prelim Rd = Done beats Down
QFs = Done beats Derr;
Arma beats Antr;
Mona beats Ferm;
Tyr beats Cav.

SFs has Done, Arma, Mona & Tyr
Champs = Done.

omahant (USA) - Posts: 2590 - 21/04/2021 02:18:01    2338151

Replying To downtothecore:  "Lockjaw yous got your favourable preliminary road draw. ."
Jeez I wouldn't call it favourable. An away tie for a start. Down are not to be underestimated. Like Cavan, they have a proud tradition & pedigree. There are plenty of good footballers in Down and if Tally can get them going right they'll give any team a match. The bookies and most pundits didn't give Cavan much hope against us in last year's Ulster final. Arguably, you should have taken care of Cavan comfortably. I would say your lads are still kicking themselves that they let that one slip after building up such a commanding lead.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9136 - 21/04/2021 10:20:22    2338165

I think we have a hard draw but I'm confident we will beat Cavan. And I believe we will win Ulster. While we have changed management, I don't believe the team is in transition and I'm sure our panel will be stronger than it was last season.

OGarmaile (Tyrone) - Posts: 248 - 21/04/2021 10:23:44    2338166

Replying To OGarmaile:  "I think we have a hard draw but I'm confident we will beat Cavan. And I believe we will win Ulster. While we have changed management, I don't believe the team is in transition and I'm sure our panel will be stronger than it was last season."
I think that ye will struggle to beat us to be honest- think Tyrone are over hyped- have done very little these past few years to merit any kind of arrogance

the creeler (Cavan) - Posts: 512 - 21/04/2021 10:36:19    2338167

It's a good draw all round. I'd actually fancy cavan to beat tyrone but lose to donegal. Cavan done v well last year from a lot of teams underestimating them and not giving them due respect ourselves down donegal etc. They haven't beaten tyrone in a long time and will want to win that one badly. Great draw for armagh who should make the ulster final and then who knows. We might stagger past fermanagh and it's not a given as they had our number a lot over the years and we are a side in decline with a struggling manager. Either way armagh will.comfortably make the final.

seanie08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1799 - 21/04/2021 10:49:23    2338169

Replying To OGarmaile:  "I think we have a hard draw but I'm confident we will beat Cavan. And I believe we will win Ulster. While we have changed management, I don't believe the team is in transition and I'm sure our panel will be stronger than it was last season."
I think Tyrone will be stronger this year too. You'll have a fit McShane for a start and Conor McKenna will have further integrated himself back into the fold. Not that it looked like he needed much time last year! Young Canavan is a real prospect and it will be interesting to see if the new management put more faith in the likes of Mark Bradley & Lee Brennan.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9136 - 21/04/2021 11:04:57    2338173