Tipperary V Mayo

Replying To katser:  "I agree they could easily have won it by 20+ but what was the point in pushing on and risking injury when it was wrapped up by half time!
Mayo were definitely trying out attacking tactics in the first half in preparation for the Dubs.
That Mayo full foward line are better than the Dub full back line!"
Are the Mayo full back line better than the Dublin full forward line ?

DUBJOHN (Dublin) - Posts: 932 - 06/12/2020 18:11:40    2319371

Congrats Mayo, hope ye win on the 19th

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1669 - 06/12/2020 18:15:58    2319372

Replying To essmac:  "Going forward, maybe. Not with that leaky defence. They'll never plug all those gaps in a fortnight and Dublin will capitalise"
The problem always comes back to possession. Will Mayo a) secure enough of their own ball to hurt Dublin going forward and b) pressure Dublin's kickout enough so that the Dubs don't get easy possession and work it up the pitch.

I think on both counts the answer is no - the leaky defence there today is a worry but I think you can have fixes to shore things up and not allow players run through the middle at you like Tipp did today. But when the pressure comes on I don't think Mayo have a strong enough kickout themselves and not good enough to make Cluxton go long or win a few of Dublin's. That'll be the difference.

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 06/12/2020 18:19:29    2319375

Replying To realdub:  "Seriously though, does anyone give Mayo a chance?"
They have a boxer's chance.
Nobody has seen how Dessie or how the Dublin team will react to him if a bit of pressure is applied, or id big calls are needed..
This is where Gavin stood out as manager..
It's a maiden season as manager and he will have to make some big calls , something he hasn't done so far this season..

Mayo have to be in the game until the 60th minute for this scenario to play out.
Think Horan might be inviting Rochford down for a cuppa one of the evenings ;

BeJasus (UK) - Posts: 383 - 06/12/2020 18:24:10    2319377

Replying To katser:  "I agree they could easily have won it by 20+ but what was the point in pushing on and risking injury when it was wrapped up by half time!
Mayo were definitely trying out attacking tactics in the first half in preparation for the Dubs.
Thats my point. My reply was to someone who said tipp gave Mayo a better game then Cavan gave the Dubs which in truth they didn't at all. Mayo right to drop off

Jim_Shorts (Cavan) - Posts: 96 - 06/12/2020 18:24:23    2319378

Replying To essmac:  "Going forward, maybe. Not with that leaky defence. They'll never plug all those gaps in a fortnight and Dublin will capitalise"
Mayo always believed they would beat Tipp, so they abandoned their Defensive tactics knowing that even if the conceded goals they would still outscore Tipp.
Today was all about getting their fowards Sharpe for the Final, scoring, movement, long ball, fast ball...their attacking was fantastic, fast and effective.
Obviously for the Final their Defence will have other tactics!

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2193 - 06/12/2020 18:28:32    2319382

Replying To realdub:  "Seriously though, does anyone give Mayo a chance?"
It was Mayo's defense that really brought the fight to Dublin across the 10s

They lacked another quality forward or two

Now it looks like that has flipped

Jaysus Tipp should have scored 5 goals there tonight but credit to DC on a brilliant save

Great shot stopper.

I called Mayo reaching a final off the back of them being relegated

I think they absolutely have what it takes but unfortunately it looks like their defense just isn't what it was.. but they always up it. Playing Dublin brings out another level from them

Dublin are completely untested and have not been challenged. Horan is also the more experienced manager at this level

Major test for Dessie on the way, I'd be concerned about a couple of our personnel changes perhaps being exposed against better opposition

I'll say it now

I'm glad it's Mayo. If we lose, we lose. I can honestly say I'd be happy for the county of Mayo celebrating their win over Christmas.

They should have beaten Jim Gavins Dublin so I'd have zero complaints. I've no nerves whatsoever about the game. If we lose I will raise a festive can of Dutch gold in the direction of the setting sun ;)

Then we can lick our wounds and go again

Mayo are a fecking credit to themselves

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 06/12/2020 18:30:51    2319383

Congrats Mayo on a very strong first half performance. They might be criticised for letting Tipp back into the game, but the money was in the bank already.

There is talk on this forum about splitting Dublin in 4 and splitting Mayo in 4 etc.

The proof of the pudding will be the final day.

If the dubs beat Mayo the way they beat them last year, then it is good night vienna for the championship, unless kerry can do something miraculous next year.
If Mayo win, then the Dubs will be vindicated in their opinion that they are not at some sort of advantage within the GAA world.

To summarize,

If the witch drowns, she was innocent.
If the witch floats, she is guilty and will be burned at the stake.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 06/12/2020 18:32:06    2319384

The Mayo backs were protecting themselves for the 19th, the commentators are clueless on this particular issue

maroondiesel (Mayo) - Posts: 1196 - 06/12/2020 18:39:04    2319387

Replying To catch22:  "OMG , outrage at Tipp players laying a wreath after the game. Were Mayo not invited ?
What a disgrace and the whole thing orchestrated for them. The national broadcaster accommodating them and pandering to them. This isn't what I paid my TV license for. Would this be allowed for any other county ? I think not."
I lije your sarcasm

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4896 - 06/12/2020 18:41:06    2319389

It was spooky how the Foggy Dew came in 100 years on.

maroondiesel (Mayo) - Posts: 1196 - 06/12/2020 18:43:48    2319391

Replying To katser:  "Mayo always believed they would beat Tipp, so they abandoned their Defensive tactics knowing that even if the conceded goals they would still outscore Tipp.
Today was all about getting their fowards Sharpe for the Final, scoring, movement, long ball, fast ball...their attacking was fantastic, fast and effective.
Obviously for the Final their Defence will have other tactics!"
Wishful thinking. No way would Horan have taken that risk. Tipp are a good team and capable of beating Mayo. Apart from Comerfords Mistakes in the first half Tipp were right in it. Mayo didnt abandon any defensive tactics. They were exposed by a good forward line.

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 06/12/2020 18:55:40    2319402

All through the current Dublin 5 in a row, the Dubs full back line have been nominated by pundits and opposing fans as the weak point but so far they have coped more than adequately. I suppose if people keep sayin it they'll be right sometime?

sligo joe (Dublin) - Posts: 675 - 06/12/2020 18:56:58    2319403

Replying To Jim_Shorts:  "Did they hell. 16 points down at half time. Mayo dropped intensity big time. Dublin maintained their intensity throughout. Mayo could of won that game by 20+"
Tipperary scored 3-13 and should have had at least 3 more goals. Lost by less as well. Dublin could have scored 4 or 5 goals last night if they wanted to.

greatpoint (USA) - Posts: 427 - 06/12/2020 19:01:00    2319406

No they're not. That's an average full forward line. Fitzsimons will beat O'Connor, Cooper will beat O'Shea, and Byrne will beat Conroy. Today was mostly down to how poor Tipperary were defensively yet they exposed the Mayo defence. I'm expecting around a 10 point Dublin win. Mayo aren't even in the top 4 teams in the country for me.

Kerry15 (Kerry) - Posts: 958 - 06/12/2020 19:01:08    2319408

Surely Mayo would be deeply concerned about conceding 3-13 to Tipp?
Imagine what Dublin's forwards would do?

Cavan_Shambles (Cavan) - Posts: 575 - 06/12/2020 19:05:24    2319412

Horan doesnt really do defensive football, having said that he has unearthed a few gems..
I think they will beat Dublin by a few points..
O Connor is unremarkable at the moment..

Galwaymaster9 (Galway) - Posts: 395 - 06/12/2020 19:09:19    2319414

Congrats to the Green and Red, hard luck Tipp. No pressure Mayo, but we're all counting on you to save football on Saturday week. Go and get it done.

Forpucksake (UK) - Posts: 130 - 06/12/2020 19:13:24    2319417

Terribly disappointing performance. Had the 2-2 we missed in first few mins been converted then might have been a different game. Will go down as a memorable year in tipperary football history regardless. I thought Maher and O'Riordan were excellent for Tipp.
Unfortunately for Mayo they will take the mother and father of all beatings in the final. I counted 12 of the clearest of clear cut goal chances for Tipp and not all of them were when the games was over either. I don't think I have ever even seen Dublin get as many chances against any team.Their defence is the weakest I've seen from a Mayo team and Keegan is unlikely to last too long in a final as once he's rounded he always pulls the man down. I hate to say it but it'll be by far Dublin's easiest final.

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 06/12/2020 19:13:44    2319418

Replying To jimbodub:  "Disgusting show of sponsorship marketing by the Tipp team laying a wreath

Look how orchestrated it was with music and cameras setup for them"
Irony/sarcasm, whatever it is, I don't really care.
Show a bit of respect for what it was. Time and a place for that type of thing and commenting on that moment like that shows a lack of respect.

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 06/12/2020 19:18:40    2319420